Strategy 2024 Season Preview / Strategy

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Seemedlikeagoodidea.jpg

It was the night of the 2023 AFL Grand Final. The atmosphere was heady down at AFL HQ. The beers were flowing freely (the beers of the nose persuasion as well, just quietly) as the AFL patted itself on the back after giving the footy world what it had so desperately craved:

Collingwood, the most beloved and respected club in the land, home to some of the nicest and best behaved fans you ever will see, sneaking home in a thriller over the Brisvegas Bears without the so much as the slightest hint of umpiring controversy. Love was in the air...
bobby-hill-collingwood.gif
Carn Bobby :hearteyes:

Rompingwins was working the turntables and pumping out the sick beats while simultaneously chatting up an intern and updating his Wikipedia entry to reflect that he had cured cancer and won the Paris-Dakar Rally back-to-back at the tender age of seven. What a lad, and absolutely zero airs and graces about him despite being the inventor of the windproof g-string to boot.

It was then that Gil took centre stage and gestured to his brother to kill the choons for a sec. Because he, Gillon Percival Throckmorton McLachlan III, had something to say. Something that would change footy forever. Gil wasn't leaving after all.
notleaving.gif

Then, Andrew Dillon rushed up on stage and showed Gil an envelope full of pictures of Gil in a coke-fuelled awesome foursome with Rompity Romp Romp Romp, Joanne Capper and perennial fave Kim Duthie.

chompers.jpg
(No, not Chompers, Rompers - big Hamedog Millionaire, Gil's bro – keep up, you clowns)

Gil hastily decided that this round would be his swansong after all and that Dillo was the best successor he could possibly think of. But if he was going to go out, he was going to go out with a BANG. He was going to leave his mark on the game.

And so Gil took a deep breath, gathered his courage and unveiled his plan to deliver the footy world its most dazzling triumph since the unforgettable, the irreproducible, the unsurpassable AFLX. 2024 was to prove to be a year Supercoaches one and all would never forget…
1705586172700.png
Gone but never forgotten

The Changes:
In case you’ve had your Rip Van Winkle on, gone full cricket numpty or just had other, more interesting s**t to do, 2024 has quite a few interesting wrinkles in store to keep you on your toes.

‘Round 0 / Opening Round’:
Having a single opening round in Round 1 is soooo 2023, gaiz. This year, eight teams - Brisbane, Carlton, GWS, Gold Coast, Collingwood, Sydney, Melbourne and Richmond -will play off in ‘Opening Round’ or ‘Round 0’, fighting for the glory of holding aloft the Mission Pies Quidditch Cup or ******* something stupid like that.

In Rd 1, all teams play a normal round, before those Rd 0 squads take turns to have a totally necessary breather over Rds 2-6.

After that, things go back to normal over Rds 7-11 before the ‘normal’ byes start up. So what does this end up looking like?

1705586260300.png
If you didn’t have epilepsy before, you do now. Sorry. I think this is how it works, but if wrong, it will doubtless be corrected.

What does it mean for SuperCoach?
Rd 0 is a non-scoring round for teams. The season proper starts in Rd 1 with the usual rolling lockout to lock in your starting sides.

BUT: Players who play in Rd 0 will have their scores count toward their 3-week rolling average.

Players from GCS, GWS, Collingwood, Sydney, Melbourne and Richmond potentially see their first price changes at the end of Rd 2.

theresmore.gif

BUT: GCS and GWS then go straight onto the bye in Rd 3, and Bris / Carl players can’t see a price change before Rd 3 (Rd 2 bye).

Further down the track, Bris, GWS and Syd all have their ‘normal’ bye in Rd 12 (together with the Kangas’ first and only bye).

So what are you trying to tell us? Do you speak English?
confused-drew-scanlon-blinking-x6ae0pugzh26bd4q.gif

That makes Brisbane, GCS and Sydney players pretty hard to justify starting, unless you really like their price / prospects to outperform their starting price - they are guaranteed not to be in your best 18 two of the first twelve weeks. Upgrade targets for the most part.

For the other early bye sides, it is a little trickier. Collingwood and Richmond don’t have their normal bye until Rd 15, so you might be more comfortable starting them (as you’ll be fully upgraded by then and maybe likelier to be able to cover them better). If Nick Daicos carries on as he did last year, for example, you probably don’t want to wait until Rd 16 to bring him into your squad.

So you’re telling us to start Daicos? Gotcha. Finally a simple instruction.
Yeah, nah, dunno. Daicos might cop a tag early in the year vs Hawthorn and he is guaranteed to miss Rd 5. So you might decide to fade him*, hope he sheds coin early while a midpriced starter gets off to a flyer and then bring Daicos in as quickly as you can after that first bye, using your cash as effectively as you can. (I think some have floated hoping Gus Brayshaw gets off to a flyer and trading him out at his first bye for Daicos, something like that.)

