List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

I know I was being a little facetious with my Gresh for B King stuff but thought I'd throw it out there anyway.

What I'd actually like to see is more of what has been happening for the last 2 years and keep hitting (and hopefullly nailing) the draft and then when 2026 off-season comes around, hit Noah Anderson with a massive FA offer.

Yep, he's a different player to Max, which is why I think they'd work well together. Ben could play up the ground more and pinch hit in the ruck. He is 204cm

Early days on Caminiti. We will know more about him by the time King becomes available. If he's tracking to be a star then that changes obviously.

Otherwise, Membrey is getting on so we are going to have to bring in forwards either way.

I think we are well stacked for third tall types. Membrey has played the last few years as a part high half forward rather than a second/third permanent forward, you imagine we roll guys like Phillipou and Owens through as impact mids resting forward. Max as the top of the square deep forward and a more mobile type like Caminiti or Hayes as a more high roaming KP. Snags, Gresham and Butler types snapping at their heels and we seem to usually set up with a Hill, Byrnes type as the high half forward at the moment. Perhaps something that we can develop Sharman, Hotton or Allison into as well. We have Keeler in development too.

I know I was being a little facetious with my Gresh for B King stuff but thought I'd throw it out there anyway.

What I'd actually like to see is more of what has been happening for the last 2 years and keep hitting (and hopefullly nailing) the draft and then when 2026 off-season comes around, hit Noah Anderson with a massive FA offer.

Gresham is a free agent so can choose where he wants anyway. Probably realistically gets us a pick around 20 to 30 and we'd probably need to throw our first round pick as a starting point. I think they'd ask for our FRDP this year and next year especially if we finish top 4. Personally I'd rather take our picks now that we seem to be less prone to blowing them.

I think we are well stacked for third tall types. Membrey has played the last few years as a part high half forward rather than a second/third permanent forward, you imagine we roll guys like Phillipou and Owens through as impact mids resting forward. Max as the top of the square deep forward and a more mobile type like Caminiti or Hayes as a more high roaming KP. Snags, Gresham and Butler types snapping at their heels and we seem to usually set up with a Hill, Byrnes type as the high half forward at the moment. Perhaps something that we can develop Sharman, Hotton or Allison into as well. We have Keeler in development too.
Forget bing, we don’t need him and from a list needs basis we can’t afford him.

Agree that Crouch wouldn't be in AA discussions yet but if he improved just a little more I reckon he'd be close:

31.0 touches/game (7th in the comp)
13.6 contested/game (12th in the comp)
6.0 tackles/game (14th in the comp)
6.6 clearances/game (13th in the comp)

I guess the inside mids ahead of him are pretty good: Oliver, Cripps, Bont, Laird etc.
Fairly huge discrepancies between the two ranking systems. One has him top 5, one at 115.

Yep, not sure it needs to mentioned again but a few of those KPP's are very much a long shot at ever making it.

Definitely right for those mid size forwards though but I think a couple of them will become our main midfielders going forward

With Max, Hammer and a developing Keeler I think he isn’t a need atm more romance.
Every club has these types of players on their list

A late draftee, a MSD and an SPP.

Luckily we will know a lot more about them by the time Bings contract comes up but I'd be surprised if we are pinning our future stocks on those three.

Even with Bing there would be room for one more once Membrey is finished. The chances of them all wing good enough let alone one can't be huge.

Forget bing, we don’t need him and from a list needs basis we can’t afford him.
I have a more flexible imagination I think.
It depends what he costs, and how flexible he is willing to be with the role he plays.
Would be mad not to pair up the Kings if it was do-able. With their height, pace and agility, defenders would have nightmares for a week leading up to playing us.
Hammer, Membrey, Hayes are all good. Doesn't mean I wouldn't trade out the three of them in a heartbeat plus a whole lot else to grab Bing.
We could be less precious about rucking them if we had two. Whichever misses a set shot first gets a 10 minute run in the ruck. That might get Max to stop spinning the ball and sort his $#!+ out.
Between defence, ruck, forward and a long-down the line wing option, there are plenty of ways to use an extra 200+cm athlete.
Less pressure on Bing, having Max around would bring out his best too, I think.
Again, it's all imagination at this point, and getting him cheaply is highly unlikely unless he really helps us out and insists on only going to us etc.

Yep, not sure it needs to mentioned again but a few of those KPP's are very much a long shot at ever making it.

Definitely right for those mid size forwards though but I think a couple of them will become our main midfielders going forward

Caminiti looks pretty solid at least. Keeler if he makes it has heaps of upside and taking a guy like B King means that there is little chance for those guys to ever make seniors.

Geelong had Hawkins as their beast tall forward who was there to contest and Cameron who I a unique player in that he's as mobile as a midfielder and can also compete like a true tall forward

Richmond have Lynch and Riewoldt who are different types again and Brisbane with Daniher and Hipwood are the other with a pair of tall KPFs. Melbourne has Brown and McDonald or a resting ruck but a spread of other types as well.

I'm a lot more confident that we won't burn draft picks now and would like us to use our FRDPs for a couple of years. Finding a couple more Phillipous would be better management to me. Could end up with $2 million per year tied up in our KPFs in a couple of years too.

