Analysis 2023 Draft Watch

Just a hypothetical.

If TDK accepts the substantial offer from the Swans, I'd be hoping that Austin would be feverishly working the phones, although he's likely doing that anyway.

We negotiate to trade TDK to the Swans for their two 2nd round picks - possibly with some shuffling of later/future picks. At the same time we trade these onto GCS for their 1st round pick, potentially giving us picks 4 and 9 going by the current draft order.

If nothing else, it puts us in Harley Reid territory.
saviour territory? he's clearly a freak but if we could maneuver into say, 3 top 30 picks somehow I think I'd be happier..........my happiness is important

Outside of Reid who is the one I want a bid on Rogers and pray GC don't match, these two fit our need but are unlikely, shifting our attention to Watson or Caddy next depending on availability.
If we do go after a forward in the draft, then looking at mids from the state league could be an option.

Outside of Reid who is the one I want a bid on Rogers and pray GC don't match, these two fit our need but are unlikely, shifting our attention to Watson or Caddy next depending on availability.
If we do go after a forward in the draft, then looking at mids from the state league could be an option.
Curious as to why you'd prefer Rogers over Watson?

Just get me the best kick on the U18’s…

Don’t what the bull or the accumulator, give me silk and a deadly left or right foot and I’m happy…
Exactly , skill, speed, footy IQ , but foremost a good user, no matter whom it is , we need these abilities in this part of the ground, midfield.
It’s we’re the games won.
Austin just has to get it right no excuse. As mentioned earlier McKercher is a terrific mover thru traffic, unfortunately his kicking is not at the same level, we don’t need another average user, by foot.

Both have zip very lineball in my eyes it all comes down to do we prioritize a mid or do we prioritize a forward, and are either gettable.
Watson comfortably the best small forward at 169cm. Pretty sure both will be playing up forward next year given Rogers is only 170cm himself, hard to imagine him lining up against Bontempelli at a centre bounce.

Watson a very small chance of being available at our pick, Rogers will definitely be at GCS next year, can't see them not matching a bid on him.

Watson comfortably the best small forward at 169cm. Pretty sure both will be playing up forward next year given Rogers is only 170cm himself, hard to imagine him lining up against Bontempelli at a centre bounce.

Watson a very small chance of being available at our pick, Rogers will definitely be at GCS next year, can't see them not matching a bid on him.
Both look very good prospects and I am not saying they will be as good as anyone, Rogers is more like a Butters type Watson is a Rankine type.
Rogers can use his speed to break out but mainly uses it from contest to contest creating enormous pressure within the contest, think he will end up a mid down the track regardless of size.
Watson uses his pace to excel away from the contest which leads me to believe he will be a forward who might pinch hit in the middle.
GC would be mad not to match a bid on Rogers if it comes to that and Watson could be gone by our pick but I can dare to dream his height might put some off.
We've got Cunningham who is a contest to contest with speed player but very injury prone, the teams on the rise have at least two of these types of players and feel it's imperative we acquire another one.
Outside of Reid and Rogers I haven't seen another mid with this attribute from this draft crop, so to get Reid (Rogers unattainable) I'd be happy to sacrifice something substantial (not from the spine) to be in a position to draft him.
If we are unable or not willing to use the capital to obtain Reid (price to high) hopefully we finally start to target players that take the game on Watson becomes priority 1 we need to trade up for.

Both look very good prospects and I am not saying they will be as good as anyone, Rogers is more like a Butters type Watson is a Rankine type.
Rogers can use his speed to break out but mainly uses it from contest to contest creating enormous pressure within the contest, think he will end up a mid down the track regardless of size.
Watson uses his pace to excel away from the contest which leads me to believe he will be a forward who might pinch hit in the middle.
GC would be mad not to match a bid on Rogers if it comes to that and Watson could be gone by our pick but I can dare to dream his height might put some off.
We've got Cunningham who is a contest to contest with speed player but very injury prone, the teams on the rise have at least two of these types of players and feel it's imperative we acquire another one.
Outside of Reid and Rogers I haven't seen another mid with this attribute from this draft crop, so to get Reid (Rogers unattainable) I'd be happy to sacrifice something substantial (not from the spine) to be in a position to draft him.
If we are unable or not willing to use the capital to obtain Reid (price to high) hopefully we finally start to target players that take the game on Watson becomes priority 1 we need to trade up for.
I think Curtin's surge in form could be our only chance for Watson to slide to us, dependent on if we remain in the bottom 6 of the ladder for the rest of the season.

My order for us is Reid, Watson, Caddy, Mckercher, Duursma.

