List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

He wants out. It’s about value in return.

Geelongs current first is not value in return and we shouldn’t be entertaining selling low here. There is no need to do this.

If Geelong and Marshall have ideas about Ro in their colours, than the cats need to stump up fair cost.

I still think Mitch Cleary is on the money. A top 12 or 15 pick.
I don’t see how it’s smart asset mamangement to have him playing twos all year and I can’t see a spot for him in a 23 without injury.

Don’t think there’s a lot of value in a guy worth that much as a backup but I’m not losing sleep over it either way.
We seem happy to play them both, especially when it's 5 on the bench, so it's unlikely we will be making any decision expecting for Marshall to play 2s.
If… a lot of ifs. If it’s 5 on the bench. If it goes to last touch rule then two rucks will be totally ****ing useless too

I don’t see how it’s smart asset mamangement to have him playing twos all year and I can’t see a spot for him in a 23 without injury.

Don’t think there’s a lot of value in a guy worth that much as a backup but I’m not losing sleep over it either way.

If… a lot of ifs. If it’s 5 on the bench. If it goes to last touch rule then two rucks will be totally ****ing useless too
He isn’t playing 2s. He is a starting forward and alternate ruck

The other thing to consider if Ro asked to be traded to Geelong is Fincher.

Geelong's first pick will probably end up around 25, that's super dangerous territory for a Fincher bid. I expect it to be later, but I'd be nervous nonetheless.

For mine, I only want one thing from Geelong and that's Tom's brother. They won't have the picks to satisfy us imo.

Mark McGowan - The Age

The Kangaroos want to add some defensive steel to their mostly young midfield brigade, and have identified Saint Marcus Windhager as the man who could do that. They have presented a five-year contract offer with serious financial terms to Windhager’s management, and have as good a chance as any suitor if he chooses to depart. That said, Windhager’s preference is to continue playing with his close friend Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera at St Kilda

Captain Jack Steele will probably remain at Moorabbin, barring a late twist.

Would NM be so crazy to do a future 1st again?

He didn’t get called out for it, he was taken out of context. He never gave opinion on where Marshall would be, just said what the clubs position is. Which the twitter poster took out of context to say “tom morris said Marshall isn’t going anywhere”.

And then when Tom points that out, they shoot some childish retorts. He’s reporting what he knows.
Oh hey Tom,

Pick up any scoops on here today ? Inside word on breaking nothing reports ?

Now this kent cares about being 'accurate' LMAO

:tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:
After the revelation that he is one of the chooks, I reckon his attention to journalistic integrity will escalate dramatically with any story related to our club!!

So not quite Upper then?

I am certainly no draft watcher, but from what I have read some of those have some question marks about them. Not that they are bad players. But do not scream Gun.

Jevan may be very good, but then again he mav not.
Upper in the open pool is CDT and Duursma. That's it

The next tier is all the other names I pointed out as well as some others who I would avoid given the context of our list (outside players, key backs etc)

They don't have to scream gun. As long as you have an elite trait that can help you stand out at AFL level whilst being good at other parts of the game then I think you're every chance to succeed at the top level

Lindsay is an elite kick - Whitfield-like

Cumming is brilliant overhead and Heeney-like

Grlj elite speed - Butters-like who went pick outside the top 10

Jevan elite athlete across all decathlete sports - not many to compare him with bc of his background but maybe a Zac Bailey

Farrow elite mix of kick and size - Dawson-like

The other thing to consider if Ro asked to be traded to Geelong is Fincher.

Geelong's first pick will probably end up around 25, that's super dangerous territory for a Fincher bid. I expect it to be later, but I'd be nervous nonetheless.

For mine, I only want one thing from Geelong and that's Tom's brother. They won't have the picks to satisfy us imo.
Reckon we would be asking for a play if he goes. Sdk thanks

Excuse me while I jump 55 pages to quote this...
We all know Carlton have a sorded history of arrogance and corruption, but how would we feel if we lost the best ruckman we have had in sometime. I strongly believe in karma in footy and things like this have an odd way of coming back and smacking you in the face. So lets be the bigger group and not rub it in their faces.

...and say
**** Carlton.
They wanted us to fold when we were in the shit.

Never forget

Friend of mine saw all the boys at the Brighton hotel function space last night at about 10pm, said that Enright gave a passionate speech about how next year we will make a massive push for top 6… this friend is very honest and he also hates Saints so I doubt he’d make this up
Shouldn't have mates that hate the Saints

pencil this in...was chatting this afternoon to a CTL coach...the pool for 2026 is very shallow...2027 (despite the Tassie concessions) is where you want to have picks...elite talent and depth

Even if they win the flag, the Cats pick isn't going to blow out that far, as a lot of the manufactured academy & FS picks will be cancelled out by the ones used to match. The main issue is the FA compo picks if anything

GC will need to use multiple first rounders to match bids on Uwland/Patterson. Bris will use their first for Annable as well. Swans and Blues might also need to use late firsts depending on where the bids come. Can't match with chump change these days & splitting picks for a points surplus will be very difficult without sacrificing futures

The tipping point last year was around pick 40 (ie picks after pick 40 actually came in from their original position, due to other picks being vacuumed up in bid matching). I'd expect it to be closer to pick 30 this year if not earlier