Aaron Davey vs Daniel Wells

• Thread starter Thread starter FOOOOTY

His team mates look to give him the ball. From what I've seen he is what you'd call a playmaker. His role isn't to go in and win his own ball, it's to get the ball in space and set up the play. Contested possession stats aren't relevant when Davey's role is to receive the ball.

Wells is far softer than Davey. Wells is soft, lazy and a waste of talent, put simply. He has obviously had decent games before, but overall Davey is far better.

Who is the better player currently? Uhhhh yes..........What should I base who is currently better off?

Davey has been an out and out gun for Melbourne this year. Their most important player.

It is also Daniel Wells job to receive the ball but the bloke still gets his fair share of contested footy.

Why do you continue to prove you don't have a ****ing clue. This isn't a thread about Daisy Thomas.

The thread didn't ask who is better currently. It asked who is better and over there careers it is Wells.

It is also Daniel Wells job to receive the ball but the bloke still gets his fair share of contested footy.
Yeh cool.....that's nice and all, but makes no difference.

Why do you continue to prove you don't have a ****ing clue. This isn't a thread about Daisy Thomas.
Thanks for the newsflash.....I thought it was :confused:

The thread didn't ask who is better currently. It asked who is better and over there careers it is Wells.
Uhmmmmm no it didn't? Here is the direct quote for the OP

Who would you rather have? Whos the better footballer?

Point out where career is specified please?

It asks who I'd rather have. Davey is currently playing far better football than Wells, hence I'd rather him.

Davey is currently the better footballer.

But keep inventing things to twist it if you want....feel free to keep banging on that the thread is about careers when the OP never specified such a thing.

Yeh cool.....that's nice and all, but makes no difference.

Thanks for the newsflash.....I thought it was :confused:

Uhmmmmm no it didn't? Here is the direct quote for the OP

Point out where career is specified please?

It asks who I'd rather have. Davey is currently playing far better football than Wells, hence I'd rather him.

Davey is currently the better footballer.

But keep inventing things to twist it if you want....feel free to keep banging on that the thread is about careers when the OP never specified such a thing.

And it was never mentioned in the OP as to who do you think is better currently does it?

Oh wow.....

Yeh you're right....I guess 'who is the better footballer' obviously refers to the past doesn't it?

'Who would you rather have on your team'...would this be referring to who has had a better career or who is currently better?

I don't know about you, but if I have a guy on my team I'm going for the guy who is currently better.....common sense ftw?

So can you please point out where you got the idea that it was asking who has had the better career for me now? thanks.

Oh wow.....

Yeh you're right....I guess 'who is the better footballer' obviously refers to the past doesn't it?

'Who would you rather have on your team'...would this be referring to who has had a better career or who is currently better?

I don't know about you, but if I have a guy on my team I'm going for the guy who is currently better.....common sense ftw?

So can you please point out where you got the idea that it was asking who has had the better career for me now? thanks.

Well who is the better footballer and who would you have would refer to what they can and have produced would it not? Considering that Davey has not produced anything close to what Wells has produced makes me pretty certain that Well is the better player and I would rather have him on my team.

So you would go for Jobe Watson ahead of say Leon Davis currently?

Again can you point out where in the OP it makes any reference to the word currently or are you just trying to cover up for your severe lack of comprehension skills.

Well who is the better footballer and who would you have would refer to what they can and have produced would it not? Considering that Davey has not produced anything close to what Wells has produced makes me pretty certain that Well is the better player and I would rather have him on my team.
To be honest, I'd argue Davey's last 8 weeks have been as good as anything Wells has produced. Consistency I would say is a skill in itself, both have had their bad runs with injury, but if Davey can continue in this (All-Australian) run of form, he sails past Wells for me, and give me the option at the moment, I'd take Davey for now and the future.

Their stats over their careers are actually a lot closer than I would have thought, Wells averages a couple more disposals a game, but Davey more tackles and goals (Wells has had the extra year in the system). Give it to the end of the year and Davey will probably be level with Wells in the disposal counts too. Both beautiful kicks of the thing though no doubt.

At the start of the year, I would have said Wells. My biast views aside though, if Davey puts a whole year together, he'll be regarded in the top 20/25 players in the league IMO.

Also, you have to admit the poll is rather telling? Take out both Melbourne and NM fans and Davey is still clearly in the lead? That must hold some weight?