Mckercher is my favourite in terms of who I think will be there at our pick but if Watson or Caddy are available I think we should take them no questions asked.

Has proven so...

...He kills me every time he kicks it out of bounds on the full...
Soccer Fail GIF

I think Curtin's surge in form could be our only chance for Watson to slide to us, dependent on if we remain in the bottom 6 of the ladder for the rest of the season.

My order for us is Reid, Watson, Caddy, Mckercher, Duursma.

Mckercher is my favourite in terms of who I think will be there at our pick but if Watson or Caddy are available I think we should take them no questions asked.
l reckon Curtin is a fair distance in front of Duursma if you were applying best available strategy right now, Curtin was highly rated 12 months ago.
Mckercher has what we are lacking with the current mid field in terms of speed.

We are not getting Reid unless we give up two 1st round picks, if we have two picks in the top 10, would rather take two quality players rather than potentially one elite player.

I'll be tuning in to this game instead of our AFL team at half time, will give a wrap up for anyone who doesn't get around to watching

Don't get angry, Ed Curnow's selection and Mitchell Starcs not out catch have driven me to madness

Jed Walter would be my pick 1 in this draft. Kids like a mix of Charlie Curnow and Tom Hawkins. Absolute freak.

Well it was really just the Mckercher, Sanders and Rogers show today which sort of ruined the game in terms of other prospects. VIC Metro couldn't fire a shot because they couldn't get their hands on the ball and as a result Caddy, Watson, Croft etc were barely sighted up forward.

My initial notes are that Mckercher and Sanders are seriously good footballers and GCS are going to have an absolute nightmare matching bids for Walter, Rogers and Read. All guns.

Jet Walter (GCS) - An absolute behemoth up forward, one of the most athletic specimens I've seen come through. Reminds me of a much more agile Tom Boyd coming through, seriously difficult to match up on with his speed, strength and Naughton like attack on the ball in the air. In my opinion he is the most likely to be the best player from this draft, I think Reid has a higher floor but Walter the highest ceiling. IMO would go pick 1 if he wasn't tied to GCS.

Ryley Sanders - Athleticism has probably been the biggest slight on him so far and I still have my doubts over his effectiveness at the next level, I think he'll be a really good solid footballer but I don't think he has the upside of a player like JHF who for the most part plays very similarly to him. JHF had explosive pace and was fantastic in the air which means he has that X-factor that could make a top 5 player in the comp if developed well. Sanders a bit more of a Matt Kennedy type, but a better runner. Just a tough, clean natural footballer with not as many tools to end up the best player in the crop. Think he'll go around the 10 mark to one of Geelong or WB who are in need of some new young mids. He'll likely be a very a good player, I just have my doubts about him ever being a truly elite one.

Colby Mckercher - Had another great game, literally never plays a bad one. I do accept sometimes his kicking is a bit wayward but it's not a technical flaw, he just overkicks it on occasion imo but with sound technique. His handball game is a bit similar, he's not a Lachie Neale level handballer in tight but still very good. I think in an AFL system training skills every day with players like Cripps and Walsh he would have that worked out within a year or two. As for the rest of his game, just wow... The kids an absolute gun. Acceleration from the contest is Judd like, he's not as tough at it and isn't the player Judd was but once he gets a step on a player they simply aren't catching him. I liken him to if David Cuningham was a 35 touch per week midfielder, would absolutely love Mckercher for us. Penetrating kick, as natural a footballer as you'll see in terms of drawing players towards him before disposing of it and he just runs all day. Walsh Cerra and Mckercher would be all the run we'd need around Cripps and Kennedy/Hewett.

Jake Rogers (GCS) - A very curious draftee. Absolute pressure animal in tight, strong as an ox for his 171cm height, clean, fast, aggressive user of the footy. He's a gun player at this level. Will that translate at AFL level against the bigger, stronger, faster players? Not sure. Haven't seen much of him playing up forward so couldn't say whether he'll be able to play up forward and impact up there. If he can he'd be a great Tom Papley type who splits forward and midfield time as a bit of X-factor at both positions. Interested to see where he goes in the draft because his physicality is definitely more central to his game compared to someone like Watson or Caleb Daniel which will be a big test when he steps up into the big leagues.

Ethan Read (GCS) - Scrappy, hard working, courageous and pretty damn skilled for a 203cm lad. Reminds me of a ruck equivalent of a Dylan Grimes. Not a pretty footballer by any means but extremely effective, outworks his opponents and is very underrated imo. Would love to see him bulk up and play as a KPD at AFL level, imo that would be his best position. Already intercepts around the ground very well and those scrapper types tend to make great defenders.