The starting Magic Number is also at its highest ever mark (nigh on 5.6k/pt) and that might help in terms of increasing the effect of a slow start in $ lost early doors (if last year is any indication, that will also mean that the in-season MN won’t drop as low as other years, might be much of a muchness).

* Big shoutout to WaynesWorld19 at this point

For the love of God and all things holy, can you just keep it simple for us?
Kids today. Always wanting to be spoon-fed. When I was a boy, we walked 17 miles to school barefoot in the snow, uphill both ways, with little more than a handed down flour sack on our backs and an onion belt, which was the style at the time.

If you have the choice between starting a ‘Rd 0’ premo / midpricer and a bloke who starts in Rd 1, all else being equal, go the other bloke.

Anything else?
Can I interest you in a free contour pillow? Perhaps the Kings’ Kinfe Collection? No? Oh well. Maybe next time.
moneybackguarantee.jpg

Fremantle and Port only have one bye, in Rd 13, a bye which they share only with each other. That definitely makes them more attractive. North Melbourne only have the bye in Rd 12, so they’re pretty useful, too

Example: If you’re looking at Andrew Brayshaw vs Tom Green in your starting squad, Sprayshaw has no bye rounds Rds 1 – 12, whereas Green has two. Unless you think Green is going to slaughter Brayshaw on average, why would you go Green as a starter? Has post-bye upgrade target written all over him.

So should we be panicking?
Nah, all good. You're all in the same boat, Rd 0 is not all bad. (Pretty ******* close, but harness the positive and push out the negative.)

Use Rd 0 to give yourself a sighter on premos / midpricers / rookies from those teams, let it guide you in which of them you want to start the year with and which you hold off / pass on. More info never hurt anyone. Like Sam Flanders GCS - if he gets centre rotations, almost must-start as a FWD, tbh.

Well this was the biggest let down since Game of Thrones’ finale – we want our money back
No refunds, campaigners, says so in the T&Cs. Learn to ******* read.
yougetnothing.gif

OK, gaiz, don’t hate on me, I just work here. Flick through the numerous threads, sound out experienced coaches who know the score and don’t be afraid to throw up questions / ideas / opinions of your own. They’re a good bunch of lads and lasses, just don’t mention Tim Michell, lolity lol lol lol.

Exchanging hearts and minds makes life all the richer. I love youse all. Except Jeremy Cameron. campaigner. Thanks, Kirky. Have a good season.
thanks kirky.gif
Jiska WaynesWorld19 feel free to move. Will leave the rest to Loose at HB, has me covered anyway. Felt a lack of pizzazz to date.

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

View attachment 1888773

It was the night of the 2023 AFL Grand Final. The atmosphere was heady down at AFL HQ. The beers were flowing freely (the beers of the nose persuasion as well, just quietly) as the AFL patted itself on the back after giving the footy world what it had so desperately craved:

Collingwood, the most beloved and respected club in the land, home to some of the nicest and best behaved fans you ever will see, sneaking home in a thriller over the Brisvegas Bears without the so much as the slightest hint of umpiring controversy. Love was in the air...
View attachment 1888774
Carn Bobby :hearteyes:

Rompingwins was working the turntables and pumping out the sick beats while simultaneously chatting up an intern and updating his Wikipedia entry to reflect that he had cured cancer and won the Paris-Dakar Rally back-to-back at the tender age of seven. What a lad, and absolutely zero airs and graces about him despite being the inventor of the windproof g-string to boot.

It was then that Gil took centre stage and gestured to his brother to kill the choons for a sec. Because he, Gillon Percival Throckmorton McLachlan III, had something to say. Something that would change footy forever. Gil wasn't leaving after all.
View attachment 1888775

Then, Andrew Dillon rushed up on stage and showed Gil an envelope full of pictures of Gil in a coke-fuelled awesome foursome with Rompity Romp Romp Romp, Joanne Capper and perennial fave Kim Duthie.

View attachment 1888776
(No, not Chompers, Rompers - big Hamedog Millionaire, Gil's bro – keep up, you clowns)

Gil hastily decided that this round would be his swansong after all and that Dillo was the best successor he could possibly think of. But if he was going to go out, he was going to go out with a BANG. He was going to leave his mark on the game.

And so Gil took a deep breath, gathered his courage and unveiled his plan to deliver the footy world its most dazzling triumph since the unforgettable, the irreproducible, the unsurpassable AFLX. 2024 was to prove to be a year Supercoaches one and all would never forget…
View attachment 1888777
Gone but never forgotten

The Changes:
In case you’ve had your Rip Van Winkle on, gone full cricket numpty or just had other, more interesting s**t to do, 2024 has quite a few interesting wrinkles in store to keep you on your toes.

