Analysis 2023 Draft Watch

I have to say ... this is a great time to be a Blues supporter. Preliminary finalists, stacked list, able to draft for the future and not rush these players. Two nicely placed picks where Austin has to work for it and we don't know who we are getting.

In previous years, with earlier picks, it has been fairly common knowledge so the element of surprise wasn't there.

Certainly we have been linked to Moir a lot, but any slider will come into the picture.

I didn't expect to be excited for the draft with our hand, but I really am.

I have to say ... this is a great time to be a Blues supporter. Preliminary finalists, stacked list, able to draft for the future and not rush these players. Two nicely placed picks where Austin has to work for it and we don't know who we are getting.

In previous years, with earlier picks, it has been fairly common knowledge so the element of surprise wasn't there.

Certainly we have been linked to Moir a lot, but any slider will come into the picture.

I didn't expect to be excited for the draft with our hand, but I really am.
Exactly, same sentiments here

I didn’t expect much from the trade period, enjoy it and very pleased with the outcome of EHollands & Fantasia

Now onto the trade period and I’m getting the same feelings

Go for ceilings - Bring it on :D

I'd be pretty happy if some of the following players end up on our list post draft.

Lance Collard, Charlie Edwards, George Stevens, Ashley Moir, Mitch Edwards, Cooper Simpson.

I'm after dynamic players to boost us now or strong midfield types for the future and to balance the list. Lance would be a dream, but maybe he has issues we don't know about. Charlie and George are very different players but they both give us a few more mid options with some very significant strengths. Moir and Simpson have had set backs but look like likely prospects. Mitch is just a gun ruck and hard to pass up if he's there.

T
I have been thinking about Twomey's phantom for us.

It's pretty clear that we didn't give him much.

He'd also be talking to the draftees agents, which is where he will have gotten the rookie-range player names ( Wilson, Cottrell, Wiles).

I think we'll surprise on Tuesday night

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
The players with our current picks seem to make sense, but if there is a left field option it would be Austin finding a willing seller to trade up with our future 1st.

Simpson & Moir would be a good outcome.

Now that it's clear Duffy isn't on our list I'm surprised we upgraded Cotts, given he could have stayed a rookie. Would have given us an extra pick in the main draft.

Makes me think twomey is wrong about us using a rookie draft selection and that we prefer to have players train with us for SPP. If we wanted to take another player now why wouldn't we take a pick in the main draft? Would likely give us access to a player higher up our board then if we wait until Wednesday.

For the record I prefer us picking a player that trains with us through SPP then using a late draft pick. Just don't see why we would bypass a late draft pick and then pick in the rookie draft.
Ralph reported us taking 2 ND and 1 rookie a couple of weeks ago also. I'd say that's what we will do.

To the more avid track watchers, what's the knock on Riley Wills other than being overage... profile reads like Lachie Neale

Surprised Leake is so highly rated by GWS, don't have him in the top dozen
The bloke looks good, but yeah, has been a massive rise that may be more hype than substance. Looks like a solid late first early second to me. How anyone would potentially leave Curtin on the table for him is beyond me. They apparently are looking at Fyfe like projections.

This draft is a very possible trap for some.

To blow my own trumpet, I picked Moir in two phantoms for us before any revelation of our interest came out.

I was not spruiking Moir before that, but being forced to look analytically and objectively at what was on the table led me to him. Yes, I am talking needs first. Trading in Fantasia with our other small forward options suggested we look at a Martin successor. Elijah Hollands has plenty of forward creds, but realistically becomes a full time mid in a couple of years with Doc and more specifically Crippa and Hewett reaching the big 3-0.

On the score of best available, this time last year, if he was available to draft he would have gone top 10 in that draft. He was that good underage. So if his hip has impeded him considerably which is somewhat borne out by criticism of his right foot “bombing” in 2023 as opposed by the precision of ‘22, he will be an absolute steal.

Austin seems to have a similar policy to drafting as I had to buying my tried racehorses on a very limited budget back in the day. Assess on BEST form and back yourself and your system to reproduce and build on that.

Agreed, heavily overrated.

But so is Harley imo.

Harley isn't as clean as other top prospects over the years, best way to describe him is a more versatile, but blue collar Dusty

What he does do is assessing the state of a phase or game, essentially an on field coach like a Hodge

I could make a case for a number of kids in this draft to have better careers, but Reid is bust proof and will drive any side he plays for to win games

The bloke looks good, but yeah, has been a massive rise that may be more hype than substance. Looks like a solid late first early second to me. How anyone would potentially leave Curtin on the table for him is beyond me. They apparently are looking at Fyfe like projections.

To blow my own trumpet, I picked Moir in two phantoms for us before any revelation of our interest came out.

I was not spruiking Moir before that, but being forced to look analytically and objectively at what was on the table led me to him. Yes, I am talking needs first. Trading in Fantasia with our other small forward options suggested we look at a Martin successor. Elijah Hollands has plenty of forward creds, but realistically becomes a full time mid in a couple of years with Doc and more specifically Crippa and Hewett reaching the big 3-0.

On the score of best available, this time last year, if he was available to draft he would have gone top 10 in that draft. He was that good underage. So if his hip has impeded him considerably which is somewhat borne out by criticism of his right foot “bombing” in 2023 as opposed by the precision of ‘22, he will be an absolute steal.

Austin seems to have a similar policy to drafting as I had to buying my tried racehorses on a very limited budget back in the day. Assess on BEST form and back yourself and your system to reproduce and build on that.

