List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread

Edit: will update if ppl happy for this to sticky

Ok starting the hit list of names mentioned in any rumour as linked to us for 2023 trade period.
  • Mac Andrew
  • Hunter Clark
  • Zac Fisher
  • Sam Flanders
  • Mitch Georgiades
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Lewis Melican
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Dylan Stephens
  • Adam Tomlinson

Yeah that just sounds like the f*n pr1ck in the gladdy park milk bar, when I was 4 yo and went in with a 5er and asked if I had enough for 2 redskins and a mars bar......"yes that's enough".......no change. (80's prices,,,40+ years on I bet he still remembers an encounter with the old boy a few minutes later).

iIn other words Freo sees what's in our hand and says yeah that's the price.
I reckon I probably went to that same Gladdy Park milk bar. I spent a lot of time at the tennis club there in the 80s

Fun fact ; I used to work night shift at 7/11 , Melrose and Carrick Drives Tullamarine.
Early uni days worked many Saturday nights. Heaps of North and * players would pop in between 3/6am for munchies. ( usually very pissed)
One particular * player had an obsession with porno magazines.
He’d go home with 3, he’d be back an hour later to buy 3 more.
Very strange man but funny at the same time.
And the Armenian lads who worked at Melrose Reception were funny buggers too. Reminded me of the actors in “you don’t mess with the Zohan”

Great days indeed, the late 80s early 90s in Gladstone Park

Fun fact ; I used to work night shift at 7/11 , Melrose and Carrick Drives Tullamarine.
Early uni days worked many Saturday nights. Heaps of North and * players would pop in between 3/6am for munchies. ( usually very pissed)
And the Armenian lads who worked at Melrose Reception were funny buggers too. Reminded me of the actors in “you don’t mess with the Zohan”

Spill the beans, who was the porno fiend?

1st guess is Darren Bewick, 2nd would be
Mark Harvey.

Holy shit man, you probably served me. I used to play comp at Tulla Action Indoor Cricket right across the road from there

Can anyone tell me how the football media think that Henry is worth a pick in the teens and TT is worth the same. That seems to be the general consensus. TT is at least twice as good a footballer as Henry no? Or am i completely biased? They aren’t in the same post code.

Going out on a limb here, I'd consider using Port's pick for Henry.

If we had picks 2 and 3 (McKay compo) plus Sanders (however that works) then that's three high-quality kids coming in the door. Even if it's band 2, for a mid-1st-rounder, that's three of the top 10-12 kids, which is a good draft haul.

Port's pick could be pushed back to the early 20s once all the NGA bids are done, so you ask yourself is Liam Henry going to be a better player than whoever we might get in the early 20s.

You don't know for certain, of course, but it's a risk I'd be willing to take.

Holy s**t man, you probably served me. I used to play comp at Tulla Action Indoor Cricket right across the road from there

We played there for 2 seasons too
I worked for the Cypriot brothers, Jim and Phil funnily enough…Jim looked like David Boon, and always serving with a dart in his mouth

Henry is uncontracted FFS, a pick inside 20 is too steep a price to pay for someone whose club has no bargaining power.
Screams CCJ overpay again.

Ziebell an LMac accounted for less than 3 inside 50s per game combined. Love LDU but he's one of our biggest long bomb offenders.

LDU has the capability to do a lot better as well because he can be a beautiful kick of the footy, but I think he tries to do these long bullet passes which are awesome when they come off but they are very hard to execute and he doesn't do them consistently enough. We would be better served if he just did an easier kick out in front of teammates. They will have to work a bit harder to take the mark but it is better than just having a large proportion of the kicks go nowhere near the target.

The beauty of someone like Sheezel is that even though he can do the amazing, the vast majority of his kicks are high probability passes he just knows he can execute even under pressure. I rated this kid WAY too low in his junior years, I think playing as a forward you see the flashy goals but he is just an amazingly efficient player that can pull off a role like rebounding halfback even when teams try and man him up and he makes it look easy.

But the Phillips thread said the kid can't kick?

He makes smart decisions going forward, he looks for targets in the corridor so that efficiency serves him and the team well. I don't think he is the greatest field kick going around, but neither was Cunners and he was lethal going inside 50 as well.

LDU has the capability to do a lot better as well because he can be a beautiful kick of the footy, but I think he tries to do these long bullet passes which are awesome when they come off but they are very hard to execute and he doesn't do them consistently enough. We would be better served if he just did an easier kick out in front of teammates. They will have to work a bit harder to take the mark but it is better than just having a large proportion of the kicks go nowhere near the target.

The beauty of someone like Sheezel is that even though he can do the amazing, the vast majority of his kicks are high probability passes he just knows he can execute even under pressure. I rated this kid WAY too low in his junior years, I think playing as a forward you see the flashy goals but he is just an amazingly efficient player that can pull off a role like rebounding halfback even when teams try and man him up and he makes it look easy.
LDU's kicking style would have to be the only real glaring weakness in his game. It doesn't lend itself to that low, fast trajectory that Curtis, Sheezel, TT and Wardlaw can pull off regularly. The ball drop looks quite high, to me at least, and the motion of the kicking foot isn't what it could be. Every time I see him wind up for a kick I feel like it's gonna go quite high. He still manages to execute that sizzler kick sometimes, and you'll see him score goals like that one in the Freo game, but the long bomb makes appearances in his game far too regularly

Jack Billings worth a look?