The problem with BF and the media is that too many people take too much out of one match.

When we drew with Melbourne on Queen's Birthday last year, no one expected us to win the flag.

Good sides drop games too.

Carlton is a good side. Are they with Geelong and Collingwood? We've seen that at their best, Carlton can compete with the best sides.

West Coast is also a good side, but one that is still emerging. They were taken to bits by Collingwood a few weeks ago, so let's not all of a sudden jump on the West Coast bandwagon after one solid win (as the media did with Carlton last week).

Out of all of this i feel sorry for Ratten, it seems when Carlton play well and get a few good wins on the board he doesn't get the cudos he deserves yet when Carlton lose he is the one who didn't make any moves and was out coached etc etc. Tough gig if you ask me, i think he is a quality person and great young coach, he has excellent football knowledge and the players seem to be right behind him. It was definetly not his fault for the loss today.

After one loss i think some people on here are jumping the gun a bit on the bluebaggers. They had three to four quality players missing Waite, Jamison who got injured in the game, and Duigan whose importance cannot be underestimated and possibly Curnow to a lesser extent. The rest of the players carlton supporters have been mentioning are not key players and the players who replaced them in the side have similar abilities and talent.

To me this loss with the players they had out shows me that Carlton are where they should be, they are not pretenders or out of the premiership race by any means but perhaps do not have the depth and experience just yet to consistently be up there with the likes of Geelong or Collingwood etc. This will eventually come especially if some of their KPP depth players they have come on. I think next year will be a year where they will make a real fight of it for the flag. This year who knows, they strike me as a dark horse that could be capable of causing a bit of damage in September if all goes well and to write them off after one sub par performance is ridiculous, though in saying this what they have achieved to date should not be blown out of proportion like i think it has been by a minority of the blues supporters and mainly the media.

funny, when Warnock was out - Carlton supporters would tell you how he was a key out. Now that spud Hampson is out, and he is a key out, despite being replaced by Warnock!

Unfortunately though, that is the absolute truth of it. We fail to get any sort of consistency from Warnock or Hampson. One hits form, then gets injured. The other one comes in and struggles for a spell, then finally hits form, only to get injured ... and the cycle repeats.

Warnock has had rave reviews about his form in patches and Hampson had played his best ever football finally the two weeks before getting injured last week. Warnock comes back and struggles. We just need one of them to stay on the park and find some consistency. As they stood coming into today, Hampson had gone past Warnock again, thus the claim we missed him. Against the Eagles today, this was doubly so as he has a huge leap and is very quick and could nullify Nic Nat much more effectively than Warnock ... AND is a much better makeshift forward when our structure is broken down through injury.

We really did have the wrong kind of player injured for this match. It just played right into the Eagles hands unfortunately.

Losses hurt, especially one that would have guaranteed a top 4 berth, but one loss is not terminal.

The problem with BF and the media is that too many people take too much out of one match.

When we drew with Melbourne on Queen's Birthday last year, no one expected us to win the flag.

Carlton is a good side. Are they with Geelong and Collingwood? We've seen that at their best, Carlton can compete with the best sides.

West Coast is also a good side, but one that is still emerging. They were taken to bits by Collingwood a few weeks ago, so let's not all of a sudden jump on the West Coast bandwagon after one solid win (as the media did with Carlton last week).

The most sensible post i've ever read on BF:thumbsu:

Out of all of this i feel sorry for Ratten, it seems when Carlton play well and get a few good wins on the board he doesn't get the cudos he deserves yet when Carlton lose he is the one who didn't make any moves and was out coached etc etc. Tough gig if you ask me, i think he is a quality person and great young coach, he has excellent football knowledge and the players seem to be right behind him. It was definetly not his fault for the loss today.

After one loss i think some people on here are jumping the gun a bit on the bluebaggers. They had three to four quality players missing Waite, Jamison who got injured in the game, and Duigan whose importance cannot be underestimated and possibly Curnow to a lesser extent. The rest of the players carlton supporters have been mentioning are not key players and the players who replaced them in the side have similar abilities and talent.

