Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Surely we’re trying to shake loose Tom Lynch from the Tigers. It makes the most sense to me. Best option out there available who won’t cost pick 5.

Reckon our back 6 needs work.

May is still capable but he looks as though the cliff is coming. I’m probably harsh on Lever but I reckon his role is becoming obsolete - need to be able to defend one on one the way footy is being played. Salem is meh, McVee looks a prospect but was shown up in finals, ideally Rivers pushes into the midfield and I like Bowey but every club in the league has a half back like him.

We need a reliable 3rd tall and for Salem and Lever to recapture somewhere near their 21 form for me to start proclaiming our back 6 as best in the comp.
I think lever can do his thing but we need other defenders then. He needs to be thought of as an attacking option in the air. We need another bloke down there that defends thus why we always look better with Tommo

Reckon our back 6 needs work.

May is still capable but he looks as though the cliff is coming.

‘Back six needs work’ is plausible but May only ‘still capable’? Mate did you watch him against Carlton? He’s the best defender in the AFL. Special footballer.

Surely we’re trying to shake loose Tom Lynch from the Tigers. It makes the most sense to me. Best option out there available who won’t cost pick 5.
Yze said they are aiming for top 4 next year. That means 0 chance they trade our Lynch

I think lever can do his thing but we need other defenders then. He needs to be thought of as an attacking option in the air. We need another bloke down there that defends thus why we always look better with Tommo

Lever was a big victim of us playing musical chairs with our KPPs this year imo.

Yze said they are aiming for top 4 next year. That means 0 chance they trade our Lynch

That’s crazy talk from the Tigers. If that’s what he told them in interviews to get their hopes up they’re in for a rude shock and Yze will come under pressure fairly quickly.

Good! He was great in the Blues final. When he buys in, he's an important linkman.

How much more depth do you want us to leak?
When he doesn't he is whiny, sulky baby that has the impact of a spit ball.

Spargo is not depth, he is a list-clogger. He used to be much better in his 1st year, accurate, nasty a pit-bull. Hr'd gone backwards ever since and the last two years since the 21 flag it has been very noticeable.

When he doesn't he is whiny, sulky baby that has the impact of a spit ball.

Spargo is not depth, he is a list-clogger
Not how I'd describe Spargo. I like that he demands a lot from his teammates.

That’s crazy talk from the Tigers. If that’s what he told them in interviews to get their hopes up they’re in for a rude shock and Yze will come under pressure fairly quickly.
Maybe he was harsher in his other job interviews and decided he'd catch more flies with honey than vinegar.

Honestly sounded pretty simple. Rather than say flag eras over we are rebuilding he said just like GWS and Carlton why would they cap their potential and why not aim for the top 4

Honestly it was pretty funny how Ross Lyon basically went in with the opposite mindset and publicly bagged the list and they still made finals.

Hes still that old school coach probably went in saying that hoping to get a reaction and get some blokes wanting to prove him wrong. You'd have to say it worked

Nah he’s not that bad man. Ideally he’s not best 22 but you can’t just have all your depth as pick 60s.

Not how I'd describe Spargo. I like that he demands a lot from his teammates.

I hope he proves me wrong next year, then. If so I'll eat my words.

Hes still that old school coach probably went in saying that hoping to get a reaction and get some blokes wanting to prove him wrong. You'd have to say it worked
Yeah and also always going to be a very different approach from a first time coach making their way to a bloke who was basically head-hunted.

This might’ve already been discussed but:

North have 2, 3 (likely), 14, 19 & 40

We have 5, 13, 25, 33 + Grundy compo

What would it take in trade to get either of North’s pick 2 or 3 so we can get our hands on our choice of McKercher or Duursma?

Think I’d rather the absolute top shelf talent and sacrifice our later pick/s. McKercher in particular looks worth it. Maybe 5, 13 & 25 for 3, 19 & 40?

This might’ve already been discussed but:

North have 2, 3 (likely), 14, 19 & 40

We have 5, 13, 25, 33 + Grundy compo

What would it take in trade to get either of North’s pick 2 or 3 so we can get our hands on our choice of McKercher or Duursma?

Think I’d rather the absolute top shelf talent and sacrifice our later pick/s. McKercher in particular looks worth it. Maybe 5, 13 & 25 for 3, 19 & 40?
Question is why would north give up the better pick to slide a couple places and gain a couple. I think we'd have take 19 out of that deal for them to do it

Much better strategy. Under promise, over deliver. Ross has basically ensured a 5 year minimum tenure going that route.

