List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

Rory Lobb too

Neale an SA kid leaving but not to go home, another weird one (especially as you'd think Neale ends up back in WA post career)
Losing Lachie Weller (technically a Tasmanian from memory) and Lachie Neale to Queensland is truly bizarre.

We have to be one of the only teams to lose players to states they're not even from on the regular.

It's one of those ones where they would legitimately be looking to offload that pick anyway, so we give them some points back and they'll come to play you'd think
Yeah, I wouldnt hold much hope of getting the Melbourne one but there would be some hope of getting the Dogs one in a deal that works for everyone

Don't think that was Bell, Rosich was still here trying to replumb the joint.

Based on this, and other articles at least outwards communication said we were rebuilding.

Does not matter now anyway

I suspect that we will get near enough out of the already listed tall defender options to warrant picking a player elsewhere over retaining Hamling for season 2024. We would effectively have Kuek and Hamling as two players who won't be considered for games unless two of Pearce, Cox, Ryan are injured at the same time and I would hope that playing one of Draper or Davies in that nothing but spoil role Hamling played would be adequate.

As far as underselling Joel's career. He played more games in his first season at Fremantle than he had at two clubs prior since he was drafted, with the most in the season immediately prior where a third of his played games were finals - in which he played a pivotal role filling in for the last month of the season prior after the rest of the Doggie's tall options fell over.

He has played four games since the end of 2019 and basically 70% of his entire career was played in 2017 to 2019 where Fremantle won 25 games.

He was in the right place at the right time to seize his opportunity and he did, and full credit to him, he worked his side to a flag.
Davies and Draper look a fair way off but who knows what another preseason can do.
Only one of Cox, Ryan and Pearce was missing yet he was chosen. One year on the rookie list is ok by me unless we are sure we have a ready made replacement.
Amatey didn't get a sniff btw and Pearce played on Buddy last time so he wasn't forced to play on him by Cox's exclusion. Cox wouldn't have played on Buddy even though Pearce is injured. And jeez it was nice to have a stopper who could actually beat their man occasionally in a 50/50 contest.
If he can handle the level and he is the best option for now, then I'm happy to keep him. Just the thought of playing Davies or Draper atm is enough to give me night terrors. Although apparently Draper looks more impressive at training than Peel.

Davies and Draper look a fair way off but who knows what another preseason can do.
Only one of Cox, Ryan and Pearce was missing yet he was chosen. One year on the rookie list is ok by me unless we are sure we have a ready made replacement.
Amatey didn't get a sniff btw and Pearce played on Buddy last time so he wasn't forced to play on him by Cox's exclusion. Cox wouldn't have played on Buddy even though Pearce is injured. And jeez it was nice to have a stopper who could actually beat their man occasionally in a 50/50 contest.
If he can handle the level and he is the best option for now, then I'm happy to keep him. Just the thought of playing Davies or Draper atm is enough to give me night terrors. Although apparently Draper looks more impressive at training than Peel.
The last two weeks has me thinking Davies isnt as far off as I thought. Not someone you want as best 22 but I think he's ready to be an actual depth player next year.

Why do all of Young’s players have the most dogshit attitudes? Every player who’s 90% b22 instead of 100% decides to go chase money elsewhere instead of focusing on cementing their spot in the team. So much arrogance.

Henry was turning it over ever possession he had at the start of the year and was still given 4/5 weeks and has the audacity to sook about being back at peel.

Why do all of Young’s players have the most dogshit attitudes? Every player who’s 90% b22 instead of 100% decides to go chase money elsewhere instead of focusing on cementing their spot in the team. So much arrogance.

Henry was turning it over ever possession he had at the start of the year and was still given 4/5 weeks and has the audacity to sook about being back at peel.
Simply, other player managers incentivise their clients to be where they can be as happy as possible, Young incentivises earning as much money as possible because he doesnt get a cut of their happiness. As soon as they arent best 22 he's in their ear. A new contract somewhere else is generally always more for him than staying at the club.

He brings the odd player in this way, sure, but because he has such a stable of WA players, we get ****ed more than anyone. **** that turd

The last two weeks has me thinking Davies isnt as far off as I thought. Not someone you want as best 22 but I think he's ready to be an actual depth player next year.
Not as a key defender. Not imo. But he is showing good improvement.Could only see him replacing Ryan which wouldn't be too bad if Ryan plays tall. But I'm not sure I am trusting Ryan's footy consistency atm. If in doubt keep the known, trusted option imo, if only for 1 more year. I doubt they will though.

Simply, other player managers incentivise their clients to be where they can be as happy as possible, Young incentivises earning as much money as possible because he doesnt get a cut of their happiness. As soon as they arent best 22 he's in their ear. A new contract somewhere else is generally always more for him than staying at the club.

He brings the odd player in this way, sure, but because he has such a stable of WA players, we get ****ed more than anyone. * that turd
I don't disagree that he is a living form of excrement, but it's still our problem to solve.