To me this loss with the players they had out shows me that Carlton are where they should be, they are not pretenders or out of the premiership race by any means but perhaps do not have the depth and experience just yet to consistently be up there with the likes of Geelong or Collingwood etc. This will eventually come especially if some of their KPP depth players they have come on. I think next year will be a year where they will make a real fight of it for the flag. This year who knows, they strike me as a dark horse that could be capable of causing a bit of damage in September if all goes well and to write them off after one sub par performance is ridiculous, though in saying this what they have achieved to date should not be blown out of proportion like i think it has been by a minority of the blues supporters and mainly the media.

The 2nd most sensible post i've ever read on BF:thumbsu::D

Great post mate.
A premiership is a marathon not a sprint.

At the moment the pack leading the race is Geelong, Pies & Hawks.
West Coast & Carlton are just within striking distance.

No one else has a chance of winning this year.

West Coast have surprised the hell out of me this year. Good win to them.

Carlton have looked very good this year, even when they lose.

It's just one game out of many. Carlton will still be up around the top of the ladder come the end of the season.

I understand that Carlton have injuries.. I also believed before this game that they had some of the best depth in the league. Im assuming that there depth have been found out?

No troll, I honestly believed that there depth could cover the loss of 1 good player and a couple of best 18's. Especially considering the quality you still had on the field.

Eagles have a fantastic injury list atm but still have Waters and Brown out and McKenzie was on his first game back after 7 games out.

Blues have reasonable depth - wouldnt say the best though.

On the loss and impact of injuries - Disappointment aside, I'm actually not too fussed about the loss.

The following players were missing from the 'best' 22.
1. waite (definite best 22)
2. laidler (almost definite best 22)
3. duigan (definite best 22)
4. setanta
5. hampson (almost definite best 22, was best 22 on form)
6. curnow (definite best 22)
7. robinson (definite best 22)
8. white

We also had jamison injured in the 1st quarter.

You might debate that a couple from the above list arent strictly best 22 players (and I'd agree) but its important to note that every single one of them was entrenched in the team and playing reasonable footy before being injured.

We are a long way off from being a top side.
This post is a long way off being on the money. Typical knee jerk reaction.

Depends on injuries, fitness and form fluctuations, but I'm quite confident we'll be top 4 at the end of the season and will give it a good shake.

we're no geelong or collingwood, we're going to drop a game now and then. we did have some injuries, but at the same time we had a few underperformers. too many WC mids to take care of and too many tall forwards for us.

you're all kidding. Carlton rested half their players. Underlined are who was out, just happen to be real important players...

B: Duigan Jamison Laidler
HB: Yarran Thornton Russell
C: Gibbs Judd Simpson
HF: Garlett Waite Scotland
F: Walker O'hAilpin Betts
OB: Kreuzer Murphy Robinson
IC: Curnow Ellard Houlihan Touhy/Carrazzo/Henderson

Hampson Bower

Half our backline, two of our best centermen and our best key forward. What did west coast have out?

you're all kidding. Carlton rested half their players. Underlined are who was out, just happen to be real important players...

B: Duigan Jamison Laidler
HB: Yarran Thornton Russell
C: Gibbs Judd Simpson
HF: Garlett Waite Scotland
F: Walker O'hAilpin Betts
OB: Kreuzer Murphy Robinson
IC: Curnow Ellard Houlihan Touhy/Carrazzo/Henderson

Hampson Bower

Half our backline, two of our best centermen and our best key forward. What did west coast have out?
Duigan and Laidler are nothing other than average. They wouldn't make a big difference. Setanta is a dud doesn't count. The rest fair enough though none of them are superstars.

Couldnt resist:
Carlton has risen to be a genuine premiership contender this year, and the Blues have done it through winning the hard ball and tackling ferociously and applying pressure when not in possession. But on Monday they celebrated a win over fellow top-four fancy the Sydney Swans by having a relaxing day of massages and aromatherapy at a hot springs resort on the Mornington Peninsula. Will all the pampering see their hard edge diminish this week in a crucial match against West Coast? Or if they succeed, will they celebrate with manicures and pedicures?

