Autopsy Cats lose to Port by 6 points after being down by 10 goals

It's probably true and it shows how bad our midfield crop is.

Sadly, I think our A class is B class and our B class is D class :(

Danger... almost the Goat but old, injured half the time and almost finished.
Bruhn... A kid who has got in the coaches votes once in his career.
Bowes... A guy that was playing VFL at the Suns and half the people on here didn't even think he was B22.

I agree... these are our current best mids... even ahead of Blitz, Guthrie & Atkins atm (def ahead of Parf and Clark).

And all those 3 guys didn't play tonight (ridiculous Bowes didn't IMO) + we have a guy that can't beat an egg in the ruck.

Ahhh my hopes of competing are fading.

Dare I say it... Is it "tank time"? Probs not.
The coaches votes are irrelevant, he should have been in the coaches votes 3 times this season alone if he hasn't thats not his fault. Bruhn is 21 and showing he is a key midfield rotation for us.

As for Bowes, he is a mid in the age bracket we need mids in and the coaches last season waited until the last game of the season to play him midfield and he showed a lot. Dude was a top 10 draft pick as a midfielder and we doing well in that position til the Suns put him at HB (something we stupidly did too) when thats not his position.
Bowes has been our third best ranked mid this year behind Danger and Holmes, so resting him last night (unless its revealed he had a niggle like Bruhn) was an absolutely ******* catastrophic decision by the MC.

We went in with too many defensive minded midfielders, something that caused us issues in the past. Even one of Bowes or Bruhn is a massive improvement and we probably don't ship 8 first quarter goals.

Either way, at least selections this week are easy. Bowes/Bruhn in for Parfitt and Clark, and one of Neale/Conway in for Stanley.

Interesting clip. Scotty saying what a few said after the Carlton game. Strange CE thought otherwise. It is an umpiring issue

Nothing he said was in conflict with what I said. Scott was precisely right that in the past Kolo would have dumped him on the ground. That doesn’t address why he couldn’t turn him 45 degrees making a kick at goal impossible.

Why has Cameron spent most centre bounces starting on the wing over the past fortnight, after not doing so in the first seven rounds?

He's been playing wing at various times across all games this season

Against Adelaide in round two he spent half the first quarter starting on the wing - it would have only been after 4 or 5 goals had been scored that he then moved to the forward line at centre bounces

As someone, who was born + raised in Sydney, then began going to games in Geelong + Melbourne, there is no comparison. Sydney became so brash, cashed up bogans + developers moved into my very quiet part of Paddington. I call Sydney the New York of Australia + Melbourne the Paris of Australia. In 2014, I could no longer tolerate Sydney. Happily enjoying the quiet Bush life,

Well, good on Grundy, Sydney will certainly off him the big city!
Melbourne is no longer the Paris of Oz sadly.

Gone into concussion protocols, just announced by the club.
Yeah, Port took Aliir off the other year, did the test and was fined $100K because he went back on.

The Dr chased Jeremy three times in the last Qtr where he refused to come off and there was no test, there was also his heavy head clash with Drew in the previous qtr. Port were fined, and yet they took their player off to do the test; me thinkith new rules are required or Port should be a refund.

Nothing he said was in conflict with what I said. Scott was precisely right that in the past Kolo would have dumped him on the ground. That doesn’t address why he couldn’t turn him 45 degrees making a kick at goal impossible.
Whilst true, my contention, which was formed at the ground watching the replay was that the umpire should have blown for a ball up sooner. He got an eternity.

There is a clear umpiring issue since the 'tackle suspension' mandate.

Really early meat tray. Depressing one hoping that it will be better than I currently think… will adjust closer to game as I feel better

Out: Hawkins (managed), Jezza (concussion), Holmes (inj), Stanley (ommitted/managed), Duncan (managed)
In: Neale, Conway, 2E, Bowes, Bruhn

I was convinced they would manage Dempsey this week but if I am right with 2 forwards out I reckon they might keep him for flexibility? But could easily manage Dempsey for Mannagh - would be 6 changes then? If Holmes isn’t injured then Dempsey will be managed.
Really, really don't want Touhy in the 30 degree heat and 92% humidity.

He goes to ground so often these days. Against some of those Suns youngsters it could cook the old boy, or whatever's left of him.

If there's a perfect time for Humphries, it's this game IMO.

One touch and a beautiful kick off both feet. That's going to be worth its weight in gold in those conditions, and we can release Holmes up around the ball a bit more.

WA boy too, so the heat isn't going to bother him one iota.

Yeah, Port took Aliir off the other year, did the test and was fined $100K because he went back on.

