Bishop's 2016 Draft Thread

Haven't seen Dundon play as he didn't play in the opening game for Western when i saw them. I know some thought he could've made the Vic Metro squad and I still reckon he could be a rookie. Believe he is out for the season with a leg issue.

Duman is one I like, not sure where he fits in. Have seen him play in multiple positions at both ends of the ground, but I'm not sure where he best fits in. another rookie for me, does use the ball well but a lot of the kicks I've noticed from him in the back half of the ground go sideways not forward as such.

Been told combine invites will be announced this week, reckon will be a few surprises. Clubs might keep a few under wraps. I still reckon you can't read a lot into the combine invite list, players get nominated for it but never get drafted...

And just because some don't get invited to the state combine, doesn't mean they won't be a high pick!
It has been a very strong indicator historically . Each club gets to nominate 50 only those nominated by 5 or more invited . So you can get much from it . Expect low end 18s champ performers to struggle for call up .

Not the make or break but I expect some reshuffling of thoughts this forum in coming week. If someone doesn't get to combine I think they have zero chance first round , limitation as second .
Two above

Waterman and more so Strnadica, Godamdard often mentioned as early) will be interesting . Class of Big men well down on previous year with exception of Tim English .

Note I see WA footy so my comments there are somewhat informed , only view other stock nationals

It has been a very strong indicator historically . Each club gets to nominate 50 only those nominated by 5 or more invited . So you can get much from it . Expect low end 18s champ performers to struggle for call up .

Not the make or break but I expect some reshuffling of thoughts this forum in coming week. If someone doesn't get to combine I think they have zero chance first round , limitation as second .
Two above

Waterman and more so Strnadica, Godamdard often mentioned as early) will be interesting . Class of Big men well down on previous year with exception of Tim English .

Note I see WA footy so my comments there are somewhat informed , only view other stock nationals

But see I don't read a lot into it, honestly would every club nominate Brodie/McCluggage for example? They know that the others will, so they'll nominate someone else instead of 18 teams nominating McCluggage.

About a fifth of those invited last year didn't get drafted... I do think it makes a difference, but I don't think it'll throw up too many surprises. I reckon I could name a list (as could a chunk of other watches) of 70 and we'd be pretty close.

As for the WA kids, think all three of those you mentioned will end up later picks/rookie. But may score a national combine invite- Tim English I reckon goes Top 10.

Hi Bishop,

I'm looking for a combination of attributes from a half-forward/wing and was hoping you would be able to highlight some of the players that best fit the criteria. Particularly those that may be available at one of the Dogs' picks, but also those that may go a little earlier that we could perhaps find a way to trade up for.
  • Good-excellent forward-half kick. The type that specialises in taking the last kick in the chain, regularly finding the right option inside 50 and drawing the forward to the right spots rather than waiting for them to show them where to kick it. This is the most important criterion.
  • Threatening overhead.
  • Capable of holding his own in one-on-one contests, particularly higher up the ground.
  • Good-excellent endurance runner.
I'm well aware that a player that fully fits the above criteria would likely go in the top few so I'm not looking for guys that tick every single box, just those that best fit the attributes that I feel we are lacking. Not looking for the perfect footballer either, happy to hear about players that satisfy the above criteria but also have very poor weaknesses. Would just like some names to track over the next few months.

Cheers.

Hi Bishop,

I'm looking for a combination of attributes from a half-forward/wing and was hoping you would be able to highlight some of the players that best fit the criteria. Particularly those that may be available at one of the Dogs' picks, but also those that may go a little earlier that we could perhaps find a way to trade up for.
  • Good-excellent forward-half kick. The type that specialises in taking the last kick in the chain, regularly finding the right option inside 50 and drawing the forward to the right spots rather than waiting for them to show them where to kick it. This is the most important criterion.
  • Threatening overhead.
  • Capable of holding his own in one-on-one contests, particularly higher up the ground.
I'm well aware that a player that fully fits the above criteria would likely go in the top few so I'm not looking for guys that tick every single box, just those that best fit the attributes that I feel we are lacking. Not looking for the perfect footballer either, happy to hear about players that satisfy the above criteria but also have very poor weaknesses. Would just like some names to track over the next few months.

Cheers.

