Adelaide Crowd?

• Thread starter Thread starter dockshark

This thread is everything that is wrong with the stupid bullshit stereotypes and crap that people peddle as fact.
A. I dont ******* drink. Teetotaler
B. I could not afford to go to the show ( My three kids would love to have gone)
C. I could not afford to go to the footy (I would have loved to)
D. I am a self confessed bogan, (come from very low socio-economic area/family) but at 34 I decided to get an education I deserved and in 6 months time I will graduate with a double degree
E. Put into perspective the sacrifices I am making now like not going to the footy for my family ( I send my kids to private school because education is more important than footy)
F. This state is in serious financial trouble
G. Did I mention I love footy and would have loved to have gone tonight
H. Shit I identify as Aboriginal, want me to piss on few more of your stereotypes about Adelaide and their fans. FU you bloody elitist, wealthy hobnobs who obviously have more money than they know what to do with. Good on you you earnt it, but dont pretend to be better than those who love footy but simply cant afford that luxury (or foxtel for that matter).
I. Go the fXXking Crows

There are more important things in life than footy. I love footy but wouldn't put it ahead of more important things.

I think in general people aren't having a go at people who have a good reason for not attending, moreso at the ones that could have gone, had the means to and chose not to.

I think the game is evolving more and more into a TV based game. That is the problem with our continual prostitution of the game, it works in cities overseas where the ratio of available seats to the population is extreme and it is more or less just the die hards that go to games and they are ridiculously expensive. AFL has very big crowds for the population base and we rely a lot more on non-die hards.

North has an estimated 250k supporters, we should be filling out Docklands every week, but it doesn't work that way. We would need over a million supporters to fill that stadium every week and probably a lot more to fill it on a final against an interstate team.

Melbourne MCG numbers are inflated greatly given MCC has 100k members and AFL has 25k members who get access to the finals, you get a lot more neutrals attend finals there. Adelaide doesn't really have a neutral base to tap into to pad the numbers out. I think if you took out MCC and AFL members from the Geelong vs Fremantle game you would probably have had a similar level of Geelong supporters attend that game against Freo.

Terrible effort. I haven't seen Melbourne play finals since 2006. I'd kill to watch another. Half hour later starting time? A bit more expensive? Not against a huge team? What a soft effort by all those who didn't turn up. It's not like Adelaide is a consistent finals team anyway, being 14th last year.

Been a few years huh? Was also the year the Crows last made a prelim which was on stake yesterday. Maybe we're just disillusioned with reality somewhat, we're mostly tragics here so goes without saying we'd do our utmost to secure a ticket to a home final but evidently it's not the case with your casual footy goers.

I must have missed the memo that stadiums must be filled out. It is nice when it happens but when it doesn't then it doesn't. We don't need an inquest into why.

It didnt need to fill out, but 31k was pretty embarrassing.

At least the AFL still shits on nRL.. 16k to a semi final that was massively built up (manly v cowboys), $15 tickets (includes public transport) and media begging fans to attend...

Still i was pretty shocked at the crowd, after port crowds recently is it safe to say south australians are the 2nd worst fans in australia? Poor form adelaide, their last home game for many months and probably 2nd last game of the year in a big final :thumbsdown:

was a poor crowd tonite,
not sure why, i was there and lost me voice, i had a ball.

one thing i noticed was the lack of kids there tonite, was not many at all,
this shows tonite was a bit too far out of the average adelaide familys pocket. we dont earn massive bucks over here.
AFL losing touch with the SA footy fan

was a poor crowd tonite,

this shows tonite was a bit too far out of the average adelaide familys pocket. we dont earn massive bucks over here.
Well done to the adelaide crowd for not going sends a message to the afl that you keep running the game the way you are we aint coming.

They do if they dont believe in their team as many apparently dont over there. There were plenty of doubters outside Adelaide before the finals and it appears there are plenty inside too after last weeks performance.

Spot on Andrew. The Crows fans gave it a miss because they do not believe in the teams chances of winning the flag.

Eagles v North failed to sell out

Apart from the Adelaide vs Port games the crowds at AAMI have been down all season esp the Crows matches.

The official capacity is 51,515 but the highest crowd this season was only 44,849.

What seems strange to an outsider is Adelaide have 44,000 members so where were the missing ones?

At only 31,000 its 20,000 below capacity = not a good look but I suppose the only consolation is the the nRL got only 16,000 to their semi in Sydney last night even after the DT pleaded with Manly supporters to turn up.

Maybe it is high ticket prices combined with live against the gate.

I call BS on your BS.

This guy couldn't sell tickets for $25 on the day...