Don’t really want him, I don’t see why we need another huge key forward. If he could play serious ruck then that would change the equation. Or I guess maybe we grab him as a key back to replace Dougs?

He can play key forward, key back, high half forward, high half back.

He can jump with massive leap and reach, and run like a gazelle.

Why wouldn’t we want him?

Gringo was pretty adamant we were topping up in 2019.
While the argument is not without merit, I disagreed as there were so many holes on our list it was the best way to stabilise it.

Now our list is in good shape but using a lot of draft capital on King means we can only go for FA top class mids and I am still.thinking we need mids for a proper flag tilt.
So these older players then cost SC and lots of it. King costs lots of draft capital plus big SC $$.

This is the definition of topping up.

I think we should look at the bigger picture. RTB came in and made it known he was on a year of exploration. Comes put mid week we have 15 plus current players OOC and rhe Saints have made it known they won't look at contracts until second half of the year.
Gres has already put off talks as a RFA.

So to me I feel we are having a cleanout at year end and while that brings in draft capital it won't compensate for two firsts on King or be enough to get an A grade mid in the door by trade.
The way things are shaping, to me anyway, is we are going to reshape our list and topping up trades won't happen to at least 2024.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

“Collingwood is, my understanding, chasing Gold Coast’s Ben King,” Browne said.

“But my information this week is that King is more likely to stay at the Gold Coast, or play with his brother Max.

“So I would have thought Collingwood are outsiders in that regard at this stage.”

Tom Browne’s Mail On Ben King’s Future

“Collingwood is, my understanding, chasing Gold Coast’s Ben King,” Browne said.

“But my information this week is that King is more likely to stay at the Gold Coast, or play with his brother Max.

“So I would have thought Collingwood are outsiders in that regard at this stage.”

Tom Browne’s Mail On Ben King’s Future

Eddie McGuire said exactly the same thing on Footy Classified a couple of weeks ago. Tom has old news.

McGuire suggested Collingwood are keen on Bing but that St Kilda are into him even more. He then went on to allude that St Kilda’s interest in Bing was reciprocated.

Even last night McGuire very briefly asked the open question of whether Ben King was likely to go to St Kilda when Matthew Lloyd suggested he should be looking to play at another Melbourne club. McGuire was quietly reiterating the Saints/Bing link.

McGuire is clearly hearing something behind the scenes.

Have always heard Aust. nose beers aren't a patch on the foreign stuff sourced and enjoyed OS, can anyone qualify this?
Most countries say this in fairness. There's always going to be rich man's and poor man's coke. It depends who is importing it in I suppose. I read an article over here not long ago saying that Ireland has the worst coke in all Europe because it's cut to crap by the Irish gangsters in Spain - which is where most of it comes from - and that they have no scruples about what they're doing, as there is little to no competition from other gangsters such as the Russians, Ukrainians, Turks, North Africans, Germans or Italians etc. As They all stick to mainland Europe.
I also read not long ago that some Irish twit got caught with a few million worth of coke in Aus...so, putting two and two together... if you're getting the Irish shite then yes...Australian coke is most definitely crap. However I would've thought with the amount of Italians, Jews and Slav's Australia has, let alone Triad & Yakuza, the coke should be at least reasonable in areas due to competition of avenues and sources.
I'm just spitballing really, because I'm bored today...but the reality is that NO ONE is ever going to tamper with the Rich man's coke market, but the poor man's can always get poorer...and there is always going to be a market there to exploit.

Please tell me how on earth we get Anderson …we would be selling the farm
Missed our chance 25 years ago

Had we kept Dean Anderson on the list, and given him 30 odd games between 98-00, we could have drafted Noah for a packet of chips (like the Dogs did with Darcy).

I blame Stan Alves for that one (makes a nice change from the thousands of posts in here potting Trout and the pelican)

Most countries say this in fairness. There's always going to be rich man's and poor man's coke. It depends who is importing it in I suppose. I read an article over here not long ago saying that Ireland has the worst coke in all Europe because it's cut to crap by the Irish gangsters in Spain - which is where most of it comes from - and that they have no scruples about what they're doing, as there is little to no competition from other gangsters such as the Russians, Ukrainians, Turks, North Africans, Germans or Italians etc. As They all stick to mainland Europe.
I also read not long ago that some Irish twit got caught with a few million worth of coke in Aus...so, putting two and two together... if you're getting the Irish shite then yes...Australian coke is most definitely crap. However I would've thought with the amount of Italians, Jews and Slav's Australia has, let alone Triad & Yakuza, the coke should be at least reasonable in areas due to competition of avenues and sources.
I'm just spitballing really, because I'm bored today...but the reality is that NO ONE is ever going to tamper with the Rich man's coke market, but the poor man's can always get poorer...and there is always going to be a market there to exploit.
If it's so shit why do the punters in Ireland buy it?
Mind you when I was in my early 20's I am sure one night I gave 50 smackers to some bloke for what was later in the night decided to be closer to a washing powder and Vitamin B combo than anything speed related
Anecdotally apparently if your gums go numb it is good...I have seen it chopped up with a card once and it expanded..I was told I was lucky coz I was witnessing premium Product....not sure.
I have never experienced it OS so have no reference