Whether it's the Board, Garlick, Bell or someone else, we need to work this shit out.

The fact it happens year, after year, after year is on us, not him.

I don't disagree that he is a living form of excrement, but it's still our problem to solve.

Whether it's the Board, Garlick, Bell or someone else, we need to work this s**t out.

The fact it happens year, after year, after year is on us, not him.
Don't know. Every club should have the right to see what they are paying for. Contracting Henry earlier would have been guess work and playing him even when he was very ordinary is not sending a great message. Although we have been very selective with that.

I can't get my head around the idea that he thought he was owed a place in the team given his form up until mid-season. I was happy to support him playing given I thought he could improve but at the point he'd done SFA.

Good riddance if that is his reason for leaving.
think thats a bit of a misinterpretation, if hes guaranteed to be playing AFL footy moreso at another team than here hed be silly not to consider it

All he needed was to play better and he would have been guaranteed game time with us. We gave him an opportunity every chance we got.

Showed class the whole way through but all the NFI brigade kept knocking him. Now you are whinging he might leave.

Non-sequitur as evidenced by the fact he is playing now. You can't change clubs mid year so why wouldn't you try your ass off the rest of the year and then seeking opportunities if it still doesn't come? I know the answer to that.

Showed class the whole way through but all the NFI brigade kept knocking him. Now you are whinging he might leave.
Not sure if this is aimed partly at me but I said he should be given a go.

Blanket statements like this tend to be largely wrong because you're trying to treat the board as one entity when it isn't.

How's it going Colin Young? I ain't whinging at all mate, Henry isn't anything special.

Henry is not a major loss IMO. He’s just a fringe player in reality and nothing like Ed Langdon or Brad Hill.
Yeah he’s been decent enough recently but it’s from a low enough base. If we can get the dogs later first round pick in a trade of some sort and hold onto pick 21 too - it’s a massive win. I don’t think we will but if Bell can do so somehow it would compensate a bit for the Jackson trade debacle. Henry has a very questionable attitude, it’s a small thing but when I saw him running over to Walters to do some stupid handshandy celebration thing the other day after Walters kicked the goal when we were about 40 points down I thought to myself are you talking the piss mate?
We have been absolutely shit in a home game against 14th placed side and you are running around trying to entertain the crowd with your nonsense celebration. As if we were 40 points ahead, not behind.

Not sure where I read it but it was mentioned somewhere that Tabs was training with the backline. Is he a stop gap for a year while D&D continue to develop. Already contracted and isn’t getting a game forward.

Regarding the Henry stuff, I think he will stay, this is just the colon MO,
If he thinks he’s going to go to dees or the dogs and get a consistent look in, then he’s got rocks in his head. They both bat deeper than us through the middle, and neither of them are going to pay up for a depth winger.

North may be the one, which is dicey. I’d hope for a future 2nd, or they could go through the draft. But we did get a future 3rd for Tucker so who knows what we could squeeze out

Henry is not a major loss IMO. He’s just a fringe player in reality and nothing like Ed Langdon or Brad Hill.
Yeah he’s been decent enough recently but it’s from a low enough base. If we can get the dogs later first round pick in a trade of some sort and hold onto pick 21 too - it’s a massive win. I don’t think we will but if Bell can do so somehow it would compensate a bit for the Jackson trade debacle. Henry has a very questionable attitude, it’s a small thing but when I saw him running over to Walters to do some stupid handshandy celebration thing the other day after Walters kicked the goal when we were about 40 points down I thought to myself are you talking the piss mate?
We have been absolutely s**t in a home game against 14th placed side and you are running around trying to entertain the crowd with your nonsense celebration. As if we were 40 points ahead, not behind.
Not on output now he's not but he's still better than the next best and only 21. To think he can't get significantly better from here is awful naive.

We have been absolutely s**t in a home game against 14th placed side and you are running around trying to entertain the crowd with your nonsense celebration. As if we were 40 points ahead, not behind.
Would prefer he go to Melbourne tbh.

We could look at upgrading pick 21 to a late first and also try and get our second rounder back. We'd have to throw in North's third for them to even consider it but I'd take the two picks we had then and be reasonably happy with it.

Not on output now he's not but he's still better than the next best and only 21. To think he can't get significantly better from here is awful naive.
He could get better of course but I don’t think he’s going to be an AA player or anything like that. He’s likely to be a solid middle of the road role player at best. Just my opinion.
I don’t see any hardened, ruthless winners mindset in him, the kind you need to be in a flag winning side. If we could exchange him for a decent forward in the 15-20 range in the draft I would be quite happy to roll the dice on that.

Would prefer he go to Melbourne tbh.

We could look at upgrading pick 21 to a late first and also try and get our second rounder back. We'd have to throw in North's third for them to even consider it but I'd take the two picks we had then and be reasonably happy with it.
Melbourne give us nothing in trade negotiations. They take joy in ****ing us over. No chance we get that deal from them