B Section 2010 - Part 2

I reckon it will be Old Carey v Old Haileybury in the VAFA Premier B Grand Final at Sportscover Arena on Saturday September 18, with Old Carey being the victors. Old Carey are the best team we have seen this year, and it'll take a good-no, make that very good-team to stop them.

Clearly the recent record shows that O.C is the team to beat, Jase. However, reading this thread I've noticed how B.S downplays SKOBS chances whenever he can. The well-versed 'B' people with whom I mix tell me to put my well earned on an O.C v SKOBS G.F

We're back:D

Nice to have a win, especially without the Big O upfront.

Big weekend for the boys from the Pine Lodge Maxxy!!! Got the chocolates in the 1's and the 2's away at the badlands - thats as good as 8 points for both teams to a lot of teams!!

What was the difference this week - players back, change of fortune, simply due or the infamous rolls after the game??

Whatever it was it certainly keeps the season well and truely alive and everyone guessing as to what the final 4 will be!!!

Big weekend for the boys from the Pine Lodge Maxxy!!! Got the chocolates in the 1's and the 2's away at the badlands - thats as good as 8 points for both teams to a lot of teams!!

What was the difference this week - players back, change of fortune, simply due or the infamous rolls after the game??

Whatever it was it certainly keeps the season well and truely alive and everyone guessing as to what the final 4 will be!!!

I think we were just due for a win. Big Nick took it upon himself to ensure this occured with a decider in the dying minutes.

Previous weeks had seen us competitive against SKOBs for 3 qtrs. Smashed by OC and just didn't handle the wind against UB.

Essentially the team is a mix of very experienced matched with very inexperienced players.

We were up and firing for the 1st 5 rounds, but due to injury, work and pleasure commitments, our form dropped. (Sounds like every team in B Grade).

This weeks game against Oak will be make or break. Oak were not only smashed in the 1's but their 2's were smashed by a team well below them on the ladder (points wise).

The coming weeks will see better depth throughout the club, and hopefully a solid push to the finals.

Max out

b1014.gif

I reckon it will be Old Carey v Old Haileybury in the VAFA Premier B Grand Final at Sportscover Arena on Saturday September 18, with Old Carey being the victors. Old Carey are the best team we have seen this year, and it'll take a good-no, make that very good-team to stop them.

OEG beat them Jase so they can't be that unstoppable.

If memory serves Carey were 1-3 after 4 having lost to OEG, Ivanhoe and Oakleigh. Great turn around.
Skevs full strength will test Carey. These two are miles ahead in talent, but one will have that nervous prelim game to worry about. Teams like OEG, Caulfield and many before them can tell you how hard this can be.
Rd 17 Skevs v Carey will be ripper. If top 2 is set by then will be interesting to see how both teams treat it. Rest a few?

If memory serves Carey were 1-3 after 4 having lost to OEG, Ivanhoe and Oakleigh. Great turn around.
Skevs full strength will test Carey. These two are miles ahead in talent, but one will have that nervous prelim game to worry about. Teams like OEG, Caulfield and many before them can tell you how hard this can be.
Rd 17 Skevs v Carey will be ripper. If top 2 is set by then will be interesting to see how both teams treat it. Rest a few?

It's amazing how having no injuries can allow a team to play with such confidence and smash sides. Old Carey's best 6-7 are very very good and to their fortune have all been out on the field. I'm sure everyone else would have loved to have a run like that with their best players. Most importantly, it has allowed their bottom 5-6 to play with confidence and play above themselves. I wonder what will happen if they were to lose 2 or 3 of Howat, Mcqueen-Mis, Rowe, Baldwin, Reid, Parton.

You look at them now as individuals and say that Howat, Mcqueen-Mis, Rowe, Baldwin and Reid would be in the best 10 in the comp......but were we saying this at the start of the year or last year.

Great comp! Loving it this year!

Frankly I'd be surprised if both SKOB and Carey were so set in the Top 2 in a fortnight as to be able to flirt with form. They would both have to be 2 wins and percentage clear of Bernies.

Guess it's possible, but even then you would have to be pretty confident of your team's ability to bounce back to be happy to rest a few and run this risk of a solid defeat.

The theory of resting players to keep a card up the sleeve in such games amuses me - not for one minute suggesting this is your inference, Paul. Granted if there are niggles that could do with a rest, perhaps so, but you've pretty much got nothing to hide these days. We're all looking at team lists every week and clubs are good at hanging back after games seemingly happy to divulge what information they have on rival clubs.
OC & SKOBs are best off having a less than bruising encounter if they want to protect a few bodies or better still, give it a red hot crack to gain the ascendency for the real stuff a fortnight later.

It's amazing how having no injuries can allow a team to play with such confidence and smash sides. Old Carey's best 6-7 are very very good and to their fortune have all been out on the field. I'm sure everyone else would have loved to have a run like that with their best players. Most importantly, it has allowed their bottom 5-6 to play with confidence and play above themselves. I wonder what will happen if they were to lose 2 or 3 of Howat, Mcqueen-Mis, Rowe, Baldwin, Reid, Parton.

You look at them now as individuals and say that Howat, Mcqueen-Mis, Rowe, Baldwin and Reid would be in the best 10 in the comp......but were we saying this at the start of the year or last year.

