Unofficial Preview 2025 Hawk's Hypothetical Trade Discussion...now with added DFA spitballing!

• Thread starter Thread starter eldorado

This thread is becoming increasingly popular, and to keep some sort of order, we will have some….

Rules of engagement:

1. Bring valid news or links to Twitter posts from notable sources. Don’t post screenshots or “some bloke just said on SEN” or what some “trade whisperer” has posted on a Facebook page.

2. Ignore what other team boards are putting up as trade offers. Don’t quote or bring them here either.

3. Don’t post “buckle up” for the lols.

4. If you can’t say anything nice about Worpel or CJ, don’t say anything at all. The continued slaps and backhanders are just going to be deleted.

So, people think that a mix of:
Newcombe
Day
Ward
Nash
Windhager
Mackenzie
İs going to take us to the next level because we replaced Worpel with the wind??? Yea, nah.
I don't think anyone is saying that mate. I think the majority feel that adding Windhager is a side move on top of hopefully us also landing a big fish (Reid / Butters etc). I'm a big fan of CJ's and would really hate to see him go but if the club feel that we can move him for Windhager to sure up an area of need then I'll trust the list management team.

Everyone needs to prepare themselves that we might not land a big fish which might result in us bringing a more seasoned vet like a Trac, Merrett or Walsh. However with Worps looking gone we still need another mid even with the inclusion of a big fish or seasoned vet especially if the club looks at playing Day less mid time to protect his body.

Newcombe
Day
Ward
Nash
Windhager
Mackenzie
İs going to take us to the next level because we replaced Worpel with the wind??? Yea, nah.
I reckon Windhager would be on Tier 2 of our intended targets. We'd be targeting him in addition to, not as a backup option for, Tier 1 targets like Butters and Reid. Trac and Walsh would be alternatives if we don't get Zak or Harley.

Someone suggested a swap of Windhager with CJ. That's a fair call in terms of where his trade value lies, although they're different types of players. As a mid, Windhager would be a significant upgrade on the likes of Finn and Nashy, imho. He's much better than just being a tagger/defensive mid.

Newcombe
Day
Ward
Nash
Windhager
Mackenzie
No one said that, minor improvement is an improvement though.

Butters for sure the egg I want in our basket. Any other player really is only because Butters doesnt want us or Port are stupidly against pushing for overs this year rather than a single pick next year.
But it won’t be a single pick unless it’s pick 1. Butters is RFA so they can and will match any bid. I’m sure they know he’s gone so now it’s down to who makes the best offer and when. I’m in the bird in the hand camp I would be trading him this year if I got multiple firsts. Their list isn’t great they need to get moving.

Newcombe
Day
Ward
Nash
Windhager
Mackenzie
You leaving off Harley Reid.

Nobody is thinking Windhager is the only target or the primary target.

Our current combination of Newcombe, Day, Worpel, Nash, Ward, Mackenzie, HH, Butler, Anderson. We need to add 1 star to. Regardless of Day's fitness or Worpel leaving. Butters, Walsh, Reid, Petracca have been targeted to boost this.

Chasing those high priced recruits is why we aren't fighting tooth and nail to keep Worpel on the kind of money Free Agents get offered.

So we acknowledge that we need to add an A grader, then we have Worpel also likely needing to be replaced, Butler is OOC and Hustwaite likely to look elsewhere. That's a few spots we need to fill.

I see it more as:
Newcombe
Day
Ward
Nash
Worpel
Mackenzie
Maginness
Hustwaite
Butler
Anderson

Newcombe
Day
Reid*
Ward
Nash
Windhager*
Mackenzie
Maginness
Butler
Anderson

No one said that, minor improvement is an improvement though.
So, you think wind is a improvement on Worpel? I don't. That's fine, everyone has their opinion on improving our list and best thing to do is back our club in.
But, it doesn't mean I or anyone else can't have an opposing view though. Keeping Worpel on the same money you're getting wind for makes sense to me. Plus, saints will ask for a pick in the Worpel çompo range, so it's basically a trade with no net gain.
I, however, still believe that Harley is the one , so we'll need all the picks in the world to get it done.

I don't think anyone is saying that mate. I think the majority feel that adding Windhager is a side move on top of hopefully us also landing a big fish (Reid / Butters etc). I'm a big fan of CJ's and would really hate to see him go but if the club feel that we can move him for Windhager to sure up an area of need then I'll trust the list management team.

