Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

It's much more fun to talk about draft picks than actual football.
Without the 4 points that was the most pointless game of footy we've watched all year. We ruined our forward line and midfield, took Tommo out of the defence and played the shittest most unwatchable game style of the year.

I never want to talk about it again

It's much more fun to talk about draft picks than actual football.

I felt just as bad about us losing pick 4 as I did the loss to Carlton.

My priorities are really out of whack. 😅

Without the 4 points that was the most pointless game of footy we've watched all year. We ruined our forward line and midfield, took Tommo out of the defence and played the shittest most unwatchable game style of the year.

I never want to talk about it again

It’s genuinely cruel how Tommo is treated. Has a below average game and he’s instantly dropped, petty shit in defence for weeks and not dropped.

It’s genuinely cruel how Tommo is treated. Has a below average game and he’s instantly dropped, petty s**t in defence for weeks and not dropped.
Yeah, well he should have thought of that before advising Troy Chaplin to use saltwater and vinegar to fertilise his garden.

It’s genuinely cruel how Tommo is treated. Has a below average game and he’s instantly dropped, petty s**t in defence for weeks and not dropped.
Yeah bit of a joke considering how many shit games Petty, Gus, Salem and Co play and survive

An that narrative old mate started about him disrespecting the coaches sounds like a Grimesy level teeth punching line

Lol don't sook it up because you don't live in an actual footy town and the only things you hear about footy are you re-reading your own shitposts on BigFooty.

"Narrative" hey? haha Yeah, he's probably not been picked because Goody is focusing more on Casey going back to back. :cool:

Anyways, instead of those same two blokes making 'hilarious' sarcastic jokes all thread, here's something actually on-topic...

MELBOURNE​

Brodie Grundy – All eyes are on Grundy, who is likely to request a trade if he’s stuck in the VFL at the end of the season.

Whether Melbourne grants this request is another matter. As we speak they are saying no. But clubs do that all the time then relent eventually. Fremantle released a statement squashing Rory Lobb's trade request last year then traded him a week later.

James Harmes – He has a back-ended deal. He’s on more than 500k next year but has played just nine senior games this year. He did have 30 touches in the VFL yesterday. Clubs are aware he could be available. I expect him to have a look again and the Demons to support that given his salary. I'm not sure if there are any obvious suitors though.

James Jordon – Jordon is a free agent because he was delisted at the end of 2020. He has an incredibly strong bargaining position because of that.

Clubs are lining up for him. Sydney, Essendon, and Gold Coast are three of many who have enquired. He’s played 17 games this year and 64 overall. The Demons would love to lock him in.

Why on earth did we back end a massive contract for Harmes of all players?

Holy hell, how is Harmes on $500k+ for next year. We should absolutely give him away to the Gold Coast or Eagles for a future 10th rounder.

Good to see we're maintaining the line that we'll keep Grundy. His trade value plummets if word gets out we want to ship him out.

Be interesting to know what compensation we'd be up for if Jordon leaves on free agency. Could be a real win-win if somebody takes him and we get a decent pick.

Further to this point why on earth didn't we let him go last year with that sort of money hanging over him?

Club turned down his (semi) trade request. Whole situation was a mess with Essendon, but Dees refused to let him go anyway.

Old mate should probably learn I've got him on block and don't plan on unblocking him so he may aswell do the same.

Haha just replying to a blocked poster's comments you obviously didn't see because I'm blocked right...

Spose If the money's already locked in and you're not bringing anyone in there's no real need. Plus he's a Melbourne fan so if he took unders to help us at some point then we ship him off it'd be unlikely any manager agrees to it again

Club turned down his (semi) trade request. Whole situation was a mess with Essendon, but Dees refused to let him go anyway.
What is a semi-trade request? Was he asking us to cover the cash Essendon wouldn't put up?

Spose If the money's already locked in and you're not bringing anyone in there's no real need. Plus he's a Melbourne fan so if he took unders to help us at some point then we ship him off it'd be unlikely any manager agrees to it again
Didn't they change the cap a bit so if you paid the 95% mark you could go to 105% the following year? Would at least give us some options down the track. Just seems pointless to not let a fringe player go when they ask for a trade.

Yeah I think so. I ment more on the whole asking him to play on unders for 2 years or whatever to then get back ended. If you then try and flog the player off when the high money comes not many other managers are gonna take that deal. Harmes is a Melbourne kid as well and even if that doesn't matter which it probably doesn't I'm assuming whoever he asked to be traded too wanted us to pay some of that back ended year before they redid his deal

What is a semi-trade request? Was he asking us to cover the cash Essendon wouldn't put up?

Basically, Harmes was having a look around, Essendon were potentially interested but he wasn't able to get in front of Scott due to him being away or overseas or something and the timing was all rooted, bit of a mess - So Harmes went to the club to say I might be requesting a trade and they (Goody) just said it won't happen.

Holy hell, how is Harmes on $500k+ for next year. We should absolutely give him away to the Gold Coast or Eagles for a future 10th rounder.

Good to see we're maintaining the line that we'll keep Grundy. His trade value plummets if word gets out we want to ship him out.

Be interesting to know what compensation we'd be up for if Jordon leaves on free agency. Could be a real win-win if somebody takes him and we get a decent pick.

Worst three MFC contract/money decisions of past decade:

1. James Harmes 5 years x $500k
2. Chris Dawes 4 years x $500k
3. Brodie Grundy 5 years x $650k

💰 🚽 💨

Basically, Harmes was having a look around, Essendon were potentially interested but he wasn't able to get in front of Scott due to him being away or overseas or something and the timing was all rooted, bit of a mess - So Harmes went to the club to say I might be requesting a trade and they (Goody) just said it won't happen.
This doesn't make sense to me. How is it Goody denying his trade request when Essendon are the ones who went cold because Scott couldn't be bothered to rock up during the trade period? Sounds more like we were happy for him to go and the Bombers messed it up.

He will only be 28 years old at the end of the deal tbf, that is supposed to be the prime of your career, im not sure anyone could forsee him playing like hes 35 at 28

Yep and he's never really had any bad injuries or anything either

This doesn't make sense to me. How is it Goody denying his trade request when Essendon are the ones who went cold because Scott couldn't be bothered to rock up during the trade period? Sounds more like we were happy for him to go and the Bombers messed it up.

No, that's not what happened. Have this one on VERY good authority.