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/WEST-COA...30762596626?pt=AU_Tickets&hash=item1e720ee112

That's you're argument?! It wasn't sold out because some tickets were still on ebay. Well newsflash, those tickets were already purchased by someone from the authorised ticketing agent. You should know that West Coast and Patterson's were in the media during the week saying that they would be attempting to cancel tickets sold via scalpers. Talk about a strawman arguement.

The crowd was disappointing, anything under 40k for a final would be. As has been mentioned the show has been on all week and people would be hoping Adelaide win and budgeting for a trip to Melbourne next week. People are only willing to afford so much and something's gotta give for whatever reason.
Economically, I think Olympic Dam has hurt quite a few and in general I think people are cautious with their money at the moment, I know I am. I went last week but have a family wedding in Melbs this week, I was hoping that we'd have beaten Sydney, missed the week and then I could go to the prelim in Adelaide the following week. So I'm sure there's many reasons why people didn't go.
IMO, the AFL missed a huge PR win when dealing with the PA last year concerning what the players get from the games revenue. If Andy had any brains (and the slightest regard for supporters doing it hard) he would've told the PA
"youre not getting a bigger cut of the pie because we're going to drop ticket prices and not only that, we're going to rebate members for 5% of their memberships. We the AFL want to give something back to those who've supported our game through thick and thin".
But we all know that didn't happen.

Apart from the Adelaide vs Port games the crowds at AAMI have been down all season esp the Crows matches.

The official capacity is 51,515 but the highest crowd this season was only 44,849.

What seems strange to an outsider is Adelaide have 44,000 members so where were the missing ones?

At only 31,000 its 20,000 below capacity = not a good look but I suppose the only consolation is the the nRL got only 16,000 to their semi in Sydney last night even after the DT pleaded with Manly supporters to turn up.

Maybe it is high ticket prices combined with live against the gate.

25% of the supporter base are in the country. May explain but lack of children was a concern. Not as many families.

Believe it or not, Crows will have 20,000 of it's support base at the "G" next week.

Expect a crowd between 60k to 70k.

Seriously, who can't afford $100 (or whatever)

Loads of people. People have limited income and have to consider carefully the distribution of it. For many it is a no brainer when you can still see the same contest for free live on tv.

I'd go but couldn't be critical of those that choose not to.

fair weather fans
Collingwood vs West Coast drew 63,000 in round 13. A huge turnout. I was there. The general admission areas were chockers. Biggest crowd I've ever seen for a non-final between a Vic team vs team from interstate. The Pies had won 8 in a row. West Coast were on top. 1st vs 3rd.

A round 13 crowd of 63,000 translates to a finals crowd of more than 83,000 once you add the extra neutrals in the MCC and AFL members areas. Only one final in Melbourne this weekend. For many of the AFL members and restricted MCC members, there is only one more game in 2012 (the MCG Prelim) so you'd assume there'll be a large contingent of neutrals in the members areas tonight who want to get a glimpse of Nic Natanui as he serves it up to the Pies.

Every Magpie fan I know has lost interest in the football after getting done by the Hawks. They will probably get a crowd of 65,000 tonight, which will be the equivalent of 45,000 for a home and away game between these two teams. The AFL won't want to publicise it or draw attention to anything negative, but I guarantee many fickle Magpie fans have baulked at paying $70.00 to watch their team play a Semi Final. They'll stay home, watch on TV and save their money.

If the Magpies make it to the Grand Final, the AFL will have gouged nearly $600 from the hardcore Pies fan who got a ticket to all 4 finals. They've already paid $200 for their membership. Add another $200 if they paid for a reserved seat. Plus they paid another $170 for the general entry to watch 6 away games. One meat pie and a couple of drinks at every game adds up to another $330. That's $1500 in total... And did they sign up for Foxtel for the AFL as so many have done? There's another $1000.

That's a fair chunk of change for the average working stiff. Especially in these tough times. But as long as we keep forking over our money, year after year, the game will be in good hands. We'll keep it afloat. So Andy Demetriou can earn his $1 million a year plus bonuses and wine and dine at the Rockpool and devise ways to extract more of our money while telling us what great value the AFL is for the whole family and how committed they are to keeping prices down. :confused::thumbsu:

Loads of people. People have limited income and have to consider carefully the distribution of it. For many it is a no brainer when you can still see the same contest for free live on tv.

I'd go but couldn't be critical of those that choose not to.

I suppose it is a bit judgmental to assume things about peoples finances. Still find it hard to cop that only 28000ish people could afford a ticket to last nights game from a whole city

That's you're argument?! It wasn't sold out because some tickets were still on ebay. Well newsflash, those tickets were already purchased by someone from the authorised ticketing agent. You should know that West Coast and Patterson's were in the media during the week saying that they would be attempting to cancel tickets sold via scalpers. Talk about a strawman arguement.