Leake is a strange one, while he is strong in the air and is a solid kick for goal while forward, his leading patterns are non existent

I think he is a shorter, more agile version of Ridley and will be more suited as an intercept/attacking medium defender

Harley isn't as clean as other top prospects over the years, best way to describe him is a more versatile, but blue collar Dusty

What he does do is assessing the state of a phase or game, essentially an on field coach like a Hodge

I could make a case for a number of kids in this draft to have better careers, but Reid is bust proof and will drive any side he plays for to win games
Fair assessment. I am not as “high” on Harley as most. He is definitely bust proof, though. He has a massive body for an 18 year old and how it transmits to the elite level will be fascinating. Could range from peak Dusty down to perhaps Rayner.

Harley Reid overrated? I mean, he's being talked about as the best likely top pick since Hodge so no pressure.

I rate Walter and Mckercher above him at the very least.

Harley is a poor kick of the footy. Everyone is comparing him to Dusty and rightly so. The difference though between them is Harley is better overhead but worse by foot.

He also doesn't have a tank to run in the midfield permanently for me so he'll only work as a half forward/third tall.

Still a top 10 prospect easily, just not number 1 on my list.

I rate Walter and Mckercher above him at the very least.

Harley is a poor kick of the footy. Everyone is comparing him to Dusty and rightly so. The difference though between them is Harley is better overhead but worse by foot.

He also doesn't have a tank to run in the midfield permanently for me so he'll only work as a half forward/third tall.

Still a top 10 prospect easily, just not number 1 on my list.

I'd also have Walter and McKercher ahead of him for prime roles, but Reid can play pretty much every role all over the park, because of his versatility and speed, toughness

I have to ask. How did the racehorse buying turn out overall. Find a couple of cheap diamonds?

Guys I want the most that could be available

Charlie Edwards
Cooper Simpson

Others i really like

Ollie Murphy
Lance Collard
Ashton Moir

Happy to add

Riley Hardeman
Zane Zakostelsky
George Stevens
Aiden O'Driscoll
Logan Morris
Will Green
Angus Hastie
Nice list. Don’t fully agree with all, but pretty close.

Love your inclusion of Stevens. Not a need for us at the moment, but think he shapes as a steal. After basically a year off, clearly doing plenty of time in the gym as well as being good on the tooth, he cops heaps because of size and perceived mobility. A couple of years out was a “lock” for top 5.

He had some fantastic moments through the championships and has a very decent ceiling. With the possible exception of Reid and Sanders, he shapes as the best extractor in the group. His positioning and footy smarts are obvious. There is still a place for the non athlete footballers in today’s game, dependent on the players around him. Some parallels with our own Crippa for mine, with the advantage that he has a legitimate second position. (Perhaps Stocker like in defence)

When looking at our needs versus player traits, I question Collard and Morris (liked him and watched some games closely, has as many flaws as assets unfortunately) Haven’t seen combine figures, but Murphy must have been abysmal to slide so far. Always thought first round was too high, but certainly looked a solid KPD prospect. A little too “straight line” to rave about, but surely in the top 4-5 KPD prospects (I do prefer ZZ based on dramatically better speed and agility).

My list would add Sanchez and include the rucks Edwards and big upside Goad. Not a percentage play, but any of the rucks Edwards, Goad and Green will pull a first rounder in trade in a couple of years if TDK re-signs. I love O’Keeffe, but he is not tall by modern ruck standards and shapes more as a second ruck/forward at AFL level. Edwards gave HOK a bath in the futures game against our VFL, but to Hudson’s defence had not been rucking much behind Mirkov until that stage in the season, was under heavy training load and is only a couple of months older than Edwards. Would back HOK to be a more athletic version of Pitto who can kick a goal, but Edwards has definite English level potential (better tap and marginally below at ground level).

If Mirkov plays most of the season, I would like O’Keeffe “schooled” as a key at either end of the ground for development purposes.

Nice list. Don’t fully agree with all, but pretty close.

Love your inclusion of Stevens. Not a need for us at the moment, but think he shapes as a steal. After basically a year off, clearly doing plenty of time in the gym as well as being good on the tooth, he cops heaps because of size and perceived mobility. A couple of years out was a “lock” for top 5.

He had some fantastic moments through the championships and has a very decent ceiling. With the possible exception of Reid and Sanders, he shapes as the best extractor in the group. His positioning and footy smarts are obvious. There is still a place for the non athlete footballers in today’s game, dependent on the players around him. Some parallels with our own Crippa for mine, with the advantage that he has a legitimate second position. (Perhaps Stocker like in defence)

When looking at our needs versus player traits, I question Collard and Morris (liked him and watched some games closely, has as many flaws as assets unfortunately) Haven’t seen combine figures, but Murphy must have been abysmal to slide so far. Always thought first round was too high, but certainly looked a solid KPD prospect. A little too “straight line” to rave about, but surely in the top 4-5 KPD prospects (I do prefer ZZ based on dramatically better speed and agility).

My list would add Sanchez and include the rucks Edwards and big upside Goad. Not a percentage play, but any of the rucks Edwards, Goad and Green will pull a first rounder in trade in a couple of years if TDK re-signs. I love O’Keeffe, but he is not tall by modern ruck standards and shapes more as a second ruck/forward at AFL level. Edwards gave HOK a bath in the futures game against our VFL, but to Hudson’s defence had not been rucking much behind Mirkov until that stage in the season, was under heavy training load and is only a couple of months older than Edwards. Would back HOK to be a more athletic version of Pitto who can kick a goal, but Edwards has definite English level potential (better tap and marginally below at ground level).

If Mirkov plays most of the season, I would like O’Keeffe “schooled” as a key at either end of the ground for development purposes.

Wouldn't be disappointed with Sanchez or Edwards who I thought would slide due to a couple of off-field incidents