serial_thrilla
PhenomenalV1's Best Friend
- Mar 25, 2014
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
- Other Teams
- Fighting Furies
- #13,972

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I don’t think there’s any other way it could come off. The fact they are close mates and he still throws him under the bus every opportunity he gets just makes it worse
I reckon you're giving him too much credit tbhAgain, I don't think you're giving him enough credit. It's a very deliberate narrative that's been driven by his management since the start of the year.

You're almost arguing against yourself. Wagner is the ultimate journeyman that's been delisted twice and found a way to be a pretty good AFL footballer in his late 20s. Both Ras and MJ are far more advanced than he was at that same age.Won’t be a popular post but Corey Wagner is actually in a different league as a footballer to both Neil Erasmus and Matthew Johnson. Despite the fact both of those guys would be earning substantially more than Wagner, he is a superior footballer than both.
He’s a much more decisive player, with great footy smarts, and most importantly of all - makes much better decisions with the ball in hand than either of the other two.
I would guess Wags is earning probably $300k at best - he was a mature aged draftee that was rejected by two other clubs and would have earned minimum chips in 2023 & 2024.
I reckon he’s one of the highest value performers on this list right now relative to his wage.
Erasmus in particular has looked limited enough the last 2 games. If you get pick 30 for him are we better off letting go? Suppose he might not cost that much on his next deal anyway (unlike right now where he’s still on those ridiculous early career top 10 pick wages)
It's a very deliberate narrative that's been driven by his management since the start of the year.
Again, basically telling the club to **** off Darcy.
The fact they are close mates and he still throws him under the bus every opportunity he gets just makes it worse
Wags is going great, but I must admit I chuckled because his debut game for Freo was one of the worst I have ever seen. Great recovery.Won’t be a popular post but Corey Wagner is actually in a different league as a footballer to both Neil Erasmus and Matthew Johnson. Despite the fact both of those guys would be earning substantially more than Wagner, he is a superior footballer than both.
He’s a much more decisive player, with great footy smarts, and most importantly of all - makes much better decisions with the ball in hand than either of the other two.
I would guess Wags is earning probably $300k at best - he was a mature aged draftee that was rejected by two other clubs and would have earned minimum chips in 2023 & 2024.
I reckon he’s one of the highest value performers on this list right now relative to his wage.
Erasmus in particular has looked limited enough the last 2 games. If you get pick 30 for him are we better off letting go? Suppose he might not cost that much on his next deal anyway (unlike right now where he’s still on those ridiculous early career top 10 pick wages)
It’s funny he cringes every time someone mentions it in interviewsWags is going great, but I must admit I chuckled because his debut game for Freo was one of the worst I have ever seen. Great recovery.
So he goes from “I chose Freo because I wouldn’t be pigeonholed as number one ruck and can’t wait to build with Darcy” and “I do whatever the team wants” to “I love being number one ruck only” after literally every single game after there being a story about trade rumours the whole year and you think there’s nothing in it?I reckon you're giving him too much credit tbh
Definitely disagree with you on this one
So now you finally get it why there’s never been a champion ruck duo ayeI don’t think there’s any other way it could come off. The fact they are close mates and he still throws him under the bus every opportunity he gets just makes it worse
But could it just be something his management is telling him to say as part of his contract renegotiation?So he goes from “I chose Freo because I wouldn’t be pigeonholed as number one ruck and can’t wait to build with Darcy” and “I do whatever the team wants” to “I love being number one ruck only” after literally every single game after there being a story about trade rumours the whole year and you think there’s nothing in it?
Players are media trained. You know every time Jackson says “I want to be number 1” then it starts the narrative of “Freo need to trade Darcy”. It’s a very sudden switch which coincides with escalation of the trade rumours.
Feel like you're misrepresenting what is actually happening, he just gets asked if he is enjoying being the ruck and he goes "yeah nah, I love it, love the ruck aye, feels real good in there"So he goes from “I chose Freo because I wouldn’t be pigeonholed as number one ruck and can’t wait to build with Darcy” and “I do whatever the team wants” to “I love being number one ruck only” after literally every single game after there being a story about trade rumours the whole year and you think there’s nothing in it?
Players are media trained. You know every time Jackson says “I want to be number 1” then it starts the narrative of “Freo need to trade Darcy”. It’s a very sudden switch which coincides with escalation of the trade rumours. Don’t think he’s smart enough, but his management sure is.
It’s definitely to do with contact situation. Doesn’t change that every time they say it it puts the spotlight on his teammate though.But could it just be something his management is telling him to say as part of his contract renegotiation?
You’ve been going pretty hard at him about this.
I don’t think it’s a concerted power play against Darcy.
What is happening: Jackson wants to be more on ball, wants more cash. Management playing out the narrative publicly. Darcy is a casualty of it whether by design or not.Feel like you're misrepresenting what is actually happening, he just gets asked if he is enjoying being the ruck and he goes "yeah nah, I love it, love the ruck aye, feels real good in there"
Honestly I’ll be surprised if both Johnson & Erasmus are both still on an AFL list in their late 20s.You're almost arguing against yourself. Wagner is the ultimate journeyman that's been delisted twice and found a way to be a pretty good AFL footballer in his late 20s. Both Ras and MJ are far more advanced than he was at that same age.
Again, none of it was/is bullshit. And if nothing eventuates still doesn't mean it was bullshit.
Mate what more proof do you need?When guys like Ryan Daniels are saying, yeah there’s something in this, then there’s something in it. You think there was no truth to the Neale stuff even though it didn’t eventuate.Ah the old I have no proof and if it doesn't happen I was still right argument...
There was plenty of evidence of the Jackson thing available to see on socialsAh the old I have no proof and if it doesn't happen I was still right argument...
I like Wagner but he's played a lot more senior footy than Johnson and Erasmus. They're basically straight out of juniors.Won’t be a popular post but Corey Wagner is actually in a different league as a footballer to both Neil Erasmus and Matthew Johnson. Despite the fact both of those guys would be earning substantially more than Wagner, he is a superior footballer than both.
Mate what more proof do you need?When guys like Ryan Daniels are saying, yeah there’s something in this, then there’s something in it. You think there was no truth to the Neale stuff even though it didn’t eventuate.
And that’s if you ignore every part of this that has played out publicly online.
There was plenty of evidence of the Jackson thing available to see on socials
Lots of proof was posted in this thread at the time + discussion on it