Premium Platinum
- Aug 17, 2015
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Phi Eagles & Phillies, Liverpool, PAO FC
- Banned
- #1,126

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
There aren't many Victorian clubs that he can walk straight into a starting midfield spot.
If he wants to play midfield each week, we are a great option for him.
He’s a high pick and playing like a star. I reckon he’ll be in demand so not likely to be cheaper. Best case is they take 2 second round picks for academy kids. Ask for a steak knife and we are killing that deal. Sharp would be good.
I dont think we deserve to play finals but Im not so pessimistic about our future. Things can change very quickly so lets see how we look next year after the trade/draft periods, a fit and available list and another pre season into the kids. As Gringo keeps referring to excluding the last 2 years, our list has been mismanaged for years, so its going to take sometime to turn things around. Jack Steele has had the most inconsistent season of his midfield career, surely he can turn that around?
Just adding a player like Flanders to a fit midfield will make a lot of difference, but we need to bring in more talent than just him. Gresham, Clark & Billings have to go as they will continue to hold us back as RTB like other coaches keeps playing them. Hopefully they are only getting games to maintain some trade value. Coffield and Membrey must be getting close to being ready for a recall. Plus we are starting to see some green shoots at Sandringham in Keeler, Hotton, McLennan, Peris and Heath. If Membrey can return to full fitness he and Caminiti probably keep Hayes out of the forward line. So I would be using the remaining VFL games to have a look at playing Hayes at Full Back or CHB.
Would be ideal if we could get Daicos, Oliver or Bont…What’s the point?
He wins the ball and either kicks the ball to the opposition or puts it in a spot where the opposition can take possession and transition.
He’s a momentum killer. Within a few weeks he would become our new whipping boy.
Please, only players that can execute the basic skills of the game by hand and foot. Don’t compromise on that.
I think we sometimes get caught up on what players can't do.
He had 7 clearances yesterday. His kicking didn't look an issue when the ball just kept going forward.
Fact is, he'd cost peanuts and would be an upgrade on someone like Jack Bytel or even Zak Jones that can't get on the park.
If he's not good enough than others will get a game ahead of him and we lose very little, but judging off yesterday game he'd probably give us something we seem to be lacking. Ability to win the footy at the stoppage and a bit of break away speed.
Swap Gresh for Dow yesterday and we win that gameWe have moved Gresham out for being a butcher, it seems weird to replace him with a worse user.
Why would he want to come to us , id love to hear why it would be smart to come to us and your talking about a club with two less wins than us , hardly nothing to boast about IMO taking into account they have to travel every second weekIf he’s smart he will come to St Kilda. We can give him game time and he can become a regular AFL footballer.
The lad is wasting his time at GC. He needs to convert his purple patch into a long term deal with another club that needs him. That club is St Kilda.
Would be ideal if we could get Daicos, Oliver or Bont…
But you have to be realistic.
More than anything this year we have been smashed in the middle.
We need clearances.
For the record I’d prefer
Flanders
Parish
Worpel
In that order, but if we can’t get them then we really need to look at Dow and Crouch.
Even if it’s only until owens and windy are ready.
The beauty of the draft is that - yep, sometimes you don’t get a player at all - sometimes you get a jet, even at a “nothing” pick.Unless we lose/trade out someone of value we will have around the same single top 12 pick. Not enough to get us much in the draft.
That player of value ain’t gonna be Gresh. At best a 2nd rounder for him.
We need to be thinking who would get value that we can afford to move on.
Coff and Clarke won’t be worth much either so I’d keep them.
Unfortunately we are not in a good spot to go to the draft with much of a hand atm.
We are going to need a miracle.
Swap Gresh for Dow yesterday and we win that game
I’m not against him, but he won’t get to play many games against the likes of what we dished up in there. Will be interesting to see how long he holds a spot / how he goes from here. He may finishing up costing a pick in the 30s if he sees out the year in the midfield.I think we sometimes get caught up on what players can't do.
He had 7 clearances yesterday. His kicking didn't look an issue when the ball just kept going forward.
Fact is, he'd cost peanuts and would be an upgrade on someone like Jack Bytel or even Zak Jones that can't get on the park.
If he's not good enough than others will get a game ahead of him and we lose very little, but judging off yesterday game he'd probably give us something we seem to be lacking. Ability to win the footy at the stoppage and a bit of break away speed.
Or SandersWould be ideal if we could get Daicos, Oliver or Bont…
But you have to be realistic.
More than anything this year we have been smashed in the middle.
We need clearances.
For the record I’d prefer
Flanders
Parish
Worpel
In that order, but if we can’t get them then we really need to look at Dow and Crouch.