Just my 2c before Bishop answers:

Taranto and Villis might be options with your probable 1st Rder at about 14-15. They seem like good options from what i've seen for your criteria.

Taranto matches mostly all your bullet points, and Villis looks to be what you're looking for especially with your first bullet point.

Hi Bishop,

• Threatening overhead.

Cheers.

Personally I reckon the two who are good at those picks would be Oliver Florent and Tim Taranto. You could possibly through Jy Simpkin in there, but I think he's more of a permanent forward (pocket) until I see more of him (which wont be until he's at AFL level).

I'd have Taranto around the 10-20 mark and Oli Florent a bit further back maybe 15-30 mark draft wise. Don't think either are 'elite' kicks so don't hit the first criteria but for me that hit the other three marks.

Both kicking is ok, not horrible- not superb but just average. Taranto does play more of an inside role in the midfield, but for me I do think he could play off a wing but I'd have him more as a half forward/inside mid than an outside midfielder on the wing. His one on one work is very good & is great in the contest (dare say a Basketball background helps). Excellent endurance runner and is threatening overhead/one on one. Has at stages played out of the goalsquare for Sandy Dragons & St Kevins indicating he can excel at the 2nd/3rd dot points. Kicks goals too!

I've liked Oli Florent since last year when i saw him at Sandy + at school football. Has a bit of X-Factor about him, plays best on a wing for me. Sandy talent manager likened him to Josh Kelly earlier in the year. Taranto would be the better mark, but Florent has a nice leap on him and can take a mark. Has a good sense of speed and agility, so what he doesn't give in marking strength/one-on-one, he can get distance between himself and opponents. Can have the odd clanger, but overall is a nice user of the football.

Off you criteria if I had to split Florent/Taranto.
1. Personally I rate Florent as a better kick
2. Taranto better overhead
3. Taranto better one-on-one
4. Would say both are excellent, Taranto might be touch a better runner but wouldn't be a lot in it.

See below RE: Villis

Just my 2c before Bishop answers:

Taranto and Villis might be options with your probable 1st Rder at about 14-15. They seem like good options from what i've seen for your criteria.

Taranto matches mostly all your bullet points, and Villis looks to be what you're looking for especially with your first bullet point.

Not so sure about Villis, he's definitely more of a defender than forward. Hits the first dot point about being a pinpoint kick, he's more of a HBF/Winger for me than a HFF/Winger. But I wouldn't say he hits the other three dot points. More of a Suckling type of player than a good AFL HFF/Wingman that takes the ball inside 50.

Personally I reckon the two who are good at those picks would be Oliver Florent and Tim Taranto. You could possibly through Jy Simpkin in there, but I think he's more of a permanent forward (pocket) until I see more of him (which wont be until he's at AFL level).

I'd have Taranto around the 10-20 mark and Oli Florent a bit further back maybe 15-30 mark draft wise. Don't think either are 'elite' kicks so don't hit the first criteria but for me that hit the other three marks.

Both kicking is ok, not horrible- not superb but just average. Taranto does play more of an inside role in the midfield, but for me I do think he could play off a wing but I'd have him more as a half forward/inside mid than an outside midfielder on the wing. His one on one work is very good & is great in the contest (dare say a Basketball background helps). Excellent endurance runner and is threatening overhead/one on one. Has at stages played out of the goalsquare for Sandy Dragons & St Kevins indicating he can excel at the 2nd/3rd dot points. Kicks goals too!

I've liked Oli Florent since last year when i saw him at Sandy + at school football. Has a bit of X-Factor about him, plays best on a wing for me. Sandy talent manager likened him to Josh Kelly earlier in the year. Taranto would be the better mark, but Florent has a nice leap on him and can take a mark. Has a good sense of speed and agility, so what he doesn't give in marking strength/one-on-one, he can get distance between himself and opponents. Can have the odd clanger, but overall is a nice user of the football.

Off you criteria if I had to split Florent/Taranto.
1. Personally I rate Florent as a better kick
2. Taranto better overhead
3. Taranto better one-on-one
4. Would say both are excellent, Taranto might be touch a better runner but wouldn't be a lot in it.

