List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III

Ratts has got to take some responsibility too. He's done an exit interview where a player wants out. Dunstan would rather throw in his career than come back. Once could be on the player. Twice is starting to look like a pattern. Coaches talk about managing their language when dealing with millennial players. Perhaps he needs some communication training. His tough love doesn't seem to work for performance or relationships.
Disagree, Dunstan was shown to not have the brains to take criticism on board and in all likelyhood cost himself a decent contract at GC. His manager told him he was out of favour because of him bagging his club. Dew decided against him and he kicks the dew off Casey Fields on a minimum contract.

Apparently Clark was told last year he needs to improve his fitness. He obviously didn't to the satisfaction of the coach. I don't think it is unusual for players to get hard truths at exit interviews. Do you not want them to get feedback on their year? If Ratten didn't do that i would be more worried than a second rate mid leaving and talk of a better player maybe wanting to leave.

If these players are that fragile and especially in regards to Clark, he better not go to North if they get Clarkson back, he will be in a fetal position in the corner a blubbering mess.

Come on Gringo - if he made a comment to a player he needs to step up and the guy gets offended - tough luck

If the club is getting this soft it is a big problem

Time for every one at the club to toughen up

People always say "don't be soft" when recieving a tough talk. The only problem is tough talk will only be listened to if it rings true, if it's ringing a bit hollow for any number of reasons it becomes less a home truth and more an annoyance. I think the shift is nowadays if someone thinks a boss (or coach, or whoever) is talking c*** it is much easier to simply move on.

The issue is neither Windy or Owens we’re as good in other positions as McKenzie is. My worry is the club will be temtpted to keep him there. Windy only moved in there after being asked to tag as well. Prior to this he was stuck in the pocket.
He was a first year player. Owens started in the mids in R1, Windy was in the mids in his first season constantly to the end of the season. Naz was constantly played in position. All three were played which make the other trope of not playing youngsters just another furphy.

Myth busted.

And perhaps Clark doesn't run though the guts like 19 y.o. rookie season players is that he hasn't the tank and that is the feedback he got not once but twice.

But apparently asking a player drafted to be a mid, to get fit enough to play mid is too confronting for him and he couldn't take the harsh realities that comes with a 400k a year job.

Or maybe he sees the writing on the wall, the youngsters are keen and hungry, and with another top quality mid coming in, he just doesn't have it in him to go the extra mile and do the work required to demand a mid spot.

I love Clark. I think if he can develop properly, he'll be a top 25 player in the comp at his peak. I said in his second year, that this kid will win a brownlow one day. I stand by that statement a little. He has the makings of Pendles. But it just hasn't worked for him here. Not saying he can't get there next year or whatever.

But if we are to trade Clark. It just has to involve pick 3, to make it worth out while. Getting someone like Wardlaw/Sheezel/Tsatis is a lot more exciting than keeping Clark. This club is screaming for more top end talent.

I'm also completely happy to keep Hunter. We hold the whip here. Play hardball for the first time in your history, St Kilda.

On Pixel 4 XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

We really need to get that pick in the teens locked away before Clark can be looked at.

Whether that is a salary dump with the Giants (who are now looking at bringing in JOM’s massive contract) or bundling up our later picks.

If we had #15 in our pocket then thats much more palatable to send to Norf with Clark for #3 (which values also HC at #15).

Taking 3 & 9 into the draft is highly unlikely but its nice to dream.

Still hoping for Jack Graham to fall into our laps late in the piece too.

Out: Hill Clark Pick 9

In: Haynes picks 3/15/north future second

For our team and what we need, i think this would be ideal. Hard to see north letting go of 3 without it looking like overs, and at our end we basically replace Hill who is a great player but not our greatest need anymore with a mature backman to free up Battle to play his natural role and we get a gun and a pick that feels kinda the same as 9.

North future second is likely to be top 23 so still a great pick.

McKenzie think he can be Mundy/ Noah Anderson. But knowing our stupid development staff we’ll play him as a half back for 3 years before moving him to a wing. Instead of playing him on ball from day dot

Like we did with Windy, Nas & Owens…

Wait, what?

