Scandal AFL auditing third party payments from Geelong

Let's not forget how Geelong used to employ players family members either. It was common knowledge that Costa employed Dangerfields parents before he moved back to Geelong. Not only that but when Adelaide played Geelong at Geelong they had both his parents in the Geelong Football Club corporate box to watch it.

Nah, nothing to see here.
Theres another Dangerfield working at Geelong. Her income has been audited ever since she started.
Suck that up.

If they found nothing more than a few discrepancies, then disclose those discrepancies? Total disclosure, let the footy world know what they did?
Agree, this is what gets everyone up in arms. Just be honest, release what you've found and go from there. The 'nothing to see here' aspect gets everyone but perhaps some of the Cats faithful to go on wild tangents and speculation.

Not reading anything in this thread but am assuming the following:

1. Geelong fans in unison are saying nothing wrong here/small fine with a few saying 'everyone does it' or something similar
2. Certain fans from clubs likely to be Hawthorn or Richmond posting in high volume and asking for the most excessive punishment possible
3. All other fans not covered by 1 and 2 being reasonable and expecting some sort of actual (not token) sanction involving draft picks or something that actually impacts Geelong. Not just a fine that some corporate will cover.

All pointless though.

The AFL sweep under the carpet department (approx 70% of their paid employees) will limit the punishment which will only be financial and a fairly insignificant amount. They'll be told that there's a suspended element to the punishment (which will include things that actually matter) and the AFL higher ups will privately have a chat with Geelong and ask them not to get caught again.
I’m a passionate Tiger and like most Tigers fans I love to hate the Catters, but let’s face it, EVERY club is more than likely bending the rules in terms of this stuff, probably including my own.

Cats will get a suspended fine, maybe lose a late pick, then we move on….

Dude, the media is chockablock with Geelong supporters.
So far away from an anti Geelong narrative.
Mate you’ve got the big journos as Tiger fans. Caro at the age and Ralph at the HS.
What more do you want? Barrett a cat, you would hardly know. Whateley doesn’t write articles and he presents in such a try hard non bias way it’s ridiculous. Hutchy. Who are you speaking of that tries to control the cats narrative in a positive light?

Are you trying to deny the things I’ve said? Are these Geelong sanctions click bait? Are we getting more attention that when another club gets a fine like this? You know the answer is yes.
We haven’t cheated the salary cap and everyone is all worked up. Why is that? Richmond fans are the biggest nuffs and it extends to the journos.

You denying the easy fixture articles are suddenly coming up? Another reason to get the public to believe we’re favoured. Convenient to ignore what’s happened so far.

You want to deny our injuries? Why doesn’t that get talked about? We know it does for Collingwood.
We wouldn’t dare try spinning Geelong’s wins in a positive light.

Try denying those things. Go on… go.

Mate you’ve got the big journos as Tiger fans. Caro at the age and Ralph at the HS.
What more do you want? Barrett a cat, you would hardly know. Whateley doesn’t write articles and he presents in such a try hard non bias way it’s ridiculous. Hutchy. Who are you speaking of that tries to control the cats narrative in a positive light?

Are you trying to deny the things I’ve said? Are these Geelong sanctions click bait? Are we getting more attention that when another club gets a fine like this? You know the answer is yes.
We haven’t cheated the salary cap and everyone is all worked up. Why is that? Richmond fans are the biggest nuffs and it extends to the journos.

You denying the easy fixture articles are suddenly coming up? Another reason to get the public to believe we’re favoured. Convenient to ignore what’s happened so far.

You want to deny our injuries? Why doesn’t that get talked about? We know it does for Collingwood.

Didn’t cheat the salary but got Bailey Smith with cotton on money! That is draft tampering isn’t it? If another club offered more money but the cotton on money got him over the line, then it’s a rort.
Need to lose draft capital for sure but we know the afl will let it slide and say nothing to see here as they are very corrupt and are the ones that would have oiled the deal anyway.

I think they should have the 2008 Premiership taken off them, and given to whoever they played in the Grand Final.
Yep, that might take some of that pain away.

I'd love it if the 2008 flag was taken off the winner and given to the runner up 😂

Didn’t cheat the salary but got Bailey Smith with cotton on money! That is draft tampering isn’t it? If another club offered more money but the cotton on money got him over the line, then it’s a rort.
Need to lose draft capital for sure but we know the afl will let it slide and say nothing to see here as they are very corrupt and are the ones that would have oiled the deal anyway.
You know he had cotton on before us? Nothing illegal about it.
Sick of the nuffie public like you. How do you breathe?

