List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Yeah, he got injured which is why I suspect he’ll slide.
Imagine the melts from the Aints if we picked up Jevan, kept TDK and a year later Mattaes requested a trade to the Blues to play with his brother

Austin Powers Lol GIF

Imagine the melts from the Aints if we picked up Jevan, kept TDK and a year later Mattaes requested a trade to the Blues to play with his brother

Austin Powers Lol GIF

I don’t want either of them. Shit names.

Parents should be ashamed of themselves.

Need to keep winning & TDK to keep dominating and I think he will stay.

There's a hell of a lot of endorsement money to made for a 6'8, handsome, blonde bombshell elite athlete.

Surely a Nike, Adidas, Bonds or Visy will pick up the $700k p/a difference.

I will say this about TDK...

We have (supposedly) the largest, most powerful network of 'wealthy' sponsors, members and club benefactors. I mean haven't we established the 'Carlton In-Business' network to assist in solving / finding solutions for TDK's scenario?

If TDK walks to a sh*tpot club like the Saints for the cash that is a massive blight on our club and our inability to set up our stars post footy. Pass the hat around, buy the kid a Rip Curl store or two...let's at least do something!

We have (supposedly) the largest, most powerful network of 'wealthy' sponsors, members and club benefactors. I mean haven't we established the 'Carlton In-Business' network to assist in solving / finding solutions for TDK's scenario?

If TDK walks to a sh*tpot club like the Saints for the cash that is a massive blight on our club and our inability to set up our stars post footy. Pass the hat around, buy the kid a Rip Curl store or two...let's at least do something!

$700k per year from business arrangements is a lot.

A sponsor would be happy to give them a Mickey Mouse role for $200k-$300k a year max, for a few years (and if it benefited them in return in some capacity).

But $700k is heaps in this country.

Apparently you can AirBNB TDK's Jan Juc property - I really don't think he will be struggling for cash in retirement if he stays with the Blues

No, I'd happy to hold for 2 or 3 years if he shows promise.
I watch less VFL than a lot here, but I don't think he ever "makes" it sadly, and if he does it won't be with us. Being stuck behind a top 3 (at worst) key forward combo in the comp doesn't help, but I don't think he has "it" if that makes sense. Reminds me a bit of a Weideman/Schache type where the talent is there and you see flashes where he looks really good, but the attack on the ball and intensity isn't there so it's very inconsistent.

Had some games in the VFL last(?) year down back where apparently he looked alright, maybe that's where his future is? Hard to tell, and still very early in his career (3rd year), but to show where he's at we have multiple times this year opted to play Lewis Young as a makeshift 2nd tall in Harry's absence. For what it's worth Lewis held his own, but when you have a talented KPF waiting in the VFL your first port of call shouldn't be your back-up key back.

Seems like a lovely kid and I hope he makes a career for himself but I'm leaning towards it looking unlikely at this stage.

$700k per year from business arrangements is a lot.

A sponsor would be happy to give them a Mickey Mouse role for $200k-$300k a year max, for a few years (and if it benefited them in return in some capacity).

But $700k is heaps in this country.
ex-players tend to get an entry level role at an elevated salary. Plenty of jobs for the boys in education, real estate, supplements & maybe school fees covered for their children..

If the rivers of money were flowing as some believe, someone like SOS (who is both adored by our supporter base & traditionally, heavily connected with our coteries) would never have to work again.

I watch less VFL than a lot here, but I don't think he ever "makes" it sadly, and if he does it won't be with us. Being stuck behind a top 3 (at worst) key forward combo in the comp doesn't help, but I don't think he has "it" if that makes sense. Reminds me a bit of a Weideman/Schache type where the talent is there and you see flashes where he looks really good, but the attack on the ball and intensity isn't there so it's very inconsistent.