See below RE: Villis

Not so sure about Villis, he's definitely more of a defender than forward. Hits the first dot point about being a pinpoint kick, he's more of a HBF/Winger for me than a HFF/Winger. But I wouldn't say he hits the other three dot points. More of a Suckling type of player than a good AFL HFF/Wingman that takes the ball inside 50.

Dogs generally take players with inside ability in the national draft and more outside players as rookies.

Think Taranto would be very high up our list.

Take your point about Villis and where he might play Bishop, but just going on Daaaaan's first bullet point, i recalled a Brett Anderson tweet. I dunno how to post tweets but if you go to bretts page @BrettAndersonIF and scroll down to June 24 post highlighting Villis it maybe shows what Daaaaan is looking for coming off a wing and delivering into forward 50 in his first bullet point.

But if he can't play Wing/High half forward, then scratch him i suppose.

Take your point about Villis and where he might play Bishop, but just going on Daaaaan's first bullet point, i recalled a Brett Anderson tweet. I dunno how to post tweets but if you go to bretts page @BrettAndersonIF and scroll down to June 24 post highlighting Villis it maybe shows what Daaaaan is looking for coming off a wing and delivering into forward 50 in his first bullet point.

But if he can't play Wing/High half forward, then scratch him i suppose.

Yep I saw that passage. But one passage doesn't mean a lot- just because Josh Gibson kicked a goal on Sunday doesn't mean he's a forward ;)

Hi Bishop,

Long time reader, first time poster in your fine thread. Love your work!

Just wondering what you think of Callum Brown? Cal Twomey and Jay Clark say he is a first round prospect, even as recently as last week. What do you think?

Hi Bishop,

Long time reader, first time poster in your fine thread. Love your work!

Just wondering what you think of Callum Brown? Cal Twomey and Jay Clark say he is a first round prospect, even as recently as last week. What do you think?

Hey mate, thanks for the question.

Personally think that Cal Brown will fall around the 35-50 mark. His numbers were pretty good at the champs & he scored a national combine invite, but I don't really see any big feature of his game that shouts draft me.

I don't think he can play inside mid at AFL level at 179cm, as I just don't think his decision making around the contest is good enough. I also questioned him after the first game in the champs where he had 27 disposals (correct me if I'm wrong) and I just didn't think he had any hurt factor at all with his disposal. He's an ok kick and knows where the goals are inside 50 (which he has done at stages this year & last year for Eastern Ranges). But I don't really see any 'elite' AFL trait as such.

Collingwood already have a few similar sized players and I rate Daicos higher than Brown at the moment. I highly doubt Collingwood don't match the bid on either, but as I said above I expect it somewhere in the 35-50 region.

Hey mate, thanks for the question.

Personally think that Cal Brown will fall around the 35-50 mark. His numbers were pretty good at the champs & he scored a national combine invite, but I don't really see any big feature of his game that shouts draft me.

I don't think he can play inside mid at AFL level at 179cm, as I just don't think his decision making around the contest is good enough. I also questioned him after the first game in the champs where he had 27 disposals (correct me if I'm wrong) and I just didn't think he had any hurt factor at all with his disposal. He's an ok kick and knows where the goals are inside 50 (which he has done at stages this year & last year for Eastern Ranges). But I don't really see any 'elite' AFL trait as such.

Collingwood already have a few similar sized players and I rate Daicos higher than Brown at the moment. I highly doubt Collingwood don't match the bid on either, but as I said above I expect it somewhere in the 35-50 region.
Thanks! Do you have highlights anywhere like a YouTube channel I could view?

Bishop I'm in a keeper league and was hoping you could give your opinion on who would be the top 10 SuperCoach scorers from this draft?

Sorry for the late reply. Been holding off as was trying to source some numbers- but couldn't get them. Champion Data normally publicise them somewhere before the draft, I'd say the top 5 or so could be:

Jack Bowes, Harry Perryman, Will Brodie, Andrew McGrath & Tim Taranto

Hi Bishop - just curious, as a follow-up to my previous post, where does Venables sit on the list of criteria I gave? Doing a little bit of reading while I procrastinate on more important things and he appears to be a reasonable fit. Thanks.

• Threatening overhead.
Venables hits the second and third dot points easily. Can't question his overhead ability and strength around the content in one on one scenarios.