Agree, this is what gets everyone up in arms. Just be honest, release what you've found and go from there. The 'nothing to see here' aspect gets everyone but perhaps some of the Cats faithful to go on wild tangents and speculation.
My view is if they have done something incredibly wrong in their dealings then let us all know about it. If they haven't, then disclose the details of the audit and the reasons why they found nothing? It sounds like a bit of a witch hunt to me?

Dwayne & Whateley occupy the bulk of the days Sports radio everyday.
Of course they control the narrative.

Smith spent 4 seasons at the Dogs while being sponsored by Cotton On, including one re-signing of a contract at the club. He did and still does ads for them. Accept it and move on.

You know he had cotton on before us? Nothing illegal about it.
Sick of the nuffie public like you. How do you breathe?
That’s nice, Geelong have been court out and it’s about time they get punished for their crime. Geelong seem to have an unlimited salary cap

All clubs do third party payments .
Geelong have pushed the Envelope and are now under the microscope.
That's OK.
The real illusion at G.F.C. is being able to to Annex current and former players with a previous "suspect" potentially illegal issue and all of a sudden those issues are gone ?
That's the "magic" with being at an insignificant ,small town, out of the way club where things can just go away.

All clubs do third party payments .
Geelong have pushed the Envelope and are now under the microscope.
That's OK.
The real illusion at G.F.C. is being able to to Annex current and former players with a previous "suspect" potentially illegal issue and all of a sudden those issues are gone ?
That's the "magic" with being at an insignificant ,small town, out of the way club where things can just go away.
They're not "under the microscope" more than any other club.

Two clubs are chosen each year for an in-depth review (Port is the other club) and the only reason this is "news" is because opposition clubs would rather complain about Geelong's relative success than look at their own issues.

They're frothing for an "explanation" for Geelong's relative success that isn't "Geelong run their club better than you do".

If Port were found to have had admin issues (as Brisbane and Footscray have in previous years), it'd be a tiny article in the Herald Sun.

Caro: “AFL accepts there has not been anything untoward going on.”

Sounds like more a case of lazy bookkeeping. The one example she had was a car to an aflw player.

Still not great but apparently not unusual - Brisbane and Bulldogs in the same boat reasonably recently apparently.

But this is BigFooty, so go nuts 😊
Oh My God Omg GIF

That’s nice, Geelong have been court out and it’s about time they get punished for their crime. Geelong seem to have an unlimited salary cap
What is the crime though? The Audit says there is nothing but a few discrepancies. There wouldn't be a person alive who hasn't submitted a Tax return without a discrepancy. All the AFL have to do is make all of this transparent. Things like discovering a lodgement issue over a car to a senior AFLW player that wasn’t lodged is hardly a hanging offence? Brisbane were fined in 2017, they are forever auditing clubs and bound to find something incorrect. So far, nothing appears to get anyone's knickers in a knot except for Caro? She would like nothing more than see Geelong cop a whack!

I agree Jack, the AFL should make this all transparent. Although, Geelong apparently had ‘a few’ discrepancies not just one. One error could just be an oversight, but a few seems pretty careless.

Based on what. We have from memory 2 less all Australians at the club than Collingwood - yeah one of theirs is old man Pendlebury and another is old man Sidebottom but one of ours is old man Blicavs and another is old man Dangerfield - and already the pies are being linked to more stars for next year. How is it that they manage it? They’ve been linked to Ben King for next year. They’ve recently signed Huston. They signed a Brownlow medalist in Mitchell not that long ago. They’ve got Maynard who is an AA player. The Daicos brothers are both AA players and Nick in particular is on good coin. Darcy Moore is a two time AA player.

Josh, Nick, Scott, Steele, Dan, Brayden, Tom, Darcy.
8 all Australians.

Geelong has 6. Including Cam Guthrie who has played 4 games in two years.

Collingwood just brought Houston, Tim Membrey, Lachie Schultz, Harry Perryman, Dan McStay a few seasons ago, Ned Long last season.

Some of these guys were good players at other clubs, role players, or in Long’s case just starting out. But they had to bring them in.

On top of all of this, only two years ago their squad was good enough to win the competition so a lot of the existing members of it might have wanted a bump up.

Do I think the Pies are cheating? Of course I don’t, they’re just a well managed club who make good decisions.

But it seems a bit far fetched that we seem to be the sole target of accusations based on this perceived notion that we are ‘stacked with superstars.’

The reality is, we are stacked with superstars when it suits the idiots making the accusations.

Any other time we are a team with probably one superstar you could still say is in his prime, two others past theirs in Dangerfield and Stewart, another potential one or two in Holmes and Dempsey, a gun small forward, and we’ve just gone out and bought a bloke with no accolades to his name who is on track to become one.

Scandal AFL auditing third party payments from Geelong