Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

He will only be 28 years old at the end of the deal tbf, that is supposed to be the prime of your career, im not sure anyone could forsee him playing like hes 35 at 28
Yeah, that's true it's been a very rapid downfall. Always been flawed but Harmes at his best was a much better player than Jordon or Sparrow.

Just remembered the time he turned into Judd for a half agains the Saints :love:

Yeah, that's true it's been a very rapid downfall. Always been flawed but Harmes at his best was a much better player than Jordon or Sparrow.

Just remembered the time he turned into Judd for a half agains the Saints :love:

It's always the danger with giving mid level players longer deals, not everyone drops away at the same time. Im not even a fan of locking up stars for 5+ but realistically you've got to do what you've to do with them .

The "we gave him a longer deal coz it saves us money" line is a myth. Cost you money more often than it saves you.

Good to see we're maintaining the line that we'll keep Grundy. His trade value plummets if word gets out we want to ship him out.

Gave me a good laugh as I assumed this is sarcasm.

I'm at least as serious as you are about Shaquille kicking 7 in an AFL grand final, possibly moreso.

As a general rule it's not a good idea to broadcast to the world you're desperate to get someone off the list. They just wait you out to the last hour of trade week and you fold and give them away for a packet of chips.

I'm at least as serious as you are about Shaquille kicking 7 in an AFL grand final, possibly moreso.

As a general rule it's not a good idea to broadcast to the world you're desperate to get someone off the list. They just wait you out to the last hour of trade week and you fold and give them away for a packet of chips.

Pretending to play hardball on a player with zero trade value is funny to me that is all, with players like Grundy I think you're likely better off saying come get him for nothing, invite clubs to make you offers rather than turn them away.

I understand why we'd be saying what we are though with the season going on, don't publically shame him, never know if Gawn was to get injured and we need him. But big picture however, it's pointless, that is all.

Pretending to play hardball on a player with zero trade value is funny to me that is all, with players like Grundy I think you're likely better off saying come get him for nothing, invite clubs to make you offers rather than turn them away.

I actually agree with your statement. But Grundy doesn't have zero trade value.

There will be certainly clubs who would be keen to get him, but if they know we're desperate to get him out they'll offer pick 50 and sit and wait until we give him away and agree to pay part of his salary for the privilege.

If he was on a more team friendly contract maybe, but 650k for the next 4 years, that is cancerous. We will be doing well to get a 4th rounder and pay 150k per year of that deal for the next 4 years I reckon.

In all likelihood Grundy will have a few suitors, he will pick his favourite and we will have to deal with them no matter what anyway. If we pay any part of his wage I doubt it would be more than $150k. We're not going to pay 300k a year just to save 350k.

That's precisely why you have to maintain that keeping him next year is on the table. You have to have some leverage that if the offer is not up to scratch we keep him and have him in reserve in case Gawn does a season ending injury. That also means Grundy can't just say I'm only going to this team who will then lowball us.

If we're paying $150k of his salary plus we have to go find another back up ruck and pay them $105k-150k, it's getting pretty marginal to trade him just as a cash saver. Even if it's a total fiction we should be selling opposing clubs on the idea that we're prepared to keep him unless they either pay his full salary or include a decent draft pick.

That's precisely why you have to maintain that keeping him next year is on the table. You have to have some leverage that if the offer is not up to scratch we keep him and have him in reserve in case Gawn does a season ending injury. That also means Grundy can't just say I'm only going to this team who will then lowball us.

If we're paying $150k of his salary plus we have to go find another back up ruck and pay them $105k-150k, it's getting pretty marginal to trade him just as a cash saver. Even if it's a total fiction we should be selling opposing clubs on the idea that we're prepared to keep him unless they either pay his full salary or include a decent draft pick.
I mean I think if a team tried to lowball us to a significant degree then we would just keep him. If we're paying $150k that gives us $500k to go towards either a decent player or couple of depth/project players which should even out. Honestly though I would not be surprised to see teams that are more than happy to pay his full wage. $650k is not a massive amount for a guy that fits an immediate need for several teams.

Yes, that's right. All we need to do is make sure other clubs know there's a tipping point where their offer is too low and we'd be prepared to keep him.

There's been heaps of examples of it becoming known to everyone a club wants a player gone but then in trade week trying to posture and pretend they expect a good draft pick for them, which doesn't work.

Harmes and TMac are the opposite because they have zero trade value. You'd be making it clear that they're available for free to any home they'll go to because we should have no expectation of getting anything in return other than getting them off the books.

I've had heaps of requests for this one. Daniel Curtin in his senior WAFL debut for Claremont from last weekend.

Appreciate you sharing these. He reminds me a lot of Jack Crisp in this video from when Jack used to play behind the ball. There weren't a lot of intercepts or one on one contests like I'd have expected from a KPD, but his running, link play and kicking all look very promising.

He’s still a kid and that’s his first game of senior footy don’t forget. 21 disposals is a great effort too.

I am coming more around to Curtain. I can see him being a very strong tall defender who can both stop and provide drive.

Would be happy if we got Curtain .
season 9 GIF

I have no problems with Harmes wage next year. Yes it sounds obscene in isolation, but clearly he took unders for the past few years.
Don't forget this guy has been best 22 for years and was a major contributor in our flag year. He's earned his payday even if he sits the reserves all next year.

He’s still a kid and that’s his first game of senior footy don’t forget. 21 disposals is a great effort too.

I am coming more around to Curtain. I can see him being a very strong tall defender who can both stop and provide drive.

I'm aware and certainly wasn't saying what I said in a negative way. He's showing other strings to his bow that were really impressive for a KPD was the point I was attempting to make.

I didn’t take your comment as a criticism - was just adding to it.

Watching the next video my observations are;

• can find the ball
  • low centre of gravity for a tall
  • neat kick
  • great evasive step/candy seller
  • not overly dominant in the air compared to other strengths (to your note Guy Threepwood 👍)
  • seems to be right handed and left footed!

I think I’d still prefer McKercher/Duursma/Watson/Sanders but won’t be disappointed if Curtain is our man.

Holy hell, how is Harmes on $500k+ for next year. We should absolutely give him away to the Gold Coast or Eagles for a future 10th rounder.

Good to see we're maintaining the line that we'll keep Grundy. His trade value plummets if word gets out we want to ship him out.

Be interesting to know what compensation we'd be up for if Jordon leaves on free agency. Could be a real win-win if somebody takes him and we get a decent pick.
are north interested.???
Who do they have rucking for the next couple of years.?

Jordan I think I'd like to hang onto, just now.

• seems to be right handed and left footed!

One of my mates growing up was a gun at every sport he played and was this in footy, but the ****ery didnt stop there. He played golf between tee and green right handed but putted and batted left handed in cricket, bowled right handed.

Absolute mind ****.