List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Had talent and was a solid citizen - we were pathetic @ development @ a crucial stage - we played a big part in finishing his career.

I can remember going out to Seaford and watching training. Billings trained with the mids and was winning ball off the regular mids and shooting out rocket handballs and moving around like a Vespa through heavy traffic.

The assistants were standing around joking with each other not even watching them train. Anyone with a set of eyes would have tried him on ball at least for a patch but not Richo. We were so unprofessional at that time. Peta Searle was the only assistant that looked engaged back then and I'm not sure she had a lot of coaching nous. Plenty of guys stealing a wage back then.

Not many 21 year old key position players have played 56 games already.

I think Hammer would be frustrating to coach due to being a few sandwiches short of a picnic, but to give him up would be a shocking list management move.

Losing Hammer for Aleer for example sends our list backwards and we'd be paying for the privilege...

He's too good to not be on a list. Someone like Collingwood might be able to revive him as depth and then who knows.

Is Acres the last man standing from that era? He may not have been the GOAT in the end but perhaps the GOTE Greatest Of That Era.
I watched the Frankston win last weekend
Billings wasn't that good
Same ol, same ol
Outside soft **** who doesnt really impact
like the way, Voss did for eg.

Billings had a heap of injury issues ..... not sure why some ignore this

When he was fit and firing he was very very good

Partly true. He was injured but he was occasionally very good but mostly just a GOP. He's the type that could have run around getting easy touches in a star studded side and been a high level player. I think his mind set, his body and his limitations stopped him excelling at the Saints at that time.

He was Richo's spirit animal, the great beige pidgeon flying out in front of his vanilla army.

We're bonkers if we consider trading a 21 y.o key position player who can play at both ends of the ground.

There's question marks all over our KPP stocks in terms of getting on the park, so even if we think he's not in our best 23, he's gonna play plenty of AFL footy next year and beyond.
Yeah don't see the need to trade Caminiti.

If we want Flanders, just give up a pick.

I think Hammer would be frustrating to coach due to being a few sandwiches short of a picnic, but to give him up would be a shocking list management move.

Losing Hammer for Aleer for example sends our list backwards and we'd be paying for the privilege...
He’d have you covered in the grey easily.

Wisdom is chasing you, but you’re too damn fast.

Agree. I don't think Hammer has got anywhere near his potential. He has great physical attributes, hugely competitive attitude, good contested mark, and has been very durable.

We should let them shoot their shot and entertain a good offer, but I reckon he has far more value to us than he would on the trade table.

If only Bassat had been at the helm 20 years ago!

Bassat had to learn from getting burnt too. Pretty sure he was on the board who over saw most of that terrible era. We made a lot of mistakes before realising that we were going the wrong way down a one way street.

Partly true. He was injured but he was occasionally very good but mostly just a GOP. He's the type that could have run around getting easy touches in a star studded side and been a high level player. I think his mind set, his body and his limitations stopped him excelling at the Saints at that time.

He was Richo's spirit animal, the great beige pidgeon flying out in front of his vanilla army.
Has the talent to be elite, but his problems were 100% between the ears.

Sports psychologists can be helpful, but they're not miracle workers. Billings didn't have the killer instinct.

Hell, even his best game was the doggies comeback game. But he got into the zone when the game was gone and the pressure was off, by the time the game was actually on the line, his momentum carried him home.

When games were on the balance he typically didn't want the ball, would take the safest option possible and shit his pants when in front of goal.

He was basically the opposite of Nas, who is the sort of guy who wants to be in the centre of the action in crunch time, someone that is willing to risk losing to win and will take full ownership of any situation.

We're bonkers if we consider trading a 21 y.o key position player who can play at both ends of the ground.

There's question marks all over our KPP stocks in terms of getting on the park, so even if we think he's not in our best 23, he's gonna play plenty of AFL footy next year and beyond.

Its just another WONT HAPPEN!

Other clubs have decided to poke around because of the money we are spending on players they think they squeeze someone out. Plus the media are feeding on the same idea that someone will have to be pushed out. Hopefully SOS and the club predicted this and have all our required players squared away.

I can remember going out to Seaford and watching training. Billings trained with the mids and was winning ball off the regular mids and shooting out rocket handballs and moving around like a Vespa through heavy traffic.

The assistants were standing around joking with each other not even watching them train. Anyone with a set of eyes would have tried him on ball at least for a patch but not Richo. We were so unprofessional at that time. Peta Searle was the only assistant that looked engaged back then and I'm not sure she had a lot of coaching nous. Plenty of guys stealing a wage back then.
I was often down at Seaford with my bub (at the time) during that period. You couldn't have said it better. Sad that his development stunted, he was on track to be a star, he'd run rings around our guys then execute a perfect kick.

Wouldn't meet a nicer, more unassuming and humble kid either.

Played the 5th most games out of the top 10 in his draft year and before injury he played some absolutely elite games. It was super sad when he left but even sadder that he went to that rabble of a dumpster fire club.

Doubtful that he will get another chance at 30, although, maybe Bombers or West Coast would be keen. Based on Lyon's thoughts on him - I doubt he'd be back to captain our VFL side but he'dbe a good choice. Shame really... hope he's welcomed back to our club with open arms one day.

Has the talent to be elite, but his problems were 100% between the ears.

Sports psychologists can be helpful, but they're not miracle workers. Billings didn't have the killer instinct.

Hell, even his best game was the doggies comeback game. But he got into the zone when the game was gone and the pressure was off, by the time the game was actually on the line, his momentum carried him home.

When games were on the balance he typically didn't want the ball, would take the safest option possible and shit his pants when in front of goal.

He was basically the opposite of Nas, who is the sort of guy who wants to be in the centre of the action in crunch time, someone that is willing to risk losing to win and will take full ownership of any situation.

I think from watching him train and speaking to him back then that he was a bit of a perfectionist and a bit neurotic. He was exceptionally shy at first and we really seemed to have a eye on picking overly nice or meek characters as much as it became a joke on here.

You could see the cogs whirring when he played and little voices in his head telling him that he wasn't good enough. Nas seems to play with that incredible instinct and it's like some primal excellence oozes from him in a flow state. Having an ability to access that shit could make you the best sport psych going.

As a side note, I'm a little annoyed at the number of contracted players using other clubs to renegotiate mid-term because their managers were too incompetent to read the market in advance.
Its becoming way too standard procedure, absolutely.
Add that to leaking "x player disgruntled with club" to a slimy journo

I'm not surprised to hear Collingwood are having a sniff around Caminiti.

He's unlikely to be first choice for us next year...

Seems to me likely to come down to either lose him this year for a pick in the 20s or next year (when he comes out of contract) in the 40s or beyond.

I like him too. But that's a sell.

Not to me. We need a pool of talent. Not keep leaking players to replace them with new ones for some headlines. If King doesn't get up we could need him immediately. It's always cheaper to keep what you've got already.

Simon McPhee, head of development , then Senior Assistant Midfield, then went to Brighton Grammar. ( 6 years ago ).
Lindsay Gilbee, four years coaching at StKilda , then became a labourer for a construction complany.
Darren Jolley, quit mid season to go on "the block ".
David Teague.
Aaron Hammil, no longer coaching in AFL.
Adam Kingsley.
Danny Sexton, has worked his way up based on the last man standing rule.

The only aspect of the Camma thing that makes any sense would be if he feels he doesnt have a spot in the 23 anymore (and plenty dont think he does).

The risk of bringing in 6 fas i suppose.