List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Personally would rather pass on Liam Ryan and go for Zac Bailey next year, restricted free agent.
throw some cash at him

Personally would rather pass on Liam Ryan and go for Zac Bailey next year, restricted free agent.
throw some cash at him
Girl Why Dont We Have Both GIF

How good is Ross for the club.

I've always been a Ross lover, Ross finally getting announced to come back to the club was as good as the Nas announcement for me.. Just because it meant having someone in charge that:
A) wasn't going to be pushed around or bend the knee to the media/afl and
B) Our playing list was going to stop being patted on the head for being first round draft picks and actually have to put in work.

How many times has Nas said how much he loves Ross, just warms the soul.

Also, how good was the drive-by from Ross on some of the players we've recently let go.. Something like "We've made really tough decisions on players who were really well remunerated but we felt weren't delivering that value"

Reckon Essendon is living that pain right now with Gresh.

I don't think we can underestimate how low our standards were as a club after Ross left... We had so many early draft picks that were both gifted games early AND paid overs on potential and they just ended up loving the life of an AFL footballer instead of being an AFL footballer.

Seems like Nas, Windy, Owens, Pou etc all have a different mentality and actually want to be great.
I truly think Carlton made a sliding doors error when not appointing him
He’s have gutted the plodders on that list but with Cripps Curnow Walsh McKay Their FB (whose name I forgot I pay so much attention bht he’s good) TDK ….hed have made something of that
They just dropped the World Cup Carlton
Dumb

I truly think Carlton made a sliding doors error when not appointing him
He’s have gutted the plodders on that list but with Cripps Curnow Walsh McKay Their FB (whose name I forgot I pay so much attention bht he’s good) TDK ….hed have made something of that
They just dropped the World Cup Carlton
Dumb
I think Ross rejected Carlton’s advances. Like NAS with Port.

You can trust Grant Thomas to come on radio and pour water on the whole thing. Christ he's negative.

Sour ole GT cause even Rooney and that don’t mention him
The guy stayed too long in the too job said he was caretaker then wouldn’t relinquish
Lyon flogs him as a coach just a shane we didn’t give Lyon that list …

Using my bubble of optimism wisely here.

RD 1 Seniors

Hastie. Caminiti. Tauru.
Sinclair. Wilkie (C). Clark.
Hill. Windhager. Steele.
Ryan. Sharman. Hall.
Owens. King. Higgins.
De Koning. NWM. Phillipou.

INT: Marshall. Garcia. Macrae. Wilson. Aleer.

EM: Boxshall. Dodson. Howard. Butler.

• Expect some 2nd Year blues from Boxshall, Travaglia Tauru etc so expect them to play at San.. wait "in the ressies" a fair bit.
  • Steele to the wing to extend his career a bit, clever footballer for the thinking man's spot but also great competitively in air and on ground. He's still got a strong tank so think it suits him and us nicely.
  • Backing Hill to bounce a bit next year, love Clark settled at hbf
  • Can't find a spot for Wood right away but i'd have him over Hill most likely
  • Bit worried about Aleer - even Zlugger might have him covered 1v1
  • Hammer > Howard now
  • Ryan an worthwhile upgrade on Butler when both fit.
  • No sub hopefully would give us enormous flexibility with a duel ruck setup.

IN
De Koning. Ryan. Aleer. 1R. 3R

OUT (5x Delist / Retire 3 + 2 new draftees)
Jones. Webster. McLennan. Boyd. Cordy.

RD 1 Reserves

Stocker. Howard. Armstrong.
Henry. Barratt. Webster.
Byrnes. O'Connell. Schoenmaker.
Said. Keeler. Butler.
Collard. Campigli. Heath.
Dodson. Boxshall. Travaglia.
Dow. Jones. McLennan. Cordy. 1R (J. Phillipou) 3R (Fincher)

- Hopefully a few delisted players can play at Sandy but almost never works like that

I was listening to ABC on Sunday. Cameron Ling spoke very well about Jack Gunston having a career best year at 33-34. He looked done at the Lions and then Hawks go and get him again.