Nick Watson - Just couldn't get involved really, the VIC boys were just dominated by the Allies mids and defence. Tried moving up the ground to get involved with some midfield time and it was the same result. Nobody could lay a glove on Rogers, Mckercher or Sanders.

Nate Caddy - Same as above, did some nice things when the ball was near him but couldn't do anything to turn the tide of the midfield onslaught by the Allies.

Nathan Philactides - A bit similar to Mckercher in terms of flaws. Seems a beautiful kick and moves extremely well but he can be inconsistent in disposal. Kicks low darts and always looks to run off his man but he doesn't seem to have the same instincts of someone like Saad used to where he'd try and take on a few players with his pace to break the game open. Just runs away to get into some space and then hit a kick without as much pressure on him. Has great pace and defends well but think he's just a handy role player by nature. Reminds me of Isaac Quaynor who has all the tools to be a very good player but prefers to play his role and use the ball wisely rather than try and run off everyone like a headless chook despite probably being capable of it.

Jack Callinan - Really handy small forward from Tassie, uses the ball well inside 50 has a silky kick on him and he looks to cover the ground pretty well too. Wouldn't surprise me if he ends up a Brad Close type of player who really isn't a world beater by any definition but plays his role extremely well for Geelong by linking up play from the midfield to the more dangerous forwards ahead of him. Been a fan for a bit now and never really makes any decisions or errors that leave a bad taste. Just a nice player who plays his role.

Arie Schoenmaker - Big booming left foot, wouldn't be able to tell you much else about him. Looks to have a bit of puppy fat about him and doesn't look to have a heap to his game but is a good size, uses the ball well and can absolutely roost the thing on the run. Showed some good things without being spectacular.

Levi Ashcroft - Not much to say, probably a top 5 pick next year for the Lions, similar to his brother and just a good footballer. No relevance for us though so won't write up about him.

There were some other players who showed a few nice things but none that I thought deserved a mention. Players like Caleb Windsor who have great pace and some really eye catching moments frequently let themselves down with really bad blunders that make you think they are more athlete than footballer.

As it stands I am still heavily on the Mckercher bandwagon at our pick. If we continue winning getting him becomes a lot more difficult and will probably require trading up. Can't imagine him going past pick 5-6.

It’s funny that for all the - burst mid, crafty forward, sweeping/intercept defender etc
I really just want a 5’11” to 6’3” kid who is great on either foot (still amazes me the kids coming thru aren’t completely natural on both sides these days - would have thought by now that would be minimum standard), has a decent tank & a good footy IQ.
Not after the next star - want the blokes who go to the right spot & then does the right thing

Who’s the best “natural” footballers coming thru?

From what I saw of Caddy playing for the 2s he looks very likely what I want (& could be a star), who else?

It’s funny that for all the - burst mid, crafty forward, sweeping/intercept defender etc
I really just want a 5’11” to 6’3” kid who is great on either foot (still amazes me the kids coming thru aren’t completely natural on both sides these days - would have thought by now that would be minimum standard), has a decent tank & a good footy IQ.
Not after the next star - want the blokes who go to the right spot & then does the right thing

Who’s the best “natural” footballers coming thru?

From what I saw of Caddy playing for the 2s he looks very likely what I want (& could be a star), who else?
Theres really not many great kicks in this draft. No Errol Guldens or Nick Daicos types unfortunately for us.

Natural footballers there are plenty of, probably more so than refined products.

Reid, Caddy, Watson, Mckercher, Sanders, Curtin, Read, Rogers.

Theres a few 'athletes' over footballers too in Duursma, Edwards, Walter, Moir, Wilson, Philactides

Theres really not many great kicks in this draft. No Errol Guldens or Nick Daicos types unfortunately for us.

Natural footballers there are plenty of, probably more so than refined products.

Reid, Caddy, Watson, Mckercher, Sanders, Curtin, Read, Rogers.

Theres a few 'athletes' over footballers too in Duursma, Edwards, Walter, Moir, Wilson, Philactides

Ok then…

Get Paps and consider trading picks for talent from GC or GWS…

Do not want another ‘natural footballer’ who can’t kick…

Ok then…

Get Paps and consider trading picks for talent from GC or GWS…

Do not want another ‘natural footballer’ who can’t kick…
Wouldn't say Papley is a better kick than half of those blokes. Watson is a better kick than Papley and probably a more natural footballer.

Kids in this draft all have huge strengths we could use in our team but probably need a bit more time in skills programs than some other top ends of other drafts. A kid like Mckercher wouldnt be that far off Walsh in terms of footskills. Not elite but more than competent.