His kicking is usually pretty good, but can be a bit patchy. Some times I've seen him just hack it forward, other times he'll hit a target up inside 50.

Endurance probably does need work, he's more of a burst player. Like in the champs, his last quarters v SA & VM were great but the rest of the contest was quiet.

For multiple reasons, I just can't see him going Top 10-15. I rate him in the teens at this stage.

WCE wont be drafting kpd this draft very sure of that.
Will be delisting a lot of players this year will have 5 picks in main draft
and 3 rookie picks this year.
Nearly all delisted types will be mids/half forwards.
Our first will be a Mid/half forward type.
I suspect we will stretch a pick on SPP this year being a East Perth boy under the alignment, WCE see a lot of him.
There is good rookie options in the wafl for us if we need kpd.
Very hard to see where wce finish though this year
I think you are right here Adam Simpson been making noises about lack of contested ball gets Priddis aside .

SPP very well known to them has trained with them

Thanks for the work that you put into this Bishop. For someone like me who doesn't follow the draft but does have an interest this is a great read.

I am hoping that Adelaide will take a Darcy Parish type of player at pick 18. A midfielder who is more outside than inside but plays at the contest. Most of our current group of outside mids are suited to playing wide of the contest (Seedsman, Smith, Henderson, Milera) and most of inside mids are very in and under (Thompson, Crouch brothers, Lyons, Ellis-Yolman). The only real in-between players at present are Sloane, Atkins, Douglas and MacKay with not much coming up underneath them. Basically I want someone to receive the handball from Matt Crouch, burst out of the contest and kick it to Smith in space. Who are some player likely to go at around our pick that would suit? Jordan Gallucci sounds like he might possibly be one? Also, from what you have seen do you think Milera will develop into that sort of player or will he always be slightly too outside?

I think you are right here Adam Simpson been making noises about lack of contested ball gets Priddis aside .

SPP very well known to them has trained with them

Still reckon they'll look for an inside mid with their pick in the 30s (second rounder)- no standout inside mid that'll be there at their first pick.

Thanks for the work that you put into this Bishop. For someone like me who doesn't follow the draft but does have an interest this is a great read.

I am hoping that Adelaide will take a Darcy Parish type of player at pick 18. A midfielder who is more outside than inside but plays at the contest. Most of our current group of outside mids are suited to playing wide of the contest (Seedsman, Smith, Henderson, Milera) and most of inside mids are very in and under (Thompson, Crouch brothers, Lyons, Ellis-Yolman). The only real in-between players at present are Sloane, Atkins, Douglas and MacKay with not much coming up underneath them. Basically I want someone to receive the handball from Matt Crouch, burst out of the contest and kick it to Smith in space. Who are some player likely to go at around our pick that would suit?
Jordan Gallucci sounds like he might possibly be one? Also, from what you have seen do you think Milera will develop into that sort of player or will he always be slightly too outside?

Hard to get a Darcy Parish type of player- they go in the Top handful of picks for a reason!

But yes, I think Gallucci wouldn't be a bad target for that. Mostly outside midfielder, but can roll through the contest. His numbers have been pretty good at TAC Cup level and in the champs. Has a bit of zip about him, thought his kicking was pretty bad in the champs which was disappointing as I thought it was much better before that. Also reckon a teammate of his Oli Florent has the same capabilities- his contested ball numbers aren't as huge as Gallucci's but could transition into a similar role for me.

I think Milera will always be the outside midfielder that hits the scoreboard- I don't reckon he'll work on the inside at AFL level. But- We'll see, it's amazing what AFL coaches can transform some players into!

Pat Lipinski from northern Knights.

Is he any chance? havent seen his name on these boards too much. He is going to the draft combine though

Yep really like him. Was impressed earlier in the season when I saw him play for Northern. Been injured with a wrist injury lately, but will be good to go for a few games later in the season for Northern I believe. Will obviously test & will test well in a few things, such as his vertical leap.

A basketball background helps him and his dukes are very good. Funnily enough, I reckon he needs a bit of work on his contested work, can often just sit out and wait for the ball to come to him like a receiver. But he can hit the scoreboard and I'll be keeping a close eye on him.

Has averaged just under 2 goals per TAC Cup game, and averaging 27 disp in his last three TAC Cup games.