AFL 2018 - Semi Final - Collingwood v G.Western Sydney, MCG, Saturday, 7.25pm

Who will win in Pies v Giants Semi Final?

• Collingwood

Votes: 28 45.9%
  • GWS Giants

Votes: 33 54.1%

Again you say bias - you really believe umpires are biased? - utter BS.

Have a look at the goals we scored in the first quarter -
First was from a kick to Whitfields feet and he squibbed the contest - turnover - Cox made a play on the ball - goal
Second from a s**t kick-in from Williams - straight to Thomas.
Third from an obvious free - a dumb hold around the waist of Hoskin-Elliott in the goal square right in front of the umpire.
Pies were the better side on the night - half your side 12 possessions or less - yet you still want to make excuses through umpire bias? Really?
Sour grapes.
You were probably lucky to get your first goal - Griffin got tackled from behind - dropped it - no call - allowed to play on and soccer a goal.
50/50 call - you get those.

C’mon, Collingwood aren’t a crap football team, they can actually handle themselves under a bit of pressure.

No one benefits or learns anything from an umpire giving 8 free kicks to 1 free kick in a quarter where these free kicks are not adjudicated equally. Yes they were biased, just watch the quarter again.

Collingwood were something like 30 possessions to 5 in the first 5 minutes of play, they had 30 inside 50s sometime in the first quarter. They were the ones who stuffed up by missing goals, but that doesn’t mean the umpires need to pay some soft free kicks to make the score line reflect how well they were playing. They don’t learn anything from this as a team.

When you look at the margin vs the obvious 2-3 goal swing generated by the 'keep to the AFL script' umpiring, the pies are very very fortunate to be heading to a prelim- they simply do not deserve to be there.

There may be an actual riot at optus next because it is a moral certainty Melbourne will get the same sort of swing to try and generate a Victorian double GF.

f399265ac2411cc16860e86e53615b5e.jpg

But did they have to cheat. Jordan de Goey holds a defender's shirt, cons the umpire, milks a free kick and kicks a goal. That makes Jordan de Goey a cheat in my book. No respect for cheats...
So you don't respect Stefan Martin either (uses the tactic all the time) - also known to do a "Rance" dive.
or Rhys Mathieson (the Brisbane "duckwood') either then...;)

Report May 2018 (Since the beginning of 2017, Stefan Martin has received the second-most free kicks for both a push in the back (19) and holding the man (27).
Despite playing just 13 matches, Rhys Mathieson (26) has received the second-most frees for high tackles, trailing just Joel Selwood (49).)

92,000 plus at tiges v qws prelim and was lucky if there were 3000 gws fans there
Prelim finals generally attract a bigger crowd as there's more hype and many fans can't make the GF the following week.

'pies figures for the previous 2 occasions we've made a MCG prelim, fair to say tonight is pretty consistent

2010 - QF vs WB 66k, PF vs Geel 95k
2011 - QF vs WC 67k, PF vs Haw 87k

C’mon, Collingwood aren’t a crap football team, they can actually handle themselves under a bit of pressure.

No one benefits or learns anything from an umpire giving 8 free kicks to 1 free kick in a quarter where these free kicks are not adjudicated equally. Yes they were biased, just watch the quarter again.

Collingwood were something like 30 possessions to 5 in the first 5 minutes of play, they had 30 inside 50s sometime in the first quarter. They were the ones who stuffed up by missing goals, but that doesn’t mean the umpires need to pay some soft free kicks to make the score line reflect how well they were playing. They don’t learn anything from this as a team.
Again - whats with equal free kicks - Pies dominated the quarter in all stats, including the free kicks - because they were there.
GWS were sloppy with their disposals, panicked and tackled poorly.
Sore loser mate - I'd quit before you embarrass yourself further.

But did they have to cheat. Jordan de Goey holds a defender's shirt, cons the umpire, milks a free kick and kicks a goal. That makes Jordan de Goey a cheat in my book. No respect for cheats...

Watching AFL day in day out must be a very angry experience for you.

