Cant Wait for Next Year

• Thread starter Thread starter Lingsface

Jack-Packenham said:
You must be joking.

Did you watch the same game !!!!

Remember a bloke called Nick Davis? Last I recall he wasn't a forward line player for Geelong.

catempire said:
Remember a bloke called Nick Davis? Last I recall he wasn't a forward line player for Geelong.

If our forwards had of converted from their chances it wouldn't have got to that stage.

Jack-Packenham said:
If our forwards had of converted from their chances it wouldn't have got to that stage.

As I said, I'm not going to flog this dead horse again. 99% of the footy world recognises Nick Davis as the matchwinner that night. If you want to use the forwards as scapegoat then that's your prerogative.

I agree with Jack here, if we had converted our chances it wouldnt of mattered if Davis had of kicked 6 in the last qtr the game would of been out of reach, whenever u only kick 9 goals in a game regardless of the conditions you leave yaself open for that kind of thing to happen

Our forwards r the only drawback for us winning a flag and if u don't think thats the case u must be watching a different game cause i have seen it happened first hand 2 years in a row and it still bloody hurts me

della said:
I agree with Jack here, if we had converted our chances it wouldnt of mattered if Davis had of kicked 6 in the last qtr the game would of been out of reach, whenever u only kick 9 goals in a game regardless of the conditions you leave yaself open for that kind of thing to happen

Our forwards r the only drawback for us winning a flag and if u don't think thats the case u must be watching a different game cause i have seen it happened first hand 2 years in a row and it still bloody hurts me

The same can be said for Sydney. IMO (and i was at the game), Sydney wasted more chances in front of goal than us.

della said:

Heard it before della. Davis won the game for Sydney. Good luck to anyone who thinks differently.

LOL, I like it how you used the stat of Barry kicking 2 of 8 in the GF to prove that key forwards matter. Sydney won the flag with 8 goals in the GF and an average of about 10 or 11 a game. Well below the leagues average. Okay so when we have the opportunities to convert we need to but with our defence stable (which it wasnt for much off last year) we generally keep teams to a relatively low score. We shouldnt need to kick 20 a game to win

And by your reasoning St Kilda would have shat it in the last few years. St Nick, Mt Kossi, G-Train mate they have a few key power forwards. And what about Port, they did it without much help from Tred"one dimensional"rea.

I want key forwards dont get me wrong, but that isnt why we didnt win the flag last year. Injuries and a f***nob called Nick Davies put an end to our run.

Yeah Davis won the game for them only cause they were close enough, look at the tape again and see some of our forwards efforts in crunch time, still gets my blood boiling.

Why did we lose to Brisbane the year before, same reason, its our only problem and concern as far as i see it, if a few of them stand up we have a shot, if not we will be having the same discussion 3 yrs running in 12mnths time and thats a fact.

forwards missing from loss to Sydney:

Brad Ottens
Nathan Ablett
Paul Chapman

we were dramatically undermanned. When you have Milburn and David Johnson in the forward line, you know you're in trouble with personnel availability.

LifeSpan-Void said:
forwards missing from loss to Sydney:

Brad Ottens
Nathan Ablett
Paul Chapman

we were dramatically undermanned. When you have Milburn and David Johnson in the forward line, you know you're in trouble with personnel availability.

Not to mention Gazza was injured and Riccardi was missing aswell.

No one could be more frustraited with KK than I, I feel he let us down in the Swans game. But after all his waste, he was not the primary reason we lost. We lost because our backline cracked, we lost control of the 50/50 balls in the middle which opened the crack wider
Our backline is fantastic but in the end its was raggered. Hunt is not a shutdown defender. He has proved that he is not great in those situations but if the ball had stayed out of the area more he might of regained his composure.We had, thru supreme effort tied up the Swans but the effort that kept us in front for nearly all the game cost us the grunt to get the ball out of the middle at the end of the game.We missed Ottens not just up forward but in the middle.He showed several times thru the year he could break a game as the fresh ruckman.When King went down our lack of a ruckman to get the ball on to our tired on ballers chests or prevent it going to Swans pressured our backline.

Yes if our forwards had made the most of every chance this may not have panned out this way.Ottens is a good SetShot but as Ive said I doubt he would have been there with King gone. KK and Gardnier were not great and probably wont ever will be good at set shots.Charlie is looking at very important year for himself, as is KK.Both can play up field but I wonder if they will be of long term value there if they cant hit targets. KK started to look very good when NA took one of the backmen, so we will see. NA has at the moment a 80% Goal?Behind ratio so he will improve us. Lonergan is a good SS but our best forwards mostly are not dead eyes but if we were winning the ball out of the centre, the Swans would have had as much ball in there forwardline.