Great comp! Loving it this year!
Spot on , but i think the difference is the added players, Huff, Parton, McQueen-mis, Virtue, Parker, Fiarenz,Delayer to name a few, who are all quality and certainly in the first four cases contenders for the top twenty players in the comp. This has increased there depth

The Reason why carey were struggling so bad last year was. 6 of the top players went down for the year in r1 against skobs, then loosing howat and rowe for a half of year didn't help either. I think the experiance that the bottom players learnt has helped them alot this year. They don't seem to have a weak link from what i have seen. Looks like they have the depth now with the 2's winning by 90 points against a 4th oakleigh .

Let's not get ahead of ourselves lads, still plenty to go down this week with some interesting match ups, finals spots are still up for grabs for all teams.
Looks like the 8 point game is the Snowdogs and Jason's new glamor team Old Haileybury, Im tipping my fellow Catholics to bring home the chockies, which will leave OH out of the 4, to be replaced by Old Ivanhoe. I think OEG will beat Blacks at home.

The Reason why carey were struggling so bad last year was. 6 of the top players went down for the year in r1 against skobs, then loosing howat and rowe for a half of year didn't help either. I think the experiance that the bottom players learnt has helped them alot this year. They don't seem to have a weak link from what i have seen. Looks like they have the depth now with the 2's winning by 90 points against a 4th oakleigh .

I have to slightly disagree with you there Sly – OC 2’s had a good win on the weekend but I think that the result in isolation flatters them a little.

After a very slow start (1W:4L) OC 2’s have done well to return a winning average of 5W:4L over the last 9 rounds but that isn’t screaming depth to me. Also, with all due respect to the boys from the Krushers, they beat a side who have had a slow middle patch of 3W:6L over the corresponding period. Therefore, I think the results probably say OC 2’s had a good day at the office more than point to playing stock depth – it happens, ask the Sydney Swans.

I tend to agree with VAFFAMAN – OC are the team to beat and, in a reversal of fortunes from last year’s run with injury, have seemingly got all their top quality cattle on the park and importantly playing good footy (the former doesn’t necessarily mean the latter either!!). Good luck to them I say but I will be very interested to see if they do make it to A grade (like their form is suggesting) how they go holding their spot etc. It is amazing the type of momentum that such a leap generates however so watch this space…..

The OI vs OH result threw me to be honest – only 1 loss but I think that OH are in serious danger of giving up 4th spot when it comes down to it. They to don’t have great depth so maybe they are starting to suffer form/injuries or maybe it was just a bad week??? Time will tell!! If Maxxy comments are to be believed that win has given OI are real shot in the arm when they needed it most so it will be a big week this week to consolidate that win!

I have to slightly disagree with you there Sly – OC 2’s had a good win on the weekend but I think that the result in isolation flatters them a little.

After a very slow start (1W:4L) OC 2’s have done well to return a winning average of 5W:4L over the last 9 rounds but that isn’t screaming depth to me. Also, with all due respect to the boys from the Krushers, they beat a side who have had a slow middle patch of 3W:6L over the corresponding period. Therefore, I think the results probably say OC 2’s had a good day at the office more than point to playing stock depth – it happens, ask the Sydney Swans.

I tend to agree with VAFFAMAN – OC are the team to beat and, in a reversal of fortunes from last year’s run with injury, have seemingly got all their top quality cattle on the park and importantly playing good footy (the former doesn’t necessarily mean the latter either!!). Good luck to them I say but I will be very interested to see if they do make it to A grade (like their form is suggesting) how they go holding their spot etc. It is amazing the type of momentum that such a leap generates however so watch this space…..

The OI vs OH result threw me to be honest – only 1 loss but I think that OH are in serious danger of giving up 4th spot when it comes down to it. They to don’t have great depth so maybe they are starting to suffer form/injuries or maybe it was just a bad week??? Time will tell!! If Maxxy comments are to be believed that win has given OI are real shot in the arm when they needed it most so it will be a big week this week to consolidate that win!

Now Plum, you were never going to name skobs as the team to beat were you?

Let's not get ahead of ourselves lads, still plenty to go down this week with some interesting match ups, finals spots are still up for grabs for all teams.
Looks like the 8 point game is the Snowdogs and Jason's new glamor team Old Haileybury, Im tipping my fellow Catholics to bring home the chockies, which will leave OH out of the 4, to be replaced by Old Ivanhoe. I think OEG will beat Blacks at home.

Now Brian,
Very interesting that you use the words "fellow Catholics". Amuses me when i hear that SKOBS took offence to an opposition supporter referring to them as Catholics. Apparently reported it to the umps on the day but i didn't hear the outcome.

Now Plum, you were never going to name skobs as the team to beat were you?

Hard to go past OC at the moment Rocky - their form looks even better if you drop their slow start (1W:3L) to where they are now (9W:1L from R5 to present) and beaten everyone else in the 4 and outside on % I think (can't remember who beat them to be honest). Regardless, if they were racing in the cup they'd be going in at top weight wouldn't you think???

Many a toppie get's rolled!!!

True - but they are the toppie for a reason is my point!

With how close this year is I think all 4 teams that make it will be quietly backing themselves to do some damage and, with arguably the biggest prize on offer outside A grade glory (promotion for 2 teams), its looking like being a finals series worth waiting for!!

Haileybury and Ivanhoe should make the 4 with their run home.

They both have Hampton, Oakleigh and OEG in the last 4 games, all very winnable.