List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

I know a few people who have really succeeded in life and I don’t think you’d have picked any of them to have what it takes to do what they do.

You’d think that uber competitive ruthless streak would have been evident but no not a bit of it. All were really good people, smart, ambitious yes but nothing over the top. Maybe some people grow into the role and learn to play the game, it’s certainly not for everyone.
Different strokes for different folks. Whilst not being one of the upper echelon myself, I do business with, and mix with people at the highest levels globally. Some are good people who get there by lifting those around them, a large number get there by climbing on the bodies of those they meet on the way.

Some people in very high positions are spectacularly incompetent! Generally they are in the position they are in as a disposable asset for their mate in a higher position, should he find the need for a sacrificial lamb ever arises.

No gameday thread so I am posting it here
Mods feel free to move when the North thread is up
---------------------------------

Big crowd, some sort of function.
Garcia hand still heavily taped.Doubt he gets a gig v North. Pou, no taping in full gear.
Collard must be cleared, in training with no limp, may be restricted.
Windy in red top. Henry, Jones and Steele running laps not in full training. Would guess management. Carroll and Dow in full training.
Garcia in flouro hat.
Warm up kick to kick sloppy af. Misdirected and short kicks, fumbles.
Positive, lots of upbeat talk.
In close contested possession drills then to a leading forward. Sharp.
Miraculous recovery by Lanceboy. Must have been a deep cramp or corkie as there is not strapped and turning well so no ankle problem.
Doogs running laps.
Tauru just glides across the turf. A beautiful cadence and running gait.
Henry doesn't have the base fitness, lags well behind Steele and Jones. Injuries have cruelled his season. Cotton wool and go again in 26
Brad Hill is fantastic at training, infectious enthusiasm, lots of laughter, lots of OTT celebrations when a goal is kicked. Encouraging, high fiving. An absolute asset to team confidence and morale.
Stoppage contest Pou v Naz, even contests. Naz keeps touching his groin, either a niggle or he thinks he is Michael Jackson.
Naz relives the after the siren goal and splits the middle.
Reckon if Dow and Carroll can have a full preseason, they are much more than depth.
A bit of kick to kick them the players are up to the function.
All she wrote
Adios Amigos
Hilly gets a lot of flack and from me at times too.
But while watching one of the countless replays of the last quarter I noticed his real footy nous.

Right near the end when the Dees were travelling forward for probably the last time, Gawn took a mark on the flank a little way out of the 50.
Hilly motioned to Ro that he would stand the mark and sent Ro right back to intercept deep in the 50 if necessary. I can’t quite remember what happened after that, but I was pretty impressed by Hill. Certainly didn’t notice that at the game.

I'm confident Nas will sign but it could be a very long August. The managers of these guys (Windy's included) obviously just don't mind waiting. In Nasiah's case, waiting has probably earned him in excess of half a million a year or even more. There's just no rush for these guys, it's earning them money the longer they wait.

For Nas, his explosion has ultimately helped us to keep him because his price has become absolutely enormous at the trade table. There also seems to be a bit of a vibe among the young players and I think that will ultimately see him sign on, but maybe not for quite a while.

Fck me Windy sounds gone as well. Got very nervous when talking about his contract. Why's he talking about living with Nas in a past tense 🤔

Windy on 3AW, doesn’t sound like he’s signing in a hurry.
Sounds certain to sign on though. Speaks about loving the club and the young group. Probably just really wants a longer deal than two years.

No it doesnt BUT i think youve got the wrong angle on it.

Nas and his family werent impressed as theyre down to earth people who find money and opulence repulsive.

Its still a stupid ****ing story
Says who?
Tommy Morris 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Hilly gets a lot of flack and from me at times too.
But while watching one of the countless replays of the last quarter I noticed his real footy nous.

Right near the end when the Dees were travelling forward for probably the last time, Gawn took a mark on the flank a little way out of the 50.
Hilly motioned to Ro that he would stand the mark and sent Ro right back to intercept deep in the 50 if necessary. I can’t quite remember what happened after that, but I was pretty impressed by Hill. Certainly didn’t notice that at the game.
I hang more shit on him than anyone but he’s a leader and a footy player.

I still think we should drop him.

Don't agree with powders part but i see Gringos point , sitting at the table with that group would not be my thing either , maybe it made Naz and his mum uncomfortable
And maybe it didn’t.
You only have Tom Morris’ word on that.

I thought we were stuffed if Caro didn’t announce it on Agenda Setters?
And before that we were stuffed if we didn’t hear by end of week.
And before that we were stuffed if we didn’t hear by Tuesday.
And before that we were stuffed if we didn’t hear by the waxing gibbous moon?
Those were all me

I'm confident Nas will sign but it could be a very long August. The managers of these guys (Windy's included) obviously just don't mind waiting. In Nasiah's case, waiting has probably earned him in excess of half a million a year or even more. There's just no rush for these guys, it's earning them money the longer they wait.

For Nas, his explosion has ultimately helped us to keep him because his price has become absolutely enormous at the trade table. There also seems to be a bit of a vibe among the young players and I think that will ultimately see him sign on, but maybe not for quite a while.
Pls talk us through where your sauce is from?

My anger is Tom Morris has run with this as his big story of the night on 9news and immediately once it’s been run has posted on X it was a story that is months old.

If no one sees that post. The narrative is the saints shit the bed.

I think that’s fair
And don’t forget the dinky little visual that went with it 🙄

Shut up!

Gerard Wheatley is NOT 50! I'm older than that.

I am off to Wikipedia on the off chance that he has a page there to confirm this wild lie

EDIT: !!!!!!!!

I literally cannot believe this! 50? Did he grow up in Chernobyl or something?
I'm just a touch older than Gary Lyon, and I look about 10 years younger than Gerard Wheatley !! I also want to know if he grew up in Chernobyl ??!!

That's horrifying. If he continues ageing at this rate hell be dead by 55!!

Who the hell was filming it when everyone was sitting at the table, did the manger bring someone to film it and if he did the club should have said this is a private matter and we don't want it recorded
Where was it filmed?
Did you see the news?
Had a stupid little cartoon visual of each person popping up at the table.

The issue with the private dinner with the president and wealthy business associates who are showing things the club can provide off field and post football is there is no way for it to not be an opulent display of wealth given his home is a display of his wealth.

They could have rented a private room in restaurant but then that takes away any intimacy and privacy. It's not as if they could have rented a middle class home to hold the dinner in because do we want the message to be that this indigenous family isn't welcome or can't handle being in the home of a rich jewish guy. It's a bit of a damned if we do, damned if we don't situation.
Not sure what being Jewish has to do with it?

One of the things BJ said this morning that he wanted to be a "Saint for life" as a player, and it was not his choice to not be. He is clearly quite bitter that he was made to move on.

He loves being back at the Saints. Stated that he was hired to be part of Ratten's team, but after Ross was appointed was even happier that he also got to be back with Lenny and Harvey again as well as being back with Ross..
BJ has never lost his bitterness, he could have stayed on lower money if he wanted. I’m very sick of constantly hearing him whinge.

Windy on 3AW, doesn’t sound like he’s signing in a hurry.

SOS isn't exactly filling the cup full of confidence.