I still maintain our the biggest improvement in our scoreboard pressure must come from the on ballers. Ablett,Chapman,Bartel pull their weight in goals others must step up. Enright,Corey,Byrnes,Tenace, Wojinski have all previously wasted shots over the career, sometimes not even getting anything better than mongrel punt away after big runs.Its here we must improve. Todays footy is far more fluid and it requires polished finishing. Ackermanis is the example.How many shots does he require to burn a side.
The truth is if we had Ackermanis in our side we would have beaten the Swans. Lets hope the new "5" can be our Acker (on the field)

Turbocat said:
No one could be more frustraited with KK than I, I feel he let us down in the Swans game. But after all his waste, he was not the primary reason we lost. We lost because our backline cracked, we lost control of the 50/50 balls in the middle which opened the crack wider
Our backline is fantastic but in the end its was raggered. Hunt is not a shutdown defender. He has proved that he is not great in those situations but if the ball had stayed out of the area more he might of regained his composure.We had, thru supreme effort tied up the Swans but the effort that kept us in front for nearly all the game cost us the grunt to get the ball out of the middle at the end of the game.We missed Ottens not just up forward but in the middle.He showed several times thru the year he could break a game as the fresh ruckman.When King went down our lack of a ruckman to get the ball on to our tired on ballers chests or prevent it going to Swans pressured our backline.

Yes if our forwards had made the most of every chance this may not have panned out this way.Ottens is a good SetShot but as Ive said I doubt he would have been there with King gone. KK and Gardnier were not great and probably wont ever will be good at set shots.Charlie is looking at very important year for himself, as is KK.Both can play up field but I wonder if they will be of long term value there if they cant hit targets. KK started to look very good when NA took one of the backmen, so we will see. NA has at the moment a 80% Goal?Behind ratio so he will improve us. Lonergan is a good SS but our best forwards mostly are not dead eyes but if we were winning the ball out of the centre, the Swans would have had as much ball in there forwardline.

I still maintain our the biggest improvement in our scoreboard pressure must come from the on ballers. Ablett,Chapman,Bartel pull their weight in goals others must step up. Enright,Corey,Byrnes,Tenace, Wojinski have all previously wasted shots over the career, sometimes not even getting anything better than mongrel punt away after big runs.Its here we must improve. Todays footy is far more fluid and it requires polished finishing. Ackermanis is the example.How many shots does he require to burn a side.
The truth is if we had Ackermanis in our side we would have beaten the Swans. Lets hope the new "5" can be our Acker (on the field)

Well said TC.

Although we have focused on ourselves in several of the off-season threads, quite rightly I suppose, we have plenty to be hopeful about. However I think we should also remember that a few of our old adversaries are in their bunkers, weaving plans for their own success and our demise.

As HG once wrote :

"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that human affairs were being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own; that as men busied themselves about their affairs they were scrutinized and studied, perhaps almost as narrowly as a man with a microscope might scrutinize the transient creatures that swarm and multiply in a drop of water."

Our scope for improvement is good. I feel most of the areas on the ground we have players that have still got improvement in them, but we are not alone in this.
Plenty of the teams that played well this year could claim this as well.

West Coast. I dread the thought of this being a force again but the team that represents and reminds us of ultimate failures of yesteryear are primed to go. The form in 05 is amazing similar to 01, for over ½ the season looking near unbeatable and finally falling at the last hurdle. This only hardened their resolve for the victories against us in 02 and 04.
Judd, Kerr, Fletcher and Cousins are classy on ballers.In fact have class every where even in the back pocket with a player like Wirrapunda. And they have haven’t bottomed out yet cause they have some classy young kids coming thru as well ,eg a kid called Morton is very impressive. Even in this years draft they picked up players like Hurn and McKinley who somehow fell to them. Hanson showed he has quality’s to play and Cox is about the best ruckman in the AFL.
Yes I know we flogged them down at the CatCage but I think they were in “don’t get injured mode”. I rate these guys #1 danger

One might argue that both Sydney and Adelaide present an extreme danger but they both had super runs with injuries last year. My next on the danger list would be Saints

Like us these guys had cursed run with key players in 05 but if all fit and confidient
I doubt there is a better young big man duo as a fit Riewoldt and Kosinski. Im sure if he stayed fit Riewoldt could kick a heaps of goals. They have enough quality around the ball to supply the forwards and to burn most side lead by Hayes and Ball. Guys like the two Clarke have heaps of upside. The question is with these guys is can their guys that got run down with injuries, stand up and can guys like Gehrig and Harvey go to the well again. At their best they remind me of us in the 90’s, awesome scoring created by a lot of forward running, they rely on this to protect their backline. If they stay fit I rate these guys #2 danger

I’ll pick an outsider as another danger. I’d say the best football last year was played by a side that didn’t make the finals, a side that only just started to awake to their potential.
The Doggie’s can be a problem side next year especially if these new rules work to make the run from the backline quicker. They have nice blend of young and old .West,Smith have their old mate Monty back but the new kids on the block really started to strut in 05. Cooney is class, Griffen has the moves of a smaller player which makes him dangerous. Just like the Saints the have stocked up with early picks, (good ridence to the PP) and under Eade they are gathering belief. Their weakness probably just like us they lack a quality forward but with Minson in the ruck, Darcy back in the forwardline, they look a very dangerous match up to us , Danger #3

Yes, we might well be a good side next year, we will have to be to do what we all want. Bring it on, I say, for all the highs and lows, its going to be a hell of a ride.