What?? Well has produced sweet **** all. Davey has strung 8 consistent games together in 2009. I doubt Wells has done that at all in his career.

So you would go for Jobe Watson ahead of say Leon Davis currently?
Moronic question. Couldn't have two more different players. It'd depend on what role I needed a player to play.

Again can you point out where in the OP it makes any reference to the word currently or are you just trying to cover up for your severe lack of comprehension skills.
..........did you ignore my post where I pointed out it was implied.

And again, tell me, where did you that the OP was asking SPECIFICALLY for who has been better over their careers?

It's not entirely relevant anyway, as Davey wins either way imo.

Have you ever wondered why it's only bias North fans voting for Davey?

To be honest, I'd argue Davey's last 8 weeks have been as good as anything Wells has produced.
Well for starters, I'd say Wells was in the best 3 on the ground in round 1. I can't say a lot about Davey's form since then, other than I've seen some reports and some bits of games (not whole games) that support the consensus he is in career-best form.

But I daresay you (and most of the other posters on this thread) haven't seen all that much of Wells when he has been playing well and consistently, which did happen for a spell last year, and the year before (IIRC, until he copped a knee injury in both cases). He gets mentioned in the media if he puts in a blinder or a shocker, but a run of good performances is not newsworthy. One point I would make (and I realise it has as much to do with their team-mates as the players themselves) is that Wells has been a match-winning contributor far more often than Davey has.

The AFL Coaches Association Leaderboard:
LEADERBOARD
43 Gary Ablett (Geel)
38 Nick Dal Santo (St K)
38 Steve Johnson (Geel)
38 Chris Judd (Carl)
37 Nick Riewoldt (St K)
35 Sam Mitchell (Haw)
32 Paul Chapman (Geel)
31 Matthew Boyd (WB)
31 Warren Tredrea (Port)
29 Aaron Davey (Melb)

Not bad for someone in a 1-7 team. Wells is so far behind Davey that it's not funny.

What?? Well has produced sweet **** all. Davey has strung 8 consistent games together in 2009. I doubt Wells has done that at all in his career.

Moronic question. Couldn't have two more different players. It'd depend on what role I needed a player to play.

..........did you ignore my post where I pointed out it was implied.

And again, tell me, where did you that the OP was asking SPECIFICALLY for who has been better over their careers?

It's not entirely relevant anyway, as Davey wins either way imo.

Have you ever wondered why it's only bias North fans voting for Davey?

Do you just? And Aaron has only strung 7 consistent games together. Round One he barely touched it.

Round 12: 23 disposals
Round 13: 25
Round 14: 25
Round 15: 26
Round 16: 27
Round 17: 26
Round 18: 31
Round 19: 26
Round 20: 22
Round 21: 28

There is 10 games champ. Do you feel like getting pwned some more?

So you are implying that the OP means this year but you expect me to prove where it says who has been the better player over their careers. So not only are you a flog who doesn't have a clue but you are a hypocrite aswell seeing as how the OP never mentions anything about who is currently better.

No I didn't notice many bias North fans voting for Davey. How many bias North fans are voting for Davey?

Do you just? And Aaron has only strung 7 consistent games together. Round One he barely touched it.

So you are implying that the OP means this year but you expect me to prove where it says who has been the better player over their careers. So not only are you a flog who doesn't have a clue but you are a hypocrite aswell seeing as how the OP never mentions anything about who is currently better.

No I didn't notice many bias North fans voting for Davey. How many bias North fans are voting for Davey?

Why use the word champ? It just makes you sound like a nimrod trying to assert himself with minimal success.

Also, it is undeniably clear the poster you quoted made an error in the last line. Once again, you didn't need to be ridiculous and pedantic about it.

On the actual issue, the question posed by the OP asks who is the better footballer. Clearly, this implies a consideration of the present, not the past. Although not very specific, that implication is certainly there.

On the most current form, there is no question Davey has been better this season, and has really improved almost every aspect of his game.

So I suppose you think Joel Bowden is a brownlow chance this year?

Couldn't care less about stats....

.....wow....just wow.....

I've told you why I interpreted it to mean currently. It was very obviously implied to mean currently. It didn't directly use the word, but to anybody with comprehension skills, it was implied.

