List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

You can put it up anyway you want but if we bring in TDK and Aleer while losing a generational player best player we have had in 15 years. It’s on no one else but the club and list management. And club will look stupid

But what you will do is say he was homesick - blame his manager- even question NAS’s character maybe make up some rubbish like blaming his mum or his girlfriend lol while not once acknowledging or putting any blame on SOS or Gubby. If NAS does leave both should be removed

Like RTB says if we are good they stay
If it’s shown we didn’t re-sign nas because we didn’t offer enough money - I have no issues slamming the club.

But right now I’m seeing the club make a fair old effort to get that signature. More then they definitely did for old mate Battle 😉

So post that comment from Caro, we have given Nas on average 14 CBA's per game. Surely we wouldn't bother with his development as a mid if the club thought he was on the way out.

Partly true imo but also I reckon it's about showing him that we think he's a mid so if he stays he'll get big midfield minutes. If that's what he wants then I'm not sure Port can promise it with Butters, Rozee, JHF, Drew etc all competing through there.

Another point is that everyone, including NAS, can see how much he’s come on in the couple of months. Is that more likely to continue at his current club under his current coaches or at a new club under a new coach who has never coached before?

Why would the club offer a back flanker with decent but spotty early year form $1.7m+?

It’s only been the last month we’ve seen his capacity as a mid and adjusted accordingly (according to journos with average form)

I'm not sure if you are a Karen or a troll some days.

It’s obvious he was in our best 3-5 before the season, now clearly our best.
But his early year form was certainly not what it is now.

Would have 25-30 including 5-10 kickouts between 50-70% DE some of those early games. Night and day.
I feel like we’ve gone with the Daicos strategy with Nas and his numbers have gone through the roof.

I don’t think it’s sustainable simple because it’s not a winning formula for us. One improbable comeback win that will never be repeated has sent his stock through the roof. Nas is a gun and must surely have been a priority for us from day one, strategy and fate have made a difficult situation a nightmare.

Retain NAS add TDK and Walsh and with a fit list we’re playing finals imo. Short of a few dollars then drop the Aleer deal who imo offers very little.

The other problem with Nas walking if it’s about more cash is find me another. I put him in the Callahan, Kelly etc bracket. We couldn’t get either with huge offers and what would have been 2 first rounders plus deals.

If it’s shown we didn’t re-sign nas because we didn’t offer enough money - I have no issues slamming the club.

But right now I’m seeing the club make a fair old effort to get that signature. More then they definitely did for old mate Battle 😉
You really do contradict yourself a lot
So now you’re say they didn’t put effort into Battle ? You have said many many times the club did everything they could and it was all Battle

Yup, at the start of this year he was a strong B-grader with promise worth $900k or so for a couple of years. Now he's worth probably double that but no-one was paying him $1.5m until the last couple of months.

He was already brilliant at the start of the year. Sincs and Nas are the two best rebound defenders in the league. Last year he was already top 25 in the league. This year he's ranked 4 in the whole league in player rankings at 22 years old.

He was already A grade last year. This season he's gone absolute elite and throwing him on ball has made him probably only behind Nick Daicos for elite young talent. He's worth what ever he wants because he's irreplaceable. You could never hope to attract a player like him to the Saints in a trade for any amount of money.

If guys like TDK is worth $1.7 he's worth double that to even attempt to lure a player of that quality. After 15 years of treading water and around 25 years since we last drafted a superstar, I find it incredible that people are so flippant about how important it is to sign him.

“The Australian Football Hall of Famer’s mind went back to his regular afternoons spent kicking the ball with his nephew and son, Tex, in suburban Adelaide.”

If nas really wants to be a champion of the game and a hall of famer the only way he can achieve that is if he stays at the saints. If he wins a flag with us he would become an immortal and future indigenous leader. If he goes back to port and wins one he will just be mah…..
if he stays it could become one best afl storey. I hope the footy club has told him this.

So now you’re say they didn’t put effort into Battle ? You have said many many times the club did everything they could and it was all Battle
The wink was in reference to your constant moaning about how the club acted towards Battle.

You are still moaning now about a made up assumption as to how they are treating Nas and SOS being an idiot etc. Evidently they have rolled the carpet out for him and gone above and beyond.

So more than what they did for Battle. 😉

NAS is a really interesting personality type. He comes across as an introvert socially but on field he has extremely high standards and is exceptionally driven. Think his team mates would really look to him on field. Potential captain?

He was already brilliant at the start of the year. Sincs and Nas are the two best rebound defenders in the league. Last year he was already top 25 in the league. This year he's ranked 4 in the whole league in player rankings at 22 years old.