Ratts has got to take some responsibility too. He's done an exit interview where a player wants out. Dunstan would rather throw in his career than come back. Once could be on the player. Twice is starting to look like a pattern. Coaches talk about managing their language when dealing with millennial players. Perhaps he needs some communication training. His tough love doesn't seem to work for performance or relationships.
You know what I think of ratts, the whole club needs a clean out. We’ve lurched around like a drunk at closing time and we still haven’t sobered up and got our act together. How long can Bassett, lethlean and so on to the recruiting and coaching staff just stick around while we go backwards. We bring in Walsh who says we don’t have enough high end talent, so the first thing we look at is trading out a high end talent. Seriously it would be pretty hard to find a group of professionals from within the industry who would do worse imo. The truly frightening thing is the guy who has driven anything good to happen at moorabbin in recent times matt Finnis just left 😳, yep looking forward to the next phase.

Im not saying clark hasnt shown interest in north.

What I AM saying is there is not a snowflakes chance in hell that Rawlings is correctly stating clarks current interest levels (it's in brady's best interest atm to tell the world hunter is keener than he is).

There is also zero chance that the whole clarko fiasco hasn't put a major dent in hunters original interest levels.

I think most of the footy world are confident that Clarko will take the reigns at Norf & Fagan will continue in Brissie.

I’m sure managers & recruiting guys will be tellibg players exactly that.

It’s the same info our perma banned cooper is running with. Clark’s father is hardly the guy saying he doesn’t do enough, is lazy, won’t hit the weights. Do posters hear some good information from time to time yes I’m sure they do. What I’m saying is there is no way half the stuff posted on here is factual, every second person has a fly on the wall account of why Clark needs to lift his game and what the club said to him. Also with all due respect it matters if you were the guy who spoke to Clark’s father or you heard from a guy who spoke to Clark’s father and so on.

Anyway imo anyone hoping we trade Clark has rocks in his head, we lack top talent and he is a top talent.

If you knew about Clark’s professional standards away from the club. Clark getting a kick up the ass and told to raise his professional standards would make sense.

I hope he turns it around because he can be hard to stop and can open up the game with his disposal. In a way that is unique and hard for a opposition to read.

If he doesn’t take his medicine and improve work rate. What we all fear is, he will stay as a one pace pony, be able to figure out and never reach his potential. Saying that sentence still hurts when I think about the goat View attachment 1532492

This crap runs until 7.30 pm tomorrow night so we can have the live drama. Someone should tell them that the best live sport from all over the world can be watched from the comfort of the living room for the price of a subscription.

Clark wants to get to North no doubt, he might still feel that way next year. Do we risk it and North Finish bottom again and they'll have the upper hand as they can walk him to the pre season draft, and we take some second rounder as they did with the Freo guy.. I say pull the trigger and get the top 3 pick and future second. This is a big decision to make, but i think if player a wants out because coaches put some heat on him to get better it's probably a great opportunity to get a top shelf player. Tough Call.

Have to get their future second as well though..

People always say "don't be soft" when recieving a tough talk. The only problem is tough talk will only be listened to if it rings true, if it's ringing a bit hollow for any number of reasons it becomes less a home truth and more an annoyance. I think the shift is nowadays if someone thinks a boss (or coach, or whoever) is talking c*** it is much easier to simply move on.
Theres also the individual consideration for how to deliver tough feedback. Its not the 80's anymore and not everyone respond to a rocket/spray.

If Hunter is the sort that needs a quiet word and encouragement rather than a bake then the coaches (who spend everyday with him) should know this.

Its the coaching panels job to know how to best talk to players to get them moving and thats not always a tough chat. Id think especially in Hunters case with so many interruptions from freak collision incidents he might need a pat on the back and some encouragement over a spray (i also dont know him and could be way off).

Unless we get a top 10 pick for him id rather we hold onto him, hes shown glimpses through alot of horrific injuries, he still looks like hell come on to me.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III