VFL 2023 - Reserves Game Day discussion Rnds 1 - 22 (Merged threads)

Absolutely. Was wondering how he would be in a support role though? Used to running his own program. Obviously a good thinker and has his charges well drilled.

Great profile for mine.
May not have to be a support role as he could be best deployed as our VFL coach leaving Power more time to purely focus on development and the AFL system, win win.

Motlop looked a lot busier than we've seen for a while - although the slower pace at VFL level means he can get to more contests. I reckons the powers that be have put a rocket up him with his work output, and he did respond to a degree.

The other issue he has right now is his situational awareness. He has sublime hand skills below his knees and a cheeky little sidestep - but what he lacks is the first give to the outlet players when he has the ball in hand. BUT, he's only 19yo and still making the transition from junior footy....it's an area that could improve with development and experience, which would make him a dangerous weapon.

Loved big Huddo's game today - he's getting better and better each week - should get another contract next year. Also Lemmey's game, starting to get more confidence. I'm not even gonna comment on Binnsy - he's a ****ing machine!!! Cow also ready for a senior recall.

And for those who knocked our boys' loss today, don't forget we had 7 teenagers running around today - Binns, Lem, HO'K, Motlop, Cow, Dozzi and Sinnott - nearly a third of our team - and Ramshaw, Gill, McMahon, Carroll, Akuei and Honey all 21yo or younger. It's always gonna be hard against the bigger more mature bodies.

May not have to be a support role as he could be best deployed as our VFL coach leaving Power more time to purely focus on development and the AFL system, win win.
Just trawled through an SEN story on Barlow. Returned to Werribee as a playing assistant coach under Chocco Williams who taught him the ins and outs of coaching, strategy, drills etc, before Chocco got the gig at Melbourne. If we can’t have Williams, let’s have the apprentice, who is making a great fist of coaching in his own right.

I agree, reckon the head of development and the VFL coach should be two separate roles. Both working together in the best interests of the seniors. It’s a mountain of work for one Luke Power.

I love the coaching staff are trying to be innovative with fish.
Imo we should be doing more of this with some of our players.
If they don’t work out in one position, then if possible work on developing them in another. You never know what u might find!
Example(Liam Jones)

I love the coaching staff are trying to be innovative with fish.
Imo we should be doing more of this with some of our players.
If they don’t work out in one position, then if possible work on developing them in another. You never know what u might find!
Example(Liam Jones)
Although I agree with your point it is hard to see how Fish will ever be able to play a HB role in the AFL side. Saad, Docherty, Boyd, Cincotta, Cowan, Newman, Williams etc. Obviously a couple take that BP position but there isn't a heap of room off the HB line.

I agree, Fisher isn't a backman at the next level, but perhaps it's aimed at improving his defensive flaws

If the regular host wants to take over, they can change it into their name. I started the thread because I didn't have enough worthy weekly links to provide to the Chieftain.

Saturday arvo IKON home game
Sunny , no rain 14 degrees
Should be a comfortable win
Prediction 10 goals
Marchbank and Big Durds should be available to play…

Injured - C.Durdin Hollands Philp Williams Mirkov
Suspended - Cottrell

Silvagni Motlop O’Brien Carroll Plowman (Marchbank) Fisher Cowan Hewett Lemmey Young E.Curnow Honey (S.Durdin) O’Keefe Akuei

Ramshaw & Dozzi
McMahon Cahill Crocker Parks Gill Sinnott (Ronke)? Stevens

Saturday arvo IKON home game
Sunny , no rain 14 degrees
Should be a comfortable win
Prediction 10 goals
Marchbank and Big Durds should be available to play…

Injured - C.Durdin Hollands Philp Williams Mirkov
Suspended - Cottrell

Silvagni Motlop O’Brien Carroll Plowman (Marchbank) Fisher Cowan Hewett Lemmey Young E.Curnow Honey (S.Durdin) O’Keefe Akuei

Ramshaw & Dozzi
McMahon Cahill Crocker Parks Gill Sinnott (Ronke)? Stevens
So you have selected Binns in the ones?

Might not be as cut and dried as all see it. They are holding him back for a reason. Could happen, but is not a fait accompli.

Silvagni, Hewett, Fisher, Cowan right in the mix. Ed always a chance with our coaching group. LOB not out of mix, and they are determined to get games in to Motlop.

Does Dow get a gig in the 22? If not, does he get a full game back in the twos?

Great to have decent numbers available. Looking forward to Marchy fighting for his career and hopefully Nigel can get some continuity.

So you have selected Binns in the ones?

Might not be as cut and dried as all see it. They are holding him back for a reason. Could happen, but is not a fait accompli.

Silvagni, Hewett, Fisher, Cowan right in the mix. Ed always a chance with our coaching group. LOB not out of mix, and they are determined to get games in to Motlop.

Does Dow get a gig in the 22? If not, does he get a full game back in the twos?

Great to have decent numbers available. Looking forward to Marchy fighting for his career and hopefully Nigel can get some continuity.
I have, I’m presuming that Dow and Binns are selected it’s just a matter of the actual selection criteria, then there will be at least another emergency held over for the main game as well..

CARLTON

IN
: P. Dow, S. Durdin, T. Leiu, C. Marchbank, L. Plowman, D. Porter, B. Ronke
OUT: J. Silvagni (AFL), D. Akuei (concussion), Z. Fisher (injured), H. Gill, B. Kuipers, L. Prout, H. Sinnott

B: L. Parks (63), L. Young (33), S. Durdin (38)
HB: L. Cowan (26), C. Marchbank (22), L. Plowman (20)
C: J. Binns (32), G. Hewett (29), L. O'Brien (4)
HF: J. Honey (36), B. Ronke (67), J. Motlop (3)
F: L. McMahon (52), B. Crocker (57), H. Lemmey (31)
R: H. O'Keeffe (40), P. Dow (2), J. Carroll (16)

INT: D. Porter (72)*, H. Ramshaw (51), P. Dozzi (53), T. Leiu (55), N. Cahill (54)

EMG: H. Gill (62), L. Prout (74), M. Lewis (58), J. Lefroy (79), B. Kuipers (60), D. Hogg (59)

VFL 2023 - Reserves Game Day discussion Rnds 1 - 22 (Merged threads)