Review Cats drown Hawks by 36 points in Tommas 350

This is my concern for next week against the doggies, possibly the best midfield in the game, if we slack off against them we will get destroyed.

100 % and that worries me.

But if our midfield breaks even (big ask) our fwd line will own their defence as it has in the past.

We look good. Midfield is still clearly the thin part; but our front and back halves are hard to deny. If we can get danger and guth back, who knows? Could be the last dance…
Been saying this from start of season, but tbh, midfield is somehow getting the job done. Could be upside in that part of the ground.
I am worried about Atkins. The new guys are, and will be, fast tracked through the midfield (understandably) but that may leave him as a ‘stranded asset’
Could be sent back to defence imho... back pocket rebound type, and perhaps mullins goes mid. Who knows. There is always injuries.

We have had multiple similar mids before, with success...Bartel, Corey, Kelly, Ling, Rooke...

Bartel was a super overhead mark and good fwd.
Corey a fantastic runner and good on the outside.
Kelly was capable as a small defender and rooke a 3rd tall fwd.
Neither atkins or parfitt can capably play another position other than inside mid i dont think.

Cats played 3 good quarters to win easily.
Great teams need only one good quarter.
Their bad quarters are a worry though.
When Cats Nap... opponents run amok
Great teams do enough to control the game
Q2 was frustrating to watch at times.
Early Q4 was somewhat concerning.
Signs of panic, rushing and dumb decisions
Precisely when composure was required.
Surprisingly it was the kittens that shone
Dempsey Conway Mullin remained composed.
Parfitt worked hard and showed evasive skills
Unfortunately his poor disposal still remains
Cats class and skill was simply too good.
Fantastic game by the milestone duo
4 goals each for Tom and Ollie H
Great Win ... No injuries.. excellent

The sooking up on the Hawks board just is the cherry on top of a great day.
What are they sooking about?
Not enough free kicks? 🙄
The rain + lightening favoured us?

The key to the season is going to be getting Danger and Guthrie, fit and firing. I am not comfortable going into any game against a top 4 team with that midfield. They are doing a commendable job but we have not come up against any top 8 midfields yet.

Our best 7 defenders are very solid and good enough easily (though no depth there).

Our forward line has no peer in the competition, dynamite.

We are in the race, which is all you can ask for.

Bartel was a super overhead mark and good fwd.
Corey a fantastic runner and good on the outside.
Kelly was capable as a small defender and rooke a 3rd tall fwd.
Neither atkins or parfitt can capably play another position other than inside mid i dont think.
Atkins originally played in the AFL as a defensive firward, then he spent time in defence.

It’s really only been in recent seasons that’s he’s played on the ball. But I agree he’s played his best footy as a midfielder.

What are they sooking about?
Not enough free kicks? 🙄
The rain + lightening favoured us?

Umpiring. Particularly relating to Ginnivan. Which is hilarious because I bet the same posters 12 months ago would have been calling him a ducking cheat 🤣

The key to the season is going to be getting Danger and Guthrie, fit and firing. I am not comfortable going into any game against a top 4 team with that midfield. They are doing a commendable job but we have not come up against any top 8 midfields yet.

Our best 7 defenders are very solid and good enough easily (though no depth there).

Get those 2 back in and in form and we are a threat to anyone. I think it’s unlikely we will go all the way but I felt similarly in ‘22.

A great game? We did lose the ruck in the finish, but he put in a valiant effort.

No argument from me that Stanley has absolutely lost a yard or six since 2022. It was a nice change to see a ruckman taking a few good clunks.

I like the signs, but let's not over-egg it. We set people up for failure by our own unrealistic standards here.
I thought Conway had more impact than Meeks, pretty good 2nd game. Let’s hope he keeps it up.

Yeah but I don't think he was up against Conway for most of that. A few contests he lost on the 4th but especially that burst he had in the 2nd I reckon Conway was off the ground. 66% ToG to Meeks 88%.

I think Meek turning the game is on Conway's fitness and not being on the actual rather than his actual ruck work

Correct which is why conway cant and wont ruck the next 10 games in a row but the future is bright for him.

It's a problem, but it's avoidable and it all depends on how we manage things.

To win the flag we need Danger & Guthrie playing their best footy in 5-6 months time.

Even if it's not pretty, just banking wins is all we require right now in that respect.

The alternative too, is Clark, Holmes, Bowes, Bruhn, & potentially Conway could all look very different as a collective with another 15-20 games to grow, develop, and build synergy.

I agree with your premise, but I'm pretty happy to sit back and let the kids develop as long as we're within touching distance of the top 4.

Danger & Guth will absolutely be required, but hopefully not for a while yet...and even then, they need to be managed to be peaking for when it matters most.

Atkins originally played in the AFL as a defensive firward, then he spent time in defence.

It’s really only been in recent seasons that’s he’s played on the ball. But I agree he’s played his best footy as a midfielder.

I do wonder if atkins could be a good small back again (as thats a hole we need to fill) but im not sure if we would go that way.

Just had a beer and read the Hawks board.. Great times

To any lurkers... You cretins led the game for 0% of the time, blaming the umpires for the loss is just tremendously satisfying for all of us here :kissingheart:

MOD NOTE

If we're going to start heaping the praise on young Jhye, can we please get the spelling of his name correct

JHYE CLARK

There's no 'E' on the end of Clark

Yes, in the past we've had a Clarke or two on the list and they happened to share the same first name - David, with Jnr last playing in the hoops back in 2003

We also had Georgia Clarke as part of our womens team

I know he's only a few games into his career, but can we please try to get the young mans name right
Sorry Jai

True. He does have a tendency on occasion to make things more difficult than they need to be. But his influence on games overall has improved markedly. He’s clearly been working hard.

Work rate is really good i agree i think he will 100 % get the best out of himself.

Review Cats drown Hawks by 36 points in Tommas 350