Cameron Ling talked about age, particularly ‘30’ being old, as not a thing anymore. Clubs have the right people in place to manage bodies. And they’re recognising the footy brains and smarts and the good players rather than the age. They know that if a body is healthy, they’ll get out of it what they need regardless of the age. Good preseason, good management, all of that. Ling went on to say in his time at the Cats they still had a good footy department and leading the pack, but even then, 10-15 years ago or whatever, they still didn’t understand the management stuff properly and sent sore bodies out to continue to train and play and bash and crash.

So let’s not see 29 as old. 29-32 years with a 4th potentially triggered. With the right management it’s not old. Back in the new group who’ve identified the player they want and the footy IQ they want and let them manage it appropriately.

In addition to Ling, and I apologise as I forgot who was hosting (Matt Clinch or Corbin Middlemas maybe?) spoke about Gunston & Breust continuing on also as coaches for the young guys, given the soft cap limit on coach spending, these smart footy players can contribute in many facets. Ryan can do the same for Collard, and the non-indigenous forwards.
Bearing in mind the age factor, or non-factor, and our list profile, do we think Jimmy Webster will retire at the end of this season? Or do we keep him as depth for another year?

Surely if he's stepping down, we'll hear about it this week and he might squeeze in a goodbye game against old foe Toby Green before he heads back to the farm.

Any views?

Mitch Cleary says the Nas contract is a flat 2 years with no possible additions on tenure

If true, then the 8 year trigger rumour is probably false
If Tony74 is the champion of ITK's, yipper is in the AA team for info. Cleary can blow me, wouldn't know if you were up him. Temu Barratt.

Nice turnaround in attitude for the punters here.
Hope is back, the president bared his teeth an suddenly the media turn on a dime and from an exodus we suddenly have an influx.
Fair dinkum, the fickle media is sick making.
Anyway this picture I took today reminds me of the kills both RTB and the President have had over the past couple of days.
I like to think they are feasting on the carcus of Korn and Cleary is the gazelle gormlessly grazing in the kill zone

Attachments

• 20250819_122709(1).jpg
    20250819_122709(1).jpg
    874.4 KB · Views: 27
I was listening to ABC on Sunday. Cameron Ling spoke very well about Jack Gunston having a career best year at 33-34. He looked done at the Lions and then Hawks go and get him again.

Cameron Ling talked about age, particularly ‘30’ being old, as not a thing anymore. Clubs have the right people in place to manage bodies. And they’re recognising the footy brains and smarts and the good players rather than the age. They know that if a body is healthy, they’ll get out of it what they need regardless of the age. Good preseason, good management, all of that. Ling went on to say in his time at the Cats they still had a good footy department and leading the pack, but even then, 10-15 years ago or whatever, they still didn’t understand the management stuff properly and sent sore bodies out to continue to train and play and bash and crash.

So let’s not see 29 as old. 29-32 years with a 4th potentially triggered. With the right management it’s not old. Back in the new group who’ve identified the player they want and the footy IQ they want and let them manage it appropriately.

In addition to Ling, and I apologise as I forgot who was hosting (Matt Clinch or Corbin Middlemas maybe?) spoke about Gunston & Breust continuing on also as coaches for the young guys, given the soft cap limit on coach spending, these smart footy players can contribute in many facets. Ryan can do the same for Collard, and the non-indigenous forwards.
Not just Gunstan
- Pendles
Lachie Neale
- Danger

Players are better managed these days

throw some cash at him

The Saints can do both. Ryan now. Bailey next year.

After Bassets Big Dog Talk this week, you can bet that the Saints already have a hit list of players that they will be targeting in the 2026 Trade Period.

Just on Liam Ryan.

One of the ways that the Saints are seeking to gain a competitive advantage over other AFL Clubs is to be seen as THE CLUB for Indigenous Players.

Re-signing Nas, trading in Liam will add to all the effort that the Saints have put into this in recent years.

With Tex also seemingly joining us for 2026 we could have quite a group of Indigenous Players at the Club.

FMD he knocked back a mill over two years. He must absolutely loathe Port or just sees them as up shit Creek.
I dont think so. In the end, it looks like he knew what his departure would do to St Kilda and didn't want to do that to the people he loves and respects, his teammates and coaches. He's going to be rich regardless.