Had some games in the VFL last(?) year down back where apparently he looked alright, maybe that's where his future is? Hard to tell, and still very early in his career (3rd year), but to show where he's at we have multiple times this year opted to play Lewis Young as a makeshift 2nd tall in Harry's absence. For what it's worth Lewis held his own, but when you have a talented KPF waiting in the VFL your first port of call shouldn't be your back-up key back.

Seems like a lovely kid and I hope he makes a career for himself but I'm leaning towards it looking unlikely at this stage.
Thanks mate. I appreciate the detailed reply.

ex-players tend to get an entry level role at an elevated salary. Plenty of jobs for the boys in education, real estate, supplements & maybe school fees covered for their children..

If the rivers of money were flowing as some believe, someone like SOS (who is both adored by our supporter base & traditionally, heavily connected with our coteries) would never have to work again.

Yep. People overestimate the 'connections' part quite a bit. And nobody is going to commit to looking after him post-career as they wouldn't even know if they'll still be involved at Carlton.

Looking at our major sponsors, how could we do a Geelong?

Hyundai - give him a free car (depreciating asset) every few years? Eh
Great Southern Bank - 0% home loan? not bad.
Ikon - free cleaning services for life? salary as a pool cleaner? maybe.
La Trobe Uni? Nah

Only one that would really appeal to TDK is a sponsorship/endorsement with Puma - I doubt that's worth that much though.

On top of this, incoming recession has even the biggest of companies nervous.

Glad you guys have bounced back a bit better than those feral scum you call neighbours tigs and the hoks. Rate Jagga a lot think he will be Zak butters mk 2

Yep. People overestimate the 'connections' part quite a bit. And nobody is going to commit to looking after him post-career as they wouldn't even know if they'll still be involved at Carlton.

La Trobe Uni? Nah

Only one that would really appeal to TDK is a sponsorship/endorsement with Puma - I doubt that's worth that much though.

Here is a business off the top of my head - the Fraser Brown's property group. Pretty confident Brown has done plenty of deals with current/past players off the books to have them "involved" in one of his developments.

But given TDK already has a Jan Juc investment property and at a minimum is going to sign a 7 year worth at least $1m a year if he stays, unless he has terrible financial advice or incredibly bad luck, there is no chance he work be set up for life post football regardless of the club he signs for

View attachment 2298398

Put your glasses on.

The lists sooooooooo unskilled we have no good kicks..... 😭😭😭

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
****ING LOL
It beggars belief how pretty much the same group of players, the same ones that weren't skilled enough for any coach to play the modern game with 2 weeks ago, can suddenly turn the switch back on.

This Carlton roller coaster continues to frustrate and entertain it's supporters.

Go Blues again!

It beggars belief how pretty much the same group of players, the same ones that weren't skilled enough for any coach to play the modern game with 2 weeks ago, can suddenly turn the switch back on.

This Carlton roller coaster continues to frustrate and entertain it's supporters.

Go Blues again!
Absolutely. Shows you just how darned important environment prep and confidence and all those buzz word 1%ers are. AFL players are skilled. They're AFL players. You go 3% off and you look like shit. It's fine margins. It's all those small things. Fitness too. Makes massive differences to the viewable end product.

La Trobe Uni? Nah

Theres many smaller and less notable connections out there for players to cash in on. Kristian Jaksch is working as a recruiter on a very very good wicket these days. Die hard Blues man runs that company who had a few connections at the club. Networking is a big part of setting yourself up post footy.

How the rest of the season goes will dictate what happens in the off season for sure. For instance losing TDK if we finished bottom 2 wouldn't look so bad in terms of what we'd be getting back via compo. Losing TDK if we finished in the 8 would look like an absolute disaster however.

Pick 3 vs Pick 10+

Lots to play out though and still plenty of cheap options around that could improve our list without costing the world.
Interestingly the inverse could also be true.

Does losing TDK become less likely the better we do?

Possibly.

La Trobe Uni? Nah

To be fair, if I had a pool I'd pay a bit extra to have TDK (or any ex-Blue) do the job lol