The Dr chased Jeremy three times in the last Qtr where he refused to come off and there was no test, there was also his heavy head clash with Drew in the previous qtr. Port were fined, and yet they took their player off to do the test; me thinkith new rules are required or Port should be a refund.
How was Butters assessed for the head knock earlier in the game?

Whilst true, my contention, which was formed at the ground watching the replay was that the umpire should have blown for a ball up sooner. He got an eternity.

There is a clear umpiring issue since the 'tackle suspension' mandate.
I’ve got no issue with that. Play to the whistle though Kolo.

Yeah, justice for Port’s medical guy!

IMG_3630.jpeg

yep..we chose to run with the group we have. If all were fit then fine..but like many times in the past.. they all get injured at the same time. Considering Stanley is the age he is ..we could have added another ruck or one more likely to play than Furphy.. but one sucks on the lemons from the tree one has planted.
F is a cat B rookie isn't he? You would not get a decent ruck as an alternative. Am I missing something?

No cameron probably means dempsey plays now rather than gets rested (maybe). Will be a new look fwd line with no cameron and hawkins.
Definitely should bring in mannagh given how regularly he hits the scoreboard.

I agree but the whistle should be called before he can kick anyway. The umpires are waiting too long to call ball ups.

Bews is no chance. The fact that they are picking duncan on a zimmer frame and even mullin instead means hes done.

Rhys would be in the same boat if conway was actually ready.
And Bews and skillset do not go together. Bews was never known for skill. He was a tough straight running back pocket who had line breaking pace in his early days. In recent years he put on too much muscle and weight and lost his pace. He is rarely in the better players in the VFL side. He's had a good career but the end is near.

Soldo has been very good until the injury this year though and will be very good in finals.

I also dont think anyone would be depth after 1 year as i think conway will 3-4 years off being a solid every week ruck.
So would i have traded a 2nd rounder and pick swaps for a ruck like that on a 3 year deal? Absolutely. Even if it wasnt soldo but a similar level ruck i definitely would have done it for because it was a clear upgrade that we needed and are paying for not having.

But i get that some people see it differently.
Worth while trading Soldo in just to see his missus at the club functions.

Hoo boy.

OUT: Hawkins (rest), Cameron (inj), Duncan (rest), Stanley (omit)
IN: Neale, Bruhn, Bowes, Conway

Had hoped to be able to see Hardie debut, but now four forced changes is already too many. :mad:

Nup should still be hardie and mannagh in (mannagh is logical with no cameron and hardie has earnt it) and a couple of players out probably clark and dempsey if hes rested (or otherwise parfitt out).

Other clubs manage to find such rucks, or are there teams playing with a Stanley type as the only senior specialist ruckman in their squad?
Do they?

They are able to find the ruck that tick all the boxes I outlined?

Who are these rucks?

Hoo boy.

OUT: Hawkins (rest), Cameron (inj), Duncan (rest), Stanley (omit)
IN: Neale, Bruhn, Bowes, Conway

Had hoped to be able to see Hardie debut, but now four forced changes is already too many. :mad:
I guess this is why you win your first 7 games so you can withstand the adversity we are currently facing without sinking your season

Via club:

As per the AFL’s concussion guidelines, Geelong medical staff immediately attended Cameron and conducted a HIA on ground, where he reported no symptoms and satisfied all AFL requirements. After further review of the video footage, and in consultation with the spotters in the ARC, it was decided there was no criteria to remove Cameron immediately from the field for further assessment.

As further due diligence, and still with no concussive symptoms, Cameron undertook and completed a normal SCAT6 concussion assessment after the game.

As is the process following a match, Cameron was monitored and assessed again on Saturday morning, where he reported some concussive symptoms on repeat SCAT6 and a diagnosis of delayed concussion was made.

Cameron will miss Thursday night’s match against Gold Coast Suns and will continue to be monitored through the protocols.
This is the normal protocol BS basically making it up as they go.

BUT if he is showing symptoms then he must not play.

Do you honestly think Atkins would get a game for Carlton, GWS, Brisbane, Sydney, Collingwood?

He is a great tackler, but on the flip side is constantly caught holding the ball. He is a decent ball winner but a very average ball user. He is also too small.

He averages 15 touches a game. This is fine when he is the fourth or fifth midfielder with a defensive role, but last night he was asked to be the main man and was completely exposed. Mullin looked better. Anyway, I never wanted to be the driver of the Atkins is not that great bandwagon but here we are I guess.
Non of Geelong's current mids would get a game for Carlton, GWS, Melbourne or the Bulldogs. We have to make do until Bruhn and Clark get more experience and a couple in the VFL step up.