Review Autopsy vs Brisbane. Round 12, 2014.

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

McCartney's refusal to play Campbell as the no.1 ruck despite extremely good VFL form and the fact Minson is injured/hampered induces homicidal rage within me.
At present we are 14th (Draft pick #5) with 3 wins and 83%.

Behind us also on 3 wins are Melbourne (79%, pick #4), Brisbane (63%, pick #3) and St Kilda (62%, pick #2). A few good thrashings could see us overtake StKilda for draft pick #2.

Then of course there is GWS in last place who will no doubt once again take the standout KPF with their #1 pick

stock-photo-two-manikins-one-pushing-the-other-off-an-edge-171838223.jpg

I am still filthy on that performance last night. Easily the most disappointing loss of the year.

The players need to take responsibility when they put in a lucklustre effort. However when it happens more and more frequently has been the case since the Melbourne game, the coach has to put their hand up. Macca knows the pressure is coming, we will likely lose our next two matches and find ourselves in the bottom few places. Players may be developing personally, but the team is not. The club and supporters should expect development on both fronts.

I don't think the coach should be sacked, although sometimes its nice to say it to release some of that frustration!

The media will get on our backs in a fortnights time. I welcome the discussion. It's one the club needs to have.

Some thoughts:

1) When Brisbane got on top of us in the 2nd, I knew it was all over. Was listening to the game on radio (UK based ATM), and I could HEAR the collapse happening before the rot had even properly taken hold. More to the point, I knew we would not reel them back in. This belief that we no longer have the capacity to chase down a lead once we've had our weekly quarter of snoozing, that we just don't know how to win anymore unless we are in complete control of the game, has become so strong that you could bend horse shoes around it. I sure as hell hope the players aren't becoming as expectant of this as I am.

2) For the umpteenth week, it seems we have no system. But this system isn't just non-existent in terms of avenues to score (well accepted by now). We are now losing the stats and plays that we were winning last year, that BMac was rabbiting on about for the past 2 1/2 years. How can it be that we, a team packed with inside mids, cannot even win the clearance/CP count anymore? Forget about going backwards in terms of overall team results, we are going backwards in the very areas we were supposed to have mastered on our path to 'learning how to play the right way'. I think this is the strongest argument the 'sack Macca' brigade have going for them, and to be honest it's kind of hard to argue against.

3) Playing players injured (by all accounts Minno and Griff). Even if not injured, playing Minno as the lone hand while rucking (he is clearly struggling and has been for weeks). Playing players out of position (Crameri and Hrovat spring to mind for this match, numerous examples in previous matches). Talking a big game about playing blokes who do the hard yards, then gifting games to some eg Williams (who has on the whole been going fairly average) and not even giving guys like Cordy and Redpath a sniff. Yes, we don't know everything that goes on behind closed doors at the club, and some of those might be line-ball calls, but could some of the lack of fight and spirit that we are CLEARLY seeing on the field be a result of this kind of mucking about behind the scenes? The playing group on the whole seems to be massively conflicted in (literally and figuratively) what their place is and what to do on the field, one would hope that even if gameday changes are not their thing that at the very least the 'development heavy' coaching team we have appointed could present a coherent, sensible message that they then stick to in order to sort this confusion out.

4) The Grant incident. In isolation, you could argue (as has been said previously) team had a set shot, needed to concentrate on the game, etc. To me (watching the replay), it smacks of something that has been wrong with the team for a while - while we have individuals (eg Libba) who will fly the flag, as a team we are pushovers, all just looking after ourselves, hoping to do just enough to get a game next week. Can't think of another team in the league that would have allowed for that (and other incidents) to go unanswered, but we continuously do, and how do you teach that sort of team unity and accountability?

Rant over. Feeling very despondent right now, am worried about how long our top players will hang around to put up with this insipid $hit and, ultimately, what happens to our club if we keep serving it up.

So time to start the "Get Jon Patton to the Bulldogs 2014" thread?

Why on earth would anyone want to come to us at the moment??

Honestly we will have to pay do far above the odds to get anyone decent coz at we are nt even close to an appealing destination at the moment

Rather than sack McCartney outright at years end and face a 2 year payout, just sack grant and Montgomery, bring in a head coach and retain McCartney as head of football or senior assistant. He's a good footy man and I do like his broader view of the game. But his coaching overall is poor. I don't want him sacked now and I'm desperately hoping he shows us he can improve this side over the next 11 games and he can be retained as head coach. But I just don't think it's heading that way I'm afraid.

Wow didn't I say this like 6 weeks ago and got abused from all sides

As bad as this sounds , we could actually benefit from having nick maxwell in our side . We have very little on field leadership at the moment and it is really bringing us down . Griffen is a great player but doesn't seem like a captain
R u serious??