Even if it’s only until owens and windy are ready.

Yep there is a clear reason why he doesn’t get gamesMy worry is that what he can’t do are the things the lose games. Especially close games. Potentially big games.
I just don’t think we should get sucked in and compromise on players who cannot execute kicking skills at an elite level. It will come back to bite us in the future.
Dow can play. He’s a goer and has a good attitude. But he hurts his team with mediocre disposal. Constantly.
It’s why Carlton won’t play him.
It’s an emphatic ‘no’ from me.
Gresh didn’t but move some magnets and get Dow in there, we needed clearances, Dow provided several for Carlton.I doubt it. Dow wasn't having to be responsible for much because we were minding their better mids. Gresham was good at times but his kicking let him down on a couple of occasions. Dow had worse DE than Gresham so not sure he would have helped that. Gresham didn't look like he played much midfield either.
I once again suggest Matt Crouch. His disposal is actually good and he win's contested footy and clearance.What’s the point?
He wins the ball and either kicks the ball to the opposition or puts it in a spot where the opposition can take possession and transition.
He’s a momentum killer. Within a few weeks he would become our new whipping boy.
Please, only players that can execute the basic skills of the game by hand and foot. Don’t compromise on that.
I think he’s the opposite of what we need. Another slow moving crab. We have to stop bringing in mediocre older guys. Kids kids and kids.I once again suggest Matt Crouch. His disposal is actually good and he win's contested footy and clearance.
His issue in the past was he started racking up cheap possessions by circling back behind players to receive a handball only to kick it sideways 15m.
He seems to have gone back to SANFL to work on his game and has been very good the last few weeks. Exactly what we need
Do you actually watch the games? Under Ratts we were regularly getting beaten by over 50 points, RTB has made us a lot more competitive and accountable. With the up and coming youngsters we have I can't believe you can't see a light at the end of the tunnel. Owens, Phillipou, Windhager and Byrnes can all be AA midfielders.People blamed Richo and Ratts , well let me tell you not a lot has changed with RTB and the list is better than what it was a few years ago, I really don't see a light at the end of the tunnel
He certainly is not the answerYep there is a clear reason why he doesn’t get games
He's actually on the money. By design or by luck there's been a quiet rebuild going on in the background.I love your optimism mate.
Your point about Keeler, Hotton and the others is a good one. We have tended to overlook them but it’s possible a few of them may really kick on.
If they do we are in better shape than how we all feel now (which is flat and despondent). Let’s hope we can get their development right and that some of them quickly progress.
I can't see a light at the end of the tunnel, but that might be because the tunnel is always needing repairs.Do you actually watch the games? Under Ratts we were regularly getting beaten by over 50 points, RTB has made us a lot more competitive and accountable. With the up and coming youngsters we have I can't believe you can't see a light at the end of the tunnel. Owens, Phillipou, Windhager and Byrnes can all be AA midfielders.
58 i believeI can't see a light at the end of the tunnel, but that might be because the tunnel is always needing repairs.
We are in our 57th year of exploration, how many does it take ?
I think Sinclair would play for most other clubs.We have turned over so many players. 10 left from the 2017 list and 4 potentially moved on from that. Sinclair, Marshall, Steele, Webster and Battle the best of them. Collingwood have heaps left from 2017 and most would be absolute top liners. Our mid agers are all very ordinary on top of that. We have around 4 players that would get a game at nearly every other side. Steele, King, Crouch and Marshall. Nas and Owens starting to close in on that but still probably playing some VFL at the best clubs.
We need quality and especially around the midfield.
I think half those talls will be gone in the next year or 2, starting with Highmore at year's end.He's actually on the money. By design or by luck there's been a quiet rebuild going on in the background.
Look at all the young talls taken.
Allison
Highmore
Heath
Adams
JVE
Keeler
Hammer
And in the same timeframe our best drafting of smalls in ever.
Peris
Nas
Chito
Windy
Pou
Hotts
Gus
Most of these guys look like they'll work out and some are exceptional. We kust need more.
Id have to ask the question do you watch games thinking Byrnes could be AADo you actually watch the games? Under Ratts we were regularly getting beaten by over 50 points, RTB has made us a lot more competitive and accountable. With the up and coming youngsters we have I can't believe you can't see a light at the end of the tunnel. Owens, Phillipou, Windhager and Byrnes can all be AA midfielders.
I once again suggest Matt Crouch. His disposal is actually good and he win's contested footy and clearance.
His issue in the past was he started racking up cheap possessions by circling back behind players to receive a handball only to kick it sideways 15m.
He seems to have gone back to SANFL to work on his game and has been very good the last few weeks. Exactly what we need