Turbocat said:

Although we have focused on ourselves in several of the off-season threads, quite rightly I suppose, we have plenty to be hopeful about. However I think we should also remember that a few of our old adversaries are in their bunkers, weaving plans for their own success and our demise.

As HG once wrote :

"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that human affairs were being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own; that as men busied themselves about their affairs they were scrutinized and studied, perhaps almost as narrowly as a man with a microscope might scrutinize the transient creatures that swarm and multiply in a drop of water."

Our scope for improvement is good. I feel most of the areas on the ground we have players that have still got improvement in them, but we are not alone in this.
Plenty of the teams that played well this year could claim this as well.

West Coast. I dread the thought of this being a force again but the team that represents and reminds us of ultimate failures of yesteryear are primed to go. The form in 05 is amazing similar to 01, for over ½ the season looking near unbeatable and finally falling at the last hurdle. This only hardened their resolve for the victories against us in 02 and 04.
Judd, Kerr, Fletcher and Cousins are classy on ballers.In fact have class every where even in the back pocket with a player like Wirrapunda. And they have haven’t bottomed out yet cause they have some classy young kids coming thru as well ,eg a kid called Morton is very impressive. Even in this years draft they picked up players like Hurn and McKinley who somehow fell to them. Hanson showed he has quality’s to play and Cox is about the best ruckman in the AFL.
Yes I know we flogged them down at the CatCage but I think they were in “don’t get injured mode”. I rate these guys #1 danger

One might argue that both Sydney and Adelaide present an extreme danger but they both had super runs with injuries last year. My next on the danger list would be Saints

Like us these guys had cursed run with key players in 05 but if all fit and confidient
I doubt there is a better young big man duo as a fit Riewoldt and Kosinski. Im sure if he stayed fit Riewoldt could kick a heaps of goals. They have enough quality around the ball to supply the forwards and to burn most side lead by Hayes and Ball. Guys like the two Clarke have heaps of upside. The question is with these guys is can their guys that got run down with injuries, stand up and can guys like Gehrig and Harvey go to the well again. At their best they remind me of us in the 90’s, awesome scoring created by a lot of forward running, they rely on this to protect their backline. If they stay fit I rate these guys #2 danger

I’ll pick an outsider as another danger. I’d say the best football last year was played by a side that didn’t make the finals, a side that only just started to awake to their potential.
The Doggie’s can be a problem side next year especially if these new rules work to make the run from the backline quicker. They have nice blend of young and old .West,Smith have their old mate Monty back but the new kids on the block really started to strut in 05. Cooney is class, Griffen has the moves of a smaller player which makes him dangerous. Just like the Saints the have stocked up with early picks, (good ridence to the PP) and under Eade they are gathering belief. Their weakness probably just like us they lack a quality forward but with Minson in the ruck, Darcy back in the forwardline, they look a very dangerous match up to us , Danger #3

Yes, we might well be a good side next year, we will have to be to do what we all want. Bring it on, I say, for all the highs and lows, its going to be a hell of a ride.

You were on a roll for a minute! Nice work Turbo!
Not completly bias, but not putting your team down! :thumbsu:

Vandenbergfan said:
Still reckon you could do with Moloney in the guts.:thumbsu:
Woah! I like your bravery, but dont get the natives started on the Moloney/melbourne-Ottens/Richmond thing.

I think we have covered his loss anyway.

davey_magik said:
Did someone say Moloney?
oh fan-friggen-tastic! Davey_magik heard the name Moloney! Another whole year of hearing about him at school ay d_m?

You can single out many instances in which we cost ourselves the game.

-Ablett missing the set shot in the 3rd quarter which would have put us 29 points ahead.

-S.Johnson letting the Sydney player smash the ball in from the boundary in the dying seconds.

-Letting Nick Davis get a free run for his match-winner.

Davis played a great last quarter and they snatched a game they should never have won. But the fact is that Sydney dominated us for the whole second half. Had they converted in the 3rd quarter, we probably would've been 2 goals down. Being at the game, you could sense the momentum was swinging Sydney's way.

All we needed was another goal straight after D.Johnson's and the game would've been ours.

The walk from my seat to my hotel was one of sheer devastation.