List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

My main issue is paying Windy 850k is what do we do when he is up for his next contract renewal. Assuming he improves as a player naturally are you comfortable paying Windy 1m+?

I get we’re all feeling a bit precious with the Nas situation but we start caving to agents now then we’re royally ****ed in the future.
Was certainly our best player at half time Saturday and right now a good B grader. If he improves over the next few years he is an A grader - $1m+ - get the contract in front of him asap!

Who makes the call on if someone makes us better?

A. Is it the coach and list managers?

B. Is it the players?

C. Is it the fans?

Only one option seems experienced to make that call.
You forgot option D: Big Footy nuffies.
( myself included)

No mate. Idk have a problem with going after them. The issue is you don’t then settle for the next rung because ‘we have to spend the money’.
Eh?

What is 'settling for the next rung'?

Dow & Carroll were both cheap depth with some upside. Look at who they replaced on the list & tell me they weren't worth a free throw at the stumps.

In fact Carroll & Stocker were both delisted & had other clubs interested so we locked them in early.

Unfortunately, and many are wilfully ignoring this, according to the ridiculous AFL system we have to operate in, we will lose the $$$ we have saved if we don't use it.

For a club that doesn't have the advantages that most others do in terms of attracting players, 'losing' that banked cash would be serious mismanagement. It is our competitive advantage for a very brief period... that will make TDK's contract very manageable in its final 5 years.

As for the $750k for Aleer... well wasn't that reported as $900k a few weeks ago?

Media click bait BS that is lapped up by those who are desperate to create instability around the club.

We find a professional recruiter for the first time in twenty years and Lyon’s nepotistic appointment and his work shirking off sider leak talent faster than we can recruit new ones. Saints are doomed by our own incompetence
source.gif

We have to overpay to get anyone though. That's the plight of a small club.

Do they want us to improve the list? If so, then it something they have to accept.

No you don’t, you have to be disciplined enough to wait if no one wants in. Fox what you can and look at alternative pathways. Max Hall outperformed Gresham by heaps. The mid season guys that don’t get picked are still out there. Sometimes you just aren’t at the right point. Chase some low cost trades instead.

Eh?

What is 'settling for the next rung'?

Dow & Carroll were both cheap depth with some upside. Look at who they replaced on the list & tell me they weren't worth a free throw at the stumps.

In fact Carroll & Stocker were both delisted & had other clubs interested so we locked them in early.

Unfortunately, and many are wilfully ignoring this, according to the ridiculous AFL system we have to operate in, we will lose the $$$ we have saved if we don't use it.

For a club that doesn't have the advantages that most others do in terms of attracting players, 'losing' that banked cash would be serious mismanagement. It is our competitive advantage for a very brief period... that will make TDK's contract very manageable in its final 5 years.

As for the $750k for Aleer... well wasn't that reported as $900k a few weeks ago?

Media click bait BS that is lapped up by those who are desperate to create instability around the club.

Dow cost us Coffield. Wasn’t free but both have been crap moves. Carrol is just depth.

Over pay players like billings, Dunstan etc and go nowhere!

Pay players their worth, while trying to attract and pay others to join and the media loses their minds.

Amazing really, we get hanged if we do and hanged if don't.

It wasn’t over paying them it was inability to bring in enough talent on top of them. They were disappointing players but paid overs because we couldn’t draft. We threw lots of money away bringing in broken down players.

Lol ik diehard idiot. I’ve been banging on about SOS before Rucci the flog said a word.
Nothing has actually happened yet though, mate.

If we lose some key players, then SOS is definitely due criticism and possibly lose his job - sure.

Until then you are just ranting and raving like a diehard idiot, and leaving out ridiculous amounts of information in your assessment - if we can even call it that.

You're literally closing your eyes and throwing darts at a dart board hoping one hits.

Masquerading that as a legitimate opinion is hilarious.

Nothing has actually happened yet though, mate.

If we lose some key players, then SOS is definitely due criticism and possibly lose his job - sure.

Until then you are just ranting and raving like a diehard idiot, and leaving out ridiculous amounts of information in your assessment - if we can even call it that.

You're literally closing your eyes and throwing darts at a dart board hoping one hits.

Masquerading that as a legitimate opinion is hilarious.

The club is heading into a media shit storm fair or not. Gaslighting like it’s all made up by a poster is a bit psychotic.

What's really frustrating is that successful clubs (like Geelong, Collingwood, Richmond and Hawthorn) don't have this problem because it's understood that bringing in A grade players on big money will only ensure that the team stays at the top of the ladder for longer. And thus, players already at the club take less money to stay together (and stay successful).

The problem we have is, our players haven't experienced that success. So when you're splashing big money around to attract players from other clubs, they see it as an affront - rather than an attempt to build that success.

I don't blame Wilkie (or anyone else) for being frustrated. The game is rigged against the small clubs.

He’s apparently after Walsh now. It’s getting a little bit weird.
Walsh started off like a house on fire and then fizzled out , seems to happen to everyone at Carlton.
Anyway there are going to be plenty of players on the market and I expect alot of them will be contract dumps - expect players like Oliver , Pettracca to be offloaded , Merrit wants out of Essendon with Parish with a host of other players wanting out.
Walsh , Crisp and other Blues will be looked at being moved on to get something for them.

But to me we don't need another club reject , ok if we swap Jones for Petracca no problem but only paying half the coin he is on - but even then do we need that type at our club , I don't.
Sort of like letting white ants into the roof of your house.

We have a current crop of kids that look to have high ceilings - how high we will find out.
Phillipou has not had a season due to injury and he is one that could really be a standout and the kids like Tobe , Wilson are still kids and who knows what Garcia , Hall end up being and Windhager is only 22 and is now at the age where he could become a top line mid - it must be remembered players like Parish , Petracca never came good until they were around 24.

We should be getting another mid this draft with our first round pick and having Macrae and Steele if he still at the club next year they have some good leadership to follow.
I fully expect there will be some culling of the list with guys like Dow , Jones , Carroll , Cordy , Howard - due to injury problems , Webster , Boyd and a few more if needed.

This draft and trade season is either going to make us or break us.

Once Nas is signed we can look forward to how strong our lineup will be next year.
We lose our most best player we will go backwards - you can't keep letting guys go in there prime - No matter what any body says Battle was a major lose for us this year.

Very smart play by both SA clubs, make the club look like all the players are walking so Nas walks too.

Dirty tactics, will be interesting to see how the club responds.
Time for St Kilda to spread news of Miles Bergman expressing desire of wanting to move back to VIC this year but us being unable to arrange a trade

Taste of their own medicine

We have to overpay to get anyone though. That's the plight of a small club.

Do they want us to improve the list? If so, then it something they have to accept.
I just said it doesn’t necessarily improve the list. Id be happy to throw that money at a genuine star.
You know what else gets players to come? Winning games, keeping genuine stars and having a happy playing group