List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Really disappointed that we didn't have a look at Blakiston in the mid season draft. He looked a really good for them. Looks like he'd have matched really well with Wilkie. Really good size too. He's like a better Dougal Howard. Bizarre how many mid season players end up guns. He's better than Ben McKay.
Disappointed we didn’t gamble on that May.

Bereft of key forwards and we didn’t even go after that one.

So for those thinking the players know and Nas is out (steel & Marshall interviews)

Why are we discrediting the Wilkie interview - especially after the week he has had and the conversations he would have been apart of?

Ultimately the playing group probably knows **** all and we shouldn’t read or look into anything that was said last night.

No one knows what he's doing but until he signs or asks for a trade this is going to be guessed at by everyone.

Disappointed we didn’t gamble on that May.

Bereft of key forwards and we didn’t even go after that one.

Not sure what you're saying. We have struggled with talls all year.

No one knows what he's doing but until he signs or asks for a trade this is going to be guessed at by everyone.
Agreed.

It was more a point to everyone screaming he is gone because of Steel or Marshall or because nas didn’t announce he was staying (he never was going to).

So, again - If Wilkie doesn’t know and based on that you can rule out he knows Nas is leaving. You can also accurately assume he is privy to the state of play especially based after this week. Than everyone just needs to take a deep breath.

No chance. Both are contracted. They're worth more than Nas is currently.

It'll be a future first and something else small thrown in as a sympathy gesture. Bassat will hem and haw about the inequality of it all.

Port unlikely to let go of best 22 stars to bring in Nas. It would be a future first Berry and Lord or Sinn types. Maybe Moraes instead of one of those last two if you really dug in.

Agreed.

It was more a point to everyone screaming he is gone because of Steel or Marshall or because nas didn’t announce he was staying (he never was going to).

So, again - If Wilkie doesn’t know and based on that you can rule out he knows Nas is leaving. You can also accurately assume he is privy to the state of play especially based after this week. Than everyone just needs to take a deep breath.

The interviews weren't inspiring but not evidence.

So, we have the number 1 star of the league which we haven't had since... Riewoldt?

What do Port or Crows have to trade for the star of the league? What happens when it's not enough?

Un-contracted so nothing good.

What about Russell Greene?

Turns up to the ground to be told "You're at the wrong game. We've traded you to Hawthorn".

Poor bastard said he cried in the car on the way to the Hawks match afterwards.
I mentioned this last week, that was when I realised we weren’t a serious club.

Nothing since has surprised me, really my interest is really more based around can a club change its culture and win a premiership.

To this point in time the answer is no. The moment we get close it’s undone by coke crazed presidents, con men, short cuts, it’s always something. I’ve seen smart, sane men join the board and join in making insane decisions.

I enjoy watching a saints win with my eldest son who is the only one of my 4 kids who follows the saints. My youngest son has nether been to an afl game, won’t watch it on tv and follows the baseball.

Just on Ian Stewart I just remember him at st Kilda and Richmond. One thing about him leaving us I do remember is my dad saying he was over weight, playing dead and wanted out which is what happened. We received our usual compensation a washed up Billy Barrot. He didn’t even last the season with us before being traded to carlton he played 2 games for us and left carlton for the vfl at the end of the year.

But I mean RTB is thrilled for either Crom or Port, of course 🤣

I wake up and the hand wringing continues from last night.
“We” is about as general as term as there is. Could mean the afl community, could mean Ross and his family as people who love Nas, could mean the Adelaide supporters.

Could also just be a throw away comment made with zero back thought.

Could also be saints specific but his confidence on a signature means very little to Nas and his management.

You keep accusing others of reading into everything, frankly you’re one of the worst for it

Steele was “smiling”
Joey was “smirking”

Lotta people making 1+1=4 (both ways, I’m just pointing out it’s not exclusive to the naysayers)
Yeah that’s totally fair.

My opinion is just that, everyone had this weird fixation that he was either going to announce he was staying in those interviews or his not.

To which I’m not sure where that came from or why that expectation was there.

He did say he had spoken to his agent and family about his decision - so let’s hope he has spoken to the club.

Hutchy and Pickers reckon he’s gone. Using “This Club” when referring to St Kilda was the dead give away. Listened to his comments to Richo about his decision again and it’s quite depressing.

You'd rather a win than a loss but barely stumbling past the worst sides in footy and losing to a side that has barely won a game in 2 years is bit depressing. That match where we beat the shit out of a dispirited Freo was so good. Why can't those guys show up more often?

It will turn and we'll have another go at the top, it's just a bit depressing feeling like you draft your only star quality player in 25 years and he might want to leave just as he starts to become the darling of the AFL.

Someone needs to do something corrupt and buy him a house off the books or something. Make it impossible to leave.
Green shoots Gringo.

But yes, let’s hope they don’t all turn to weeds if Nas etc leave. 😱

Tbh - totally undecided - change my mind hourly - what Nas does but I doubt Windy goes.

So for those thinking the players know and Nas is out (steel & Marshall interviews)

Why are we discrediting the Wilkie interview - especially after the week he has had and the conversations he would have been apart of?

Ultimately the playing group probably knows **** all and we shouldn’t read or look into anything that was said last night.

Exclusive interview with Cal with Eddie's son. Hmmm, maybe some quid pro quo between the Saints and the McGuires ;)

What’s Travaglia’s trade value?

Most players don't show much for a few years. I wouldn't stress with him. His attitude is excellent. When they were doing drills before a game a while back his skills looked absolutely elite. One touch ground ball gets, really strong overhead, smart handballs through traffic and just a knack for reading the ball. Made Sincs and Nas look meh in comparison.

I think he'll surprise a few in the future. Tauru was much worse last night, directly cost goals through inexperienced mistakes. Struggled to defend in close, he really needs a run at the ball.

Trav had one horrible contest that I remember but just looked a bit lost under extra pressure from a disorganised young back 6 overall.

I reckon Trav is a blue chip prospect that will be at least above average. No-one knows how far on top of that but his attitude is right to be a very good player.

What do you expect Cal to say?.... seriously.

"I'm heaps better than that Leek campaigner and they better be paying him half what they pay me.... I can't believe these m'f'r's lowballed Windy... wtf is up with Sos the cranky lookin' f*cker"

Port unlikely to let go of best 22 stars to bring in Nas. It would be a future first Berry and Lord or Sinn types. Maybe Moraes instead of one of those last two if you really dug in.
We’ll get whatever the afl will sign off on.

I still think he’ll wind up at Adelaide and have thought so since Ricciuto starting gushing over him last season. They have been watching and waiting, hoping we’d leave the door open.

I think they’ll be easier to deal with than port but it will still be an absolute joke. Smart move by Nas as he will put them that much closer to a premiership, port are lousy and unstable.