List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Nas’s contract offers are going up by the week, and there’s talk that like Harley Reid, clubs reckon he’s worth $2mil PA, so it’s perfectly understandable that he’s waiting to see how high the offers go, if he is legitimately undecided.

Obviously if he wants to stay there will be a number where once we get to it he’ll sign, so the fact he hasn’t yet means either:

A: He wants to stay, but we haven’t gotten to that number yet, or

B: He wants out and no number he gets from us will change his mind, and he’ll announce he wants out some time in September.

C: He’s legitimately undecided still.

The concern for me is if Windy has moved out and perhaps Mitch will soon follow and Nas is left home alone with no girl and no close mates or family outside the club in Melbourne.

For a quiet guy like him, I can see why there would be a big pull to go home.

Tbh I’m over all this BS.
Whatever he chooses. I’m tired of placing my emotions in the hands of a 22year old kid.
Seriously considering blocking every post that mentions NAS from now on….

I guess I’d better get used to having conversations with myself.

We can debate the meaning of 'indication' and 'indicators' all day (which is where the point of contention is) - but I don't consider the fact he still hasn't re-signed yet as an indicator when there are other cases of late sign ons.

Mostly when a player hasn't signed by now it means they're gone - look at TDK or Aleer as examples. So the Bayesian prior would be: not signed by August => gone. A few counterexamples doesn't really change that.

His value isnt getting higher than it was Sunday night. Even if he did that for the next 5 weeks it wont raise his value, its already literally the highest point possible.

Im all for positivity if that suits you but its naive to suggest there are NO indicators hes leaving.

There is no firm decision, theres no announcement (noting neiter would actually be able to be leaked just yet) but there are alllllll sorts of indicators.
Just because Riley Beveridge said $2 million, doesn't mean anyone has offered it yet.

Maybe you are right, maybe you are wrong.

Your opinion is that it's naive to suggest there are no indicators, but you can find 'indicators' everywhere if you look hard enough - both ways.

Aside from him verbally saying he is staying or leaving, I layed out what I believe the key factors are.

You can disagree - fair enough and you might be bang on the money. But I believe you hit the nail on the head. With all the information known, it's choosing to look at the situation positively or negatively.

I refuse to believe tony was speaking nonsense.

That man is not a yapper, maybe somethings changed but he was right re: Marshall.

Holding Mel Gibson GIF
You refuse ok , What did he say about Marshall ?

Mostly when a player hasn't signed by now it means they're gone - look at TDK or Aleer as examples. So the Bayesian prior would be: not signed by August => gone. A few counterexamples doesn't really change that.
Just because something has happened before and particularly us last year with Battle, doesn't mean it is definitely happening again.

Nas is a completely different signature to capture than your usual player. The salary cap is rising considerably. We have bulk salary cap space available. It's a fairly unique situation.

Nas could be keeping under wraps that he is Max Gawn, but things change and I'm not going to worry until I hear noise which suggests otherwise.

And the point of this series of posts, was trying to calm the masses. This is a big thing for nailed on St Kilda fans.

If there is one thing I am certain of, Nas would not throw us under the bus. He has close friends at the club, understands the history of the club, has no incentive to do so and definitely is not a dickhead.
Sad thing is I just know the ferals out there will probably send him vile messages if he does leave. He's just a 22 year old kid, who probably wants to be with his family and play footy with his mates. But he's going to cop a lot of criticism like he's the next Hitler. At the end of the day it'll be super disappointing to lose him, but we're St.Kilda, if any club can live through misery and disappointment and come out the other side with hopes and dreams, it's us!

Just because Riley Beveridge said $2 million, doesn't mean anyone has offered it yet.

Maybe you are right, maybe you are wrong.

Your opinion is that it's naive to suggest there are no indicators, but you can find 'indicators' everywhere if you look hard enough - both ways.

Aside from him verbally saying he is staying or leaving, I layed out what I believe the key factors are.

You can disagree - fair enough and you might be bang on the money. But I believe you hit the nail on the head. With all the information known, it's choosing to look at the situation positively or negatively.
I genuinely dont know, FWIW, i think it seems most likely he hasnt even made up his mind yet TBH. Im not really viewing it positively or negatively, im looking at history and precedent.

Im not really basing my assesment of his value being peak right now on what Riley Beveridge said either. Im basing it on what weve seen and what we all watched play out in the media this week. Short of him kicking 19 and re writing that record he will never be hotter than he was Monday morning. At best he can maintain and cement those rumors as bone a fide offers.

Not being signed by August and being a player with a known lure of the go home factor are indicators, you can deny them, you can say that his commentary about loving the club etc are indicators he wants to stay but to say there are NO indicators he wants out is naive, its not based in fact.

Just because something has happened before and particularly us last year with Battle, doesn't mean it is definitely happening again.

Nas is a completely different signature to capture than your usual player. The salary cap is rising considerably. We have bulk salary cap space available. It's a fairly unique situation.

Nas could be keeping under wraps that he is Max Gawn, but things change and I'm not going to worry until I hear noise which suggests otherwise.

And the point of this series of posts, was trying to calm the masses. This is a big thing for nailed on St Kilda fans.

Dusty didn't re-sign for life until 31 August. Remember that, everyone.

The hysterics are gonna hysteric regardless of what you or I say, there really is no point reasoning with them.

Dusty didn't re-sign for life until 31 August. Remember that, everyone.
Dusty didnt have a home state with his family nestled away wanting him to return throwing a mega deal at him either.

If you wanna factor it in, factor it all in.

If there is one thing I am certain of, Nas would not throw us under the bus. He has close friends at the club, understands the history of the club, has no incentive to do so and definitely is not a dickhead.
Do you really think Nas is going to say to his manager I'm not going unless St Kilda gets 3 first round picks or similar, if you do you're in dreamland , players will do what's best for them, they have a small window to earn good money and in the end its only a job for them , they aren't nuffers like supporters

Absolutely he should be booed.

Imagine walking out after a club took a punt on you, developed you, and promised you a long term future.

Yet you pack up for the homesickness of Adelaide?!? They build these players tough these days huh? Pathetic.

Shameful behaviour for me and yes Saints fans should quickly turn on him if he bails the big sook.
I don't boo because, personally I think its a bit juvenile.

If he stays -great.

If he leaves Fcuk him - just another opposition player AFAIC

If he leaves, I honestly dont see the light anymore for the club. It would be a huge kick in the guts for everything Auntie Katrina and his brothers have done. It would be heartbreaking for Mason Wood who has put so much of his time and families time into Nas.

I get it that there is a pull to go home but as a club we couldn't have done more for the kid. The fans love him, the AFL loves him.

Battle was always a bit average and finally came good then left. But he was one of our better players and we lost him, we can't afford another one.

I go back to the jersey Nas designed. In the heart of the design was Moorabbin because that's where his heart is.

I'm honestly not sure we can come back from losing Nas if we do. It'll kill the fabric of the club that Wood, Hill etc worked so hard to build