List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Let's just wait and see. It is strange though if internal communications from the club are that we are confident he stays. I still think he stays.
I’m more hopeful than confident, and truthfully they’re similar sentiments echoed from the few players I’m mates with. Won’t be shocked either way.

If Port or Adelaide want him then they’ll need to pony up. I’ve heard comparisons to Dawson returning home, but reality is we’re dealing with a player who is already top 5 in the comp.

By the end of the season he could well be:

All-Australian
St Kilda Best & Fairest
Top 5 in the brownlow
Top 5 in the AFLCA awards (another two BOGs and he could win this)

We’re not talking about a couple of late first rounders, a future picks.

If Port or Adelaide want him then they’ll need to pony up. I’ve heard comparisons to Dawson returning home, but reality is we’re dealing with a player who is already top 5 in the comp.

By the end of the season he could well be:

All-Australian
St Kilda Best & Fairest
Top 5 in the brownlow
Top 5 in the AFLCA awards (another two BOGs and he could win this)

We’re not talking about a couple of late first rounders, a future picks.

I agree. We need to play massive hard ball. Thankfully we have the required Dean Kents at the club to do that.

Up until yesterday I was confident Nas would stay.
My son & I came over from SA for the game, a mate of mine from Melbourne used to sponsor Terry Milera, Nas’ family were over & we spoke to Terry after the game. Obviously he did not say Nas is staying or going, but his exact words were “we just want him closer to home.”
Take that as you will, but obviously his family are pushing for him to go back to SA.
I understand the position of the family, I really do.

Community obligations is something that’s really important for a lot of Aboriginal families and communities, and I can see being really important given the backstory with Terry’s career (and, potentially Nas biological father).

That said, if I was Terry, the conversation I’d be having with Nas manager is that if Port are fare dinkum about bringing him back home, then perhaps they might need to start getting their house in order and selling the farm the year out from Nas being OOC on B-grade talent is hardly doing that.

Same goes for Adelaide. Pull together the draft capital required to get a trade done.

More ridiculous comments through the season that Ben King only kicks goals but offers not much else.

Would love to be in for him next season.

IMG_4656.png

I’m sorry I just don’t buy that someone ran into terry and he openly told them they want nas to come home. If it was this easy to get info out the media would be asking him.
You don’t have to believe me, but that is what he said to the guy that used to sponsor him.
He never said he is coming home, he said they would like him to be closer to home.
I want him to stay at the Saints as much as the next bloke & I hope he does, but that is the family’s position.

And you know what? Why would anyone want to say what they are told on here when they get shot down by a crab like yourself?

I’m not an ITK, Terry was talking to my mate who used to sponsor him, that’s all. It’s the only legit piece of info I have ever been told & I hope to hell it doesn’t come to fruition!

My misses had an apt point, "all you guys do on that forum is suck each other off. No one has any actual information".

Hard to argue with that. 🤣
My missus doesn’t know I’m on a footy forum with a bunch of strangers crying over a 22 year old who wants to go home.
She thinks I’m on my phone working.

You don’t have to believe me, but that is what he said to the guy that used to sponsor him.
He never said he is coming home, he said they would like him to be closer to home.
I want him to stay at the Saints as much as the next bloke & I hope he does, but that is the family’s position.

And you know what? Why would anyone want to say what they are told on here when they get shot down by a crab like yourself?

I’m not an ITK, Terry was talking to my mate who used to sponsor him, that’s all. It’s the only legit piece of info I have ever been told & I hope to hell it doesn’t come to fruition!

Thanks for the info, mate. I think everyone is just wanting this so bad it is like an immune response to a virus when potentially bad news comes in.

I will say that context is everything with Terry's statement. He may have been saying in an ideal world he is closer to home, which is any parent's wish. However, he may be saying to Nas do what you think is best for your career and your happiness.

Or, it is along the lines, "you must come home! We need you!" Then more pressure on Nas.

Considering Terry was one of the main reasons Nas extended last time, I think it would be the former than the latter. But it's only conjecture.

I understand the position of the family, I really do.

Community obligations is something that’s really important for a lot of Aboriginal families and communities, and I can see being really important given the backstory with Terry’s career (and, potentially Nas biological father).

That said, if I was Terry, the conversation I’d be having with Nas manager is that if Port are fare dinkum about bringing him back home, then perhaps they might need to start getting their house in order and selling the farm the year out from Nas being OOC on B-grade talent is hardly doing that.

Same goes for Adelaide. Pull together the draft capital required to get a trade
Nas chose to nominate himself in an Australian professional sports competition where there is a high chance of moving away from home.
If community obligations is really important to him then he shouldve stayed in SA and played SANFL.
10 -12 years is not long in a professional environment.
His family don't live on the other side of the world

It doesn’t sound great for us right now if we consider what saxond74 & Jase Burgoyne said in his press conference after re-signing.

Jase’s line of ‘Nas will do what’s best for his family’
& Terry’s ‘what just want him closer to home’

at the point, I feel that if he stays it’s because we aren’t satisfied with the proposed trade/s and I would expect if it is that he just wants to return home, he nominates the state and not the club.
Jeez, I go to Adelaide a few times a year to visit an older relative not in great health- I'm not that well off, but scrape together enough for an airfare, and other than that, we talk on the phone. I didn't realize being an hour and a half away on a plane was such a dilemma for a family and their highly paid son.

Up until yesterday I was confident Nas would stay.
My son & I came over from SA for the game, a mate of mine from Melbourne used to sponsor Terry Milera, Nas’ family were over & we spoke to Terry after the game. Obviously he did not say Nas is staying or going, but his exact words were “we just want him closer to home.”
Take that as you will, but obviously his family are pushing for him to go back to SA.
'Closer to home'? Looks like he's heading to the Cats in that case.

With the port trade I’m not sure the afl will let them trade their future pick. The reason the rule was brought in was to save clubs from selling their future away. They already let them do it jhf. I don’t think the afl will let them do it again. Their future will be cooked, no depth. It would be a very ordinary look from the afl if the put in rules that are effectively as strong as jelly.

My misses had an apt point, "all you guys do on that forum is suck each other off. No one has any actual information".

Hard to argue with that. 🤣
Tell her to shut up, she knows nothing about football, we only have circle jerks. Women 🙄