Breydon Sier player less than 10 games after debuting in the second half of the season and has played a ripper finals series. Spent a bit of time off the ground with what looked like a cork, but he is a strong kid and has very clean hands in congestion. Hawk fans go on about Worpel (and maybe rightly so), but this kid should have received a rising star nomination this year, and has shown what he can do under pressure in finals footy. He has become an important part of the Pie midfield so will be great to see how he performs against the Tigers.
Was very settled and used the ball well early while others showed nerves. It was surprising that he didn't register a tackle, though, how does he normally go in that regard?
Great to see his and our perserverance pay
All things considered a great career individually
Yeah, rate Griffen and always liked the way he played the game. Wonder if he had his time again if he had handled things with you blokes differently. Either way, very hard at it. :thumbsu:

All year we have heard about Collingwood and how they can’t beat teams in the 8 with the exception of Melbourne. Well, guess what they have now and once again it proves what happens in the home and away is irrelevant. They stood up and beat a team in the 8 when it counted. Finals footy is what it is all about. If you make the finals anything can happen.

Again - whats with equal free kicks - Pies dominated the quarter in all stats, including the free kicks - because they were there.
GWS were sloppy with their disposals, panicked and tackled poorly.
Sore loser mate - I'd quit before you embarrass yourself further.

A person doesn’t embarrass themselves by telling the truth. Buckley would have got as much data from parts of that first quarter if his players were playing AFL on PS4. Collingwood made the mistake of not capitalising on their possession, and as a result of the umpiring had zero accountability for it. They might not get the same favour next week.

Collingwood would agree with me, because they’re tough AFL players who ask for no mercy.

All year we have heard about Collingwood and how they can’t beat teams in the 8 with the exception of Melbourne. Well, guess what they have now and once again it proves what happens in the home and away is irrelevant. They stood up and beat a team in the 8 when it counted. Finals footy is what it is all about. If you make the finals anything can happen.

How is what happens in the home and away irrelevant?

A person doesn’t embarrass themselves by telling the truth. Buckley would have got as much data from parts of that first quarter if his players were playing AFL on PS4. Collingwood made the mistake of not capitalising on their possession, and as a result of the umpiring had zero accountability for it. They might not get the same favour next week.

Collingwood would agree with me, because they’re tough AFL players who ask for no mercy.
You're weird mate - lay off the sauce - take your meds...

It’s the truth though, you take Sydney vs GWS 4 weeks ago, Sydney won. Then last week GWS beat Sydney quite convincingly. Did GWS grow wings in a three week period? If I was on the sauce or needed to take meds, I’d be saying “yes”.

But the truth of the matter is Giants were on top of the Swans in the first half and then the umpires decided to assert their influence in the third term giving 10 free kicks to the Swans to 1 free kick to the Giants, including an entire passage of play of free kicks. Did this interjection help the Swans three weeks later?

Nope. Giving one team a massive amount of biased free kicks over another team makes them weak. Simple fact.

Collingwood players would have been vomiting in disgrace at some of the soft biased free kicks they were paid.

GWS fan should be very proud of their boys. Particularly Toby and Jez who really turned it on.

Maybe next year.

With Leon at the helm a flag is just a matter of time...

If umpiring was fair, you would've played against West Coast tonight. You win some, you lose some with the umps. You can't control it.

What you'd like to be able to control is being outmarked, outrun, outtackled, out pressured, outskilled and generally outplayed in all areas. GWS was all of those things and an 8 goal + Collingwood win would've been more reflective of the gulf between the sides on the night.

Suck it up princess :thumbsu:

Yeah, rate Griffen and always liked the way he played the game. Wonder if he had his time again if he had handled things with you blokes differently. Either way, very hard at it. :thumbsu:

What happened happened. It was best for him at the time. Griff was a good guy in an awkward spot. Didn’t want to be a leader but had it thrust upon him. Was offered a chance to be less than that

It’s the truth though, you take Sydney vs GWS 4 weeks ago, Sydney won. Then last week GWS beat Sydney quite convincingly. Did GWS grow wings in a three week period? If I was on the sauce or needed to take meds, I’d be saying “yes”.

But the truth of the matter is Giants were on top of the Swans in the first half and then the umpires decided to assert their influence in the third term giving 10 free kicks to the Swans to 1 free kick to the Giants, including an entire passage of play of free kicks. Did this interjection help the Swans three weeks later?

Nope. Giving one team a massive amount of biased free kicks over another team makes them weak. Simple fact.

Collingwood players would have been vomiting in disgrace at some of the soft biased free kicks they were paid
I don't think so...
Oh and the football world doesn't revolve around free kicks given against GWS.
Now take off your tinfoil hat and go to sleep...