List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

GWS only have 6 and 15 that would be of use. Their other picks are 54 and above.
It’s not even trade week mate.

And as i said. It’s early doors stuff.

If it happens. The point is that they are trying to buy picks and build our future without hitting the ass end of the ladder
“St Kilda aren’t interested in keeping Jade Gresham despite what they say publicly. He’s also well paid, and they need more midfield support.

“Gresham would leave as a free agent and because Essendon would pay him enough it gives St Kilda either a first-round or end of first-round compensation pick. It would be 13 given their first pick is 12, or at the end of the first round of course.

“Then the trade period sometime later, St Kilda send a pick back to Essendon for Shiel. The theory goes it could be that same pick that they use in the Gresham deal. List managers I’ve spoken to said they would be floored if the Saints gave up a first-rounder for Shiel.

“They’ve got 31 so it would be more likely that the Saints would give up 31, or that second-round pick for Shiel and Essendon allow it given the Saints would be taking on Dylan Shiel’s wage at the same time.

“Essentially it’s a pick buy. St Kilda will be buying a pick here.”
Post it on the bombers board. Because pick 13 for Shiel 😂

Don't understand what you mean. How is it selling our future when we are literally gaining two first round draft picks? Did you misquote my post or something because I can't work out your argument.

All good. I read it wrong everybody !!!!

:tongueclosed:

This is legitimately one of the stupidest ******* rumours I’ve ever heard bandied around trade week.

Gresh + pick 13 for Shiel (and we wear $200ish k more in the cap).

It deadset looks like Ralphy has read some Essendon fanfic and gone with it.
Think of it like this and factor Gresham out of the equation. Essendon decide they want to be rid of Shiel and offer him up to any taker. What's his market value? Second rounder at best and even at that most clubs would baulk at it.

It sure wouldn't be pick 13.

Don't understand what you mean. How is it selling our future when we are literally gaining two first round draft picks? Did you misquote my post or something because I can't work out your argument.
Yep, the smartest thing that we can do.

And the best bit is that the medya won’t understand it and think we are topping up on old and expensive guys. 🤣

All good. I read it wrong everybody !!!!

:tongueclosed:
No problems, I would give you permission to hunt me down and shoot me if you thought I was suggesting 13 for Sheil and 15 for Haynes.

I would be club house leader on my own trade nuffy list :D:D

Yep, the smartest thing that we can do.

And the best bit is that the medya won’t understand it and think we are topping up on old and expensive guys. 🤣

Probably neither will happen, but it seems we are being active in this space. Early doors but it looks like Ross is being good at his word of a year of exploration and a revamp of the list.

We need to wait a couple of weeks to see I suppose.

It’s not even trade week mate.

And as i said. It’s early doors stuff.

If it happens. The point is that they are trying to buy picks and build our future without hitting the ass end of the ladder

Post it on the bombers board. Because pick 13 for Shiel 😂

Yes all sorts of possibilities later.

Plus also things like upgrading 12 to 5.

To take on Haynes for 2 years though it would need to good though.

Yep, purely picks wise, fabulous. I’m not at all fussed on Highmore. Surprise he hasn’t been delisted yet tbh. Coffield would hurt, but end game and bigger picture …,
We are just spitballing so lets just say the Sheil and Haynes deals went through. they are only short term, probably two years, 3 maximum.
Would like to keep Coff as we would be looking for another good intercept mark in defence in a year or two, also we dont know how many games Haynes would play. Basically I am loathe to trade Coffield.

I'm all for these Shiel & Haynes salary dumps so long as they have their eyes on the bigger prize - upgrade to top 5 pick to nail a gun midfielder ;)
Hypothetically if you had 3 first round draft picks in this draft. Be it Howard/Shiel/Haynes whatever, you could go shopping for a top 10 pick with 2 of them

I also come in peace.

Do we just skip all this nonsense about Shiel, and you guys just take the band 2 compo and be done with it?
End of first round pick - 19 for you guys and away we go.

FWIW I also laugh at the thought of you guys giving us 13 in any deal for Shiel, I think it’s shocking for you. But Gresham also isn’t worth anywhere near band 1.
Handy player but even band 2 is pushing it.

I know you’ll argue “we’ll just keep him and you get nothing” but there’s too much noise, and reported too many places about you guys wanting him out and happy to let him go.
Just because Ross went on 360 and said “they told us not to make an offer, we want to keep him” doesn’t make it so, what else was he gonna say?
“Oh nah we’re pushing him out the door” no worries here’s your band 3 from us at best then [emoji23] it would be bad practice from you guys to state that publicly and not get yourselves a good deal. Band 2 is a good deal, you take 19 and go to the draft or use it in a trade however you see fit.
No one else is paying him band 1 without getting something good back in return so your not gonna go to another club and try get it there, he’s just not worth it.
But a handy player, I’ll happily have him for a fair price.
Anyway, enjoy the day.
Well put…common sense prevails!!

They are making a play for pick 1.

Won't happen as the Eagles will want to make sure they can get Curtin so they need pick 2 or 3 at worst.
I've never been more sure that Harley Reid will land at Norff and this latest BS assistance package it to lubricate that passage.
WC get to build another powerhouse with local talent and Norff get the marquee player to top their rebuild along with enough capital to patch the current list holes.
Hopefully we can get some of that action but there'll be 15 other clubs circling like vultures.

I like the idea of Shiel + 1RDP and Haynes + 1RDP for salary only.
Hell, Dougal for one of Norf’s plethora of picks on top of that as well.
Would be a strong hand to attack the draft with whilst also bolstering mid/half back for a couple of years.

I hope they stay at the bottom of the ladder for the next 10 years
Nice thought, but unfortunately with the picks they are accumulating at a rate of knots, they won't.

The day when I eventually lose interest in this competition is coming rapidly - the inequality of these assistance picks, unequal fixtures, made up priority pick levels, ( no external info ever given about how) and Father/Son thing - its just ridiculous.

So Edmund's story has changed between the breakfast show and Whatley's show, now he thinks we would send our 2nd rounder back to Essendon, keep 13 or 19 and pay all of Shiel's salary next year.
Drop back another round to 3rd rounder and he'd be getting warmer.

The timing of Doogs potential trade came co-incidly as a result of Henry coming to Saints. Doogs pick circa 20s and Henry the same.

Gresham was always going and ready made replacement was Dow who is most likely coming.

Shiel just gets us another first round pick..rinse repeat with Haynes, who covers Doogs I reckon and we have 12 13 15 and a tight salary cap for 2 years.

If we can turn Shiel into 8 and lose 13 works even better.

Who knows what fairy dust we can sprinkle on GCS. But 8 12 15 31 Henry Dow Haynes and Shiel coming in means two more players to move on.

Probably one of Highmore Paton delisted and trade for a pick using either Billings or Clark for a future pick next year potentially.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

The Shiel deal isnt about Shiel though.

Its gotta be about getting Gresham paid for band 1, which i assume Essendon is fine with provided they clear Shiels cap space.

They probably see a player swap with $200k freed up and we see paying and extra $200k for pick 13.

If Shiel never even plays a game thats a wash. If he gets his body right and get a few games, great, bonus.
Yep and Shiel only has 1 year to run on his contract. So realistically we only have to wear his salary for 1 year before we either sign him for much less or get rid of him, which I'm fine with if it means getting band 1 compo for Gresh.