Everyone needs to prepare themselves that we might not land a big fish which might result in us bringing a more seasoned vet like a Trac, Merrett or Walsh. However with Worps looking gone we still need another mid even with the inclusion of a big fish or seasoned vet especially if the club looks at playing Day less mid time to protect his body.
Walsh is a big fish 25 year old with an AA, BnF, number 1 pick and a 30 brownlow vote season.

Butters is better and Reid shows more potential. But i'd value him over Petracca or Merrett as he has so much more football ahead of him.

You leaving off Harley Reid.

Nobody is thinking Windhager is the only target or the primary target.

Our current combination of Newcombe, Day, Worpel, Nash, Ward, Mackenzie, HH, Butler, Anderson. We need to add 1 star to. Regardless of Day's fitness or Worpel leaving. Butters, Walsh, Reid, Petracca have been targeted to boost this.

Chasing those high priced recruits is why we aren't fighting tooth and nail to keep Worpel on the kind of money Free Agents get offered.

So we acknowledge that we need to add an A grader, then we have Worpel also likely needing to be replaced, Butler is OOC and Hustwaite likely to look elsewhere. That's a few spots we need to fill.

I see it more as:
Newcombe
Day
Ward
Nash
Worpel
Mackenzie
Maginness
Hustwaite
Butler
Anderson

Newcombe
Day
Reid*
Ward
Nash
Windhager*
Mackenzie
Maginness
Butler
Anderson

Ward's trajectory absolutely has him moving into the Day / Newk zone. Surely he is on track for Most Improved this year?

Weddle and even Watson could be in that group too. Will see them playing a lot of mid next year.

Newcombe
Day
Ward
Nash
Windhager
Mackenzie
I dunno. If we held on to just one of the losses we threw away against the Suns, Cats, Dockers and Crows we’d probably be flag favourites all the while our best player has missed the vast majority of the year. We’re not far off. But my concerns is that our list is actually a bit older and closer to the window than what most probably think.

pack it up guys, West Coast Eagles coach McQualter said he’s confident that West Coast Eagles player Harley Reid is staying 😔
With respect McQualter will coach the first side to lose 22 games in VFL/AFL history. Just think about that…

So, you think wind is a improvement on Worpel? I don't. That's fine, everyone has their opinion on improving our list and best thing to do is back our club in.
But, it doesn't mean I or anyone else can't have an opposing view though. Keeping Worpel on the same money you're getting wind for makes sense to me. Plus, saints will ask for a pick in the Worpel çompo range, so it's basically a trade with no net gain.
I, however, still believe that Harley is the one , so we'll need all the picks in the world to get it done.
I don't see Windhager as Worps' direct replacement were he to leave. More likely Wardy takes that in-and-under ball-winning spot. Windhager would be an upgrade on Nashy in our current best 23 - probably not a popular opinion, I realise.

West coast have won ONE game this year ONE!!!! pathetic whichever way you look at it. Mcqualter is full of shit.

We're not. Or not to any great extent. We're still on the playing field but think it's only to muddy the waters.

One of my girlfriends has close links to Christian's management and according to her we've been on the phone to them way more than any other club. So it seems we're genuinely interested in Petracca as our main get.
Hopefully smoke and mirrors.

But my concerns is that our list is actually a bit older and closer to the window than what most probably think.
This is a very good point.

Sicily, Impey, Amon and Barrass - all 30 come the start of next year
Hardwick will be 29 by the start of next season

Gunston will be 34 next season and Chol will be 29.

Given the above, retaining the likes of Scrim, Mraz, Blanck, Ryan, BMac etc. is pretty important. Similarly, it highlights to me that we probably need to find an elite ball user off the half back line to help replace Amon in time.

Regardless, it’s clear that we are in the window now and need to capitalise, hence why getting the midfield A-grader ASAP is so important.

It’s an exciting time.

I agree, I just think there is something there... that height is great as well. Contested marking against other mids? I have always a thought he could be a third tall or a hard running Dylan Moore type, maybe like the Adelaide Tom Lynch. Maybe needs to train away from the midfield as he is proven there... I realise all of this was evident but not explored after year one. Flippant, but one of the lower teams and put some fasties around him.

Unfortunately in today's footy having elite hands is not enough.

Walsh is a big fish 25 year old with an AA, BnF, number 1 pick and a 30 brownlow vote season.

Butters is better and Reid shows more potential. But i'd value him over Petracca or Merrett as he has so much more football ahead of him.

Thus assumes his body holds up.

Just on us getting ready to replace or add Amon's run across half back, this where it makes sense about our interest in Wilmot. But that was few months ago. Too hard to pry him out of bris. But, rather him then windhager.