Player Watch 2025 AFL Draft Thread (Welcome to our new Central Districts overlords!)

Why are we talking about live-trading our F1 in this year's draft, given the supposedly stronger draft next year and the alternate option of using it during the trade period next year?

That said, if we use it to swoop for someone we like as much as we liked Weddle a couple of years ago, no worries...

Why are we talking about live-trading our F1 in this year's draft, given the supposedly stronger draft next year and the alternate option of using it during the trade period next year?

That said, if we use it to swoop for someone we like as much as we liked Weddle a couple of years ago, no worries...
Think you answered your own question

Zig instead of zag.

Many clubs having a higher value on next years draft may enable an easier opportunity to move up the draft order this year. This usually isn't the case given the precarity of trading for future picks.

It's a big risk but also big reward if you nail it.

Weddle is a good example. We traded 27, our 2023 second and our 2023 third to move up 9 spots. A lot of people were bemoaning the decision, but we selected a superstar.

I maintain that Sullivan Robey will be an absolute gun and I would love for us to trade up and get him into our system.

Considering we're ok at flicking our FF , then what stops us from getting pick 9 from blues?
FF + 22 to Blues
9 + f3 to Hawks.
We take pick 9+10 into the draft.
Nothing is 100% with the AFL and governance of course but I’m pretty sure whilst you can trade back picks between clubs over different trade periods, you can’t do it within the same period. So given we traded them pick 9 in this trade period we can’t get it back. Also even if we could I think they want eagles 13 and 34 for it instead.
Nothing stops us getting 11 from them. I would do your deal except get 54 back as well. This is my worst case if that happened:
Eagles take Duursma Sharp
Tigers take Robey Taylor
Scum Cumming CDT
Dees Dovaston Grlj
Eagles Farrow
Hawks could choose 2 from Schubert Taylor Lindsay philippou marsh barker greeves NHh

Worth losing f1 for? Also 54 becomes a mid 40s pick where we could take Sam Allen or a speculative forward like Hetherington.

Zig instead of zag.

Many clubs having a higher value on next years draft may enable an easier opportunity to move up the draft order this year. This usually isn't the case given the precarity of trading for future picks.

It's a big risk but also big reward if you nail it.

Weddle is a good example. We traded 27, our 2023 second and our 2023 third to move up 9 spots. A lot of people were bemoaning the decision, but we selected a superstar.

I maintain that Sullivan Robey will be an absolute gun and I would love for us to trade up and get him into our system.
everyone know about sullivan robey, no one knew about weddle, stratton sicily, worpel, you can use that same logic and say for example pick 38, 50 are stars, if you could look back after few years and say we should not have moved up, but down, we should have moved down, got two good players, instead of player that we picked. I never hear of people talking about splitting picks and moving down to get great players.

Did a bit of a deep dive on Riley Onley.

I liked the clean, one-touch ability at ground level and his athleticism for his size. As well as looking like a bit of a clearance beast.

My goodness his composure and skills by foot needs work though.

Actually reminded me a bit of a Connor Nash, just with a more conventional kicking action.

Would be a great get with a 3rd selection, but I wouldn't take him with our second pick personally.
Onley is either the Kwisatz Haderach of this draft, or the one that tried and died!

A 195cm and 90?kg as an on-baller who runs the 20m at 2.88s and importantly, plays with that speed. There is soo much to like and work with.

This draft is one we truely have to put faith in our recruiters. There are no clear best options at any of the Hawks picks. I'd take Lyndsey at 10 but would be happy if the Hawks trade out or down with pick 10 to get their target and assets for 2026.

But I'd love it if we got Onley. His potential ceiling is Dangerfield if he wants it, and if Sam Mitchell and the Hawks team teach him to fix his ball drop, just wow.

I know it’s only highlights, but Greaves looks just as good as anyone. Doesn’t look fast as many have noted, but is it because he knows he is so much stronger than his opponents at this level, that he doesn’t have to get into top gear. Looks really powerful and a player that could play straight away. Is good overhead and a good kick, can stand in a tackle aswell.

Averaged 25.5 PPG.
45% contested
55% uncontested
1.1 goals a game.
Approx 4 clearences PG.
Interesting prospect. Just needs to be better without the ball. Tackling and pressure are just two things he has to improve upon and you'd think he can develop those weaknesses at AFL level.
But again, I can see why people would want us to steer clear as well.

What's even more disturbing is that there are posters proposing to add the F1 together with pick 10 and 22 to move up 6 spots.

You have to be really careful prioritising bigger body players bullying school kids they may simply come back to the pack in a professional adult environment and then what. When assessing that attribute playing senior footy a far better guide which is why players like Sharp and Cumming are top 10 locks. they’ve already shown they match it against men in a high standard competition as underagers.

What's even more disturbing is that there are posters proposing to add the F1 together with pick 10 and 22 to move up 6 spots.

Yes and I’m dying on this hill.

If you nail the prospect, the cost doesn’t matter. Weddle a good example albeit at a lower cost. Demons traded their F1, 26 and 56 for 8. Bids made it Pick 12 and it became Pickett. They had finished second last that year.

Of course, you could end up like Carlton with Stocker. But you don’t improve without being aggressive.

I’ve watched a lot of prospects and I believe Sullivan Robey will be a star. Others will disagree. If the opportunity arises to shift upwards, and Richmond prefer Taylor/Grlj, I would personally want us to pull the trigger. Others will disagree.

I think Pick 10 will net us a good role player but not a gun.

Did a bit of a deep dive on Riley Onley.

I liked the clean, one-touch ability at ground level and his athleticism for his size. As well as looking like a bit of a clearance beast.

My goodness his composure and skills by foot needs work though.

Actually reminded me a bit of a Connor Nash, just with a more conventional kicking action.

Would be a great get with a 3rd selection, but I wouldn't take him with our second pick personally.
I really like him also. I think he moves a lot like P.Cripps myself.

Tworney’s latest suggest it’s pretty unclear who’ll be there for our first. Sounds like Schubert could slide (and possibly Grij) but the dees picks will shape things a lot (and also what Carlton does).

Possible permutations:
  • Jacob Farrow (Pick 10), Jevan Phillipou (Pick 22)
  • Josh Lindsay (Pick 10), Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves (Pick 22)
  • Lachy Dovaston (Pick 10), Oliver Greeves (Pick 22)
  • Mitch Marsh (Pick 10), Harley Barker (Pick 22)
I will add, I don't mind a Dovaston call at Pick 10 if he's available. I reckon there's every chance we can flip Connor MacDonald into the midfield next year, given the sort of player he was in his draft year. If Ollie Greeves tests well (according to Cal he "has been expected to do a follow-up 2km time trial for recruiters"), then I'm taking him with 22. Worth the shot I reckon, players who could be ready to go for us as soon as next year.