Once the holiday period is over for Ooze, as those Tiger stars continue to retire and they don’t live up to ludicrous top 4 aspirations, watch them come for him.

Question is why would north give up the better pick to slide a couple places and gain a couple. I think we'd have take 19 out of that deal for them to do it

It depends. 19 down to 13 is a reasonable upgrade if they feel they can get their hands on a specific player they believe will still be there at 13. Also they may rate Sanders more highly than us and be happy to take him at pick 5. Plus they get an upgrade on 40 to 25 which is pretty decent.

Just spitballing but there may be a way of doing it.

The other picks/strategy I’d be looking at is GWS’ pick 6 or Cats’ pick 7. If we could somehow package up pick 13 with our 2024 first rounder I would not be against moving up the board to get access to two early first rounders at this draft. Geelong in particular need a mini re-build and might prefer multiple first round picks over 2023/24 to just pick 7 now. GWS less likely to want to deal.

Going to the draft with say 5 & 7 and taking a combo of two of Sanders/Watson/O’Sullivan/Caddy works for me. Jason Taylor seems to prefer this type of strategy as well, bringing in two high picks together rather than spread them out year by year.

It depends. 19 down to 13 is a reasonable upgrade if they feel they can get their hands on a specific player they believe will still be there at 13. Also they may rate Sanders more highly than us and be happy to take him at pick 5. Plus they get an upgrade on 40 to 25 which is pretty decent.

Just spitballing but there may be a way of doing it.

The other picks/strategy I’d be looking at is GWS’ pick 6 and Cats’ pick 7. If we could somehow package up pick 13 with our 2024 first rounder I would not be against moving up the board to get access to two early first rounders at this draft. Geelong in particular need a mini re-build and might prefer multiple first round picks over 2023/24 to just pick 7 now. GWS less likely to want to deal.

Going to the draft with say 5 & 7 and taking a combo of Sanders/Watson/O’Sullivan works for me. Jason Taylor seems to prefer this type of strategy as well, bringing in two high picks together rather than spread them out year by year.
A lot of the picks between 13 and 19 will likely be eaten up by bids which will also push 13 back so it won't be a huge upgrade. Might end up being 22 to 18 or something.

I’m thinking Darcy Wilson will come into strong consideration for our first pick now.

With pick 5 (which could be pick 8) we are probably looking at Watson, Caddy or O’Sullivan.

If we prefer a runner then Wilson is probably considered the next best and I think he’d be a good fit for us at 185cm, hard runner, good tackler but primarily an outside game with good feet and hands and hits the scoreboard.

Yeah. Probably for another thread but I reckon the whole let’s bottom out for picks is from a bygone era. Reckon we could’ve saved ourselves a fair bit of pain in the Bailey/Neeld era by not playing so many players based on their birth certificate or draft position.

Roos had a pretty simple philosophy of let’s get the best out of the cattle that we have.

I look forward to my invite. 😜

But honestly, I remember getting called a troll simply because I said I wanted to draft 5 key forwards. And with Ben Brown, Mcdonald and Schache all cooked and Jefferson not exactly giving us a stack of confidence I don't think it was too far off the mark. In 2 years when May is done, Petty will go back again losing another forward. And who knows with Joel Smiths body. Van Rooyen is still a bit off the pace but he should become a good player. But yeah, I'm a troll and now people want to trade Oliver to fix our forward line woes....

I'm staggered we didn't nab Koschitzle and Buku Khamis. I'd prefer both of them over Hawkins
Yeah Koschitzke was one I thought we might have had a crack at. But is he competing with JVR? Too similar maybe?

Not sure on the need for 5 key forwards. Petty if his foot recovers looks good. JVR for a 2nd year player looked very good at times. Ran out of puff but that's understandable. Fritta and Smith provide some mobility and McAdam will do the same. At full strength, not sure Koschitzke gets a game. He may as well have stayed at Hawks. But Lynch or Hawkins intrigues me. Schache is there for depth, and Jefferson is raw but improving. So maybe another key tall is needed, but not 5. I hope we're looking at improving our forward flanks tbh. Zippy blokes who can hit a target and the scoreboard.