Preview 2026 National Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

It definitely feels like there is a lot less buzz around this draft class. Outside of Cochrane and Walker I’m not sure if there are any future top 10-15 players in the comp.

I’ve said from the get go that this draft will end up being a “role players” draft. One thing that is really noticeable is that how many of the most highly rated mids are sub 183/184cm. Probably what makes Robinson and Drever stand out so much.

With the new ruck rules I’d select HVH ahead of both Walker and Cochrane anyway.

I haven’t been impressed with Walker in the Academy games tbh.

I prefer Hodgson to Houndsome but both are very developed already which is a worry for me. Van Dyk I just need to see more to make an accurate rating for him, same with a few others.

The small mids are good what can I say 🤷‍♂️
Wasn’t a criticism mate! More just highlighting a few players who I rate that weren’t in there.

Agree, with the physical maturity especially with Houndsome. I thought he’d be winning games off his own boot this year.

I like that you’ve been more than willing to put the likes of Texeria and Leeder in there when they haven’t got much fanfare yet! Agree with your rating of Drever too, his ability to go from inside to outside the contest is eye catching.

Curious to hear your thoughts on Tyson Bradley and Billy Wigmore?

Also from a north perspective, Archie Devine and Sam Harris?

With the new ruck rules I’d select HVH ahead of both Walker and Cochrane anyway.

I haven’t been impressed with Walker in the Academy games tbh.

Walker isn’t as classy as I originally thought he was. Think he showed better execution last year.

Cochrane is out and out number 1 in my eyes. Aren’t too many 195+cm players that can move the way he does and play just about every position on the ground.

Walker isn’t as classy as I originally thought he was. Think he showed better execution last year.

Cochrane is out and out number 1 in my eyes. Aren’t too many 195+cm players that can move the way he does and play just about every position on the ground.

Yep, disposal is an issue.

Which leaves Carlton in a very awkward position.

They might have to trade a Walsh/Weitering to afford to match, even with their current currency.

Sell the farm for him.

Jagga Smith and Walkers disposal (early days) is a bit frightening as a combo.

Wasn’t a criticism mate! More just highlighting a few players who I rate that weren’t in there.

Agree, with the physical maturity especially with Houndsome. I thought he’d be winning games off his own boot this year.

I like that you’ve been more than willing to put the likes of Texeria and Leeder in there when they haven’t got much fanfare yet! Agree with your rating of Drever too, his ability to go from inside to outside the contest is eye catching.

Curious to hear your thoughts on Tyson Bradley and Billy Wigmore?

Also from a north perspective, Archie Devine and Sam Harris?
Don’t worry I didn’t take it as criticism I just wanted to show my reasoning haha

Tex and Leeder were the two big standouts yesterday at the trials but I’ve liked both for awhile even before then.

Bradley I’m not a huge fan off, good leadership but not sure about him athletically. Wigmore a really good interceptor but want to see how he does with strong defensive efforts, if he can intercept and shut down he could be a real asset.

I haven’t seen enough of Devine yet, I like Harris but he is in that logjam of smaller mids who are hard to seperate.

They are no Herman Pernorkel, that’s for sure!
Augustus Finsterer played in the Metro vs Country trials the other day, great name.

After a couple of quiet games in the Talent League the hype disappeared on Arki Butler and as a result his solid performances across this two game Academy series have flown a little under the radar. He was one of the Academy's best in game 2 mostly playing through the midfield with occasional stints forward. In a game that often bogged down into slow chip/mark play Arki was damaging with the ball and featured occasional bursts of pace and agility to weave past opponents.

I can't help but think 'Jack Billings' when I see him play. Just not sure if he ends up a mid or half forward at AFL level.

Love his goal sense, but if he was to lock down as a smaller forward his defensive intent would have to improve imo.

Another solid showing from Patterson who was perhaps a little scrappier and less efficient with his ball use than in game one but brought the same intense competitive attack on the contest and defensive pressure. He has the ability to use quick thinking, pace and evasiveness to create opportunistic shots on goal from scrambled plays in the forward 50, one of which led to his single major of the game.

201cm key defender Ladbrook has good hands and competes really well. I think he will be in our draft range.

For a 200+cm player he uses the ball really well and is neat at ground level.

He is as skinny as a rake though, so you'd be looking at a 4+ year investment to get his physique up to size. Would be a very slow burn imo.

They are no Herman Pernorkel, that’s for sure!
The Kid Mero Showtime GIF by Desus & Mero

He is as skinny as a rake though, so you'd be looking at a 4+ year investment to get his physique up to size. Would be a very slow burn imo.
Sounds exactly like Mattlock pre draft - not sure why would double up.

Similar build to Harris Andrew’s. He competed well early.

Devine looks to find the ball at will - not much fanfare at this stage.
Why ???
Plays for Tassie would be a big reason. The Tassie kids just don’t get the attention or eyes like the Vic metro kids do. Outside of Kerch & Sanders there haven’t been many Tas kids with heaps of fanfare.

Playing wise he isn’t dominant stoppage player. Gets plenty of cheap-ish disposals.

Stocks might go up if he gets a gig in the Allies side and plays well.