Injury 2024 Injury Report/Updates

To be fair we knew about Eyre before we added him to the list. Kreuger is the only injury since then and he was no chance to play round 0 given he wasn’t selected in the last practice game whilst AJ and McInnes were. Howe obviously had a minor setback but even if that’s worse than feared, the return of Dean balances the injury ledger somewhat.

And as far as we know Murphy is not injured or suffering concussion… just confidence which can be managed carefully and respectfully with time and patience.

As for Kreuger… at least it’s not a shoulder again but regardless it’s a bad setback. Clock is ticking for him unfortunately. One more injury and he’s probably toast….no more injuries and he still might be toast.

Murphy is a challenging one.

Some reckon he’ll be back to his reliable self on the footy field soon enough. Others reckon he’ll probably hang up the boots. The reality is that nobody really has any idea. And even if he does come back, he’s currently behind on that journey compared with some others.

All the other players we know that they’ll be back ready for selection at some stage.

Murphy is a challenging one.

Some reckon he’ll be back to his reliable self on the footy field soon enough. Others reckon he’ll probably hang up the boots. The reality is that nobody really has any idea. And even if he does come back, he’s currently behind on that journey compared with some others.

All the other players we know that they’ll be back ready for selection at some stage.
I’m just taking it at face value until we get told otherwise. He’ll be back when he has the right state of mind to attempt competitive football. So he’ll be back until he isn’t.

That said zero chance he’ll play the first round or two as he hasn’t done any of that competitive work yet.

I’m just taking it at face value until we get told otherwise. He’ll be back when he has the right state of mind to attempt competitive football. So he’ll be back until he isn’t.

That said zero chance he’ll play the first round or two as he hasn’t done any of that competitive work yet.

Yeah, the bolded bit is key IMO. Zero chance of playing round 0. Which means he needs to jump through a bunch of hoops before we see him play AFL again …

(1) Decide he wants it
(2) Build up contact and confidence at training and in the VFL
(3) Demonstrate to the coaches he’s ready.
(4) Dislodge a player in the seniors either due to form or injury

Yeah, the bolded bit is key IMO. Zero chance of playing round 0. Which means he needs to jump through a bunch of hoops before we see him play AFL again …

(1) Decide he wants it
Yep but he’s easily best 22 if he ticks the first three boxes

(1) Decide he wants it
I think he'll return really quickly if number 1 occurs.

Yep but he’s easily best 22 if he ticks the first three boxes

No doubt about that in September 2023 - and that’s all anybody has to go off.

But let’s see how things look in April / May 2024. Not just with Murphy, but with other players developing.

No doubt about that in September 2023 - and that’s all anybody has to go off.

But let’s see how things look in April / May 2024. Not just with Murphy, but with other players developing.
True but not a lot of competition back there, Dean and eyres long term prospects and frampton spare parts depth.

Murphy easily best 22 and has been for two years.

Which VFL games did he take a lot of contested marks? I must've missed them

I’ll leave you to do your own research, but I don’t recall ever saying he’d taken a lot in any 1 specific game, I said I’d seen him take heaps.

The fitness of Collingwood veteran Scott Pendlebury will be assessed before the Opening Round clash in Sydney as he continues his recovery from a knock to the back of his knee/hamstring region suffered during pre-season training. The injury kept him out of last week’s practice match against Richmond.

Fellow veteran Jeremy Howe won’t play in Saturday evening’s match after the calf injury that saw him miss last week’s practice match. The 233-gamer will continue to build his training loads and is expected to be available for the Round One clash against the Sydney Swans.

Key forward Nathan Kreuger will be out until at least Round Five after injuring his hamstring in last week’s VFL practice match against Richmond. The 24-year-old suffered a semimembranosus injury and is expected to have a quicker recovery period compared to the more common hamstring injury.

2023 draftee Harry DeMattia is continuing his recovery from a finger injury and has received the all clear to begin sweating following the risk of infection post-surgery lowering. The 18-year-old will enter a six-to-eight-week period of running and conditioning, that will see him develop a range of attributes that will form part of his long term athletic development, including fitness, speed and agility.

Josh Eyre is progressing well in his recovery from a hamstring injury sustained in pre-season. The Supplemental Selection Period signing has been able to complete gym and prep to run work inside and is expected to begin running next week. Eyre will complete a couple of weeks of slow tempo running before his speed develops over a four-to-six-week block.

Defender Nathan Murphy continues to build his confidence in his return to play after suffering a concussion during last year’s Grand Final. Murphy has completed some contact work in a controlled environment at training, including in a one-on-one setting against a tackle bag. The aim continues to be to develop this, with no timeframe on return set at this stage.

Key forward Dan McStay is continuing to make positive steps in his recovery from the ACL injury he suffered in November. The 28-year-old is completing two running sessions a week, and will continue this for another two weeks, before he then makes the step to increasing his volume and load to progress into the next phase of his rehabilitation.

(1) Decide he wants it
thoughtful & uber courageous guy.

reckon he's making a big effort (taking the time) to try & change the way he attacks the contest and being more aware of the relative positioning (exposure) of his head. he seems so singularly focused on the ball that when he's hit, it's a 'surprise' and his body has no chance of a 'self-preservation' reaction

The injury update is so much clearer and more informative than the obscure efforts we experienced historically. It really is a credit to the club and the fitness coach that it is so good. No nonsense, no deceit, and no glossing over the work players have to do.

I agree, but I did like Geoff Walsh's bizarreness - there was one where he was inside in a raincoat half behind an indoor plant. It was just very strange.

