Adelaide = Hillbilly Hell

It was a ****ing Zoo yesterday. Insane.

They obviously didn't get the news that footy is a family game.

I'd just like to give a big FU to the ********s who wanted to start me up...and the other idiots that threatened to hit my younger brother, and the drunk Port fan that threw a bottle in me general direction:thumbsdown:

the core of the outer army resided in bay 132 and we chanted away to ourselves all day long, only time we had digs at the roos fans were late in the match when u scored a goal and they decided to cheer finally lol. other than that we had great respect for your mob. every club has a few dip shits, thats a given dont base your arguement on a few individuals. i really wonder if your supporters would give a port adelaide great a standing ovation after a match like we did for archer. anyway u guys had a great season best of luck for '08.

On the second part of your post:

We did it for Vandenberg last week

On the first:

We were chanting and singing the song while we were getting pumped. Being severely outnumbered means we were easily drowned out. When you don’t score a goal in over a half of footy and your team is playing like whimpering bladders it gets a bit difficult to cheer at the general play.

I wasn't in the crowd to experience the game, but was working on one of the gates and sadly there are many (not the majority) Port supporters who can't win gracefully. The arrogance and abuse shown to Kangaroos fans was generally unnecessary, but I probably wasn't around the worst of it.

The bad thing was I'd say a lot of those doing the abusing were under the influence of alcohol.

I for one would love to see alcohol banned from AAMI, whilst many can consume sensibly, there are still many that consume a ridiculous amount and **** up the game for the supporters around them.

For those that have a problem with abusive crowd members, grab a redcoat or a member of the security or police force. Any of them can warn troublemakers and the security/police can then deal with them if necessary.

Sadly I've only been approached a couple of times in two years, and then it seems to be nearing the end of the match when the person has been at it for the whole game.

On a side note, whilst I was disappointed that the Roos didn't get up, it certainly made the day easier. From a working point of view, I was just glad it wasn't a Showdown Prelim. The behaviour that the fans here have mentioned, would have been numerous times worse.

Last Showdown in the H&A season, someone was king hit with a bottle in the Crows Tavern.

Dollar for everytime someone came up to me and said

"you are game" for wearing your north gear...

F..K off arrogant patsies. There is an oxymoron for you...

If we had kicked straight second quarter i just hate to think what the result might have been instead...

at least they honoured arch

I remember that final back in 99 at the MCG where Duck did the run and mark back to the goal.

Anyway, we won convincingly enough...but not according to the PA supporter who told anyone everyone else in the Southern Stand stairwell all the way down to the bottom how overrated we were, how we were a s*** team, that had a blah blah blah....and couldnt help but be amazed at a supporter with such front after being stitched up so comprehensively.

Amazing how all these years on I can still remember the arrogance like it was yday. After again seeing the highlighted Tredrea and Cornes carry on again last night on Footy Class. I hope we see the Cats dismantle them from the first minute.

Go you Mighty Vic Cats!

Gaso

Go you Mighty Vic Cats!

Gaso

Eww. But technically, they do wear blue & white (and same jumper as my old home town).

And a dollar for everytime some condescending yokel came up and said "you did pretty well this year, after last season".

And I'd reply - FFS you were just as crap as us in 2006. Tell your story walking pal.

no it's based on the fact your fans are ugly, scary looking and just plain bogan freaks.

hopefully this information proves useful. :thumbsu:

Do you realise that such stupidity is only going to make you look like a moron?

I'd love for you to support this FACT with evidence.

I encountered one total goose at the footy that I saw hiding behind an old man to avoid eye contact as he left the stadium after the game. He didn't say squat outside the ground and left in a hurry. Typical big mouth coward. A real hero when he has thousands behind him.

Otherwise I did not have any problems with the Port people, and some of them even came up and shook my hand for coming over and sticking with my team. I wished them well.

I have been told that I don't look the most approachable person after North have been flogged. Maybe this had something to do with being left alone.

I proudly wore my North gear down Hindley st on saturday night and noone said a thing.

It was a ****ing Zoo yesterday. Insane.

They obviously didn't get the news that footy is a family game.

I'd just like to give a big FU to the ********s who wanted to start me up...and the other idiots that threatened to hit my younger brother, and the drunk Port fan that threw a bottle in me general direction:thumbsdown:

The way you carry on on BF you deserved everything you got.

