• Ryan Maric (6/9/04)
• Clay Hall (12/5/05)
• Harvey Johnston (18/8/05)
• Jake Miles-Wrency (??/??/05)
• Jacob Newton (20/3/06)
• Malakai Champion (17/5/06)
• Fred Rodriguez (10/7/07)

Why not make a play for Warner end this year.

Give Syd whatever pick we have (3, 4 or 5), offer Neale good $$$ given he's unrestricted & WC have 2 midfielders who would instantly impact.

Maybe our next KPD is already on our list given the surfeit of talls we are trying to fit in the fwd line

Because pick 3, 4 and 5 is worth way more than one extra year of Warner when we still wont be in finals contention.

Not so sure about that.

An extra year working in tandem with the youngsters there, building chemistry, learning the game plan will - IMO - be well worth the outlay.

And he's not going to cost any less the following year.

Not so sure about that.

An extra year working in tandem with the youngsters there, building chemistry, learning the game plan will - IMO - be well worth the outlay.

Not that our rebuild has been in any way linear but it looks like we will with all likelihood have a later 1st next year than this year. Can see it being 2-5 this year where as you would think based solely on development (which is never a safe bet) that it could push out as far as picks 4-8 next year.

So: what's the offer you guys reckon we need to front up with to secure Warner?
Not so sure about that.

Nah, take a Top 5 draftee this year and pickup Chad at the end of next. But we absolutely need to be in his ear constantly from the end of this year, promising sweetners and success.

Neale im iffy on - good player, but dont want the off field drama that comes with him.

I love the enthusiasm on here atm but making a trade for someone like Chad Warner, or someone of a similar talent is just silly. We still need a couple of premium inside mids and at least one key backs. We need another good draft for our medium to long-term success. No point throwing away future firsts and the like to recuit the likes of Warner a year earlier.

Trading in Warner a year earlier for futures would be a good move, very unlikely though.

Sydney wouldn’t do the trade for futures for a trade imo they will likely be able to do the next year anyway if Warner does want to leave

I’d rather get a year of Neale for a modest price instead of overpaying for Chad a year early. This rebuild has been painful as **** but we’re almost through it. Let’s get one more pre-Tassie haul then make a play for Warner in 2027.

Feel there’s a good chance we come in with 5, 23 (PP), 28 and 29 (Bailey Williams compo). We could package a couple of those up and get some more high end talent.

I’d rather get a year of Neale for a modest price instead of overpaying for Chad a year early. This rebuild has been painful as **** but we’re almost through it. Let’s get one more pre-Tassie haul then make a play for Warner in 2027.

Feel there’s a good chance we come in with 5, 23 (PP), 28 and 29 (Bailey Williams compo). We could package a couple of those up and get some more high end talent.
Neale will be free, just cap space which we have more than enough.

Not so sure about that.

Yeah he would cost less because he'd be a free agent so would only cost salary cap.

Our pick could be the next Duff-Tytler

Not so sure about that.

I see where your coming from, and agree that it would be great to get him early, but taking another top 5-10 pick this year before Tassie comes in will be alot more valuable. We will have alot more leverage when he hits feee agency, plus he doesn't seem like to type to break a contract early.
Get another high end talent in this year and then start making moves. 26/27 are still going to be largely inconsistent developmental years. 2028 I can see us ready to attack.

Do we go for broke and try to bring in both Warner and Walter in this year if there’s a sniff of a chance? I would. Shanahan I can easily see developing into a key defender in the Harris Andrews mould if it were to happen.

Yeah he would cost less because he'd be a free agent so would only cost salary cap.

Our pick could be the next Duff-Tytler
Id imagine hed be in Sydneys top money earners - so wouldnt that make him a restricted free agent meaning Syd would have the rights to match WC's deal & therefore force a trade for him?

I get the romance of another high draft pick this year and going to Syd in 27 when Warners OOC - but sometimes you have be bold in your moves & going this year is bold.

Highly doubt the Warner thing happens this year by all 3 sides, Eagles, Swans or Eagles.

Jed? If they see CDT a a Ruck and Shanahan as a possible CHB, it’s definitely option.

My way too early preference is go to the draft. Top 5 pick, end of first round compo (if approved), pick 30*. Mid would still be the preference with the top 5 pick.

The depth charts of small/medium defenders, Is it time for Grego and Maric to be found a new position? I think both have afl talent but hard to see them pushing past Ginbey, Hough, Baker*, McCarthy, Grego, Starcevich, Lindsay and Bo. Kenh a chance to be added in the draft as well.

Id imagine hed be in Sydneys top money earners - so wouldnt that make him a restricted free agent meaning Syd would have the rights to match WC's deal & therefore force a trade for him?

I get the romance of another high draft pick this year and going to Syd in 27 when Warners OOC - but sometimes you have be bold in your moves & going this year is bold.
He would be an RFA afaik, however as I mentioned elsewhere the cost would be less substantial to us should we be banking on our own improvement. In the modern trade landscape the AFL wants players to get wherever they want to go, so if we convince him then Sydney will just have to cop the compensation or take whatever pick we have.

It would make more sense to split this year's first for one this year and one next, while using our 2027 R1 on something else, like trading it to Tasmania for a spot in their mini-draft and taking Axel Walsh.

In the event that we were to do that, we'd be pulling a Bailey Smith Geelong Bulldogs situation.

He would be an RFA afaik, however as I mentioned elsewhere the cost would be less substantial to us should we be banking on our own improvement. In the modern trade landscape the AFL wants players to get wherever they want to go, so if we convince him then Sydney will just have to cop the compensation or take whatever pick we have.

It would make more sense to split this year's first for one this year and one next, while using our 2027 R1 on something else, like trading it to Tasmania for a spot in their mini-draft and taking Axel Walsh.

In the event that we were to do that, we'd be pulling a Bailey Smith Geelong Bulldogs situation.

Good thinking

I would be only bringing in Walter if he was fully aware he is going to the backline. Our three gun young talls have the forward line sewn up

Would only really want him in if Yeo retires, and not if it costs anything substantial. He's well past his best.

Neale a better option for free.
Its always for fall back decision from the footy bubble instead of actually thinking what WC need.
Neale is 150% more suited to WC if he decides he wants to come.

I think our LM team are a bit more adventurous than we have been from a couple of years ago and I for 1 think they have cast a wide net the last 2 years, way beyond what our knowledge is.

I can see why some posters are scarred from the last few years of crap and I am too, but I have said before and will keep saying until the new LM crew prove otherwise that we are after everyone and anyone who can improve our list.

I don't think the LM team is being run by Clarke on his own by a long shot, he is just signing the final deals.
I don't know if Clarke as LM is any good yet but like I mentioned I think WC have put some people around him to identify talent

We managed to pull off 2 best 23 players in Starcevich and Young and with the extra 3 rookie spots Dev will be best 23 for a while, Schoenberg and Mcrae, not so much in a worst season ever for WC.

I am expecting us to be into players like:
ZZ
L Neale
J Butts
J Walter
D Wilson
J Rogers
S Marshall

And a few others we don't know about as we again are returning to doing our business out of the spotlight/media and getting deals done how we always have.

I am also expecting 2026/27 trade market for WC to be very aggressive as we have been the last 2 trade periods.
The players we know we missed out on is long.

I am hoping for 4-5 of our targets in 2026 to be up to our ears in conversations and landing a high percentage.
We have the resources in draft capital and $$$ to make anything happen we want and should shore up our list deficiencies IMO.
KPD's are critical and on life support.
The midfield needs A grade quality through the draft and trade.
The SF group could do with some extra quality.
The exciting core of our 23yo and under is very exciting and full of quality!