How about you tell me how you interpreted it to mean career? Can you do that? I've asked you multiple times......you gonna do it?

Obvious typo.

Only North fans are voting for Wells.

Does that tell you much?

Who is CURRENTLY better, Wells or Davey?

Go outside and go for a walk and cool off. You're getting pretty wound up.

The AFL Coaches Association Leaderboard:
LEADERBOARD
43 Gary Ablett (Geel)
38 Nick Dal Santo (St K)
38 Steve Johnson (Geel)
38 Chris Judd (Carl)
37 Nick Riewoldt (St K)
35 Sam Mitchell (Haw)
32 Paul Chapman (Geel)
31 Matthew Boyd (WB)
31 Warren Tredrea (Port)
29 Aaron Davey (Melb)

Not bad for someone in a 1-7 team. Wells is so far behind Davey that it's not funny.
That is a fair point.

On the other hand, I assume you're not criticising Wells for failing to get get votes in the games where he was out injured. (Also, I'm not sure if the coaches take this all that seriously. Sam Power got 5 votes in the North v Port game, which means either Laidley has nfi, or Choco was having a larf).

So I suppose you think Joel Bowden is a brownlow chance this year?

Couldn't care less about stats....

.....wow....just wow.....

I've told you why I interpreted it to mean currently. It was very obviously implied to mean currently. It didn't directly use the word, but to anybody with comprehension skills, it was implied.

How about you tell me how you interpreted it to mean career? Can you do that? I've asked you multiple times......you gonna do it?

Obvious typo.

Only North fans are voting for Wells.

Does that tell you much?

Who is CURRENTLY better, Wells or Davey?

Go outside and go for a walk and cool off. You're getting pretty wound up.

Of course you don't care about stats because they show you don't have a ****ing clue. You have been pwned yet you still come back for more.

Quite clearly those 10 games show that Wells has played at a high level consistently yet you choose to ignore it because you are a toss who can't form an opinion based on reality.

I have explained it earlier but seeing as how you are obviously of low intelligence I will explain it again. The OP said "Who would you rather have? Who is the better player." Quite clearly Wells has reached and got the capacity to reach a higher level than Davey. That is why I voted for Wells. Instead of using 7 games to make an argument I used the reality that Wells has been better and can be better than Davey to make my selection.

So you admit it never said currently so that pretty much makes your opinion null and void.

If I asked the same question that the OP asked and the options were Wayne Carey and Jonothan Brown. Who would you select?

Davey is in better form than Wells currently but Wells is the better player.

Of course you don't care about stats because they show you don't have a ****ing clue. You have been pwned yet you still come back for more.
Hate to say it....coz you may just cry....but I'm not to only one disagreeing with you.

And I also hate to say it, but throwing up some random possession numbers doesn't count as being 'pwned'.

Take a panadol man, you're obviously stressed out.

Quite clearly those 10 games show that Wells has played at a high level consistently yet you choose to ignore it because you are a toss who can't form an opinion based on reality.
Quite clearly?

Sorry, but 'Wells has X possessions' doesn't clearly show anything.

If you're forming all your footballing opinions of statistics, I can see why you are where you're at I guess.

I have explained it earlier but seeing as how you are obviously of low intelligence I will explain it again. The OP said "Who would you rather have? Who is the better player." Quite clearly Wells has reached and got the capacity to reach a higher level than Davey. That is why I voted for Wells. Instead of using 7 games to make an argument I used the reality that Wells has been better and can be better than Davey to make my selection.
........Ok.....and you wouldn't take current form into account would you? Nah.....no way.

The OP in no way implied or said that this is judge solely on careers, which you seemed to think it was. You're still trying to squirm your way out of it, which is adorable and all, but you should just stop and have a nice cold drink :)

So you admit it never said currently so that pretty much makes your opinion null and void.
I said it was implied, not directly said. Most people manage to get implications, you see.

How is that so hard to understand?

If I asked the same question that the OP asked and the options were Wayne Carey and Jonothan Brown. Who would you select?
Brown thanks.....I have a gut feeling he'd do better on a football field than Carey would at the moment.

Davey is in better form than Wells currently but Wells is the better player.
Based on what? The fact you support the Roos.

Davey is playing at a level Wells is yet to reach consistently.