Nice to see you're sending them a big FU now that you're home safe behind the keyboard. :thumbsu:

There's no doubt that most of the abuse was alcohol-fuelled. I couldn't complain about the security in our section - there was none. A poor pregnant woman complained numerous times about having her chair kicked by some drunk PA guys behind her using foul language & the security guard (AKA Fat Slob) acted as if it was the first time anyone had ever lodged a complaint. Freddy Kreuger could've handled his old fella better than the way this guy handled the complaint.

To the guy who kept making donkey sounds when a NM player made a mistake, you have turned me completely off beastiality.:thumbsdown:

So beastialisty was a lifestyle option for you until you saw a Port Adelaide fan offer a mating call?

deleted troll.

Ah yes, that's the attitude....................you peanut!

I didn't have any direct problems with anyone. I saw trouble brewing, but it generally blew over. It was definitely alcohol fuelled mostly, but some of the comments directed towards women and families were outright bloody pathetic and cowardly.............not to mention completely lacking any hint of humility and class. That's what bothered me.

I looked like The Teflon Dean................."Warning: Approach with smartass attitude at your own risk" written all over my face I s'pose but I didn't cop anything directly. However I was near enough to see and hear comments and incidents such as those mentioned......it was those which made the poor impressions of Adelaide mentioned in this thread.

I've been going out with (now engaged to) an Adelaide girl for the past 7 years so we travel back and forth all the time. I knew what to expect but I must say that even I was shocked by some of it.

Don't be too precious or thin skinned Adelaide folk................it's not a dig at the city and general population which I well know and understand. It's the feral one's stuck in some juvenile time warp who do such a disservice to the rest, and they shouldn't be allowed to get away with it.

As I stated in another thread, I found the security to be excellent, but that was just my experience. I also managed to avoid jibes after the game, and instead receive the odd "Bad luck mate" type of comment. I was numb afterwards, in the wake of watching Arch exit through the guard of honour, and empty as hell. I can only imagine that every North fan who travelled over, or who lives there, felt the same way and if so, then to give crap to our fans in that state is really about as low as you can get........the proverbial "kick a man while he's down" type of event.

It lacks class and reflects poorly. I've always had a great time in Adelaide, and have alot of inlaws there obviously, and I'll continue to enjoy my visits. It's amazing how longlasting a poor impression can be on an infrequent or first time visitor. It can cancel out a couple of days prior worth of enjoyment in an instant. That's what should concern people over there.

Footy really is a family pastime and I was extremely embarrassed with some of the filth some families were subjected to on Saturday.

That's what spawns some of these posts, and rightly so because it's not on!!!

Rant over

T'toes

the core of the outer army resided in bay 132 and we chanted away to ourselves all day long, only time we had digs at the roos fans were late in the match when u scored a goal and they decided to cheer finally lol. other than that we had great respect for your mob. every club has a few dip shits, thats a given dont base your arguement on a few individuals. i really wonder if your supporters would give a port adelaide great a standing ovation after a match like we did for archer. anyway u guys had a great season best of luck for '08.

Cheering 'GOLD COAST....GOLD COAST' and giving it to Arch in the third quarter.....yeah really respectful dickwad....!!! And for your information you guys have a lot more dip shits then you think....a lot more!!!!!

Mate if we gave Vanderberg a standing ovation......you guys should have laid down for Archer to walk over......consider yourself privledged to see Glenn in his final game.....

Even walking to the plane the virgin blue boys where lined up giving out their fair share. Poo effort Virgin Blue.

If you have a problem with Virgin Blue staff you have every right to report them. They are normally good natured and jovial, that's the appeal of that airline - the informality, but if they stepped over a line, they need to be told.

Don't be too precious or thin skinned Adelaide folk................it's not a dig at the city and general population which I well know and understand. It's the feral one's stuck in some juvenile time warp who do such a disservice to the rest, and they shouldn't be allowed to get away with it.

Not being thin skinned at all. Think living here and putting up with constant football jibes about victorian teams tends to give you a thick skin. Just bad enough to put up with the loss and ferals at AAMI, but don't paint the whole city for what that was like. like saying Melbourne is a s*** hole because of Collingwood ferals.:p

I'm sure the biggest difference is that there are a few Collingwood type of supporters because there are 10 teams worth...........it dilutes things dramatically. We're also used to having opposition supporters all around us and generally both sets of supporters are respectful.

T'toes

I'm sure the biggest difference is that there are a few Collingwood type of supporters because there are 10 teams worth...........it dilutes things dramatically. We're also used to having opposition supporters all around us and generally both sets of supporters are respectful.

T'toes

I agree. I have lived in 5 states and supporting the Roos is the most challenging in SA. Still, i must say i enjoy being part of the minority here, you stand out amongst the sheep.