Adelaide's Chris Knights joins Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter Equus

Good get- like many other just needs a fair go with injuries

Obviously we think he is best 22 if we signed him up. Silly post.

Why have read posts in this thread saying he is best 30 ?

He couldn't get a gig ahead of Callinan and Petrenko... the two passengers in the Adelaide team. Enough said.
There is no way Patrenko is a passenger. He had his best season this year and is harder at the ball than most players. Calinian was also mentioned by many scribes and judges as having had a great year and a great example of a mature player getting results in the AFL.
But we dont have to worry too much about it as we will find out next year exactly how he goes.

Natural Footballer, Lacks elite footskills or pace, Not sure where Richmond hope to use him however he was looking to be a very good player untill crueled by injury

I can see the club playing him in the role of forward rotating through the mid, so we can release Cotch into the midfield for longer spurts, and the inclusion of Knights also allows Dusty to spend more time up the ground too. If not, could play as a HFF and Nahas may be traded.

Said this on our own board but may as well say it here. Adelaide fans are the best when it comes to wishing ex-players well at new clubs. :thumbsu:

Have a feeling that will change in the next 24 hours ;)

Just one other thing on Knights - watching his presser yesterday, surprised me at how slim/skinny he appears; he was buff as hell when he was playing good footy.

Said this on our own board but may as well say it here. Adelaide fans are the best when it comes to wishing ex-players well at new clubs. :thumbsu:
They're sure wishing Gunston, Davis and Tippett well

its the Danny Frawley era all over again

Richmond falsely think they are close to success, so top up with other clubs duds. In this case Knights and Chaplin

so predictable

Richmond falsely think they are close to success, so top up with other clubs duds. In this case Knights and Chaplin

so predictable
We got them for nothing u idiot.... Low risk high reward

We don't have to throw bucket loads of money at players to make them want to play for us, unlike the mighty demons

We got them for nothing .... Low risk high reward

Agreed. The right SORT of player for the Tiges' HFF. If he comes off it'll look like a brilliant move. If it doesn't, at least it didn't cost any assets.

A fit knights is a great get for Richmond. Booming left boot and could be a real handful on a forward flank.

I do think he needs to tidy up his defensive game - but to get him for free is a solid win.
I think he'll be part of, say, the third rotation through the midfield too. Has spent considerable time in the guts in SANFL. Midfield depth was a key priority for us this offseason. We'll add further in trade week.

Thanks for your post.:thumbsu:

Why have read posts in this thread saying he is best 30 ?
Er, because no-one on here is part of the coaching panel at RFC and have NFI about whether the Club rate him top 22 or better. Time will tell but at this stage, am very happy to recruit Chris Knights

Not looking at anything he's done recently or SANFL as he's clearly underdone. Needs a good pre-season and for his body to hold up, then we'll see how he goes.

Structurally, he fits the side well. We badly lacked a quality medium HF/HFF to be that extra option.

Knights is the same height as Martin (187)
I presume that he will play in the forward line in order to give Dustin more time in the middle.
Good pick-up at low risk.

Are you convinced that Dustin Martin has full time midfield in him? I'm thinking he isn't Marc Murphy or Simon Black or Lenny Hayes full time. More the hybrid type - like Steele Sidebottom or Paul Chapman

so predictable

Hahaha no worries Mitch Clark. You've lost the plot mate. Time to stop wagging class I think.

Are you convinced that Dustin Martin has full time midfield in him? I'm thinking he isn't Marc Murphy or Simon Black or Lenny Hayes full time. More the hybrid type - like Steele Sidebottom or Paul Chapman

Needs to work on his fitness base, but should definitely spend more time in the midfield with the occasional rest up forward.