List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Agreed to? Presenting a final offer is not an agreement, it is take it or leave it.

The only agreement is the Saints have agreed within themselves that the last offer sent is the final offer.

Edit: so talks are finished, its piss or get off the pot time as far as the Saints are concerned.

It's quite delusional to believe or imply that Nas has agreed to terms with us but just hasn't been able to find a spare moment to sign a contract.

If he wanted to stay, he would have signed already. But the reality is that he can make obscene money at St Kilda, or he can make obscene money back home in Adelaide. I was hoping that we'd get another couple of years of service since our salary cap space allowed us to to pay him above market value, but now that he might genuinely be the best player in the comp, the SA clubs will have no problem with matching that money.

We can only hope that Butters is going to ask for a trade which gives Port some proper draft capital to use in a trade. Otherwise, we're getting shite future draft picks and one or two of Bergman/Berry/Whitlock

Left field thought. Future picks are compromised by Tassie. As the AFL is a law unto itself, it could insulate any picks we get from Tassie.
So Tassie get 5 of the first top ten for example, if our future picks were 4 and 6 for example they stay as is.
Anyway **** futures, I'm not death riding Port for a year. They could improve and we get absolute garbage picks.
With NAS they absolutely improve.

Offer Nas another $200,000 pa if he dumps Williams 🤪

8atf0QH.gif

If it is a classic shakedown it seems to have ended with the Saints.
Williams overplaying his hand?
Any deal takes 2 reasonable parties to get a win/win outcome.

I have no doubt at all who the unreasonable party is - and it is not us.

They haven’t, they’ve progressed to the point where the terms are agreed to, just hasn’t been signed yet
So what are they waiting for?
And where have you heard this?

One of the most infuriating things about all this is that Port have in no way set themselves up to makes this trade. Absolutely botched last trade period and about three others before that. Didn't rate Nas enough to set themselves up for a decent trade and now they want him because he's progressed the way he has. Under our development, mind you.

Port have set themselves up for a pretty dark rebuild after continuous mismanagement of their list and now Nas wants to join them?

I refuse to believe it.

Wonder how the sacking impacts us. Surely they'd try and look at Enright?
Reckon they'll end up going with an untried coach that has probably been overlooked for a few recent jobs.

Can't see established ex coaches or highly rated assistants putting their hand up for this job unless they're just desperate

Reckon they'll end up going with an untried coach that has probably been overlooked for a few recent jobs.

Can't see established ex coaches or highly rated assistants putting their hand up for this job unless they're just desperate
Horse?
Not sure he was so happy with his succession plan tbh.

Quite frankly, if Port think they are going to give us two future draft picks from heavily compromised drafts as compensation because he is out of contract and we should take whatever we can get, I'd rather the club just send him to the PSD and get nothing.

We would be stupid to do this.
It does not help us one bit.
All good to be strong in negotiations. Its another to shoot ourselves in the foot.

Very interesting read, in relation to list management, and just all the ways things can go right and wrong in footy. And yet Dees still broke their drought and got their flag.

Just as easily as everything can go to shit, things can change for the better as well. Would be interesting to compare to say Richmond who managed to succeed in their dynasty potential.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1382047

Quite frankly, if Port think they are going to give us two future draft picks from heavily compromised drafts as compensation because he is out of contract and we should take whatever we can get, I'd rather the club just send him to the PSD and get nothing.
It’s in no one’s interest to not have a good relationship between clubs, managers etc, as Port may be on the other end of this with us next year, year after etc.

Williams doesn’t want a shit relationship with the club as it makes his job harder having a bad name in the industry for being sneaky/ difficult/ unrealistic etc etc.

Port fans saying you’ll get what you get etc, is just one eyed supporters wanting a gun and not wanting to give anything up. Just doesn’t work like that..

We would be stupid to do this.
It does not help us one bit.
All good to be strong in negotiations. Its another to shoot ourselves in the foot.

Trust me, I understand your comment and I thought the same when we got nothing for Luke Ball. However, I think we need to send a message with this one and Port shouldn't be rewarded for not being ready for this situation.