Feb 27, 2009
SE burbs, Melbourne
Golden State Warriors
Spoke with my mate at the Pies and he reckons this was the order:

"Think top 5 were Marty, Steele, Cribbin, Hartley and not sure. Sure CTV will do a special on it this arvo."

Interesting that we have 2 Irish and one rookie in the top 5. Essentially that means only two players frotwo senior list last year would have been in top 5.

ok who's Hartley?

The other nsw scholarship player, he will be rookies this year.

197cm chb, who until this year was rated a better prospect then witts (injuries and such)

Hartley 196cm but only 78kg (If CFC website correct), hence as a key position player is a long way off playing AFL until he bulks up. Expect him to spend 2012 in the VFL. In the gym, bulking up & gaining experience at senior football level. Even Jonathan Brown didn't play until he was 19 (& he was a beast).

Doesn't mean that much if they're just guys that aren't carrying the muscle to slow them down.

I'd be more interested to see the times the guys run it in, especially the midfield group.

Amusing that the time trial was done at Albert Park...
It must mean the Olympic Park running track has now been ripped up.

Looks like a great venue, strange that the VIS are sooking about being forced to move there, it's a clear upgrade on Olympic Park.

As for the times, no surprise to see Marty on top, I still can't believe some have questioned his fitness because he's been playing in an amateur league in Ireland, he's an elite endurance athlete, a comment was made he could have been an Olympian if he dedicated himself to it, but obviously he chose a different career path.

Great to have him back.:thumbsu:

It must mean the Olympic Park running track has now been ripped up.

Looks like a great venue, strange that the VIS are sooking about being forced to move there, it's a clear upgrade on Olympic Park.
I'm not sure they have been sooking about it. Carolyn Wilson was complaining about it in an article a while back but that's about all I've read.

Who was saying Marty's fitness would be a concern with not playing AFL for a couple of years? :eek:

In the Marty Clarke thread when it was announced he was returning, and most stated that he would still lead the team in endurance, a few questioned whether or not he'd still be in the same shape.

As I said it wouldn't matter what Marty was doing back in Ireland, he would still probably win our TT, and he did.:thumbsu:

In the Marty Clarke thread when it was announced he was returning, and most stated that he would still lead the team in endurance, a few questioned whether or not he'd still be in the same shape.

As I said it wouldn't matter what Marty was doing back in Ireland, he would still probably win our TT, and he did.:thumbsu:
I didn't mean you, I think it was Blaze earlier this week.

Most reports suggest that he is 90+ kgs now.

256.jpg

Hartley (hands on hips) at training yesterday. Definitely more than his CFC player profile weight of 78kgs, however still hasn't got the bulk yet to hold down CHB. I hope that CFC website updates player profiles (height/weight), as they still have Seedsman at 72kgs, which I assume/hope is not correct.

2k Time Trial - 18/11