‘Round 0 / Opening Round’:
Having a single opening round in Round 1 is soooo 2023, gaiz. This year, eight teams - Brisbane, Carlton, GWS, Gold Coast, Collingwood, Sydney, Melbourne and Richmond -will play off in ‘Opening Round’ or ‘Round 0’, fighting for the glory of holding aloft the Mission Pies Quidditch Cup or ******* something stupid like that.

In Rd 1, all teams play a normal round, before those Rd 0 squads take turns to have a totally necessary breather over Rds 2-6.

After that, things go back to normal over Rds 7-11 before the ‘normal’ byes start up. So what does this end up looking like?

View attachment 1888778
If you didn’t have epilepsy before, you do now. Sorry. I think this is how it works, but if wrong, it will doubtless be corrected.

What does it mean for SuperCoach?
Rd 0 is a non-scoring round for teams. The season proper starts in Rd 1 with the usual rolling lockout to lock in your starting sides.

BUT: Players who play in Rd 0 will have their scores count toward their 3-week rolling average.

Players from GCS, GWS, Collingwood, Sydney, Melbourne and Richmond potentially see their first price changes at the end of Rd 2.

View attachment 1888784

BUT: GCS and GWS then go straight onto the bye in Rd 3, and Bris / Carl players can’t see a price change before Rd 3 (Rd 2 bye).

Further down the track, Bris, GWS and Syd all have their ‘normal’ bye in Rd 12 (together with the Kangas’ first and only bye).

So what are you trying to tell us? Do you speak English?
View attachment 1888779

That makes Brisbane, GCS and Sydney players pretty hard to justify starting, unless you really like their price / prospects to outperform their starting price - they are guaranteed not to be in your best 18 two of the first twelve weeks. Upgrade targets for the most part.

For the other early bye sides, it is a little trickier. Collingwood and Richmond don’t have their normal bye until Rd 15, so you might be more comfortable starting them (as you’ll be fully upgraded by then and maybe likelier to be able to cover them better). If Nick Daicos carries on as he did last year, for example, you probably don’t want to wait until Rd 16 to bring him into your squad.

So you’re telling us to start Daicos? Gotcha. Finally a simple instruction.
Yeah, nah, dunno. Daicos might cop a tag early in the year vs Hawthorn and he is guaranteed to miss Rd 5. So you might decide to fade him*, hope he sheds coin early while a midpriced starter gets off to a flyer and then bring Daicos in as quickly as you can after that first bye, using your cash as effectively as you can. (I think some have floated hoping Gus Brayshaw gets off to a flyer and trading him out at his first bye for Daicos, something like that.)

The starting Magic Number is also at its highest ever mark (nigh on 5.6k/pt) and that might help in terms of increasing the effect of a slow start in $ lost early doors (if last year is any indication, that will also mean that the in-season MN won’t drop as low as other years, might be much of a muchness).

* Big shoutout to WaynesWorld19 at this point

For the love of God and all things holy, can you just keep it simple for us?
Kids today. Always wanting to be spoon-fed. When I was a boy, we walked 17 miles to school barefoot in the snow, uphill both ways, with little more than a handed down flour sack on our backs and an onion belt, which was the style at the time.

If you have the choice between starting a ‘Rd 0’ premo / midpricer and a bloke who starts in Rd 1, all else being equal, go the other bloke.

Anything else?
Can I interest you in a free contour pillow? Perhaps the Kings’ Kinfe Collection? No? Oh well. Maybe next time.
View attachment 1888780

Fremantle and Port only have one bye, in Rd 13, a bye which they share only with each other. That definitely makes them more attractive. North Melbourne only have the bye in Rd 12, so they’re pretty useful, too

Example: If you’re looking at Andrew Brayshaw vs Tom Green in your starting squad, Sprayshaw has no bye rounds Rds 1 – 12, whereas Green has two. Unless you think Green is going to slaughter Brayshaw on average, why would you go Green as a starter? Has post-bye upgrade target written all over him.

So should we be panicking?
Nah, all good. You're all in the same boat, Rd 0 is not all bad. (Pretty ******* close, but harness the positive and push out the negative.)

Use Rd 0 to give yourself a sighter on premos / midpricers / rookies from those teams, let it guide you in which of them you want to start the year with and which you hold off / pass on. More info never hurt anyone. Like Sam Flanders GCS - if he gets centre rotations, almost must-start as a FWD, tbh.

