List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

If Bombers want Steele, could we somehow use Steele and something else in the Cmac and Merrett deal?

Makes sense that we might meet with the Hawks and work on a three way trade especially with Roughhead there. Steele kind of makes sense moving to Essendon to take up an unofficial leadership position for them while they try to limit dmahge caused by Merrett walking. A fit and reinvigorated Steele might surpriser a few. He's too much like Macrae to play both so we really can't play him to his advantage.

If Geelong want Marshall, who should we ask for in return? He is contracted so they can pay overs including players we want/need.

I'd try for something like George Stevens or Ted Clohesy and a first round pick to use in trades.

Unfortunately for Jack, I don't think he has too many great options tbh
Bombers i guess, but they do have Caldwell, Durham, Setterfield, Parish if fit and he's in the similar vein as them
The only team where he'd be a walk up upgrade to their current options in the midfield is West Coast

I mean, our midfield is on the lower end and he was hardly tearing it up

I heard Luke Hodge this morning and he suggested that he'd pick Merrett over Petracca because over the last few years the inside contested game has been moved past. Dynamic running mids with class are the new model. You still need one or two extractors but you have to carry them. A lot of others doing the work on the outside. Carlton and Melbourne victims of having too many.

In that scenario Steele is out the door and probably for a salary dump.

This is probably the last year we've got to trade Steele without it being a salary dump, although his salary might have already been largely paid off already, idk

He's on barely anything now.

THE EXODUS, THE EXODUS!!!!!!!!!!!

On SEN trade bell they were claiming that Wilkie's missus said that the money offered was too good to turn down from the Dogs on a group chat. At least they aren't running with that.

Jy Simpkin not happy with his role at Norf
28 y.o next march
Mystery mid. ?

Actually had a very good start to the year. Playing a HF role a bit like Hall and maybe a bit of wing at times. It looked like he might end up meeting his potential. He's always been a bit of a GOP in the past.

"Sam expressed an interest in exploring other opportunities for next year at today's exit meeting," Suns list manager Craig Cameron said in a statement

"However we have reiterated to Sam that he is a contracted player with our football club and part of our best 23 players".

I was at my local watering hole in Woodside last week and gave the publican my opinion on his team the Croweaters he nearly wouldn't give me another beer lol... you should have heard his carry on about Rankine during the week the AFL took to give the guy a chance to play in the Granny, and then the supporters booed Quaynor, first class shit supporter group of the highest order, I would take Port fans over Crows supporters every day of the week and twice on Sundays and that includes the Gavin Mountberry types 🤣
Nice to see another Hills resident here!

I could see Dan Butler being of interest to the Suns, especially if Rosas leaves. Dan played some of his best footy in Ratts's Noosa COVID bubble, maybe Gold Coast would appeal to him.

I could also see Jack Steele moving interstate too, perhaps West Coast could be interested in a senior leader type.

Ryan for Steele.
Flanders for Butler.

Overs or unders? Realistic or optimistic?

Hopefully the Steele info I just another media beat up to create instability by a wannabe media pundit?

If Jack was feeling the love at the club there is no way he would be forced to look around. I can understand the club want to be ruthless, but Jack stood up playing through injury and pain when he was the No 1 mid carrying the club. Now his form has prematurely dropped off, they puportedly want him out and his salary off the books.

Lets hope it is just a beat up as if true, our club have morally got this wrong.

Hopefully the Steele info I just another media beat up to create instability by a wannabe media pundit?

If Jack was feeling the love at the club there is no way he would be forced to look around. I can understand the club want to be ruthless, but Jack stood up playing through injury and pain when he was the No 1 mid carrying the club. Now his form has prematurely dropped off , they puportedly want him out and his salary off the books.

Lets hope it is just a beat up as if true, our club have morally got this wrong.
It's just McClure throwing a dart. He was completely guessing and straight ups says he has no intel on it.

I could see Dan Butler being of interest to the Suns, especially if Rosas leaves. Dan played some of his best footy in Ratts's Noosa COVID bubble, maybe Gold Coast would appeal to him.

I could also see Jack Steele moving interstate too, perhaps West Coast could be interested in a senior leader type.

Ryan for Steele.
Flanders for Butler.

Butler + future 2nd rounder = Flanders
Future 2nd rounder = Ryan
Steele to Essendon in the Merrett trade = Mackenzie

Ryan for Steele.
Flanders for Butler.

Flanders is a young premium player, Butler is a boiled chook carcass that they may take off our books as part of a trade package. If we offered that straight swap they'd slap us.

If Jack was feeling the love at the club there is no way he would be forced to look around. I can understand the club want to be ruthless, but Jack stood up playing through injury and pain when he was the No 1 mid carrying the club. Now his form has prematurely dropped off, they puportedly want him out and his salary off the books.

That's an emotive take, I guess expected from someone called SteeleSaints.

Jack Steele has won 2 B&Fs and two AAs with us and been very well-remunerated over the journey. We have also given him the captaincy for many years now, an honour few players receive.

He has been holding us back as much as he's been holding us together for the last couple of years, he's even slower now, he gets less of the ball and is less damaging with it. He still tackles and he's not useless but no longer close to one of our MVPs either. People can debate whether he is a good captain or not depending on your criteria; what is indisputable is that he was a reluctant captain and not a natural fit.

Time waits for no man, greater players than him have depreciated this way, it's no insult to the great player he once was for us. We are duty bound to improve as a club, not to pay Jack back for his service and loyalty over the years.

He would absolutely want the best for us too, I reckon he'd be up to going somewhere where his profile would be more useful, where he'd be more loved if you like.

This has got nothing to do with morality. We are not in the position to be morally Saints all the time, it is painful to read posts claiming that we owe it to this and that player to take care of them at cost to the club.

The St Kilda Football Club must come first, this is a crucial period in the club's history.

Mitch Cleary -

on tradies that was recorded this morning - has effectively called the Flanders situation. Said he will tell GC today he wants to explore a trade and will meet with clubs over the next few weeks. Q

Sam McClure -

Jack Steele don’t think he will be at the saints next year. Not sure who. He is waiting to see who looks at him. McClure thinks Essendon will look at him.
i called it!

Sad ending at our club. I understand it but yeah i dunno, clubs that have their shit together don't treat their stalwarts the way we are doing with Steele and Marshall. Makes our age profile healthier however so that's something.
I think we’d be doing right by Roma if he wants to go, no issue with the Roma situation.

Steele is a bit more what you’re saying, feels like it’s all just fallen away… having said that we didn’t draft him, he’s not really a stalwart imo. Yeh former club champion and captain but… I don’t know, he’s never really felt like a dyed in wool saint.

I think we’d be doing right by Roma if he wants to go, no issue with the Roma situation.

Steele is a bit more what you’re saying, feels like it’s all just fallen away… having said that we didn’t draft him, he’s not really a stalwart imo. Yeh former club champion and captain but… I don’t know, he’s never really felt like a dyed in wool saint.
Feel the same way about Steele. About 4 years ago I had him up near Lenny Hayes with how I felt about him, but since then it’s all changed.

Not his fault, perhaps. Being captain saddles some players with a burden, and with that comes a higher expectation for on field performance (from me)