adelaide oval upgrade.we're still wallowing!

free at last

unbelievable that sa footy is going to have a state of art footy complex,by 2014.
us sandgropers, still have to deal with a footy oval, 15 yrs past its used by date.what da funk!!

You know you're in trouble when even South Australia is more progressive than you.

Probably won't happen anyway. Big backlash over it cause it "ruins" the Oval... The oval doesn't have much prestige about it anymore anyway - its tired and needs an upgrade. But you've got to hand it to Adelaide people, they really love old shit.

it will hopefully be a kick in the arse for the west oz power brokers.if the adelaide oval redevelopment.gets up and running.

Just thought I'd let you guys know that TIO > Subiaco.

Hell, even The Gardens where we play most of our games beats Subi. But then again, it is probably only competing with Manukah in terms of aesthetics in Australian stadia...

Assuming it happens. SA is very similar to WA with it's pipe dreams and artists impressions that lead to nought.

Although it does have me baffled why this government keeps saying no. WA is much richer.

Assuming it happens. SA is very similar to WA with it's pipe dreams and artists impressions that lead to nought.

Although it does have me baffled why this government keeps saying no. WA is much richer.
wa is much richer.that's what i thought as well.this just shits me,especially after you've been and watched footy at the 'DOME'.

For it to go ahead it sounds like there wanting something like 100mill $$$ from federal gov.

With us not getting a new oval you can all send letters of thx to that ass clown Barnett.
Has no idea what everyday people want and what is needed to be done here in Perth.

When i saw this idiot on the news the other night talking about how the greatest thing to ever hit perth is coming here in 2011 and how excited we should all be about it i just shook my head an said what a f****** banker does this moron really believe anyone gives a crap about some stupid commonwealth head of governments meeting or whatrever it was

They are being advised by their department that upgrading Subi is unfair to all sports other than football, because the WAFC/AFL would still control what was played there. The other codes are vehemently against Subiaco unless there is an equal ability to schedule there. In turn the AFL don't want to move to another location because then they wouldn't have control.

The "simple" answer is that the AFL have to fund the upgrade.

I think I might be one of those people....

I don't care about the stands or anything, they need redevelopment anyway. Just chuck the name Don Bradman on the new one, and everyone will be happy. And they're keeping the old scoreboard anyway....

But if it means going with a drop in cricket pitch, then I am totally against it. The Adelaide Oval is the best cricket ground in the world, a drop in pitch will ruin it and turn into another awful MCG, where the ball doesn't bounce or spin or anything.

Keep the ground like the SCG or Gabba though, and it would be a great stadium for both cricket and football. Not sure how rain friendly the Chappell stands or the hill are though....

WA voted in that retired chump so now you have to live it. You get what you deserve.

the budget is almost 1 billion in deficit due to the rampant and unchecked spending on more public servants, contractors and consultants. We don't have the money to spend on a new stadium for at least another 2 years. Plus the plan to build it ontop of the current stadium always was a complete dog.

the AFL basically want a stadium for free that noone else can use.

Plus the plan to build it ontop of the current stadium always was a complete dog.

I agree. I think the old power station site in East perth is a much better location - just in terms of the transport options - freeways and railway lines right alongside. I couldn't imagine trying to get into the suburban streets of Subiaco on a friday night with an extra 10,000 cars trying to get there.

the budget is almost 1 billion in deficit due to the rampant and unchecked spending on more public servants, contractors and consultants.

Ahhh... the famous catch cry of the right.

Despite the fact that most departments are still running below required capacity, the destruction of graduate programs, the support for international workers ahead of local graduates - from this government - and once again the age old WA brain drain, how does this actually benefit WA in the long run?

You reckon it's not going to cost twice as much to get back all the people that have been pissed off when things get cracking?

Unlike you Bel, who seems to be a stooge for a political party and provides absolutely no benefit to anyone or the community, the vast majority of public servants do exactly that - serve the public.

I agree. I think the old power station site in East perth is a much better location - just in terms of the transport options - freeways and railway lines right alongside. I couldn't imagine trying to get into the suburban streets of Subiaco on a friday night with an extra 10,000 cars trying to get there.

East Perth was rejected for not having public transport... believe it or not...

Despite the fact that most departments are still running below required capacity, the destruction of graduate programs, the support for international workers ahead of local graduates - from this government - and once again the age old WA brain drain, how does this actually benefit WA in the long run?

You reckon it's not going to cost twice as much to get back all the people that have been pissed off when things get cracking?

Unlike you Bel, who seems to be a stooge for a political party and provides absolutely no benefit to anyone or the community, the vast majority of public servants do exactly that - serve the public.

pray tell, what do you think the current government should do? They have no money. Labor spent it all.

perhaps we should just start hiring more people? Who cares if we're in debt hey?

They should never have stopped in the departments that were and still are understaffed.

For how many years running now has the department of environment been without adequate numbers of qualified people? How many more Esperance like disasters do you guys want?

And you reckon you can manage lead transportation through populated areas with out the staff to supervise it? Pffftttt. :rolleyes:

people keep bringing up the department of environment - sounds like a load of codswallop to me - how many bloody environmental science degrees are we churning out each year?

in the middle of the boom the cost of labour was huge - we need to cut back in staffing not hire a record amount of new staff every year. And lets not even go into how impossible it is to sack someone from the public service for underperformance.

people keep bringing up the department of environment - sounds like a load of codswallop to me - how many bloody environmental science degrees are we churning out each year?

in the middle of the boom the cost of labour was huge - we need to cut back in staffing not hire a record amount of new staff every year. And lets not even go into how impossible it is to sack someone from the public service for underperformance.

LOL.

You love to make comment on thing you don't even know enough about to have a valid opinion on.

Still a shortage of enviros mate. And you reckon you need to cut back in staffing dollars hey? Kind of self fulffiling policy when you pay them half of their worth.

I mean, we currently have the St. Ives mine which is in breach of some very very serious environmental regulations. We're talking pollution of the ground water aquifer.

It needs to be closed down. And who the **** is going to be there to do it?

It's exactly the same process as all the other major environmental disasters. Company knowingly operates outside its conditions. Consultants and advisors go spare. DoE and Minerals and Energy have no-one that can deal with it.

Same old story. But somethings you just can't stop spending money on, because the costs down the road are exceptional.

I mean, how much are the long term costs of the Esperance debacle? It'll be hundreds of millions of dollars, easily.

mate that is clearly an issue with one department not doing their job correctly. I'd like to know how many admin staff they have - no doubt more enough.

plenty of departments are well, well, well over staffed (think education). Your talking about a simple misallocation of resources - i am talking about the overall resources being too high - that much should be obvious. If it wasn't too high we wouldn't be 1 billion in deficit would we? Its not like we've got big capital projects either. Its all going to wages.