He was already A grade last year. This season he's gone absolute elite and throwing him on ball has made him probably only behind Nick Daicos for elite young talent. He's worth what ever he wants because he's irreplaceable. You could never hope to attract a player like him to the Saints in a trade for any amount of money.

If guys like TDK is worth $1.7 he's worth double that to even attempt to lure a player of that quality. After 15 years of treading water and around 25 years since we last drafted a superstar, I find it incredible that people are so flippant about how important it is to sign him.
Of course he was an A grader at the start of the year

Of course.
He was a HBF. And a really, really good and exciting one.
And always a player we didn’t want to lose.
How many goals had he kicked thus far in his career? Probably 5.

In the past few weeks he has become a midfielder and clearance player and a reliable goal kicker. He has elevated himself into something truly special.
And the sky is the limit for him.

But - in the past 4/5 weeks.

If nas really wants to be a champion of the game and a hall of famer the only way he can achieve that is if he stays at the saints. If he wins a flag with us he would become an immortal and future indigenous leader. If he goes back to port and wins one he will just be mah…..
if he stays it could become one best afl storey. I hope the footy club has told him this.
I said this on a stream the other night. You win a flag at St Kilda, you’re a legend. You’ve just won the greatest flag in AFL history. It’s easy to just go home, but he’ll just be another Port play there. Here he’s a god, we love him. He gives us hope. And despite the shyness, deep down you can see he LOVES being the man. He’d be the man, the messiah, at St Kilda.

The wink was in reference to your constant moaning about how the club acted towards Battle.

You are still moaning now about a made up assumption as to how they are treating Nas and SOS being an idiot etc. Evidently they have rolled the carpet out for him and gone above and beyond.

So more than what they did for Battle. 😉
Could go through all your misses and made up stuff but the game starts at 1.40

“The Australian Football Hall of Famer’s mind went back to his regular afternoons spent kicking the ball with his nephew and son, Tex, in suburban Adelaide.”

Such a good article.

If you want to read too much into things (like me) I reckon it's a positive that Uncle Gavin is speaking highly of the Saints in that article and says he only left for Port once he'd achieved everything he could at Essendon.

We’re starting to get that whiff about us again.

What at first glance looked like a club moving in the right direction with a good president and some accountability is starting to look like the same old st Kilda. I feel like the president has been too deferential on football maters, if Nas walks I think it’s about time for a review.

Massive trade and draft period coming up for us.

Such a good article.

If you want to read too much into things (like me) I reckon it's a positive that Uncle Gavin is speaking highly of the Saints in that article and says he only left for Port once he'd achieved everything he could at Essendon.
Agree

But could be a lot do with getting his son on the list

NAS Has said he would like to do something special At Stkilda

Such a good article.

The same Journo - was the first one to run with 3 FRP months ago, and just how hard that would be to do for SA clubs.

Lions have built this list so well.

Add on the few F/S and they’ll be hard to beat for years.
With a stacked midfield and spine it’s given them the freedom to just draft the best footballer avaliable at their pick.

Lohmann pick 20, Morris pick 31 both also notably vic country boys, they have a very good recruiting team.

Yeah a great last quarter but everyone is forgetting how sh1tfull we were in the first 3 quarters , how many teams do you think we can run over like we did last week plus you missed the point completely that I was making , maybe go back and read it again
had this pointed out to me on a whoremongering board im a member of,think i fought the good fight,guy is a good guy,check out his name,assures me he is not the Mark Scott,Fitzroy fan,so hangs on by a thread with an afl interest,loves Ross Lyon,so mostly likes the saints to,every year on facebook Mark Scotts birthday gets pointed out,so i post it with his name and big cheesey grin pic,Russell Tweedale saints player from the 70s is definately a monger in south east asia

markscottCertified Bastos
7d

It’s sad for saints fans, celebrating being 46 points down .
I wonder if the saints will win a flag in the next 46 years,
but at least the mighty saints won’t add to their great record this year,
on their march to 46 wooden spoons

xxxxxxxVerified Bastos
5d

one way of looking at it,but i will stick with the 129 season record we will probably hold for quite some time
then move on to the re-signing our best player that 2 bastard clubs are trying to steal from us
then get back to bitching and wingeing about northern states nepo baby picks & kissed on the dick victorian clubs that get anzac day/eve,dreamtime,big freeze,easter monday slots every year in the name of"equalisation"
those things that literally prevent us from winning a flag,along with our own historic stupidity of course,not denying that