Bomber Thompson

Fatebringer
thoughts? Do you reckon his inside information was an issue? The Welsh/Scarlett matchup certainly seemed spot on in the first half, for example.

Obviously he was awesome for you guys, and his leaving was a historical opportunity for you take the next step, but do you think his influence had anything to do with tonights result?

thoughts? Do you reckon his inside information was an issue? The Welsh/Scarlett matchup certainly seemed spot on in the first half, for example.

Obviously he was awesome for you guys, and his leaving was a historical opportunity for you take the next step, but do you think his influence had anything to do with tonights result?

For memory that's not the first time Welsh has played on Scarlett in that role?

But I thought the inside knowledge had some impact. For instance, if you can win the clearances and have players waiting outside with pace, Geelong can struggle. This was the biggest area of exploit tonight I thought.

That said, the match could easily have gone the other way and we probably wouldn't be talking about it at all.

None whatsoever IMO. He was never a great tactical/match-day coach and what beat us tonight was intensity. Simple as that. You fought for the ball and worked hard to keep us under pressure.

You mean a coach actually had a player man up on Scarlett ? :eek:
TV and radio commentators mention this most weeks but no coach seems to do it.Maybe Hird watched last weeks game where commentators almost pleaded for Neil Craig to do it.

Bomber may well have worked out the tactics with no small help from brendan McCartney as well, but in all honesty it was the fanatical tackling, ceaseless running and space creation of the Bombers that beat us. Hille for example twice running into open space in the forward 50 is decisive stuff, and several of your goals came with just power running and speed over our zone.

One thing that killed us, is that we had the fewest possessions in a game since the 2006 season, in a different era of footy. Remarkable we lost by 4 points with 112 less disposals!!

proof? eat a poo btw Lifespan.

WTF?

I seriously don't think you'll find much Bomber love in here tonight, so don't be expecting it ay?

Having said that, I think he undoubtedly would have helped with the match ups, and encouraged pressure, pressure, pressure which he saw dismantle us at the end of last year. Set up sort of things, around stoppages and stuff maybe to.

All credit to the Bomber players though, it doesn't matter how much direction coaches give, the determination and desperation the players threw tonight was all them.

Certainly would have helped the Bombers and they were able to penetrate our defence a lot easier than most sides. Bomber built that defence from Milburn and some not so great players into what it is so no doubt he would have a good idea how to breach it.

Once they stopped bombing in and started running it in they were too quick for our top heavy defence.

But I didn't (at the game) see anything that stood out as an obvious tactic they used. Bombers won the clearances and had a lot more of the ball, we kicked badly and played in patches only.

Tactically, I think we could've beaten them if we'd actually kicked some of our gettable set shots. Also, we just kicked terribly in parts of the game. Perhaps Bomber's presence had a mental impact on reviving Essendon's attitude though.

I reckon it was Essendon wanting it more than Geelong.
I reckon you might be right. But how on earth did we lose to a pack of losers like Essendon. That's got to be the most team mates Prismall has hit in a while. I'm ****ing annoyed.

None. Every coach in the league that is worth his paycheck knows you have to make Scarlett accountable, executing it is another matter. They also know Geelong can be hurt by legspeed, again executing it is another matter, but by winning the contested ball tonight Essendon were able to do that. It says more about the intensity of the players, all credit to them, than it does about Thompson, it's not like any of that stuff is secret knowledge.

Scarlett was not interested tonight, he throws about 2-3 games in a year like that god bless him. Not sure it was tactics, just attitude from the great man.

I think Hird should get the credit, the decision to play Ryder was the key one and a tough call it was.

Well done to Essendon coaching staff they got it right and Chris Scott had a shocker.

Both clubs are probably happy with the men in charge overall.

If Bomber and Macca were not involved tonight, Essendon wouldn't have even come close. They were pivotal in this victory. Makes me dislike them, actively, although luckily they haven't got a chance this year for the flag so it probably doesn't matter.

Nope . Essendon really wanted it, we looked strangely flat were quite possibly third to the clearances, and kicked like we were in need of bifocals. Bad day at work.

I reckon you might be right. But how on earth did we lose to a pack of losers like Essendon. That's got to be the most team mates Prismall has hit in a while. I'm ****ing annoyed.

I agree, losing to Essendon?? I would rather lose to west coast next round.

I'm sure Bomber/McCartney could give some good info on players strengths/weaknesses which would have helped.

From memory Welsh has kicked goals on us before and playing someone on Scarlett is a no brainer. Although most other games we are able to shuffle things to get him free. Couldn't this game, or maybe we decided not to try?

I think Scott decided before the game to do a few things he wasn't/couldn't change things unless he had to - ie resting some players; playing Vardy as 1st ruck etc.

I dont have an issue with the inside info, its not the first time that a coach has coached against his own team - and I do say Bomber coached because from what I saw in the box and in the breaks he was calling the shots not Hird.

While its still fresh, the inside info does help but what we have to remember is its only the 14th game that Scott has coached and used the altered game plan so it was always going to be the prime opportunity for essendon to strike.

Having said that, you could see that the Bombers wanted it more so they got it.
Still, not a bad effort from the Cats missing Selwood, Corey, Varcoe and Milburn from the best 22!!

Mark Thompson coaching , now that would be a first. Mark Thompson with tactics , also a first. Having said that now that he is back at his love club perhaps he is.
Ask any player from the early 2000's what he used to say all of the time " this how we did it at Essendon'. It was only when the players took control after round 5 in 2007 and played their game that we became the great team that we are still.

Mark Thompson coaching , now that would be a first. Mark Thompson with tactics , also a first. Having said that now that he is back at his love club perhaps he is.
Ask any player from the early 2000's what he used to say all of the time " this how we did it at Essendon'. It was only when the players took control after round 5 in 2007 and played their game that we became the great team that we are still.

Mate to say that the players are in charge, I gota say is not only an insult to Bomber but an insult to your club and an insult to your current coach. :thumbsd:

I agree, losing to Essendon?? I would rather lose to west coast next round.

I wouldn't.

WCE are a real threat this year, we MUST at least put in a 4qtr effort this week, to gauge where we are against their soft zone.

We will miss Joel this week.