Exactly. Joins with the free trial period and as soon as the time comes for him to pay his extortion/membership fees, he's gone.Doesn’t anyone wonder why bucks boys always gets banned?
Doesn’t pay so he’s out.

Soccer Notice Image
Champions League - FINAL - PSG v Arsenal ⚽ Europa Semis ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - SEMIS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ FA Cup - Man City Win
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 11
SuperCoach Rd 11 Rd 11 Talk - Trades - VC/C - Pendlebury Comp – Win A Badge - Fight MND Comp Returns ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 11 Rd 11 Talk - Trades - The VC/C Thread
Exactly. Joins with the free trial period and as soon as the time comes for him to pay his extortion/membership fees, he's gone.Doesn’t anyone wonder why bucks boys always gets banned?
Doesn’t pay so he’s out.
Exactly.Exactly. Joins with the free trial period and as soon as the time comes for him to pay his extortion/membership fees, he's gone.
I think this year will tell us a lot.The praise he receives is also ridiculous. I reckon he's got some excellent qualities, but I really dislike his style of game. His possession and mark stats came predominantly from backwards receives in a crabby game style and then he used the ball sideways. Thus many of his stats were irrelevant water treading. He's got some of the tools to become a solid defender, but he needs retraining in my mind.
Agreed, but to me it is a playing style issue and may take more than a year to reprogram him and that's assuming there is a desire to change his style. If he doesn't get reprogrammed - MehI think this year will tell us a lot.
I have been very underwhelmed with what I have seen so far. Like you say many of his possessions are meh. However we can't just dismiss what he has gone through.
He should by now have some confidence in his body. Let's see what he brings to the table this year.
If Scharenberg hadn’t had his injuries youd be thrilled with his numbers. Nearly 19 disposals and 7 marks per game for a 14 gamer is exceptional, the criticism this kid cops given his experience and the interruption he’s had to his career thus far is ridiculous.
I think Shaz is building but I think it's a stretch to call his numbers exceptional. Playing a cumulating role off HB is similar to what the likes of Oxley or Smith did in their 1st 14 games and their stat numbers would be very similar.
The concern with them was the unaccountable and pretty bruise free footy they play and Shaz has had a similar start. What we hope is he has scope to change that around given the highly ranked junior he was. His stat numbers at this point of his career for the role he is playing are not exceptional though.
Yeah nah. They’re on par with the rising star winner of 2017 they are exceptional numbers for 14 gamers. I deadset feel for the kid at times with the entry into the system he had. Last year was a free pass!
Smith averaged 19.6 disposals and 6.6 marks per game in 2016, so yeah, nothing outstanding from Scharenberg. And it's pretty evident watching that he hasn't done anything to get too excited about yet. He's had one good game V Port Melbourne in the VFL, that's it. Here's hoping etc.
Not sure what makes it exceptional if Smith and Oxley posted similar numbers early in their career unless we want to tag all of them as exceptional statistically. Dilutes that word too much for mine. It's part of the problem with Shaz is too many posters want to paint some of the stuff he has done so far as exceptional or whatever when it clearly isn't yet. Others look and cant understand what that group are seeing and so the diverging views are enhanced.
I agree 100% on the freepass for 2017. I was long an advocate of dampening expectations for Shaz in 2017, a full season on the park was enough to expect at any level. His career has just been cruelled as you say. This is really his season to start to show what he will bring to the table longer term.
As above both were state league recruits.
Did Shaz play in the SANFL prior to being drafted?So your implying that neafl is a better springboard to afl than tac?
If that's the case, the Murray trade is exceptional value
Certainly didn't cost as much as shaz
Did Shaz play in the SANFL prior to being drafted?
Smith was a mature age recruit with 60+ state league matches behind him. Apples and oranges. Ryan Burton with extremely similar numbers is the next big thing seems legit. My best guess is that because we’ve seen it all before from Langdon it’s automatically assumed that it’s a given that a guy will come in and have that sort of impact.
As above both were state league recruits.
Smith was a mature age recruit with 60+ state league matches behind him. Apples and oranges. Ryan Burton with extremely similar numbers is the next big thing seems legit. My best guess is that because we’ve seen it all before from Langdon it’s automatically assumed that it’s a given that a guy will come in and have that sort of impact.
Walked past Victoria Park on my daily morning tea walk and noticed that there were carlton players training there... Would be nice if the Pies trained there occasionally.
Did Shaz play in the SANFL prior to being drafted?
So we could slot him in somewhere between rising star and some role players from state leagues? The fact is Scherenberg has barely been best on at VFL level, so not really sure what the hopes are being pinned on. Let's hope he comes on.
Maybe a bundle of shaz, aish, broomhead might get us a 2nd and third with ports core getting older
One thing I do know , it won't stay the same
What has scharenberg done? Ill tell ya its not much
Think he will be average at best...for pick 6 his a bust
Ducks for cover
I think Greenwood could be turned into a lock down small defender.I think the suggestion is that Murray plays the role. If not him then Appleby, but Appleby could be years away from grabbing a spot.
Beautifully balanced opinion.The argument regarding Scharenberg is very easily answered.
His statistics last year given his injury background were quite good and deserve recognition, but his influence on games will need to improve to be a solid contributor.
He clearly plays in a position where he will get a lot of cheap possessions, but having said that his ball use was very good and composed. But he'll need to improve his one on one work, because if he can't defend then his spot will go to someone who is either super offensive or a good lock down. His endurance is also an issue, which is understandable given his injury past.
So I think at the same time we can be very pleased with his 2017 season, but also cautious with how good he actually is for now.
The pleasing thing for me is that he clearly look miles ahead at VFL level and he looked comfortable at AFL level. Statistically he already has shown his promise. But he has a lot of work to do. If he churns out the identical year as he did in 2017, then he'll lose his spot. There was plenty to like and dislike at the same time.
I'm confident on him. I think he has overcome a lot in his career, and he'll keep improving as he gains confidence in his body. If he can build some muscle and also a tank then it will help a lot too. I think he needs to play as the 4th defender who can play on talls or loose. At the moment, he seems to skinny to match the talls.