No my main argument is that it didn't sell out because you could still buy tickets through ticketmaster. ;)

I'm using the fact that there were half price tickets available on ebay to back up the argument that no one was looking for tickets to the game and missed out.

I mean if both ticketmaster and ebay had tickets available at cost or below cost then where were the desperate fans who couldn't get tickets looking? :rolleyes:

Collingwood vs West Coast drew 63,000 in round 13. A huge turnout. I was there. The general admission areas were chockers. Biggest crowd I've ever seen for a non-final between a Vic team vs team from interstate. The Pies had won 8 in a row. West Coast were on top. 1st vs 3rd.

A round 13 crowd of 63,000 translates to a finals crowd of more than 83,000 once you add the extra neutrals in the MCC and AFL members areas. Only one final in Melbourne this weekend. For many of the AFL members and restricted MCC members, there is only one more game in 2012 (the MCG Prelim) so you'd assume there'll be a large contingent of neutrals in the members areas tonight who want to get a glimpse of Nic Natanui as he serves it up to the Pies.

Every Magpie fan I know has lost interest in the football after getting done by the Hawks. They will probably get a crowd of 65,000 tonight, which will be the equivalent of 45,000 for a home and away game between these two teams. The AFL won't want to publicise it or draw attention to anything negative, but I guarantee many fickle Magpie fans have baulked at paying $70.00 to watch their team play a Semi Final. They'll stay home, watch on TV and save their money for the Prelim Final if their team happens to win (next week only $139.99!!!!)

If the Magpies make it to the Grand Final, the AFL will have gouged nearly $600 from the hardcore Pies fan who got a ticket to all 4 finals. They've already paid $200 for their membership. Add another $200 if they paid for a reserved seat. Plus they paid another $170 for the general entry to watch 6 away games. One meat pie and a couple of drinks at every game adds up to another $330. That's $1500 in total... And did they sign up for Foxtel for the AFL as so many have done? There's another $1000.

That's a fair chunk of change for the average working stiff. Especially in these tough times. But as long as we keep forking over our money, year after year, the game will be in good hands. We'll keep it afloat. So Andy Demetriou can earn his $1 million a year plus bonuses and wine and dine at the Rockpool and devise ways to extract more of our money while telling us what great value the AFL is for the whole family and how committed they are to keeping prices down. :confused::thumbsu:

Yes the people who make the decisions don't ever have to pay for tickets.

When Andy D goes to the Mens Final of the Australian Open he doesn't pay, he's a guest of tennis australia

When the President of Tennis Australia goes to the Grand Final, he doesn't pay either, he's a guest of the AFL

Neither of them have to pay the high prices each other charges for their events

Where did you see this?

An article on the Tuesday before the game stated...

Those 'limited position' would be restricted viewing.

Additionally, the final attendance of 41,790 matches up with other sold out games this year.

You can't use Ebay tickets as an example because they've already been bought!!!

So there was an article on Tuesday saying the match had nearly sold out.

Yet it never did sell out.

The ebay tickets aren't an example of the game not selling out as yes those tickets would have been bought but clearly weren't sold

The ebay tickets however are a clear example of people's desperation to go to a "sold-out" match

My point is that if both ticketmaster and ebay have tickets available during the week (and the ebay ones are actually below cost) then to say that there were heaps of desperate fans who missed out is just fantasy

I would argue there were absolutely zero desperate fans missing out

31k for a final is embarrassing, regardless of the reasons.

You can explain excuses for maybe 37k. But 31k is terrible, and boils down to a soft wider supporter demographic.

Over the past 20 years, the Crows fans have always been pretty good and packed out Football Park for nearly every game. I always wondered why they didn't move to larger stadium that held more than 45,000-50,000.

What's going on in recent years that Crows fans have become soft and are picking and choosing the games they go to?

Is this what happens when you play to the same (exclusive) crowd every second weekend and deny new fans and potential members the opportunity of developing a hardcore barracking interest? Have they kept the same basic 30,000 footy-goers for the past 15-20 years and most of their fans are just conditioned to watching them on TV ?

was a poor crowd tonite,

I'd imagine this has a lot to do with the 8.15 start time which has been mentioned a couple of times in this thread but not much has been made of it.

Game didn't finish until after 11.00 which is very late for younger kids who would have gone to school that day. If the kids don't go then that probably cancels out a few parents as well.

Not sure how many crows fans come in from outside the city but I'd assume there would be some and that late finish time would keep some of those people away.

Ticket prices would be a factor as well but my guess would be the start time is a bigger factor than many may think