I'll say it again, go for a walk and calm down. Or go get a hug off someone maybe....ease up.

Hate to say it....coz you may just cry....but I'm not to only one disagreeing with you.

And I also hate to say it, but throwing up some random possession numbers doesn't count as being 'pwned'.

Take a panadol man, you're obviously stressed out.

Quite clearly?

Sorry, but 'Wells has X possessions' doesn't clearly show anything.

If you're forming all your footballing opinions of statistics, I can see why you are where you're at I guess.

........Ok.....and you wouldn't take current form into account would you? Nah.....no way.

The OP in no way implied or said that this is judge solely on careers, which you seemed to think it was. You're still trying to squirm your way out of it, which is adorable and all, but you should just stop and have a nice cold drink :)

I said it was implied, not directly said. Most people manage to get implications, you see.

How is that so hard to understand?

Brown thanks.....I have a gut feeling he'd do better on a football field than Carey would at the moment.

Based on what? The fact you support the Roos.

Davey is playing at a level Wells is yet to reach consistently.

I'll say it again, go for a walk and calm down. Or go get a hug off someone maybe....ease up.

Mate you are a joke. You really are clueless. You crap on that they are random stats but they clearly show that Wells has performed at a level that Davey is at and he did it longer.

You wanted evidence. I gave you it. Stats don't always tell the story but do you really think he just got them because he was lazy, soft and wasting his talent. He was killing it, running hard, setting up play. Incidentally North went on a 6 game winning streak amongst Wells' run of consistently great games. Coincidence you reckon or could it possibly be that Wells was being a play maker and a match winner?

I just came back from the gym and Wells is still better than Davey.

So you would take Brown hey. Does that mean you are implying that I mean who would you currently take rather than just taking my question at face value and saying who is better?

Mate you are a joke. You really are clueless. You crap on that they are random stats but they clearly show that Wells has performed at a level that Davey is at and he did it longer.
No.....they don't.

They show how many possessions Wells got, that's pretty much it actually.

You wanted evidence. I gave you it. Stats don't always tell the story but do you really think he just got them because he was lazy, soft and wasting his talent. He was killing it, running hard, setting up play. Incidentally North went on a 6 game winning streak amongst Wells' run of consistently great games. Coincidence you reckon or could it possibly be that Wells was being a play maker and a match winner?
You gave me no evidence at all. Sigh, I don't know how else I can tell you that you telling me that at SOME stage in Well's ENTIRE career he had a good amount of the ball for TEN games out of over a HUNDRED, doesn't actually make Wells better, as much as you may wish it did.

I just came back from the gym and Wells is still better than Davey.
....I'm sure that's relevant....

So you would take Brown hey. Does that mean you are implying that I mean who would you currently take rather than just taking my question at face value and saying who is better?
...ok....english lesson here.

IS refers to the present. WAS to the past.

Who IS better.
Who WAS better.

See a difference?

And, I'll ask you a final time, and please, answer it this time?

Where did you get that this thread is about their careers from the OP?

No.....they don't.

They show how many possessions Wells got, that's pretty much it actually.

You gave me no evidence at all. Sigh, I don't know how else I can tell you that you telling me that at SOME stage in Well's ENTIRE career he had a good amount of the ball for TEN games out of over a HUNDRED, doesn't actually make Wells better, as much as you may wish it did.

....I'm sure that's relevant....

...ok....english lesson here.

IS refers to the present. WAS to the past.

Who IS better.
Who WAS better.

See a difference?

And, I'll ask you a final time, and please, answer it this time?

Where did you get that this thread is about their careers from the OP?

If you want some evidence how about I send you the videos of those 10 games. It might mean you have to extract your head from your arse to watch them which I think we will need to utilise the jaws of life to do so but it might be possible.

You are giving me an english lesson? This after you deleted an entire paragraph earlier which looked like a dyslexic person had written it.

I guess I did exactly what you did and I implied it which seems to be ok for you to do but not ok for other people to do.

After I deleted an entire paragraph earlier which looks like a dyslexic person had written it?

Make sense in the future I say.

This is actually pretty funny how much you over rated Wells....and have you ever stopped to wonder why all neutrals are voting for Davey?

He is clearly a better footballer right now. Wells wouldn't know the meaning of the word 'consistent'.

You're getting all worked up and defensive....take a nap.