AFL Player 4: Kyle Langford

Kyle is a...

• pure mid

• pure forward

• mid/forward

• forward/mid

• AFL footballer! (and I don't care where he plays)

Results are only viewable after voting.

You can see at times he oozes class. Run out of steam which is to be expected.

Probably not the best time to bring him back but could be important against Syd, Bris.

Hate to say it but he upset the apple cart a little tonight. His integration back into the wing rotation and him understanding the role is utterly ****ing critical for us, hopefully better for the gallop, looks like he made it through ok.

Almost as if he went off injured 30 seconds into the season and has played one seconds game since then
When has he dominated a season ? Half a season ? A month ? What is his b & f history ? He just floats around does a couple of nice things here and there and completely disappears. The longer he’s out injured his stature or worth to the team mythically improves.
Mediocre.

When has he dominated a season ? Half a season ? A month ? What is his b & f history ? He just floats around does a couple of nice things here and there and completely disappears. The longer he’s out injured his stature or worth to the team myrhically improves.
Mediocre.

B&F 2021 - Finished 7th - Playing 17/22 games
B&F 2020 - Finished 4th - Playing 16/18 games

So basically this year notwithstanding he's been firmly entrenched in the top 10 B&F for 2 years.

He plays a lot of good games where he kicks goals and has telling possessions especially up forward but has many critics on here.
Personally reckon Langford is a ripper and we would have finished with more wins easily if he'd been fit this year. I just hope the hamstring surgery has fixed his issue the way it seems to have worked so far for Caldwell.

When has he dominated a season ? Half a season ? A month ? What is his b & f history ? He just floats around does a couple of nice things here and there and completely disappears. The longer he’s out injured his stature or worth to the team myrhically improves.
Mediocre.
He finished 4th 2 years ago and 7th last year. Since 2020 he's been a consistent AFL level player playing wing with a bit of time forward.

How many wingers are "dominant" in the AFL? Seriously. What a strange way of looking at it

He sums Essendon up, mediocre.
He's a good AFL level player. A reminder of the level of the best wingers in the AFL as a comparison:
Just a reminder of what Langford was doing last year as a winger in comparison to Amon. For posterity, Ed Langdon's stats in those areas last year:

21.8 disposals, 5.4 marks, 0.5 goals, 2.8 inside 50's, 0.2 goal assists, 0.2 contested marks, 0.5 marks I50, 2.1 rebound 50's, 4.2 score involvements

And this year:

23.2 disposals, 4.5 marks, 0.5 goals, 3.3 inside 50's, 0.3 goal assists, 0 contested marks, 0.4 marks I50, 2 rebound 50's, 4.3 score involvements

Stats wise he's not too far off the best wingers in the game.
Langford is nearly everything you want from an offensive wing. Compare him to the best wing of this year in Karl Amon:

20.8 vs 23.6 disposals
5.8 vs 5.9 marks
0.8 vs 0.5 goals
3.2 vs 4.7 inside 50's
0.4 goal assists apiece
0.5 vs 0 contested marks
0.8 vs 0.2 marks inside 50
1.1 vs 2.4 rebound 50's
5.5 score involvements apiece

Langford on the left and Amon on the right. I'm not saying Langford is as good as Amon, because he quite obviously isn't, but he's doing what you want as a winger. He's made the grade, and if anybody disagrees after the last two years he's produced I suspect they're watching a different game.

I am as upset as anyone after last night's game, but some significant overreaction here after his first AFL game in about 4 months.

For all those saying they 'can't see it with him',
He has finished 7th (with two hammy's that year) and 4th in our last two BnFs.

Thought he looked pretty good with the ball, just gassed on the spread defensively, which is unsurprising considering he is working his way back.

B&F 2021 - Finished 7th - Playing 17/22 games
B&F 2020 - Finished 4th - Playing 16/18 games

So basically this year notwithstanding he's been firmly entrenched in the top 10 B&F for 2 years.

He plays a lot of good games where he kicks goals and has telling possessions especially up forward but has many critics on here.
Personally reckon Langford is a ripper and we would have finished with more wins easily if he'd been fit this year. I just hope the hamstring surgery has fixed his issue the way it seems to have worked so far for Caldwell.

we would have finished with more wins easily if he'd been fit this year.

Who would we have beaten then?

we would have finished with more wins easily if he'd been fit this year.

Who would we have beaten then?

Without my crystal ball I can't tell you exactly which games he would have helped us win but don't underestimate the impact of adding a senior player and removing the worst player on your team at the same time and just the flow on effect of matchups - certain players getting weaker opponents etc. Just think of all the games that someone like Ham has gotten this year and its easy to imagine with our poor depth that it would have had a significant impact.

There have been plenty of games this year where our forward line was desperately undermanned - we are only just getting players like Stringer, Jones and Snelling back so adding another player with some forward craft would have helped a ton.

Without my crystal ball I can't tell you exactly which games he would have helped us win but don't underestimate the impact of adding a senior player and removing the worst player on your team at the same time and just the flow on effect of matchups - certain players getting weaker opponents etc. Just think of all the games that someone like Ham has gotten this year and its easy to imagine with our poor depth that it would have had a significant impact.

There have been plenty of games this year where our forward line was desperately undermanned - we are only just getting players like Stringer, Jones and Snelling back so adding another player with some forward craft would have helped a ton.
Sad, but Ham actually would have given us more run last night, even if his skills and read of the game are not as polished. He actually could have changed last night's result. This is not to say I prefer Ham, just that Langford was brought in too early. I agree with ant555. I think we're tanking.

RoundOpponentMargin
1​
66​
2​
Brisbane
22​
3​
29​
5​
48​
6​
11​
7​
32​
9​
58​
10​
32​
11​
Port Adelaide
16​
13​
26​

He’s a poor mans Nic Martin.
Season 5 Nbc GIF by The Office

I am as upset as anyone after last night's game, but some significant overreaction here after his first AFL game in about 4 months.

For all those saying they 'can't see it with him',
He has finished 7th (with two hammy's that year) and 4th in our last two BnFs.

Thought he looked pretty good with the ball, just gassed on the spread defensively, which is unsurprising considering he is working his way back.
Saw the same. My criticism wasn't of his game, but more from a selection perspective. Bringing back 2 players coming off missing a decent chunk of footy in the same game travelling across the country didn't make sense. Like stringer coming back from his injury, will be better for the run and have a bigger impact next week.

Bloke is such a natural forward. Finds space. It was seen multiple times today, his opponent got sucked toward the ball and he ran to space and got on the end of it for a goal.

Plus he great hands and is a dead eye shot.

He’s a forward… I will still die on this hill.
Hybrid for me. But you're right. He's just behind 2mp as our best kick on goal. Such craft too.
But then do like that he gets up the ground

AFL Player 4: Kyle Langford