List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Zach Merret rumblings wow to the wee!

Play hard ball on Marshall to Geelong.

We're killing it in my opinion and no way Wilkie our next Captain leaves. The Bullflogs are just bitter they missed Finals then Silvagni. But they can suck up the dry food not even the wet stuff and we'll up Cal's deal, make him Cap and he ain't going anywhere, especially not to that inbreed shitehole.
They have a key defender playing forward.

Shift Naughton back, they have Darcy and Croft emerging plus Ugle-Hagen who could be back after a summer of full training and no trouble.

I’d be looking at Bevo the angry clown and the number of try hards he plays in the 22. Probably has a soft spot for the battlers given his own career.

I wouldn't mind seeing Marshall and Steele leave whatsoever. No idea about Steele but we hold the cards with Marshall so Geelong can cough up a franchise, a farm and more quite frankly.

Wilkie won't go, I'd bet any money on it. We'll simply up his deal ala Windhager.

We're killing it.
We are and that’s all true.

There’s a narrative running that no noses were put out and somehow that’s been tied in with the SA clowns. It’s simply not true, so we now do a little clean up work with those we want to retain and make sure any who leave do so on our terms.

I have no problem with that at all.

They have a key defender playing forward.

Shift Naughton back, they have Darcy and Croft emerging plus Ugle-Hagen who could be back after a summer of full training and no trouble.

I’d be looking at Bevo the angry clown and the number of try hards he plays in the 22. Probably has a soft spot for the battlers given his own career.
Shift Darcy back, so our backs dont have to play on him, l reckon.

Obviously needs to be reiterated by club,player & manager the Silvagni deal has stirred the pot again.
Hard to believe the current media landscape has painted us getting Wilkie some defensive help is actually going to cause him to leave.

You'd think most people could see through the crap and we wouldnt need to respond to every clickbait story.

Hypothetical trade with Dogs--do we start with Naughton and a FRDP 😉
Their Board love my suggestion that we would ask for Richards or Freijah 😂

But in all honesty, it’s the Curnow situation.

A club coming for another clubs elite gun player. Unless you are giving an elite offer in return - how would you even imagine it gets done.

Flanders says hold my beer
I bet Ross will say he’s nether spoken to Flanders and to the best of his knowledge no one else from the football department has.

Hopefully the doggies got angry and acted stupidly, act in haste as they say.

That’s something else I heard but couldn’t be bothered to question the person about their source but Merrett was seen meeting with someone from the club. Probably the next in a long line of X was spotted chatting to Y reports that will roll into the trade period.

It actually feels like it’s going to be a big year, lots of unrest and at least 2 new coaches. Plus we’ve started an arms race and with Tassie looming it’s react or risk getting locked out.

Hard to believe the current media landscape has painted us getting Wilkie some defensive help is actually going to cause him to leave.

You'd think most people could see through the crap and we wouldnt need to respond to every clickbait story.
While his mate Howard
Is just going

What about me, it isn't fair.
I've had enough & l want my share
Can't you see
You just take more than you give
What about me

I should be banned for knowing the words of that song fmd

I would nearly do Pick 10 for Wilkie and Pick 17 for Marshall (I know they would get pushed back)

If we could turn Wilkie into Flanders and keep our pick 7 and Geelongs first rounder it’s good for our list profile.

Both are contracted so if they weren’t offering their first picks no deal.
Definitely not. Aren't we trying to get better? not worse. Also makes the trades for JSOS and TDK irrelevant.
Dont want picks from Geelong and they wont give up a player of similar quality in return. Would they do SDK for Marshall and a future 2nd/3rd due to age?
As for the dogs. They wouldn't swap the astronaught for Wilkey so thats a no too.

Another quote from Wilkie for all the opposition lurkers who seem to think he's going to leave because we've brought in these in outside players;

Wilkie, who is firmly in the mix for a second All-Australian blazer and looms as a captain-in-waiting, said he was all for the Saints going hard after outside talent.

“We need to get better as a footy club, as players, that is what I am trying to lead,” he said.

“We are not playing finals again this year and that is where we want to be.

“There is a lot of talk about being a young group but the time is now and we want to get back to playing finals footy.

“We want to get better and if we are going to bring people in, that is great. We need it because we need to be better than what we have been this year and I’m just looking forward to driving this group as a leader and hopefully getting back to finals footy.”