Well this was the biggest let down since Game of Thrones’ finale – we want our money back
No refunds, campaigners, says so in the T&Cs. Learn to ******* read.
View attachment 1888781

OK, gaiz, don’t hate on me, I just work here. Flick through the numerous threads, sound out experienced coaches who know the score and don’t be afraid to throw up questions / ideas / opinions of your own. They’re a good bunch of lads and lasses, just don’t mention Tim Michell, lolity lol lol lol.

Exchanging hearts and minds makes life all the richer. I love youse all. Except Jeremy Cameron. campaigner. Thanks, Kirky. Have a good season.
View attachment 1888782
Jiska WaynesWorld19 feel free to move. Will leave the rest to Loose at HB, has me covered anyway. Felt a lack of pizzazz to date.

Acting as an editor......Rnd 13 is best 18 scores

1705586260300-png.1888778

Can’t decide what’s better:

Guns and rookies to take advantage of 4x rookie scores dropping out every 2nd round or

Midprice Madness. Just filling the team with 22 midpricers or better to ensure 18 good scores and a bunch of PODs
Bit of both I reckon, running with a few lower priced MP's like Zilliams, Lynch and Harmes, a couple of value plays in Young and Guthrie. Still leaves 7 rookies on field and only the 3 highest to count, 4th highest (19th scorer) would come on for Grundy and Gawn over their byes. Last year the 3rd and 4th highest scores over the early rounds was about 80 so you're not really losing too much.

Acting as an editor......Rnd 13 is best 18 scores

1705586260300-png.1888778
Cheers, mate, wasn't sure. Thought it should be, but didn't seem to be listed in their tweets.
Will fix it up 👍

Bit of both I reckon, running with a few lower priced MP's like Zilliams, Lynch and Harmes, a couple of value plays in Young and Guthrie. Still leaves 7 rookies on field and only the 3 highest to count, 4th highest (19th scorer) would come on for Grundy and Gawn over their byes. Last year the 3rd and 4th highest scores over the early rounds was about 80 so you're not really losing too much.
Reckon this is a good take on it.
Will be interesting to see the balance between those high priced rookies who all seem to be presenting and the lower -end mid pricers.
Reckon Billings might be a decent option, the way Melbourne might shape up closer to Rd 1.

Reckon this is a good take on it.
Will be interesting to see the balance between those high priced rookies who all seem to be presenting and the lower -end mid pricers.
Reckon Billings might be a decent option, the way Melbourne might shape up closer to Rd 1.
Lynch won't be ready until rnd 3, I've swapped him out for Billings, priced at 44, should be a Monty to score 75's

Starting Green with WCE and North matchups in rnds 1 & 2 then flipping him to Walsh in rnd 3 could be on the cards
Yeah, wondering about whether options like this will be explored.
Green would be hugely popular without the problematic byes, would be amongst first picked.

After Rd 5 going into 6.
Might change, but that was the go till now.
just found this.....for Fantasy but assume SC will be the same

Dual-position player updates will occur after rounds six, 11 and 17. Every player will have the opportunity to have played five games before the first additions with a further five games between each update.

just found this.....for Fantasy but assume SC will be the same

Dual-position player updates will occur after rounds six, 11 and 17. Every player will have the opportunity to have played five games before the first additions with a further five games between each update.

Good stuff, mate, thanks for posting.
At least in the past, both comps had the same schedule, no?
Looks like it is opening overnight, assume they will announce it all soon.
Cheers 👍

Green would be hugely popular without the problematic byes, would be amongst first picked.
Judging by most popular picks Green/Gulden are up there. They were my first picked before the round zero crap arose

40 trades is a lot. That’s an average of 1 2/3 trades a round. So it’s pretty much AFL Fantasy at this point.

Assuming you start with 14 premos and it takes 16 trades to fully upgrade.

That’s 24 for corrections and sideswaps which means you don’t need any players to last the whole season.

With Boosts and Bye rounds allowing extra trades to sideswap to push your team forward it’s…

Midprice madness seems essential for starting sides. Especially since it turns corrections into upgrades.

40 trades is a lot. That’s an average of 1 2/3 trades a round. So it’s pretty much AFL Fantasy at this point.

That’s 24 for corrections and sideswaps which means you don’t need any players to last the whole season.

With Boosts and Bye rounds allowing extra trades to sideswap to push your team forward it’s…

Midprice madness seems essential for starting sides. Especially since it turns corrections into upgrades.
Is it possible to start with 14 premos? 13 always seems to be a stretch.

More trades makes it easier to get to the absolute top line players.

Can definitely see those with really aggressive early trading starting well and being hard to run down with additional trades and best 18 rounds, just I can definitely see a lot of teams looking almost identical in the run home, for the same reasons.

The super duper serious supercoaches won’t like these changes Id have thought (the spreadsheet crew😀)