I swear on all my dead relatives that if maxwell came to our club I would go and support the GWS

Complete spud backman, only goes ok as a loose man when all his mates do all the work although he is a good leader but simply not even a likable bloke. Rather bring Everitt back or get Rick Kwnnwdy out of retirement than that a$$hole

R u serious??

I swear on all my dead relatives that if maxwell came to our club I would go and support the GWS

Complete spud backman, only goes ok as a loose man when all his mates do all the work although he is a good leader but simply not even a likable bloke. Rather bring Everitt back or get Rick Kwnnwdy out of retirement than that a$$hole

So he doesn't fit in with your 'good person' mantra? Macca would probably agree with you, so your dead relatives can rest easy.

Love Cooney and he has been playing well too
In fact a lot of the old brigade are playing well
The game plan is the problem
I think this team has so many instructions in its head it often forgets about the ball all together
There is no joy in the way we play.

My two criteria for assessing a coach:
is he getting the best out of the list? - definitely no
Is the list improving? - yes recruiting is infinitely better and some are getting better whilst many have stagnated or regressing.

Result for bmac to be replaced: borderline - probably give him until this years draft ( the recruiting regime under him has been quite strong) and then make the call after 6 weeks into 2015.

Why on earth would anyone want to come to us at the moment??

Honestly we will have to pay do far above the odds to get anyone decent coz at we are nt even close to an appealing destination at the moment
****ing a man learn to take a joke and just let it slide.

******* a man learn to take a joke and just let it slide.

No it wasn't a joke and I'm letting it slide

We can't go for players in the afl already IMO at the moment they wouldn't wanna come to us was my point.

We've gone the youth path so stick to that and not throw a silly amount of cash at anyone when one player isn't going to help us short term.

If love to get Patten but for him to come to us we would probably have to offer him over 650k

No it wasn't a joke and I'm letting it slide

We can't go for players in the afl already IMO at the moment they wouldn't wanna come to us was my point.

We've gone the youth path so stick to that and not throw a silly amount of cash at anyone when one player isn't going to help us short term.

If love to get Patten but for him to come to us we would probably have to offer him over 650k
Mate, it was a joke. It was taking the piss out of the extensive 'Get Jonathon Patton to the Western Bulldogs in 2014' thread from the end of last year.

I don't even think I responded to your post did I ??

I thought it was someone else's :(

And apologies if taken and apologies if taken out of context

If Richmond weren't losing what pressure would be on us this week after that performance??

I don't even think I responded to your post did I ??

I thought it was someone else's :(

And apologies if taken and apologies if taken out of context
No, I was just referring to the posts between you and timtam.

No worries.

Some thoughts:

4) The Grant incident.

The other incident that concerned me was Howard's howler. On TV he sat there with his head to the ground like an ostrich trying to hide. It might have been different live after the camera's moved focus, but I'd have like to see someone go to him, get him off the ground, give him a word of advice (even a spray) and tell him to get his head up. He didn't touch the ball after this. Coincidently his intended target was the captain who was in the vicinity ... maybe this panned out differently live?

I am still filthy on that performance last night. Easily the most disappointing loss of the year.

The players need to take responsibility when they put in a lucklustre effort. However when it happens more and more frequently has been the case since the Melbourne game, the coach has to put their hand up. Macca knows the pressure is coming, we will likely lose our next two matches and find ourselves in the bottom few places. Players may be developing personally, but the team is not. The club and supporters should expect development on both fronts.

I don't think the coach should be sacked, although sometimes its nice to say it to release some of that frustration!

The media will get on our backs in a fortnights time. I welcome the discussion. It's one the club needs to have.
Problem is that I don't think enough players are "developing personally". On balance, more are going backwards than progressing, which is my main concern.

It's Monday and im still pissed. Thing pissing me off the most is when the Lions kicked a goal in the second and i forget the Lion's player who runs up to Griffen and gives it to him. Yes the boys came in and flew the flag for Griff(Should have done the same for Grant) but i was thinking to myself. Surely the boys will be pumped up seeing there captain attacked like that. But no, we played like shit. We just get bullied and allow it to happen.

God i wish Smith and Lower were in the side. They didn't take any shit and wouldn't let anyone get away with a single niggle.

We would be insane if we didn't pay 650K for Patton. Insane.

We should be an obvious 'banking your salary cap payments' candidate when it comes in next year. I don't believe we're paying close to 100% yet.

R u serious??

I was being sarcastic , meaning we are playing that bad maxwell would get a game with us at the moment and also it's sad but he is actually a better leader than anyone we have at out club at the moment