Duigan and Laidler are nothing other than average. They wouldn't make a big difference. Setanta is a dud doesn't count. The rest fair enough though none of them are superstars.

Sorry, but Duigan has been a rock in defense for us this year. Laidler on the other hand has barely played a game so I don't know why he keeps getting mentioned.

Judd can't break a tag these days. Not the first time this year he's failed to get more than 6 kicks.

Um, yes it is. He's had more than 10 kicks in all but two games this season - Round 11 vs. Port Adelaide (9 kicks), and now Round 14 vs. West Coast (4 kicks). He had fewer than 10 kicks just once last year - Round 18 vs. Collingwood. It's hardly a common thing, but he's got plenty of credit in the bank to allow for him to have a poor game once in a while.

Why so much fuss over 5th beating 4th? Did people really think Carlton were than far ahead of those directly below them? I know they beat Sydney pretty convincingly last week, but still, they haven't shown me anything that says they're light years ahead of the other teams around the middle of the 8, and nothing that says they're even certainties to beat Hawthorn, let alone genuinely challenge Geelong or Collingwood this year. The Blues are really just a "best of the rest" contender at this stage, with Geelong, Collingwood and Hawthorn being the real Premiership threats.

Tell the supporters that. This is a HUGE loss. They've beaten no one yet and had the chance to go some way in proving they aren't pretenders today and beat West Coast in Melbourne. Fail.

But hey, they're pretty good at beating up on weak teams... I'll give them that.

West coast are a good team,wait till your mob play them..i reckon they will beat u's too.

I won't say i was very upset of losing to the west coast but maybe abit relieved,we do have a problem and west coast are a good side a very good side.They actually gave us a favour by reminding us what we need to fix before we get into the finals and get flogged,That's why i like john worsfold his tactics always focuses on the weakness of the other team and i was waiting for this game to see what we need to work on.For people who is saying carlton can't even beat West coast they should know west coast are a good side,and this season alot of side is showing massive improvments..we belted sydney who beat westcoast @ subi and west coast has beaten us here,If your team is not 100% and have few injuries who ever you come against will cause you major problems.

Injuries are a factor, not an excuse, players were needed to step up and didn't

Actually, that's a good point, sure Carlton were missing quite a number of players, but that happens. Geelong were missing 7 of their best and won this week, Collingwood missing 8 of our best and won 2 weeks ago, Fremantle have a disgustingly huge injury list and are still in the 8.

Sucks to lose important players, but that's when others need to step up, and it didn't happen for Carlton yesterday.

Injuries are a factor, not an excuse, players were needed to step up and didn't

That pretty much sums up my thoughts, if you want to be a LEGIT contender, you need to find ways to win regardless of whose on the park.

The injuries are what they are, so theres no point complaining about them. not going to change anything.

I wouldnt classify it as a dissapointing loss as west coast are in ripping form, but it was a golden oppurtunity to seal a top 4 spot missed

injuries to key position players decimated the Blues structure. The backline resembled a northern bullants game.
At full strength they will roll the Eagles

injuries to key position players decimated the Blues structure. The backline resembled a northern bullants game.
At full strength they will roll the Eagles

What yesterday's game highlighted is that provided this blues unit can get their best 22 on the park they can match it without just about anyone. Duigan, Jamison (for most of the game), Kurnow, Waite and even Robinson are big outs. But Carlton doesn't have the depth to cover these losses, hence the loss. Having said that, I'm not sure my beloved pies have as much depth as we'd like to think. We're fortunate we haven't lost a cloke or reid. We can cover beams and similar type running midfielders but I'm not sure we can cover a key position player. Having said that, we have managed well without the big fella Jolly but we desperately need him back.

In summary, provided the blues can get their best 21/22 on the park they'll be OK and can easily mix it with big boys but a long absence of any the above will hurt.