Never mind Murph, we’re going to have to start worrying about Condon if this keeps up! Knee and a forearm in one play…

Clear foul, can’t believe Alex would deliberately headbutt two parts of an opponents body like that.

Deans selection today gives me hope for Eyre. The club knows what they have in Josh and like Dean they’ll work him through the injury. Going forward it’ll be Moore, Dean and Eyre leading our backline.

I’m worried about Murphy both physically and mentally. I love how he plays, we all do but the more we know about cte the more I hope he retires now! Don’t risk it please.

HOWE LONG?

The frustration was clear on injured defender Jeremy Howe’s face as he finished mid-session on Thursday, with no clear timeline on his return to the Magpies’ team.

While McRae insisted Collingwood was taking the conservative approach to Howe’s nagging corked calf, the premiership veteran still looked in pain as he came from the ground before having a long chat to the medical staff.

Howe had already been ruled out of the clash with the Giants, but it is not clear if he will be ready to go for the round 1 flag-unfurling game against Sydney on Friday week.

It’s a six-day turnaround from Saturday night to the Swans’ clash, and there is also a six-day gap to round 2 against St Kilda, which complicates matters further.

The 33-year-old trained for an hour before leaving the field for further consultation, heading into the rooms before the end of the session.

“It is an interesting one,” McRae said of Howe’s injury. “He sort of got this kick in the calf and it is just lingering ever so slightly.”

“We have gone the conservative approach. We feel like he could probably play, but there is a slight risk he could injure it, and he could be out for four or five weeks, so those sort of risks, we don’t really want to take at this time of the year.”

MURPH ON THE MOVE

Collingwood will give Nathan Murphy all the time he needs as he tries to return to competitive football after his battle with concussion.

Murphy was out on the track on Thursday, taking part in some of the non-contact aspects of the Magpies’ training session.

He has spoken openly about his challenges as he endeavours to get himself back in the right “frame of mind” after his latest concussion suffered in the grand final.

He also looks to be working on his technique approaching a contest, turning his head to the side and going side-on at the point of impact.

He worked for some time on several drills with assistant coach Jordan Roughead and new signing Wil Parker.

McRae said the club was continuing to support Murphy as he worked on his craft.

He supported the AFL’s new guidelines on concussion, saying it was important to ensure players’ welfare was being best protected.

“We are all wanting to be better in this (concussion) space and it is all coming really fast,” McRae said.

“We have taken a long time to catch up to this part of our game, and anything we can do to support the players and their futures, I am all in for.

“We’ve got ‘Murph’ in our system and you see (Angus) Brayshaw across the road (at Melbourne). We want our best players to play for a long time.”

Veteran defender Jeremy Howe will be assessed on his fitness after tomorrow’s main training session, as he continues his recovery from a calf injury that kept him of the Magpies’ Opening Round clash against the GWS GIANTS.

The 33-year-old has shown improvement and has been able to complete some high-level running sessions over the past week.
Nathan Kreuger has continued to build volume, intensity and strength in the gym, while recovering from the hamstring injury he sustained in the VFL Practice Match against Richmond. The key forward will look to return some training next week, with a return to game play expected in Rounds Five or Six.

The return of Josh Eyre is still at least eight weeks away, as the Supplementary Selection Period selection continues his hamstring recovery. The 21-year-old tall has begun a running program, with a view to gradually increase his loads and intensity over the next two to three weeks.

Defender Nathan Murphy has commenced a return to contact program aimed at building confidence in match play scenarios. The 24-year-old is progressing well through this, and his return is still to be confirmed.
Young Midfielder Harry DeMattia is continuing his recovery from his finger injury, and is tracking positively through his conditioning block. His return timeframe is still expected to be between Rounds Eight and Eleven.

After commencing running in the past two weeks, Dan McStay is continuing to make progression through his reconditioning block without any issues as he recovers from his ACL injury. The key forward’s return to match play is still to be determined.

Veteran defender Jeremy Howe will be assessed on his fitness after tomorrow’s main training session, as he continues his recovery from a calf injury that kept him of the Magpies’ Opening Round clash against the GWS GIANTS.

The 33-year-old has shown improvement and has been able to complete some high-level running sessions over the past week.
Nathan Kreuger has continued to build volume, intensity and strength in the gym, while recovering from the hamstring injury he sustained in the VFL Practice Match against Richmond. The key forward will look to return some training next week, with a return to game play expected in Rounds Five or Six.

The return of Josh Eyre is still at least eight weeks away, as the Supplementary Selection Period selection continues his hamstring recovery. The 21-year-old tall has begun a running program, with a view to gradually increase his loads and intensity over the next two to three weeks.

Defender Nathan Murphy has commenced a return to contact program aimed at building confidence in match play scenarios. The 24-year-old is progressing well through this, and his return is still to be confirmed.
Young Midfielder Harry DeMattia is continuing his recovery from his finger injury, and is tracking positively through his conditioning block. His return timeframe is still expected to be between Rounds Eight and Eleven.

After commencing running in the past two weeks, Dan McStay is continuing to make progression through his reconditioning block without any issues as he recovers from his ACL injury. The key forward’s return to match play is still to be determined.

Dan & return to match play in the same sentence ! Boy oh boy.

He'll definitely play some footy in August, barring set backs, IMO.

It wasn't a full rupture so shouldn't be beyond the realms of possibilities. At least I assume that's how it works.

I'd like some confirmation on this The Royal Sampler please! And some red line analysis on his knees when he nears a return to match sim.